EPF - self contribution, need advise

Rinth
post Oct 12 2022, 10:49 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Oct 12 2022, 10:36 AM)
This guy doesn't understand the concept of hedging.

Not diversifyingn currency means you are solely at the mercy of Malaysia BNM monetary policy and Putrajaya's fiscal policy.

By investing abroad, I am not betting if Malaysia will outperform or underperform, or if Malaysia currency will moon or doom, I am hedging against MYR to ensure total ruin does not happen to me personally.

EPF is denominated in MYR and unlike PRS, your portfolio doesn't fluctuate along with market condition. If MYR hyperinflates, your EPF and FD are done for.

Do you want to end up like people in Venezuela, Argentina, Zimbwabwe, Brazil, Weimar Republic, Colombia etc?
I believe majority of average malaysian doesnt have the luxury to diversify their portfolio to overseas, or even have extra funds to perform currency hedging.....

What are the average Malaysia financial position? will have car loan, housing loan for own stay, maybe 1 more properties for investment...with the accrued loan and interest ongoing, normal average malaysian will priortising of settling their loan 1st before even think of investing/hedging abroad.....

And ya, i'm just another average malaysian.....
Rinth
post Oct 12 2022, 12:08 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Oct 12 2022, 11:41 AM)
Look, this thread's title is "EPF - Self contribution".

If one can put extra into EPF, they have extra funds. I am actually suggesting AGAINST putting extra into EPF because it's a risky move.

The self-contrib portion could have gone to robo-advisors low-mid risk portfolios and that's a good hedge against MYR. Most robos take deposits as low as RM 1~100.

Seriously if you can sendiri top up extra to EPF, you owe it to yourself to at least put a bit of $ in other places and not all in EPF.
EPF contribution is for retirement, therefore any excess self contribution portion should be treated as part of your retirement funds, not investment/hedging portfolios. and i think the self contribution function is good for those not salaried employees, such as enterprise owner, commissioner earner, freelancer/youtuber/tiktoker etc etc, whereby their base salary are low or none.

And i'm agreed with you that if you're high salary earner with extra saving, self contribute to EPF might not a wise move UNLESS you're approaching RM 1 mil threshold.....you may perform whatever investment/hedging you prefer.
Rinth
post Oct 12 2022, 12:19 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Oct 12 2022, 12:13 PM)
The top T0 has over RM10 mil in EPF...you think they high salary earner or not? Surely these are not dumb people...we ikan bilis look see look see and follow only lah....lol.
lol if 1 can have RM 10 mil in EPF, i think they wont look at EPF at all lah...only us ikan bilis that are conservative will look at EPF average 5% return as sufficient lol.
Rinth
post Oct 12 2022, 12:51 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2022, 12:34 PM)
Actually it's all about choice. If you have extra money, do you want to put into EPF or overseas? For me no brainer to put them overseas.
I am Kuli earning only 5k/month and dump all my money overseas. What do I do with my leftover money after paying for all the bills? For me I collect until rm10k then send all of them overseas.

So being average does not give you the excuse not to diversify oversea. It come down to choice and willpower.
Actually lots of rich people are super conversative. 5% is easily RM500k/year. Do they need to take in extra risk to get RM500K a year? No they don't need. Why do you think all the uncle and aunties all grab EPF, FD and amanah saham? For the reasons mentioned above. EPF, FD. amanah saham give them cukup makan.

Do they need to park their money overseas. Depends on them. If they want to protect or send children overseas than yes.
So when u have RM 10k u send abroad, how about your emergency funds? did you convert it back frequently or most of the time they just stay abroad and not coming back?

And able to consistently sending funds abroad, this kind of willpower is not average edi lol.
Rinth
post Apr 10 2023, 02:38 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(imceobichi @ Apr 10 2023, 07:53 AM)
To all eagerly waiting for 100k contribution limit, how much extra do you plan to contribute? The way I see it here, quite a few forummers blow like they have rm 1mil in the sideline waiting to deposit into epf account
blow or not blow, its up to the forummers......for those seriously able to contribute RM60k/RM100k into EPF, reaching RM 1mil is matter of few year time if they haven't reached it yet..... in fact if you're close to RM 1 mil, example RM 850k, its a good idea to move your liquid saving to EPF so that it can reach RM 1mil ASAP.

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 10 2023, 12:52 PM)
I am a bit concern if more and more people treat epf as a high interest saving account for those people that exceed 1 mil. If too many reach 1 mil and do this, epf might raised the bar further to 2 mil . 1 mil is achievable in near future but 2 mil, might as well i wait for retirement.

