12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Edifier S2000 Fan Club, Edifier's flagship 2.0 hifi speaker

kapitan
post Jun 20 2007, 11:42 PM

2,205 posts

Dont get me wrong. Indeed digital connection is created to allows user to bypass the sound processing and allows consumer to use more superior external device to process the sound. This is when you have superior external decoder.

But the BB DAC inside the S2000 decoder is somewhat outdated and nothing spectacular. Just feel the quality of the sound is inferior when using the decoder processing compared to EMU0404.

Im gonna send my 0404 to Ijan for modification pretty soon. Just waiting for his signal to sent the card. One week later, I gonna test out whats improvement will I be presented with.
kelvinyam
post Jun 21 2007, 12:07 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

If the DAC inside the S2000 is not up to the expectation, I guess S2000V will be a better bargain then. It's priced at about RM750 and I guess it's more worth the price since the amp and speakers are the same.
I wonder if anyone have tested it (S2000/V) with AV710 before.
CooLeRthings
post Jun 21 2007, 12:12 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Jun 21 2007, 12:07 PM)
If the DAC inside the S2000 is not up to the expectation, I guess S2000V will be a better bargain then. It's priced at about RM750 and I guess it's more worth the price since the amp and speakers are the same.
I wonder if anyone have tested it (S2000/V) with AV710 before.
can't do
coz S2000v got integrate amp at the right channel speaker
is consider active speaker, n i found it really under power...
not nice at all...
xterminator
post Jun 21 2007, 02:26 PM

=What a small box in here=
793 posts

So S2000 is better than S2000v?
Why S2000 can lose to AegoM?
Question question.....
arrsoo
post Jun 21 2007, 02:35 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Jun 20 2007, 11:42 PM)
Dont get me wrong. Indeed digital connection is created to allows user to bypass the sound processing and allows consumer to use more superior external device to process the sound. This is when you have superior external decoder.

But the BB DAC inside the S2000 decoder is somewhat outdated and nothing spectacular. Just feel the quality of the sound is inferior when using the decoder processing compared to EMU0404.

ic...understood, wow so much to learn sweat.gif

QUOTE(kapitan @ Jun 20 2007, 11:42 PM)

Im gonna send my 0404 to Ijan for modification pretty soon. Just waiting for his signal to sent the card. One week later, I gonna test out whats improvement will I be presented with.
Now, this is poisonous tongue.gif what do you expect from your 0404 to be after modification?? Can i modifiy my Prodigy 7.1LT too drool.gif

kapitan
post Jun 21 2007, 05:21 PM

2,205 posts

Hmm... I dunno cos I didnt test out S2000V. Dont know why I wasnt bother at all to test it when I audition S2000. Maybe they used better component for it, or maybe they used the surplus to include an external casing, digital input and remote control. Who knows unless you open it up for inspection.

Under powered? Dont know why you said so. I have to set Foobar at -6db to avoid clipping and left ASIO at 0db. That way allows me to crank the volume to full without clipping. Same method used by ICE tuner where they use osciloscope to adjust gain on amp while maxing the volume on the cd player. Its really loud minus the bass of course. Why dont you make a second trip to Edifier showroom to test it out yourself. Dont be shy.. just crank up the volume all the way till you feel enough ba. Its 40W RMS per channel so I think you either too shy to crank it up or you're deaf.

Added on June 21, 2007, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(arrsoo @ Jun 21 2007, 02:35 PM)
ic...understood, wow so much to learn sweat.gif
Now, this is poisonous tongue.gif  what do you expect from your 0404 to be after modification??  Can i modifiy my Prodigy 7.1LT too drool.gif
Hahahaha.. actually to be honest, I have no idea.
I too was poisoned by Ijan post back in Team EMU. He has finalise the mod and will take a week to complete it after he received the card. Just haf to wait n see.

This post has been edited by kapitan: Jun 21 2007, 05:23 PM
CooLeRthings
post Jun 21 2007, 05:29 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Jun 21 2007, 05:21 PM)
Hmm... I dunno cos I didnt test out S2000V. Dont know why I wasnt bother at all to test it when I audition S2000. Maybe they used better component for it, or maybe they used the surplus to include an external casing, digital input and remote control. Who knows unless you open it up for inspection.

