[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world

Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 3 2021, 06:17 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

Anyone with a referral offer code for tradestation-international?

1. MY bank -> transferwise/instarem/bigpay/sunwaymoney -> Cimb SG -> Interactive broker (IBKR)-> Convert into USD/GBP via IBKR
Withdrawal will be Sell on IBKR -> Convert into SGD via IBKR -> CIMB SG -> Cimb Malaysia

What is the difference MY bank > Transferwise > IBKR vs MY Bank > Transferwise > Cimb SG > IBKR ?

This post has been edited by Lim Ling Yang: Jul 3 2021, 08:21 PM
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 3 2021, 08:53 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jul 3 2021, 08:52 PM)
Currency conversion and extra charges

RM to USD to IBKR

RM to SGD to USD to IBKR

The difference it is obvious
I would think an extra step/person will increase the charges? no?

could you give an example? say start with rm10000? super newbie here only have been using stashaway

This post has been edited by Lim Ling Yang: Jul 3 2021, 08:54 PM
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 3 2021, 09:25 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 3 2021, 09:09 PM)
People said TransferWise cannot transfer USD Into IBKR. Only EUR
If you have borderless account you can bank in USD as it's considered local transfer under your own name.
But since TransferWise shut down borderless account for Malaysian unlikely you will have it.
Which means any USD transfer coming from Ibkr is considered third person transfer which means automatically blocked by IBKR.

If you go by CIMB sg route, money will go without any fuss. Not to mentioned conversion inside Ibkr inside Ibkr is spot rate which is cheaper than what TransferWise can offer you.

Not to mention by using TransferWise to transfer money into Ibkr, Ibkr will question you for source if money 6-7 months down the line. Failing to give satisfactory answer or refusal to give Ibkr answer after being contacted x3 will have your account ban.

No such issues if using CIMB sg as the transfer is from the bank under your name.

Hope this helps.
Got it. Tq
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 4 2021, 05:56 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jul 4 2021, 08:42 AM)
I can. myr -> usd straight w/ wise
Ok, will try direct MY>Wise>GBP IBKR CSP1
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 4 2021, 08:22 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jul 4 2021, 06:22 PM)
Set ibkr intention to receive
Send myr USD via wise

Should reach ibkr in few business days. Money will be stuck on hold for 3 to 4 days before masuk ur acc
which option for transferwise?

Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 4 2021, 08:54 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jul 4 2021, 08:25 PM)
Go back one page. Click 'transfer funds. Paste ur screenshot here
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 04:51 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

VWRP vs SSAC
Thoughts? Which is better for global index?

Also is there a US Total Market Index Fund ETF? Not just the s&p500?
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 06:36 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(S_SienZ @ Jul 7 2021, 06:30 PM)
That's odd, I just signed up for Wise and I'm able to transfer USD to IBKR no problem.

Have a question for sifus here (apologies if its common), is the difference between investing in US funds and Irish funds significant for Malaysian? Assuming its index tracking ETFs with minimal dividends anyway.
Tradestation Support

Can I deposit funds using Transferwise/Revolut or other currency transfer services?
While it is possible to deposit funds by this method, the transfer would need to meet the following conditions:
The funds would need to originate from an account titled the same as the IBKR account;
The deposit payment details would need to include your account ID and title.
Based upon prior experience, Transferwise and similar services generally do not include the required information in the payment details and, if this is the case, the funds will be returned as unidentified.

Did you register a new account with tradestation and use wise to fund the account for the first time? Or have you been using it for a while and funding with other methods before? Maybe this doesnt work on first time funding only.
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 06:44 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(S_SienZ @ Jul 7 2021, 06:31 PM)
VTI?

I mean US Total Market Index Fund ETF that is Ireland Domicile
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 06:45 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 7 2021, 06:44 PM)
Wait a few days. It will be returned to you.
Just use CIMB sg- to deposit in SGD. No problem down the road in the future. Then use Ibkr to convert into USD or GBP.
Yeah already waiting for cimb to activate my account.
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 06:52 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 7 2021, 06:44 PM)
Wait a few days. It will be returned to you.
Just use CIMB sg- to deposit in SGD. No problem down the road in the future. Then use Ibkr to convert into USD or GBP.
Just checking, SSAC and VWRP is in US currency so I need to convert to USD right? While CSP1 is in GBP so convert to GBP?
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 06:55 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(S_SienZ @ Jul 7 2021, 06:46 PM)
My accounts with IBKR and Wise are both relatively new. Used Wise for initial and a few more rounds of deposits already. No problem yet.

