250cc bike vs anything above costs.

TSSpeedThrill
post Mar 1 2019, 06:46 PM, updated 6y ago

(sorry if i post too much)
I want to know if it is worth getting a 2nd hand 250 instead of higher cc bikes
How about maintenance & spare parts cost differences?
So many thing to learn I think i wanna ride bicycle lah
xswatch
post Mar 1 2019, 06:57 PM

489 posts

get a cfmoto 250 se.. 13k.. Gooding dual channel abs, 2 ride mode, full color LCD. cfmoto made a joint agreement with KTM. that's why the design is 98% same like KTM bike.. the brake caliper is same as what cfmoto use for their 600cc bike. I watch YouTube review, from speed 100 to zero (during corner, not straight road) took less than 3sec

This post has been edited by xswatch: Mar 1 2019, 06:58 PM
TSSpeedThrill
post Mar 1 2019, 08:21 PM

QUOTE(xswatch @ Mar 1 2019, 06:57 PM)
get a cfmoto 250 se.. 13k.. Gooding dual channel abs, 2 ride mode, full color LCD. cfmoto made a joint agreement with KTM. that's why the design is 98% same like KTM bike.. the brake caliper is same as what cfmoto use for their 600cc bike. I watch YouTube review, from speed 100 to zero (during corner, not straight road) took less than 3sec
Spare part hard to get or not? Cuz if i get 250 I'm gonna use it for daily commute later broken need to rest at "bike hospital" for few weeks later I GG.
xswatch
post Mar 1 2019, 09:04 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(SpeedThrill @ Mar 1 2019, 08:21 PM)
Spare part hard to get or not? Cuz if i get 250 I'm gonna use it for daily commute later broken need to rest at "bike hospital" for few weeks later I GG.
bike liddis spare part hard to get. even KTM bike the part will not come very fast.. I own a benelli bike before, within one year, two times it's being hospitalized for one week period. coz need to wait for the parts.. people riding rare bike normally will have spare bike one. be it benelli, KTM, BMW, Aprilia. all same. even rare cars also same. if u drive audi,, Peugeot, merc, also need to stand by spare car what..
TSSpeedThrill
post Mar 1 2019, 10:40 PM

QUOTE(xswatch @ Mar 1 2019, 09:04 PM)
bike liddis spare part hard to get. even KTM bike the part will not come very fast.. I own a benelli bike before, within one year, two times it's being hospitalized for one week period. coz need to wait for the parts.. people riding rare bike normally will have spare bike one. be it benelli, KTM, BMW, Aprilia. all same. even rare cars also same. if u drive audi,, Peugeot, merc, also need to stand by spare car what..
How about kawasaki & yamaha ? Btw if 2nd hand ninja 250 good or not? Price around 13k also, or maybe i go for 2nd hand er6f after i upgrade my license to b full
RalphRatedR
post Mar 2 2019, 08:28 PM

267 posts

Main difference is roadtax, insurance & tyre size. Routine maintenances are not much difference (fuel consumption also not a big difference if you compare 250cc twin cylinder with 600cc twin cylinder).

You'll never go wrong with 2nd hand ninja 250. Btw forget ER6F, not much difference from 250 (both are twin cylinder). Get a 3/4 cylinder bikes if you want to upgrade.

This post has been edited by RalphRatedR: Mar 2 2019, 08:29 PM
PedangGila
post Mar 2 2019, 08:39 PM

918 posts

250cc is just so so but from honda or kawasaki brand, beli aja. For me la, RM2000 budget a year including expenses for rides. Maybe less or maybe more.
missmataleo
post Mar 4 2019, 03:14 PM

99 posts

250cc differences is:
tyre for both can get around 300-500.
insurance between 500-800, depends on the types of insurance.
roadtax is only rm50

600cc is:
tyre for both almost 1k.
insurance 1k+.
roadtax im not sure but around 200-300 i think.

the maintenance is almost the same. if u manage to afford it just go for 600cc bike
ajaibman
post Mar 4 2019, 03:27 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(missmataleo @ Mar 4 2019, 03:14 PM)
250cc differences is:
roadtax is only rm50

600cc is:
tyre for both almost 1k.
insurance 1k+.

the maintenance is almost the same. if u manage to afford it just go for 600cc bike
True on bit of additional info, Roadtax 250 - 500cc is RM 180, 500-799cc is RM 250, then 800cc and Above is capped at RM 350,

Basically all bike above Kapchai (200cc and below) is depends on.. (outside roadtax-insurance)

1. Amount of the cylinders the engine has (more cylinder, consume more engine oil and more valve clearance need to maintain except BARLEY DAVIDSON)
2. have some sort of Engine Oil Filter (additional cost)..
3. Tire sizes.. depends how fat/big/common/uncommon the tyres are..
4. Chain.. how long .. what teeth size it use and made of gold/titanium or normal DID chain.. or if using a belt driven bike.. lagi headache...