It would be too risky for me to transfer from my ASX if the rule is revised further to 2 mil. A lot of my fund would be locked out and out of reach for significant amount of time.
how many ppl have RM 1 mil in EPF?????? EPF busy to educate and help contributors to have minimum ceiling for retirement (as at now RM 228k?), they dun have time to study and propose to increase the RM 1 mil ceiling...
Rinth
post Apr 10 2023, 05:09 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(leesw2263 @ Apr 10 2023, 04:54 PM)
Totally agree with you.
just for sharing, nothing to show off. Since I am not active user on giving input, but always like to read other forumers comment in these thread.

I m 48 now, I am quite lucky as having high pay salary since age of 35 till now, I never do the withdrawal from EPF before, I achieve my target at my age of 45. I think some of you here may have better achievement or no..., no comparision, just purely for sharing.

3 years ago, I asked my wife to top up her contribution of 30% every month + 12% from employer including her yearly bonus deduction of 30%. Since she has intention to retire as housewife before 50 yo. Expecting end of this year, she may achieve her goal...just within 3 years time, the saving really hit the level we never thought of till recently dividend paid off, we check the statement together...

What I can say, we need to have planning on our commitment if we can allocate some extra cash... of course, we need to standby the Cash for rainny day in our bank, cannot put all into EPF account.

fyi, I was in share market and UT last 2-3 years ago, BEER :beginning enjoy, ending regret...that is why, it is much better do save it in bank or EPF if we do not know much on these investment.

I also want to quit the job now since my commitments all paid off, but due to children education fee, have to work harder for their portions now, pay them whatever I can afford... high pay, high stress... really hope can achieve it when reaching my age before 55.

Wish everyone here can achieve whatever things we wanted and have a blessed life ahead.

Cheers
congratz on reaching your target. Achieving own target to me is more important than comparing with others....My own dream target is RM 10mil, and average 5% epf return means yearly RM 500k to spend untill i die...but i dun think i can achieve it in this lifetime LOL..you plan using EPF dividend only on your retirement?
Rinth
post Apr 11 2023, 06:51 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 11 2023, 05:19 AM)
Why do you need 10 mil?..

So you can spend 50k a month? Are you flying first class every 2 months?

Isn't it over saving? And give yourself unnecessary stress?

1 mil gives you around 5k a month
2 mil gives you around 10k a month
3 mil gives you around 15k a month

For me, it's simple. Hit 1 mil by 45.

If you've 1 mil by 45, you'll have 3.2 mil by 65 without anymore contribution and provided dividend remains the same. That's 16k a month .16k a month is pretty good. Just from epf. Imagine if you've other investment as well

Try hit 1 mil by 45. You'll do your retirement a great deal of favor.
No offence bro but that’s a dream, or lifetime target… dream is big if not u dream to have RM 5k to spent every month during retire and live frugally thru out your whole life?

And I’m just at my 30’s so when I retired in 20-30 years time thing are gonna be double or triple the current price….. take 2.5 times current price so the RM 10 mil is today RM 4 mil so is it really a lot to dream? Lolol

Rinth
post Apr 11 2023, 07:33 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 11 2023, 07:03 AM)
While dreaming, ...it is worthwhile to remember to wake up frequently to live in the real world.
Don't be too indulged in that dream until it forced us to be too frugal or too risk taking to try to achieves that dream.
If human dun dream, aren’t we the same as salted fish? Haha

Rinth
post Apr 11 2023, 09:36 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 11 2023, 09:22 AM)
Which is why epf might revise the limit to control outflow? Do u get my point? Top up? Dont think top up is a major source of inflow for epf, most of it is made up Mandatory contribution which you and i have no choice.

erm in 2021, Exceed 1 million withdrawal is total RM 1.6b....

Compared to other withdrwal type it seems insignificants.....

Fun Fact : Buy 1st house withdrawal is RM 1.7b..I-sinar have 30mil ppl perform the withdrawal blink.gif blink.gif shocking.gif it seems that 1 ppl can perform multiple withdrawal for all the I-series

This post has been edited by Rinth: Apr 11 2023, 09:46 AM
Rinth
post Apr 11 2023, 10:11 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 11 2023, 10:04 AM)
Ya sure, u compare a situation without implementation of tier dividen. Fun fact

Average saving above 1 mil is 1.6 million and this is old data and we have 70k contributer exceeding that 1 mil.again old data.

70k X 0.6 million is like 42 billion. These are potential for outflow
dun get me wrong...i'm not commenting on the tier dividend whatsoever....i'm trying to justify on the increase the withdrawal limit of RM 1mil..which in my opinion is not a field that EPF will target because the total outflow from this type of withdrawal is not really significant, compared to other type...