I think the conditions are satisfied - IBKR when you set a new deposit via Wise will give you your account ID to be input into Wise transfer reference.
Could you show step by step how to transfer with wise? Super newbie here I have only been using stashaway before this.
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 07:15 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(S_SienZ @ Jul 7 2021, 07:08 PM)
You'll need both IBKR and Wise open at the same time to do it.

On IBKR homepage, top row, Transfer & Pay > Transfer Funds > Make a Deposit > Bank Wire.

On Wise, set the amount to be converted and transferred so you know how much USD you're sending IBKR. 

Back to IBKR, You'll need to fill in Wise details + amount that will be deposited, and click Get Instructions, which will give you IBKR's bank details and your IBKR ID to be used as a ref. number.

Back to Wise, fill in IBKR's bank details and your ref number, and send. Will take about 3 - 4 days to clear both Wise and IBKR for your money to be available for trade.
Thank you for the step, just did it. Will update if get rejected/refunded. Still waiting for CIMB account to activate.
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 07:20 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

Any total us market index fund Ireland Domicile?
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 10:53 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jul 7 2021, 08:18 PM)
my experience

sunway money -> cimb sg [fast]
cimb sg -> shanghai bank (ibkr sg) [even faster]

hehe
QUOTE(S_SienZ @ Jul 7 2021, 07:08 PM)
You'll need both IBKR and Wise open at the same time to do it.

On IBKR homepage, top row, Transfer & Pay > Transfer Funds > Make a Deposit > Bank Wire.

On Wise, set the amount to be converted and transferred so you know how much USD you're sending IBKR. 

Back to IBKR, You'll need to fill in Wise details + amount that will be deposited, and click Get Instructions, which will give you IBKR's bank details and your IBKR ID to be used as a ref. number.

Back to Wise, fill in IBKR's bank details and your ref number, and send. Will take about 3 - 4 days to clear both Wise and IBKR for your money to be available for trade.
First time funding.
Malaysia > Wise > IB
1 hour done.

Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 7 2021, 11:06 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Jul 7 2021, 10:29 PM)
Hi guys, wanna ask for Tradestation Global, I see the cost for UK stocks are GBP1.50. Want to ask sifu sifu here, your account is denominated in USD or GBP?

Say my account is denominated in USD, and I buy say VUSA (denominated USD). Will TSG charge 1.5 GBP in GBP or USD? I just don't want to end up in margin/pay interest....
When you send funds in, if you send in usd, you have usd and need to convert to gbp. If you send funds in with SGD and you want to buy in USD you need to convert SGD to USD. The account denomination doesnt matter, just what you send funds in matter.
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 10 2021, 02:26 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Jul 9 2021, 09:48 AM)
Interactive Brokers Eliminates Monthly Account Inactivity Fees

https://www.financemagnates.com/forex/broke...nactivity-fees/
What is the fees for ibkr vs tsg-ibkr to buy CSP1?

Tsg is 1.5 gbp minimum 0.12%
Ibkr direct?
Lim Ling Yang
post Jul 10 2021, 09:07 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(rexus @ Jul 10 2021, 09:05 PM)
https://investors.interactivebrokers.com/en...=1590&p=stocks2

According to the above, 0.05% or minimum GBP1.00
https://investors.interactivebrokers.com/en...hp?f=3879&nhf=T

What about this?
Lim Ling Yang
post Aug 22 2021, 12:29 AM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

@alekos

This post has been edited by Lim Ling Yang: Aug 22 2021, 12:32 AM
Lim Ling Yang
post May 24 2022, 02:52 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 19 2021, 01:48 AM)
alekos see this. Ark is superior to s&p500 if one were to invest from 2015->2021
https://www.portfoliovisualizer.com/backtes...analysisResults

Key in spy asset 1 100%, arkk asset 2 100% and arkw asset 3 100% duration 2015 to 2021
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2021, 03:29 PM)
Use the link I posted above and see for yourself. If one invest in arkk/w Vs sp500 since 2015, the outperformance is huge.
If you put in 100 bucks monthly since 2015, you would have 15,507 with SPY and 13,394 with ARKK.

If you put in 100 bucks monthly since your post in August 2021, you would have 952 with SPY and 573 with ARKK.

I don't see the outperformance. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Lim Ling Yang: May 24 2022, 02:55 PM

0.0328sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:13 PM