[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world

zerolord
post Dec 13 2019, 11:34 AM

54 posts

I had been following the thread for a few days, I'm staying in SG, thinking to hoot CSPX instead of SXR8, caused it's in USD, the account I'm opening with TD Ameritrade will be in USD, so if I buy EUR staff, I will need to exchange twice, SGD -> USD -> EUR, rugi, right?
Now waiting account opening to be completed, once done I will dump in my first deposit. Wish me luck!
zerolord
post Dec 13 2019, 01:47 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2019, 12:42 PM)
TD Ameritrade only let you to buy from US market.
Will update once my account is opened. If really cannot then I will go IBKR, but kena pay their inactive fee until I have 100k...

zerolord
post Dec 13 2019, 08:29 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2019, 02:16 PM)
Read from page. Use whitelabels. No need for inactive fees.
White label? Can you elaborate more?
zerolord
post Dec 14 2019, 10:49 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 13 2019, 02:09 PM)
can confirm us market only

and withdrawal fee $25
You are right... Only US market.
Which do you recommend for low frequency inactive user like me?
zerolord
post Dec 16 2019, 06:47 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 13 2019, 10:09 PM)
I'm using Tradestation + SXR8 .... sad.gif

anyway, I wanted to ask which has a better return, SXR8 or CSPX?
Not sure if I chose the correct SXR8...
zerolord
post Dec 16 2019, 11:20 PM

54 posts

Just found out about 3140.hk
Seems like the tracking is not bad
zerolord
post Dec 17 2019, 10:32 AM

54 posts

Just got my IBKR account open, by estimation, I should be able to dump in 100k USD by May next year, what's the best strategy to deploy my money to minimize the commission being charged?

I have around 60k SGD in cash now and got around 80~90k SGD coming in next May from a Investment Link Policy, meanwhile I will be dumping in 30~40% of my monthly salary into my portfolio.

I tried reading the fee structure but I am still a little bit confused, there's a minimum charge of USD10 per month if the trade I made that month did not hit USD 10, and there's a grace period for 2 months (not sure where I read that, can't find it back now).

If I dump in SGD 10~12k per month until next May to DCA or this can be optimized better?
zerolord
post Dec 17 2019, 10:33 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Dec 16 2019, 11:34 PM)
The one listed on HK does not have tax treaty and subjected to 30% withholding tax
You are right, I still need to train myself better to understand all these...
zerolord
post Dec 17 2019, 12:20 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Dec 17 2019, 11:31 AM)
Bro..make sure u make up ur mind on asset allocation

Equity: fixed income ratio

Dun all in sp500 ya.

U can use captrader for maximized saving for now.

If u do lumpsum 100k, then ikbr
Thanks for the quick response.

I got more than SGD 150k locked in CPF (EFP in SG) that I am forced to contribute 37% monthly (20% from me & 17% from company) as long as I am drawing salary (until 55 years old). I am not optimizing that part yet, will look into that after taking care of the cash portion.

I am treating the CPF as my bond bucket of the total portfolio as it's pretty safe. I also have some money in StashAway, sort of "local fund". Plus being exposed to FIRE and "A simple path to wealth" recently, the idea to dump most of the money into low cost index fund resonate with me and that's what I am going to execute. And that complete my 3 fund portfolio.

I know that using captrader is cheaper for one-off, but I am thinking to go with IBKR only as having multiple accounts as transferring assets between account will be more complex later, and I prefer to keep things simple. Furthermore, I should be reaching USD 100k in portfolio size in 6 months, that why I am thinking to time it right so I can avoid the inactive fee.
zerolord
post Dec 17 2019, 12:38 PM

54 posts

This just come to mind....should I allocate 50% SXR8 and 50% CSPX to hedge against currency risk?
zerolord
post Dec 19 2019, 03:59 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 19 2019, 02:33 PM)
but stocks usually go up during year end, no? window dressing time?
sometimes conventional wisdom failed
zerolord
post Dec 28 2019, 04:58 PM

54 posts

Ain't that crazy...
zerolord
post Dec 28 2019, 04:59 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(edwin1002 @ Dec 28 2019, 04:26 PM)
why asked for how much?
Coz fee are different based on your capital.
zerolord
post Jan 2 2020, 05:44 PM

54 posts

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...e-subprime-cdos

https://www.cnbc.com/2019/09/04/the-big-sho...ket-bubble.html

Hopefully this is just noise...
zerolord
post Jan 8 2020, 11:04 PM

54 posts

Nothing happened...
zerolord
post Jan 11 2020, 01:46 PM

54 posts

https://www.cnbc.com/amp/2020/01/10/longvie...y-just-yet.html

Next DCA date, Feb 2020
zerolord
post Jan 19 2020, 02:25 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Jan 18 2020, 10:51 AM)
Not sure should proceed to DCA or hold a bit to accumulate bullet.
Will there be correction in February?
Just do it systematically, don't ever try to time the market.
zerolord
post Feb 1 2020, 08:48 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 1 2020, 06:34 PM)
Sp500 crash again!
my DCA date approaching....should I wait for a few more days?
zerolord
post Feb 6 2020, 08:19 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(meir13 @ Feb 5 2020, 03:58 AM)
Forget it, US-Phil tax treaty withholding tax in dividends is I believe 25%.
I was on stashaway webinar last night, the guy mention WHT is not significant as tracking error is higher for Ireland compare to US one. I can imagine the error could be caused by market open timing but when I check morning star comparing tracking error statistics, I don't see much different.
I'm confused..
zerolord
post Feb 16 2020, 09:35 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 16 2020, 10:14 AM)

Example of transaction. Tradestation global eat 0.125% per way.

I sold because of personal circumstance. Will be back sp500 once settle smile.gif
Not sxr8?

0.0483sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:46 AM