EPF - self contribution, need advise

Ramjade
post Jul 19 2019, 07:49 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Jul 18 2019, 10:03 PM)
Some told me that a salaried employee unable to contribute, is that true because I never try it.

My friends who contributed are housewife and businessman..but I'm just a normal employee, can i contribute up to 60k like those self employed and enjoy dividend as usual?
Well you can always try. Not true. Can put in max RM60k/year if you have the cash.

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Jul 19 2019, 10:09 AM)
I checked EPF website. It stated for salaried person can only increase the contribution %, please advise. Thanks
See reply above.

QUOTE(mavistan89 @ Jul 19 2019, 03:57 PM)
Can I know is there anyway to contribute without public bank online banking, I dont have pbb account.
I have cimb, hlb and rhb. Cimb has the option to transfer to epf but didn't state that it is self contribution, and I cant find any option to change the limit, it stated max rm5000.

Is that 60k additional savings into epf will earn dividends as usual?
Key in your EPF account no. No need to state self contribution or what. I use maybank so cannot really comment about Cimb, HLB or rhb. Not sure which bank allows self contribute to EPF. Best to check with customer service
1) whether they support self transfer
2) if yes what are the steps.

Just drop them an email.

Whatever money you put into EPF will get dividend.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 19 2019, 07:49 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 20 2019, 07:05 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Jul 20 2019, 06:19 PM)
Means that if a full time salary contributed RM12000 per year to Epf account:

A. then only left RM48000 per year quota for self contribution?

Or

B. Still have RM60k quota for self contribution (exclusive salaried epf contribution)
It's your own money. No one is going to question you if you put more inside EPF. If I were you, I will just taruh. At the end of the day I am the one going to withdraw. Not govt. So if they let you put just put and keep quiet about utm

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 20 2019, 07:08 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 4 2019, 10:58 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(sya_dc @ Oct 3 2019, 06:59 PM)
If i do self contribution, may I claim income tax under PRS Scheme?
You need to buy PRS.
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2021, 05:32 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(DiSaver @ Mar 27 2021, 05:25 PM)
Hi!  I know it stated very clear those having regular income is not eligible for self-contribution, have anyone tried and what would happened?
Can. No problem. I usually just use Maybank to deposit money in.
Ramjade
post Apr 4 2022, 01:22 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 4 2022, 01:17 PM)
If we are current employee with monthly deduction into EPF account, can we still topup with extra cash ? Is there a limit ?
Yes. Up to rm60k/year.
Ramjade
post Apr 5 2022, 12:53 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 4 2022, 01:40 PM)
The max 60k is exclude the existing regular contribution of Employee + Employer , right ?
Do we need to inform KWSP or need to apply ?
Use Maybank2u. Not sure if Hong Leong can do it.
Yes exclude. This is self contribution.
I never inform EPF also cause I use Maybank2u.
Ramjade
post Apr 6 2022, 02:31 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Apr 6 2022, 01:40 PM)
Just use EPF open payment instead of registered epf, if registered, then will limit 5k, if open payment, u can transfer 1 shot 60k
Can share the link?
Ramjade
post Oct 8 2022, 07:33 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Oct 8 2022, 04:17 PM)
Which means we add rm3k into EPF next year can get tax relief?
Ramjade
post Oct 9 2022, 02:02 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Oct 9 2022, 01:58 AM)
Life insurance+ takaful + epf self contribution max 3k tax relief.
Before this EPF on its own already rm4k. So are they going to add extra rm3k to it?
Ramjade
post Oct 11 2022, 12:52 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Oct 11 2022, 12:05 PM)
I also find it hard to believe so many ppl invest so much in Malaysia and Ringgit denominated assets.

Like man, do you guys have contingencies for when MYR plummets?
I am not surprised. Lots of people are super conservative in sg and Malaysia. When FD rates drop, all crying.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 11 2022, 01:02 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2022, 12:34 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Oct 12 2022, 10:49 AM)
I believe majority of average malaysian doesnt have the luxury to diversify their portfolio to overseas, or even have extra funds to perform currency hedging.....

