[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world

l4nc3k
post Feb 26 2019, 11:29 PM

Nerd
968 posts

Poor guy here, but working towards this direction too.

Just want to ask.. how do you actually practice DCA in this kind of investment? Because I assume every month transfer smaller amount of money is very inconvenient in this case (say around 1-2k ringgit / month), so probably will just transfer once every 6 months or even once every year.

Or sifus just accumulate wealth and only transfer when you think the index is underpriced?

Also if I have stash in captrader, do I get any growth like money market?

Thanks in advanced.
l4nc3k
post Feb 27 2019, 08:06 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 27 2019, 07:52 AM)
Ya... Need min rm18 for each subsequent investment... If not, brokerage charge will kill us.

Dca into a cash management fund first... Once hit rm18k, then execute sxr8

Yes u can buy more when index is cheaper. But jack bogle is against market timing.

Captrader Germany trading account interest very low to no existence...

Remember ya, only hoot with money u can afford to set aside for quite some time
Just to make it clear, is it DCA consistently via instarem->any cmf in captrader, then switch to sxr8 when have ~4k euro in the cmf? In this case the DCA just to offset currency fluctuations am i right?

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 27 2019, 07:57 AM)
No guarantee ya... If US market gg, then sp500 gg.... Then we gg in no time also
Haha but to be fair if US gg then most probably the whole world won’t be doing well.

This post has been edited by l4nc3k: Feb 27 2019, 08:06 AM
l4nc3k
post Feb 27 2019, 10:47 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 27 2019, 07:21 PM)
Yes... Bogle punya index fund semua US domiciled.... Don't think can buy vanguard fund which is domiciled elsewhere....

So as Malaysian... To maximize return, hoot those Ireland domiciled one then ok d
15% withholding meaning we lose 15% of it or just need to wait next fiscal year to claim back?
If can claim back is it automated by the service we use, or in this case captrader?
l4nc3k
post Dec 17 2019, 01:08 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 17 2019, 12:20 PM)
Thanks for the quick response.

I got more than SGD 150k locked in CPF (EFP in SG) that I am forced to contribute 37% monthly (20% from me & 17% from company) as long as I am drawing salary (until 55 years old). I am not optimizing that part yet, will look into that after taking care of the cash portion.

I am treating the CPF as my bond bucket of the total portfolio as it's pretty safe. I also have some money in StashAway, sort of "local fund". Plus being exposed to FIRE and "A simple path to wealth" recently, the idea to dump most of the money into low cost index fund resonate with me and that's what I am going to execute. And that complete my 3 fund portfolio.

I know that using captrader is cheaper for one-off, but I am thinking to go with IBKR only as having multiple accounts as transferring  assets between account will be more complex later, and I prefer to keep things simple. Furthermore, I should be reaching USD 100k in portfolio size in 6 months, that why I am thinking to time it right so I can avoid the inactive fee.
I agree with the CPF being your security/backup. Most of the time we see 80:20, 70:30, or whatever ratio being recommended especially in the states because their 401k is not mandatory.
But it still boils down to personal risk appetite. If you are comfortable with 100% invested into ETFs go for it.

QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 17 2019, 12:38 PM)
This just come to mind....should I allocate 50% SXR8 and 50% CSPX to hedge against currency risk?
I don't think hedging is effective as you are buying into USD - your base currency after buying in will be converted into USD. So currency risk will only apply vs. your withdrawal currency (in the future).

0.0426sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:47 AM