Under powered? Dont know why you said so. I have to set Foobar at -6db to avoid clipping and left ASIO at 0db. That way allows me to crank the volume to full without clipping. Same method used by ICE tuner where they use osciloscope to adjust gain on amp while maxing the volume on the cd player. Its really loud minus the bass of course. Why dont you make a second trip to Edifier showroom to test it out yourself. Dont be shy.. just crank up the volume all the way till you feel enough ba. Its 40W RMS per channel so I think you either too shy to crank it up or you're deaf.

Added on June 21, 2007, 5:23 pm

I too was poisoned by Ijan post back in Team EMU. He has finalise the mod and will take a week to complete it after he received the card. Just haf to wait n see.
lol
i meant s2000 V la, only got a volumn knob, tat when maximum, hardly loud

u no need to worry
those boss there know me dy
marcus, alex those know who i am 1 tongue.gifl
coz i work for them b4
i even work at ALL IT tat i can test all the speaker there myself till i deaf tongue.gif
S2k i duno how loud it can b, but at all IT, i maximum it... the sound is like...5 %~10% of my home setup bookshelves

but it is b coz i use proper amp
tat the reason i keep asking if S2000 pair with proper amp, wat will its potential reach till
kapitan, next time we got chance, u bring ur setup s2k to my place, we AB test it XD
i can try to hook ur S2k to my amp n see how it goes
might b something interesting tat make u give up ur EMU whistling.gif
kelvinyam
post Jun 21 2007, 05:57 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Jun 21 2007, 05:29 PM)
lol
i meant s2000 V la, only got a volumn knob, tat when maximum, hardly loud

u no need to worry
those boss there know me dy
marcus, alex those know who i am 1 tongue.gifl
coz i work for them b4
i even work at ALL IT tat i can test all the speaker there myself till i deaf tongue.gif
S2k i duno how loud it can b, but at all IT, i maximum it... the sound is like...5 %~10% of my home setup bookshelves

but it is b coz i use proper amp
tat the reason i keep asking if S2000 pair with proper amp, wat will its potential reach till
kapitan, next time we got chance, u bring ur setup s2k to my place, we AB test it XD
i can try to hook ur S2k to my amp n see how it goes
might b something interesting tat make u give up ur EMU  whistling.gif
You mean using the speakers only and discard the amp/DAC? Wouldn't it be waste of money since you are paying for the unit as a whole? I guess at the same value of RM1k, you can get a higher end unit of HiFi bookshelf. If I still remember correctly, there's a model call Diamond 9 or something which has been reviewed by TheStar before and has received a good rating.
CooLeRthings
post Jun 21 2007, 06:24 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

u remind me...
i think S2k cannot simply connect to amp
it might burn both thing

kapitan
post Jun 21 2007, 06:25 PM

2,205 posts

LOL...
Whats the point of buying the S2000 then?

If you really want to buy a good amp, it can cost thousands. Man, you really are crazy. If you want to spent 2-3k, better get a hifi set.

If S2000 is like 5-10% of your home bookshelf, it feel like you not having bookshelf. More like floor stander speaker liao.

Added on June 21, 2007, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Jun 21 2007, 06:24 PM)
u remind me...
i think S2k cannot simply connect to amp
it might burn both thing
Depends. I think the speaker in S2000 might be 4ohm. Start off with low volume for starter. Then slowly increase. I dont see a reason why it shall blow up if you dont overfeed it.

Added on June 21, 2007, 6:44 pmhttp://jimmyauw.com/2006/12/12/edifier-goes-to-another-level/

S2000 review in English. Basically he also feel the need to turn it pass 50%, so I guess its a must to crank it so loud.

Added on June 21, 2007, 7:04 pmhttp://www2.beareyes.com.cn/cgi-bin/joytlun.pl?id=a&job=post&numb_can=103851&ceng_can=0&p=20070612103851&his=14

If you click here, you would find that S2000 is indeed using a so-so DAC.. PCM1732 which feature HDCD but not spectacular at all...

This post has been edited by kapitan: Jun 21 2007, 07:04 PM
CooLeRthings
post Jun 21 2007, 07:24 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Jun 21 2007, 06:25 PM)
LOL...
Whats the point of buying the S2000 then?

If you really want to buy a good amp, it can cost thousands. Man, you really are crazy. If you want to spent 2-3k, better get a hifi set.

If S2000 is like 5-10% of your home bookshelf, it feel like you not having bookshelf. More like floor stander speaker liao.

Added on June 21, 2007, 6:35 pm

Depends. I think the speaker in S2000 might be 4ohm. Start off with low volume for starter. Then slowly increase. I dont see a reason why it shall blow up if you dont overfeed it.