What are the average Malaysia financial position? will have car loan, housing loan for own stay, maybe 1 more properties for investment...with the accrued loan and interest ongoing, normal average malaysian will priortising of settling their loan 1st before even think of investing/hedging abroad.....

And ya, i'm just another average malaysian.....
Actually it's all about choice. If you have extra money, do you want to put into EPF or overseas? For me no brainer to put them overseas.
I am Kuli earning only 5k/month and dump all my money overseas. What do I do with my leftover money after paying for all the bills? For me I collect until rm10k then send all of them overseas.

So being average does not give you the excuse not to diversify oversea. It come down to choice and willpower.

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Oct 12 2022, 12:13 PM)
The top T0 has over RM10 mil in EPF...you think they high salary earner or not? Surely these are not dumb people...we ikan bilis look see look see and follow only lah....lol.
Actually lots of rich people are super conversative. 5% is easily RM500k/year. Do they need to take in extra risk to get RM500K a year? No they don't need. Why do you think all the uncle and aunties all grab EPF, FD and amanah saham? For the reasons mentioned above. EPF, FD. amanah saham give them cukup makan.

Do they need to park their money overseas. Depends on them. If they want to protect or send children overseas than yes.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 12 2022, 12:35 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2022, 12:59 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Oct 12 2022, 12:51 PM)
So when u have RM 10k u send abroad, how about your emergency funds? did you convert it back frequently or most of the time they just stay abroad and not coming back?

And able to consistently sending funds abroad, this kind of willpower is not average edi lol.
I have rm2k of emergency fund. More than enough. You can go say RM10k if you feel RM2K is not enough. Whatever floats your boat and how comfortable are you.

Once the money goes overseas, it will never come back to Malaysia unless really really needed. Cause as someone once told me, why the hell you want to hold/invest in a currency that depreciate yearly against almost all currency? The simple act of just putting your money overseas already protect your future buying power in Malaysia.

2md thing he said, don't keep cash overseas. Put the currency to work so that it can generate more foreign currency for you.

It's all about consistency. Like clockwork I send money every 3-4 months overseas once they reach RM10k. The only stuff I have in RM are my EPF. PRS, emergency fund.
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2022, 02:32 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 12 2022, 01:28 PM)
too late for me to top up epf...

but seriously if i were to restart again... i would top up epf... and also move money overseas for stocks/etf, heck i may even dca... laugh.gif

no need to be mutually exclusive... do both...
Even if I got money, I won't bother with extra contribution into EPF. Cause long term dividend growth investing can outpace anything EPF give me.
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2022, 02:50 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Oct 12 2022, 12:06 PM)
Risky in what way?... care to share?...
I said it again and will say it again. Putting money into EPF = you have trust in Malaysia and ringgit for next 20-30 years.

Now if I give you a time machine to go back 20 years, will you top-up EPF or move your money overseas?

So now imagine a new time machine have come from the future. You get to decide your future and your family future right here, right now. What will you? Only you know the answer.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 12 2022, 03:11 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2022, 03:50 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 12 2022, 03:29 PM)
For those that kept saying put money overseas.......where do you put the money ( apart from in the bank ) in overseas?
First lesson is never just leave money into overseas banks or just overseas FD.
Make them work you to earn foreign currency.

Depend on individual and their style of investing.

If you want to invest for income (money coming into your account every few months)
Buy sreits. They can match EPF return and earn you an increase 1-2%p.a and majority of them payout in SGD.
Some quality reits are going at 6.1% and 5.7% respectively.
Downside of investing in sreits is they will ask you for money somewhere down the road. It's inevitable.

Sg banks is also another good place currently yielding 4.3% but growing at conservative 7-8%p.a which means in 10years+ it will give almost 8%p.a on yield on cost (rule of 72)

If you want super safe go with ETF investing. Either sp500 or qqq. Long term wise 8-9%p.a. I recommend QQQ over sp500 as QQQ have more high quality companies.

If you are like me, pick the best high quality stocks from sp500 and qqq, buy and hold them. This method is better than ETF as you don't get the rubbish companies that come with the ETF like Boeing, IBM. GE, ford. Intel. You pick an choose which companies you want to hold.

