EPF - self contribution, need advise

MUM
post Nov 2 2025, 04:50 PM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(ornehx @ Nov 2 2025, 04:29 PM)
After the news of World Bank 70 years old recommendation, are you guys spooked out of doing out monthly self contribution?
Posted in the EPF DIVIDEND, EPF thread

These advices are what I will be listening & following if I hv 100k to allocate into FI portion of my diversified investment portfolio

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 2 2025, 04:58 PM

Wedchar2912
post Nov 2 2025, 06:41 PM

3,593 posts

After the news of World Bank 70 years old recommendation, are you guys spooked out of doing out monthly self contribution?
now got article stating World Bank's report been misunderstood. best you take a read the link shared by romuluz777

I am more curious to know if there is some hidden agenda by some group.... cos news about delaying withdrawal and raising of retirement age been popping up recently.

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Nov 2 2025, 05:22 PM)
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 2 2025, 06:37 PM)
lol... so now salahan siapa?

-- world bank?

-- misunderstanding by newspapers for not reading properly the report???

-- growing mismatch of concepts between what a retirement fund truly is and what a social pension support from the government means.
Thanks to certain groups constantly blurring the lines, even media outlets now equate EPF as if it’s a government pension scheme, when it’s not.

hahaha console.gif  rclxub.gif
nexona88
post Nov 2 2025, 07:46 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,423 posts

Like I advocate many times....

Diversified portfolio if you're not hit 55yo or 60yo....

Make sure you can access the $$$ within 12 hours period or less if there's emergency (not all but part of it)... Balance can be in few days later....
dwRK
post Nov 3 2025, 10:30 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

for sure retirement age will be changed to 65... and epf withdrawals changed to align with it...

these changes are inevitable as ppl live longer and longer...

so dun worry about retirement n withdrawal... go worry about earning more money...

nexona88
post Nov 3 2025, 11:02 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,423 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 3 2025, 10:30 AM)
for sure retirement age will be changed to 65... and epf withdrawals changed to align with it...

so dun worry about retirement n withdrawal... go worry about earning more money...
Which means partial withdrawal @ 50 gone & 55yo too??

Straight to 60 & 65 respectively......

I hope if indeed being implemented.... It's applicable to new members only... Existing one is not forced into this....

This post has been edited by nexona88: Nov 3 2025, 11:03 AM
Wedchar2912
post Nov 3 2025, 11:31 AM

3,593 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 3 2025, 10:30 AM)

Exactly: that’s the real fix. Just raise wages enough and poof, half these debates disappear.
disallow all withdrawals until official retirement age will make almost the other half of the debates vanish also.

Let’s keep talking about leaving our money in EPF till 70... maybe even longer, who knows? brows.gif
World Bank says it’s “sustainable,” so I guess we just cross our fingers and hope to still be around to enjoy it.

Otherwise, hey, at least the next generation or our "grand send-off" will be well funded!
magika
post Nov 3 2025, 11:37 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 3 2025, 11:31 AM)
Exactly: that’s the real fix. Just raise wages enough and poof, half these debates disappear.
disallow all withdrawals until official retirement age will make almost the other half of the debates vanish also.

Let’s keep talking about leaving our money in EPF till 70... maybe even longer, who knows?  brows.gif
World Bank says it’s “sustainable,” so I guess we just cross our fingers and hope to still be around to enjoy it.

Otherwise, hey, at least the next generation or our "grand send-off" will be well funded!
Raise wages and cost of living will automatically increase also. It's not how much wages increase it's how much more you earn than the average man. Uneasy truth but that's the reality. No poor people means no rich people.

Wedchar2912
post Nov 3 2025, 12:23 PM

3,593 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Nov 3 2025, 11:37 AM)
Raise wages and cost of living will automatically increase also. It's not how much wages increase it's how much more you earn than the average man. Uneasy truth but that's the reality. No poor people means no rich people.
this type of organizations cares about everyone earning the same... they want low gini coefficient...
no need to add cost of living into the mix... your cost of living vs mine different, which is not their concern...
but both of us same same wage is good....

hehe.. tongue.gif
Ayambetul
post Nov 3 2025, 04:55 PM

331 posts

1 term government for PMX if it happen.