5. If you happens to own DUCATI, the standard maintenance cost above is x100% laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

g3n0c1d3
post Mar 4 2019, 04:34 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,493 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Mar 4 2019, 03:27 PM)
5. If you happens to own DUCATI, the standard maintenance cost above is x100%  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
ah, ive asked a guy who ride a ducati last time and asked him if he had detomaso his bike and how much.... he just smiled bitterly and said the cost is like buying a new honda ex5. dont know if its true or not but i wont be surprised since its a ducati... or as someone told me "dukahati"
TSSpeedThrill
post Mar 4 2019, 11:51 PM

QUOTE(RalphRatedR @ Mar 2 2019, 08:28 PM)
Main difference is roadtax, insurance & tyre size. Routine maintenances are not much difference (fuel consumption also not a big difference if you compare 250cc twin cylinder with 600cc twin cylinder).

You'll never go wrong with 2nd hand ninja 250. Btw forget ER6F, not much difference from 250 (both are twin cylinder). Get a 3/4 cylinder bikes if you want to upgrade.
The price are the same though, and er6f seems like something I can grew into before i get a "real" superbike. That's why i'm asking about the maintenance cost, how much do I need to standby incase the bike need to go to the hospital.
TSSpeedThrill
post Mar 4 2019, 11:59 PM

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Mar 2 2019, 08:39 PM)
250cc is just so so but from honda or kawasaki brand, beli aja. For me la, RM2000 budget a year including expenses for rides. Maybe less or maybe more.
I'm afraid later I'll get bored after a few months into riding it, plus i heard 250 & 650 are pretty much the same except for few costs and 650 seems like something i can grew into. And also is Honda Cbr 250r good? I ask some rider with it few days ago and he told me don't buy it, get a better one.
TSSpeedThrill
post Mar 5 2019, 12:04 AM

QUOTE(missmataleo @ Mar 4 2019, 03:14 PM)
250cc differences is:
roadtax is only rm50

600cc is:
tyre for both almost 1k.
insurance 1k+.

Ninja 250 need RM 2k per year
Ninja 650/ ER6F need 2k + also?
TSSpeedThrill
post Mar 5 2019, 12:09 AM

Daheck,I thought there is only one type of chain, I'm such a newbie lol. Now brain cannot comprehend all the thing I need to know before I YOLO

This post has been edited by SpeedThrill: Mar 5 2019, 12:11 AM
ajaibman
post Mar 5 2019, 12:18 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(SpeedThrill @ Mar 5 2019, 12:09 AM)
Daheck,I thought there is only one type of chain, I'm such a newbie lol. Now brain cannot comprehend all the thing I need to know before I YOLO
Sure.. its headache, not to mention the 250bike Sprocket with Chain is way more expensive than Kapchai one..

However the good news is.. if you maintain it properly (cleaning, lube every 500km) then you can make it last for 30k or more..

*provided you not doing Wheelie all the time..
Quazacolt
post Mar 5 2019, 04:33 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Mar 5 2019, 12:18 AM)
Sure.. its headache, not to mention the 250bike Sprocket with Chain is way more expensive than Kapchai one..

However the good news is.. if you maintain it properly (cleaning, lube every 500km) then you can make it last for 30k or more..

*provided you not doing Wheelie all the time..
But I rarely wheelie, and I lube my chain more frequently sad.gif
PedangGila
post Mar 6 2019, 01:59 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(SpeedThrill @ Mar 4 2019, 11:59 PM)
I'm afraid later I'll get bored after a few months into riding it, plus i heard 250 & 650 are pretty much the same except for few costs and 650 seems like something i can grew into. And also is Honda Cbr 250r good? I ask some rider with it few days ago and he told me don't buy it, get a better one.
Hmm, dunno about what's wrong with cbr 250r. What do they/you mean get a better one? 600cc at least? Or R25?
Cyphereza
post Mar 6 2019, 10:03 AM

Jedi Catâ„¢
2,311 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Mar 4 2019, 04:34 PM)
ah, ive asked a guy who ride a ducati last time and asked him if he had detomaso his bike and how much.... he just smiled bitterly and said the cost is like buying a new honda ex5. dont know if its true or not but i wont be surprised since its a ducati... or as someone told me "dukahati"
Desmo service laa... laugh.gif

And yes, I believe it does cost around that...
I think that's why you can find a lot of Ducati selling at around 30k mileage. Justttt before the desmo service rolleyes.gif

Btw, Detomaso is something like this...

ajaibman
post Mar 6 2019, 10:39 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 5 2019, 04:33 PM)
But I rarely wheelie, and I lube my chain more frequently sad.gif
.......The Demak story didnt say so.. blink.gif
ajaibman
post Mar 6 2019, 10:45 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Mar 6 2019, 10:03 AM)
Desmo service laa... laugh.gif

And yes, I believe it does cost around that...
I think that's why you can find a lot of Ducati selling at around 30k mileage. Justttt before the desmo service rolleyes.gif
30k is the Liquid Cooled L-Twin Duc engine ...
24k is the Aircooled L-Twin Duc engine...

*this for the Desmo service..

Actually If you do it outside the Naza.. buying the timing belt kit and shims is not so expensive.. but... a pain to tune the harmonic balance since it does not came with auto adjuster like car does, so need to do manual tuning...

... but not only Desmo Service you need to worry about... other electronic gizmos and parts equally expensive even compare to similar continental bike brands...

0.0162sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:02 PM