sure cannot withdraw la,
masuk anytime, keluar ada syarat.
achievement unlocked once you have 1mil. can take out excess
soul78
post Oct 12 2022, 12:06 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Oct 12 2022, 11:41 AM)
Look, this thread's title is "EPF - Self contribution".

If one can put extra into EPF, they have extra funds. I am actually suggesting AGAINST putting extra into EPF because it's a risky move.

The self-contrib portion could have gone to robo-advisors low-mid risk portfolios and that's a good hedge against MYR. Most robos take deposits as low as RM 1~100.

Seriously if you can sendiri top up extra to EPF, you owe it to yourself to at least put a bit of $ in other places and not all in EPF.
Risky in what way?... care to share?...
soul78
post Oct 12 2022, 03:36 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 12 2022, 02:41 PM)
Chief among them is over-concentration of portfolio in MYR-denominated assets. About 3/4 of EPF assets are in MY.

And also concentration issues on asset allocation too. About 1/4 of EPF assets are in federal government debt.

And then you have macro factor like currency matters, e.g. MYR's performance, low current account surplus, insufficient savings rate etc. Just to name a few.
3/4 of assets in MY is actually a good thing... and also remaining 1/4 in gomen debt i also a good thing as most of the debts is also denominated in MYR. Risks to EPF is less actually.

Put in banks, bank runs can happen when bank collapse.Ability not to remove money is possible as it's already happening in CCPland and US noow.

Put in EPF, i stiil see it as way less risk as compared to the above as it's our country's sovereign pension fund. The impact to government and country is far higher if EPF folds as compared to banks. Just loook at how BOE stepped in to save their country's pencen funds when it was in trouble recently. Most verry verry likely malaysia will do the same.

On inflation part, can't be helped... a few major country WILL go into recession next year. As long as printing money is not excessive till it creates a feedback loop to bail out entities and print more money, we should be still fine compared to others.

soul78
post Oct 12 2022, 04:22 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2022, 03:52 PM)
Er you need to see how deep pockets BOE have Vs our BNM. BNM does not have deep pockets. So.ethinh you need to keep in mind.

Don't believe me? See the 1mdb saga. They cannot even defend the RM then.
When SHTF happens, point to not to defend the RM, . All country will stop exports and economy will self isolate back within their own country. Then slowly economic ties within countries will rebuild again and hope then trading will be denominated by a proper reserve currency and not the US dollar.

This is where i feel we are heading now.

If the BRICs nations comes out with their basket of currencies that is supported by gold and a variety basket of commodities, this is where most my money would be at then. Till this happens (hopefully next year, as FEDs would be coming up with their CBDC sometime Q3 2023 , BRICS nation have to implement it fast as well), my money will rest in what i think the least riskiest place.

soul78
post Jan 10 2023, 12:51 PM

929 posts

After 55 still can do self contribute?
soul78
post Jan 15 2023, 09:22 AM

929 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 10 2023, 01:28 PM)
Self contribute after 55 goes to new Akaun Emas in which you can't withdraw until you are 60.
Later Son is Char Siew.....
If I oredi above 1mil... this does not apply right?
soul78
post Feb 24 2023, 07:36 PM

929 posts

awesome la... if u got 500k just every year top up 100k , 5 years a mil alrdy... if got 1mil... 5 years 1.5mil oredi...

if 2mil... you wait and don't touch the monei for 10 years will bonus 1mil extra liao.. no need add extra..

magic kan...
soul78
post Apr 26 2023, 12:07 PM

929 posts

Any amount above 1mil can be takeon out..

soul78
post Jul 26 2023, 10:27 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 26 2023, 10:26 PM)
Yes they will use the same account when they start work and give the same number to their employer.
can just create without kids needed to be employed properly?
soul78
post Oct 3 2024, 10:24 PM

929 posts

if I put at the very last week say in Dec 2024 100K self contribute, then i would still get the full dividend amount right for that 100k?
soul78
post Jan 24 2025, 09:43 PM

929 posts

why are people depositing so early that self contribution?...

deposit in Jan 2025 vs Dec 2025 got difference?...

can someone explain?... interest is calculated at amount on 31st dec right?...regardless of whether you put in beginning of the year or end of the year...

or is my understanding wrong?...
soul78
post Jan 24 2025, 09:57 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 24 2025, 09:50 PM)
Jan 2025 deposit- 1 day for January + 11 month

Dec 2024 deposit - 1 day for December + 12 month (2025)

😊
thanks but
my question was if I deposit on say 15 JAN 2025 VS 15 DEC 2025 and amount of 100K

would it make a difference the dividends I would get in 2026?

