> small flies found in fridge

TSTearsRainzz
post Feb 28 2019, 09:59 AM, updated 7y ago

104 posts

damn, i got a new fridge baru pakai for less than 3 months.

recently i found out a lot of dead bodies of small fruit flies in my fridge, freezer compartment also got!

every time after i clean up, few house later got new one, not sure they breed inside or found a way to climb inside.

how come and how to get rid of it?

anyone encounter this before? icon_question.gif

---------------update---------------

so yesterday night i go back home start to do cleaning on my fridge, after i removing everything out, found out that most of the flies bodies are at the very bottom level of the fridge, the bottom area below the compartment to keep veggie and fruit. so i suspect that the nest of the fruit flies. they breed on my fruits.

so i threw some fruits that turn bad already and some expired food. wipe the whole fridge clean then everything is ok now.

so confirmed that the flies actually breed in the fridge which is quite unbelievable.

thats all, cheers guy icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by TearsRainzz: Mar 1 2019, 08:38 AM
persona93
post Feb 28 2019, 10:00 AM

1,180 posts

buy new fridge
LamboSama
post Feb 28 2019, 10:00 AM

769 posts

use sticky fly trap.
takadanicklagi
post Feb 28 2019, 10:05 AM

124 posts

Musim panas. Insect also want to cool off
pokchik
post Feb 28 2019, 10:07 AM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

proposal :

1. clear off all the contents of the fridge.

2. clean it up properly.

3. leave it empty for a few days, clean up the flies every day.

4. start using back after you find no more dead flies inside it.

5. if the dead flies start to show up again..
buy new fridge.
silent_stalker
post Feb 28 2019, 10:07 AM

852 posts

If they can find a way in means theres a hole in ur fridge. How to keep cool like that.

Most likely when u open the door the fly kamikaze enter
Ryurox2020
post Feb 28 2019, 10:08 AM

115 posts

Clean it with bakin soda
Newsray
post Feb 28 2019, 10:13 AM

1,022 posts

The flies enter when you open the fridge. Just that you not notice.
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 28 2019, 10:15 AM

216 posts

When you open fridge time they went in...or it went in with your fruits/food stuff you put into the fridge.
Make sure your kitchen is clean and rubbish is throw away daily.
when no fruit flies around...it wont enter you fridge.

This post has been edited by Zoopdiidoo: Feb 28 2019, 10:15 AM
homemark

137 posts

i have this issue few months back and thought there must be something wrong with the fridge or there are gaps somewhere that allow fruit flies to go inside my freezer. Turns out its not the fridge, I have a pack of expired raisins hidden somewhere on the table top next to the fridge that was drawing the flies in, and they manage to find their way into my freezer.

After throwing the icky pack of raisins away, flies are gone now.
jerm57

405 posts

Got rotten food in TS fridge.
haroldz123
post Feb 28 2019, 10:16 AM

1,062 posts

send for inspection or cleaning?
SliparJepun
post Feb 28 2019, 10:18 AM

109 posts

lukis peta Pakistan dan India kat peti tu, sure they divert.
pokchik
post Feb 28 2019, 10:24 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(SliparJepun @ Feb 28 2019, 10:18 AM)
lukis peta Pakistan dan India kat peti tu, sure they divert.
tahfeikei
post Feb 28 2019, 10:27 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,247 posts

TS,got other funny things going on in your house?
like dirty tap water
or other animals dying?
LEL
TSTearsRainzz
post Feb 28 2019, 10:46 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Feb 28 2019, 10:00 AM)
buy new fridge
cannot, baru buy 3 months old

QUOTE(LamboSama @ Feb 28 2019, 10:00 AM)
use sticky fly trap.
really? put in fridge? unsure.gif

QUOTE(takadanicklagi @ Feb 28 2019, 10:05 AM)
Musim panas. Insect also want to cool off
but i tak suka unsure.gif

QUOTE(pokchik @ Feb 28 2019, 10:07 AM)
proposal :

1. clear off all the contents of the fridge.

2. clean it up properly.

3. leave it empty for a few days, clean up the flies every day.

4. start using back after you find no more dead flies inside it.

5. if the dead flies start to show up again..
buy new fridge.
damn my fridge banyak barang, when you said clean up means make it empty and unplug electricity for few days?

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Feb 28 2019, 10:07 AM)
If they can find a way in means theres a hole in ur fridge. How to keep cool like that.

Most likely when u open the door the fly kamikaze enter
i suspect this also, but then i try to feel the gap of the fridge door i dont feel any cool air coming out though unsure.gif

mingyuyu
post Feb 28 2019, 10:50 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

dont store your anak anak cucu cicit inside fridge lah
bukechi

409 posts

QUOTE(TearsRainzz @ Feb 28 2019, 09:59 AM)
damn, i got a new fridge baru pakai for less than 3 months.

recently i found out a lot of dead bodies of small fruit flies in my fridge, freezer compartment also got!

every time after i clean up, few house later got new one, not sure they breed inside or found a way to climb inside.

how come and how to get rid of it?

anyone encounter this before? icon_question.gif
everybody exp it.. no worries.. this help

TSTearsRainzz

104 posts

QUOTE(Ryurox2020 @ Feb 28 2019, 10:08 AM)
Clean it with bakin soda
baking soda mix water? some say vinegar mix water then spray spray