Hope that helps.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 12 2022, 03:53 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2022, 03:52 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Oct 12 2022, 03:36 PM)
3/4 of assets in MY is actually a good thing...  and also remaining 1/4 in gomen debt i also a good thing as most of the debts is also denominated in MYR. Risks to EPF is less actually.
Put in banks, bank runs can happen when bank collapse.Ability not to remove money is possible as it's already happening in CCPland and US noow.
Put in EPF, i stiil see it as way less risk as compared to the above as it's our country's sovereign pension fund. The impact to government and country is far higher if EPF folds as compared to banks. Just loook at how BOE stepped in to save their country's pencen funds when it was in trouble recently. Most verry verry likely malaysia will do the same.

On inflation part, can't be helped... a few major country WILL go into recession next year.  As long as printing money is not excessive till it creates a feedback loop to bail out entities and print more money, we should be still fine compared to others.
Er you need to see how deep pockets BOE have Vs our BNM. BNM does not have deep pockets. So.ethinh you need to keep in mind.

Don't believe me? See the 1mdb saga. They cannot even defend the RM then.
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2022, 04:34 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Oct 12 2022, 04:22 PM)
When SHTF happens, point to not to defend the RM, . All country will stop exports and economy will self isolate back within their own country. Then slowly economic ties within countries will rebuild again and hope then trading will be denominated by a proper reserve currency and not the US dollar.

This is where i feel we are heading now.

If the BRICs nations comes out with their basket of currencies that is supported by gold and a variety basket of commodities, this is where most my money would be at then. Till this happens (hopefully next year, as FEDs would be coming up with their CBDC sometime Q3 2023 , BRICS nation have to implement it fast as well), my money will rest in what i think the least riskiest place.
Ok. We will see if they go that route. They got their own mess to settle with anyway.
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2022, 09:23 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(eddyooi @ Oct 12 2022, 08:23 PM)
need some advise
i dont have an epf account. plan to open one soon.

i am in freelance
/
so after open can i dump on rm60k this year and rm100k on jan 2023? just dump in s self contribution?
Few questions you need to ask yourself.
1. Do you wand the tax relief or you do want to go beyond tax relief.
-if you want tax relief, I believe rm4k+3k (next year got additional rm3k) enough.
-if you want for long term retirement then yes. Dump in RM60k.

2. Second question see back previous post. How confident are you of Malaysia and the Malaysia currency say 20-30 years later?
-if you are confident, by all means go ahead
-if you are not, follow the examples I listed above.

TOS CPF sucks. So complicated the rules. Our EPF better. Clear cut. Only issue is RM and Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 12 2022, 11:02 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 13 2022, 08:23 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Oct 13 2022, 04:21 AM)
Ramjade and I may not agree on certain things, but he understands what I am saying about hedging at least.

I am not saying to bet ON or AGAINST Malaysia economy, monetary and fiscal policies btw. I am merely saying you guys should at least put your hard earned $ in different places to not be ruined totally when Putrajaya screws up.

You should factor in the risk at the tail end. If so many countries can hyperinflate, or see their currency plummet so hard like GBP JPY, what makes you think Malaysia will never screw up in coming decades until your retirement?
For me, I got no choice to be pessimistic against Malaysia cause 20 years of lousy track record and no improvement.
It's like a company. You already give it 5 years for it to turn around but still it cannot turn around. You hold or you add more or you sell? Same concept here.

Not to mention our neighbours Vietnam, Indonesia have improve a lot and may have overtaken us.
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2023, 08:54 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 6 2023, 08:14 AM)
versa also similar now I'm confused LOL. Also thanks for the heads up bro. God bless notworthy.gif
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 6 2023, 08:18 AM)
Yes, Versa is similar, but I read KDI Save has faster withdrawal period. Not too sure though. KDI Save is good enough for me.
Versa slow withdrawal. Not to mentioned bonus here and there in units and not in RM makes it confusing to count the actual bonus. Not very clear cut while KDI save is all in RM. Withdrawal is same day if done in the morning for KDI.

0.1391sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:06 AM