Added on June 21, 2007, 6:44 pmhttp://jimmyauw.com/2006/12/12/edifier-goes-to-another-level/

S2000 review in English. Basically he also feel the need to turn it pass 50%, so I guess its a must to crank it so loud.

Added on June 21, 2007, 7:04 pmhttp://www2.beareyes.com.cn/cgi-bin/joytlun.pl?id=a&job=post&numb_can=103851&ceng_can=0&p=20070612103851&his=14

If you click here, you would find that S2000 is indeed using a so-so DAC.. PCM1732 which feature HDCD but not spectacular at all...
bookshelve is almost same as floorstander la
just slightly not tat much bass compare
PcWork addict with 1 of the bookshelves from Sonus Faber n he say floorstander also not as nice as it

really depend
dun categorize booksleve is lower than floorstader, coz they almost the same level.

is not about wat the point of getting S2k if wanna get amp or watever
from the begining till now
i just repeating the same thing n question
is, how far can S2k Bookshelves go?
ppl always desire better, dun u wanna let ur S2k b much better?
tat y need to find it out ma
then ur guys keep repeating " then wat the point of getting S2k" pula
zzz
kapitan
post Jun 21 2007, 07:32 PM

2,205 posts

It seem like you dont get it.
If I ask you to get rid of your AegoM sub and replace it with something bigger and more powerful. Rip off the amp and fit in something more powerful. And then hook it all up. And then what you get? AegoM on steroid?

Besides how much would you spent on the amp anyway? Rm500 amp? What was that!!?? A decent one would cost around 2k at least. My mom got a Denon amp downstair. But I wasnt interested hooking it up to my S2000. I hook it up b4 with my CDT 6.5 component and its 80W proved more than enough to prick the whole speaker upside down.
CooLeRthings
post Jun 21 2007, 07:53 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

zzz
u dun get it leh
i just want experiment
dun mean i wanna own it like tat
wont u b more happy tat if let say, u heard ppl done experiment on S2k SQ can reach same level as 5k or 6 k or evern higher price settings after tuning or MOD or adding something
at least u know ur S2k got tat potential to do tat, but dun mean u need to do it ma
get wat i mean o not?

bookshelves is make out to pair with nice amp to sing well
tat is the reason i comparing
i comparing like tat coz S2k got level of HIFI entry
did u see i ever ask ppl to try on other those 2.1 or 5.1 multimedia speaker?
Aego M got it limits, it can only change cable n hook up with nice DAC or CDP then can sing very nice

but S2k can change amp also
since is a bookshelves, tat is no wrong to pair it with different amp right?
kapitan
post Jun 21 2007, 08:10 PM

2,205 posts

I know what you mean. But that is so Malaysian way. Rip off the engine from Mirage and we call it Satria. Why spent few k on an amp on something that supposely fit in your bedroom or on your computer table. If you bought a 2k+ amp and found that it rivals 5k sound system. Does that really make you happy? You could have bought something better that also can rivals a 5k setup, given the total amount you spent on it. Honestly if its really that good anyway, I guess the news already pop out long ago.

For me, if you really keen to mod the speaker, rip it off the internal and change the IC, components etc. Everything has its limits. The components choosen for S2000 is the limitation that given its price tag. Its not that it cant get better, its just an economical factors whether the increase in quality justify the money spent on the purpose to achieve it.
CooLeRthings
post Jun 21 2007, 09:59 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

OMG
u still dun get it
nvm
i dun think u really know wat the use of Passive bookshelves
as i tot S2k is 1 of them tat y will suggest
nvm dy
nothing, go on with ur so call everything original, n i dun think i even mention bout MOD or anything, i just suggest put a nicer AMP on, n i even din talk bout cable some more
n u give me tat lot of BS tat tot i duno wat u meaning
pass it on, i out of this discussion

Added on June 21, 2007, 10:01 pmn oh ya
y bother to MOD ur EMU at the 1st place? shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by CooLeRthings: Jun 21 2007, 10:01 PM
iceFrog-Hunter
post Jun 21 2007, 11:41 PM

88 posts

seem like s2000 vy hard to configure one. i would like to ask, coz i m using laptop so my soundcard should be external and now i own a Philips PSC805, can it drive s2000 well?

and s2000 muz need an amp juz can work well one ah?

I heard tht during PC fair the price of s2000 may only RM999. Is it possible for this coming 3-5 August Penang PC fair?