QUOTE(Newsray @ Feb 28 2019, 10:13 AM)
The flies enter when you open the fridge. Just that you not notice.
i suspect also, but shit load you know unsure.gif

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 28 2019, 10:15 AM)
When you open fridge time they went in...or it went in with your fruits/food stuff you put into the fridge.
Make sure your kitchen is clean and rubbish is throw away daily.
when no fruit flies around...it wont enter you fridge.
wokay, this i take noted

QUOTE(my bro thel @ Feb 28 2019, 10:19 AM)
send to puspakom for inspection.
wts proton freezer unsure.gif

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Feb 28 2019, 10:27 AM)
TS,got other funny things going on in your house?
like dirty tap water
or other animals dying?
LEL
i am the funniest thing can found in my house unsure.gif

TSTearsRainzz
post Feb 28 2019, 10:51 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Feb 28 2019, 10:50 AM)
dont store your anak anak cucu cicit inside fridge lah
i thought thats the purpose of sperm bank, no? unsure.gif

QUOTE(bukechi @ Feb 28 2019, 10:50 AM)
everybody exp it.. no worries.. this help

wokay, will but some baking soda later unsure.gif
Aparaa
post Feb 28 2019, 10:52 AM

72 posts

Ts can you check whether they really die or not. Cos i heard from a magician, flies sleep when put in freezer.
Blofeld
post Feb 28 2019, 10:52 AM

4,703 posts

there are fly eggs somewhere inside your fridge

maybe in your vegetable or something
Gentleman_League
post Feb 28 2019, 10:54 AM

240 posts

did u find any leakage,like your fridge its not cooler then usual?
pokchik

1,304 posts

QUOTE(TearsRainzz @ Feb 28 2019, 10:46 AM)
damn my fridge banyak barang, when you said clean up means make it empty and unplug electricity for few days?
unplug electricity may make your fridge smell later.. so, don't turn it off.
just clean up a bit but leave it turned on.

leave items properly covered inside (water bottles, meat/fish put in closed containers, etc.)

try not to stock up bio items e.g. fruits, veggie, etc. since these are the main attraction for the flies.

and as one person mentioned up top - even raisins attract flies in his fridge.

This post has been edited by pokchik: Feb 28 2019, 10:55 AM
TSTearsRainzz

104 posts

QUOTE(Aparaa @ Feb 28 2019, 10:52 AM)
Ts can you check whether they really die or not. Cos i heard from a magician, flies sleep when put in freezer.
if you really trust magician then son, i have a bad news for you
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 28 2019, 10:52 AM)

yeah, i suspect also, i need to clean up all barang later, damn flies, freezer so cool still can lay eggs and breed
TSTearsRainzz
post Feb 28 2019, 10:58 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Feb 28 2019, 10:54 AM)
did u find any leakage,like your fridge its not cooler then usual?
when you say leakage, is like leakage of water or coolant right? no, i catch a glimpse at the bottom of freezer, nothing hmm.gif

QUOTE(pokchik @ Feb 28 2019, 10:54 AM)
unplug electricity may make your fridge smell later.. so, don't turn it off.
just clean up a bit but leave it turned on.

leave items properly covered inside (water bottles, meat/fish put in closed containers, etc.)

try not to stock up bio items e.g. fruits, veggie, etc. since these are the main attraction for the flies.

and as one person mentioned up top - even raisins attract flies in his fridge.
but i eat fruits every day, how not to keep fruits inside unsure.gif
my old panasonic freezer dont have this problem unsure.gif
Ryurox2020
post Feb 28 2019, 11:57 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(TearsRainzz @ Feb 28 2019, 10:50 AM)
baking soda mix water? some say vinegar mix water then spray spray

Yes pls do effktif
sakuraboo
post Feb 28 2019, 11:59 AM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

Just burn the mtfkn fridge
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 28 2019, 12:18 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 28 2019, 10:52 AM)

they would die off in the maggot stage before they turn adults.
TSTearsRainzz
post Feb 28 2019, 01:44 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Feb 28 2019, 11:59 AM)
Just burn the mtfkn fridge
you gift me one new one if i burn off this one? unsure.gif

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 28 2019, 12:18 PM)
they would die off in the maggot stage before they turn adults.
really? so are you saying the flies impossible to breed inside fridge, must be from outside climb into my fridge? unsure.gif
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 28 2019, 02:42 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(TearsRainzz @ Feb 28 2019, 01:44 PM)
you gift me one new one if i burn off this one? unsure.gif
really? so are you saying the flies impossible to breed inside fridge, must be from outside climb into my fridge?  unsure.gif
I would guess so..
In basic science class as i know this is the basic life-cycle of a fly type insect.
Egg >> maggot >> pupal stage >> Adult
And this cycle should take days...not hours, so if you have fruit flies being able to go through an entire cycle...means your god damn fridge is broken.
TSTearsRainzz
post Feb 28 2019, 03:13 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 28 2019, 02:42 PM)
I would guess so..
In basic science class as i know this is the basic life-cycle of a fly type insect.
Egg >> maggot >> pupal stage >> Adult
And this cycle should take days...not hours, so if you have fruit flies being able to go through an entire cycle...means your god damn fridge is broken.
but the food i kept inside the fridge are fresh though. not turning bad, ice also not melted though.

hmm hmm.gif
TSTearsRainzz
post Mar 1 2019, 08:38 AM

104 posts

updated the post so that in future anyone looking for this info can know how to deal with it

0.0185sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:51 AM