Will vote for opposition.
virtualgay
post Nov 3 2025, 05:05 PM

3,263 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 2 2025, 04:50 PM)
Posted in the EPF DIVIDEND, EPF thread

These advices are what I will be listening & following if I hv 100k to allocate into FI portion of my diversified investment portfolio
i got quoted smile.gif

justanovice
post Nov 4 2025, 07:59 AM

2,526 posts

I am, so i stopped self contri already.

ornehx
post Nov 4 2025, 08:13 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(justanovice @ Nov 4 2025, 07:59 AM)
I am, so i stopped self contri already.
Interesting... May I know then, where do you put your excess cash to each month?
nexona88
post Nov 4 2025, 11:47 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,423 posts

Can still do self contribution BUT the amounts is reduced.... Don't try to maximize the 100k limit....

Since gonna have 5bil ASM1 expected in Q1 2026... Can divert the $$$ there... 100% access guaranteed.... Not locked up till 55yo 😜

Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 12:04 PM

3,593 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 4 2025, 11:47 AM)
Can still do self contribution BUT the amounts is reduced.... Don't try to maximize the 100k limit....

Since gonna have 5bil ASM1 expected in Q1 2026... Can divert the $$$ there... 100% access guaranteed.... Not locked up till 55yo 😜
gov should lock ASMs too.... for the good of the people.... lol tongue.gif
gamenoob
post Nov 4 2025, 01:30 PM

892 posts

Nope…. Not at all.

Infact, Topping up 100k come Jan 2026.

This post has been edited by gamenoob: Nov 4 2025, 01:31 PM
guy3288
post Nov 4 2025, 01:52 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 4 2025, 12:04 PM)
gov should lock ASMs too.... for the good of the people.... lol tongue.gif
you dont know the difference between retirement fund and savings

retirement fund locked so that you wont finished it too early
and come begging for food when old no money

savings like your FD, gold vault, ASM
take out anytime you like
take all out anytime

How can gomen lock it?
on what justification?
Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 02:09 PM

3,593 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 4 2025, 01:52 PM)
you dont know the difference between retirement fund and savings

retirement fund locked so that you wont finished it too early
and come begging for food when old no money

savings like your FD, gold vault, ASM
take out anytime you like
take all out anytime

How can gomen lock it?
on what justification?
A retirement fund is your own savings. money you contribute and invest for your future.
A social pension is government support to ensure basic income for the elderly, usually funded by taxpayers, not one's personal savings.

what's savings? no need to describe too much. retirement fund is your own savings.

Actually, I don't mind seeing withdrawal age changed to 75 even. Being locked longer is better... the people needs baby sitting.
EPF is such a small portion of my portfolio nowadays. lol
rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Nov 4 2025, 02:10 PM
guy3288
post Nov 4 2025, 02:16 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 4 2025, 02:09 PM)
A retirement fund is your own savings. money you contribute and invest for your future.
A social pension is government support to ensure basic income for the elderly, usually funded by taxpayers, not one's personal savings.

what's savings? no need to describe too much. retirement fund is your own savings.

Actually, I don't mind seeing withdrawal age changed to 75 even. Being locked longer is better... the people needs baby sitting.
rclxm9.gif
yet you are the one making most complaints
or trying to scare others be careful their EPF money..

my epf is hardly 15% naturally i wont complain

simply just based on hearsay
speculations
suggestion etc....what for ? wasting time right?

not that the Gomen will listen to you.

Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 02:25 PM

3,593 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 4 2025, 02:16 PM)
yet you are the one making most complaints
or trying to scare others be careful their EPF money..

my epf is hardly 15% naturally  i wont complain

simply just based on hearsay
speculations
suggestion etc....what for ? wasting time right?

not that the Gomen will listen to you.
15% is too high... then again, you do you...

cheers...
Ayambetul
post Nov 4 2025, 02:52 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 4 2025, 02:09 PM)

rclxm9.gif
U got offspring is different story bruh, touch wood anything u can pass down your fund.

Those single retirees want to YOLO earlier

292 Pages « < 286 287 288 289 290 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:54 PM