should be the same right?...

was thinking what would be a better way is that :-

if you have 1.1mil+ in EPF...

you can take out 100K from EPF beginning of the year after dividend payout..

then take this 100K and put in FD for 6mnths
then once 6 mnths expire put to 3mnths FD...

then before year end... just move back 100K back into EPF...

in this case wouldnt you benefit from FD interest for 9mnths + then the EPF dividends from 100K?.
soul78
post Jan 24 2025, 10:17 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 24 2025, 10:03 PM)
ini orang putih cakap  you want to have the cake and eat it.....
yinnih whorang yindia chakapz... dun go chasing kering sous (pennies)...

invest properly... and have meaningful impact on your life!....

I already mentioned everyone should at least spike up their EPF to 1mil. and leverage on that high savings yield...

rather than chasing FD rates from one bank to another... for that .2 .5 or 1 percent extra...

i see alot of people in loyatz doing that... moving funds often form banks to banks chasing higher FDs... i just cant brain it..

take at 5pct... compared to 3pct+ what FDs are offering...

it's a difference of 2%... if miss having your money in EPF for 20yrs... thats 40% of dividends wasted (20yrs X 2pct extra dividends per annum) which could have been easily gotten...

soul78
post Jan 24 2025, 10:43 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 24 2025, 10:11 PM)
soul78

Wahhh
If can do like this...
EPF sure would face some issues... Can bankrupt too 😄

As for your question

15 January deposit - 1 day for January + 11 month (2025)

15 December deposit - 1 day for December + 12 month (2026)

Basically December deposit just get 1 day dividend... Not full..

Your Dec deposit only get full dividend when announcement around 2027 Feb 😊
tenkiu la.. i just needed a proper explanation... and you've provided it...
kam sia... notworthy.gif

just for disclaimer, i'm not doing any funny or dodgy investments...
my investment is just in EPF... and keriptos....
no stonks, no bonds, no FDs.. no Forex, no CFDs...

my allocation is 50% EPF / 50% KERIPTOS...

i dont think anyone has done something similar before....

one day i'll do a detailed writeup on my journey...

soul78
post Feb 2 2025, 02:03 PM

929 posts

Wanna ask... At age 55, we will have Akaun 55 and Akaun Emas.
Being all 3 account consolidated to Akaun 55 and if you still working the contributions would go into Akaun Emas.

If one were to continue self contribute , which account would this sum goes into?...
soul78
post Feb 2 2025, 03:25 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Feb 2 2025, 03:19 PM)
Your Self Contributions will be deposited into Akaun Emas and can only be withdrawn after you reach the age of 60  icon_rolleyes.gif
Dividends from account 55 will go into account 55 and
Dividends from account Emas will go into account Emas?

Also if you have above 1mil, taking out excess funds anytime still applies? would it be then 50% from each account?.

soul78
post Feb 7 2025, 08:52 AM

929 posts

Actually i got think about the below scenario...

once reach the 1.3mil threshold.. then they raise to 1.6mil... then when that threshold is reached they raise to 1.9mil...

then during that last threshold raise, they remove lump sum withdrawal and only allow monthly dividend withdrawal upon retirement.

Lump sum withdrawal only allowed once person reached 70 or upon death.

btw When is the 1st treshold increase gonna take effect??.. i'm planning to take out liao all these excess funds if payout for last year does not look good.

For some reason, i feel epf is not making my money working hard enough for us these days with ASB catching up on dividends, does it mean we got a lousy money manager handling our funds or something else is wrong somewhere...

soul78
post Feb 7 2025, 12:07 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 7 2025, 11:38 AM)
btw When is the 1st treshold increase gonna take effect?? --> 1st Jan 2026 first threshold, followed by the 100k / year until Jan 2028.
Will wait for this rounds dividends and see whether still worth
maintaining it in here or if it's quite close to ASB, might as well keep there instead for flexibility.
soul78
post Apr 22 2025, 09:11 AM

929 posts

Quick question, Can i contribute to my sister's kids EPF account?
soul78
post Jun 9 2025, 12:21 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 9 2025, 12:13 PM)
After 55yo..

There's no such thing as 1mil excess thingy...

Those 55 - 60 contribution is locked.... Under account EMAS. No loophole on that...

You gain full access your accumulated $$$ till 55yo..
means all new/self contributions done before 55 would be able to be taken out at 55.

from 55 - 60 , any new/self contribution done during this time ( is locked until age 60) , eventhrough your account can have more than 1mil?.

but we can still take out the capital that was contributed before 55 when we are within 55-60 of age?.

0.0301sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:16 PM