Rinth
post Apr 11 2023, 10:39 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 11 2023, 10:28 AM)
last time... only retire can withdraw

then... account 2 can withdraw

then... >1 mil can withdraw

so far have been relaxing withdrawals... can u turn?... sure but not likely imho... dun forget 240k (money of day 2023) is the basic required

also dun forget countdown to 55/60... where you are free to withdraw everything... also account 2 can withdraw for a lot of stuff also...

imho... epf is not concern with ppl >1 mil... they are more concern with <10k... and politicians meddling...
EPF vision : Helping members achieve a better future

EPF Mission : Safeguard members' savings and deliver excellent services

Quality Policy : The EPF is committed to helping members achieve a better future through continuous improvement in safeguarding members’ savings and delivering excellent services

All in all, EPF is retirement funds, strive to ensure us to have enough fund for living when retire....so those who achieve RM 1 mil in EPF, to EPF its like that particular member already achieved what EPF wants lol, so any excess you can withdraw for your own pleasure.....

But 1 thing to take note is, currently the minimum basic is RM 240k, 30 years down the road the minimum might be RM 1 mil (previously got an article for this), therefore in future they revise the cap to RM 2 mil for example is not impossible, but it wont happened with this 10-15 years i guess, and EPF wont abruptly announce it and implement it, at least will take few years time..from announce to implement.
Rinth
post Apr 11 2023, 05:41 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Apr 11 2023, 10:04 AM)
Ya sure, u compare a situation without implementation of tier dividen. Fun fact

Average saving above 1 mil is 1.6 million and this is old data and we have 70k contributer exceeding that 1 mil.again old data.

70k X 0.6 million is like 42 billion. These are potential for outflow
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 11 2023, 04:40 PM)
Dec 2018 there are 39k individuals >1M with a total of RM66B+

Dec 2020 increase to 68k individuals >1M (total up last two rows) with a total of RM116B

By Dec 2022, projected 2 years growth at nearly double the individuals and double the amount.

Dec 2020 assume 68k individuals withdraw everything >1M and leaving a base of 1M
= 116 - 68
= Outflow of 48B

Assume Dec 2022 projected double
= 2x 48B
= 96 billion withdrawal, it won't be insignificant if tiered dividend happens. Even more than the total i-series ?

rolleyes.gif
The above bolded is the average possible outflow as at Dec 2022....

like i said previously i posting this thingy not mentioning anything about Tier Dividends......

If EPF really implement tier dividend massive withdrawal is confirmed and ppl will find way to maintain only the optimal amount only in EPF.

Rinth
post Apr 12 2023, 05:03 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 12 2023, 05:01 PM)
huh?

like seriously?

u not trolling right?? making fun / pulling legs
later not true. I go report your post then  devil.gif
obviously he edi pass 1 mil mark......

so EPF is ATM.......if can str8 bank in to EPF account i think he'll opt in lol

Rinth
post Apr 12 2023, 05:49 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 12 2023, 05:47 PM)
yeah...

but imho biggest risk is scam after full withdrawal and sweet talk by bank into shitty investments...
thats why previously in my post mentioned i try to brainwash my colleague near 50/55/60 not to withdraw their EPF......later kena scam or hack you siao liao bangwall.gif
Rinth
post Dec 5 2023, 09:16 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Dec 5 2023, 08:02 AM)
My company decided to remain the same employee contribution for all staff during that period, and I'm sure it's not the only company that did that.
By right employer cannot "decide" for employee....the reduction to 9% is by law and its employee's own decision whether to maintain at 11%or not, if want to maintain at 11%, your employer will give you a form to sign on it and employer will submit the form to EPF as proof to maintain.

But well all is past tense already lol

This post has been edited by Rinth: Dec 5 2023, 09:17 AM
Rinth
post Mar 15 2024, 12:27 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 15 2024, 12:15 PM)
in this case its daily liao wor, cos you stated March 1 day interest
For EPF Modified Daily aggregate balance method,

- daily interest is based on the monthly lowest aggregate balance....example 1st mar 100k, withdraw 2k for housing loan middle of mar, left 98k, so whole month interest will be based on 98k

- for any additional amount that u pump in for that particular month, you will only get 1 day interest...example u pump in 20k on 20th Mar, so you'll only get 20k x 5.5% / 366 = $3.01 only..

If is the traditional daily interest method,

- the daily interest is based on daily closing of your balance.

This post has been edited by Rinth: Mar 15 2024, 12:28 PM
Rinth
post Mar 28 2025, 10:15 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Mar 28 2025, 09:43 AM)
oh nice. deposit 100k today, then 30th April take out again put back FD.
withdraw next month to put FD?????

0.0254sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:07 AM