This post has been edited by iceFrog-Hunter: Jun 21 2007, 11:47 PM
Akabane@DrJackel
post Jun 22 2007, 12:58 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

wan to know different test a s2k with a bookshelf also lo....u wan to listen a good bookshelf may try monitoring speaker haha,,,, sure u will poison.....it true is happen to me then haha..my bookshelf monitoring up to 70RMS per speaker side lo...total RMS IS 140....will blow ler. sound is balance and clear ....

This post has been edited by Akabane@DrJackel: Jun 22 2007, 12:58 AM
kapitan
post Jun 22 2007, 09:36 AM

2,205 posts

QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Jun 22 2007, 12:58 AM)
wan to know different test a s2k  with a bookshelf also lo....u wan to listen a good bookshelf may try monitoring speaker haha,,,, sure u will poison.....it true is happen to me then haha..my bookshelf monitoring up to 70RMS per speaker side lo...total RMS IS 140....will blow ler. sound is balance and clear ....
It came with built-in amp or must buy an amp?
Actually 40W RMS is too much for a small room, let alone 70W RMS.
You are using Esi monitor isnt it? Does it come with 6.5" or 5.5" mid?

Added on June 22, 2007, 9:45 am
QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Jun 21 2007, 09:59 PM)
OMG
u still dun get it
nvm
i dun think u really know wat the use of Passive bookshelves
as i tot S2k is 1 of them tat y will suggest
nvm dy
nothing, go on with ur so call everything original, n i dun think i even mention bout MOD or anything, i just suggest put a nicer AMP on, n i even din talk bout cable some more
n u give me tat lot of BS tat tot i duno wat u meaning
pass it on, i out of this discussion

Added on June 21, 2007, 10:01 pmn oh ya
y bother to MOD ur EMU at the 1st place?  shakehead.gif
Just cool it man. Not really wanna offend you. I get what you mean like I said. You want to test it with a dedicated amp to see if there's any improvement. Just that I feel wasting money if really wanna buy a decent amp cos it would increase the cost by 2-3 fold (IMO only, budget constraint). According to the reviews that I gone through, it seem that the LM3886 was able to produce much higher gain but Edifier specifically limits it to 40W to keep the THD at 5/10000.

Arssoo would be interested to lend you his set I think.

This post has been edited by kapitan: Jun 22 2007, 09:45 AM
arrsoo
post Jun 22 2007, 11:32 AM

600 posts

Wait a minute, Kapitan, i think i might be missing something here, you said you left ASIO at 0db?? ASIO hv adjustable vol control one meh?? Where to set it? I cant find the vol control for ASIO in Foobar 9.4.3 wor rclxub.gif

Aiseh......that means Ijan only specialise on EMU mod only, is the Prodigy 7.1LT moddable or not drool.gif drool.gif poison poison tongue.gif

Added on June 22, 2007, 11:36 am
QUOTE(iceFrog-Hunter @ Jun 21 2007, 11:41 PM)
seem like s2000 vy hard to configure one. i would like to ask, coz i m using laptop so my soundcard should be external and now i own a Philips PSC805, can it drive s2000 well?

and s2000 muz need an amp juz can work well one ah?

I heard tht during PC fair the price of s2000 may only RM999. Is it possible for this coming 3-5 August Penang PC fair?
Come, dun be shy, bring your lappie & phillips sc over to my house, we can test it out...I also keen to know how the phillips perform rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on June 22, 2007, 11:46 am
QUOTE(kapitan @ Jun 22 2007, 09:36 AM)

Arssoo would be interested to lend you his set I think.
Kapitan, you are darn right laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Come on Coolerthing, dun just leave me like that, my quest to find out how good Aego M is compared to S2000 is still burning, I am interested to try out my S2000 with your amp too. Maybe we bring everything to Edifier showroom to test test, I will help you carry, dun worry icon_rolleyes.gif Damm.....i am crazy liao tongue.gif

This post has been edited by arrsoo: Jun 22 2007, 11:46 AM
CooLeRthings
post Jun 22 2007, 11:53 AM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

lol
too bad this few weekend full schedule
next week end gonna have fun at KK for 1 week
while tomorrow got Transmy 3rd gathering ( for transformers fans 1 XD)
then sunday need to go shop for the KK trip
hopefully after back from KK, i can find slot, then i'll contact u,
or if want, u bring ur set to my place better, at least only move ur S2000
then we both test n find some 1 else come to audit it

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:57 PM