[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world

roarus
post Mar 16 2020, 04:44 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Syncing @ Mar 16 2020, 10:06 AM)
Sorry for not being clear enough.

1) The option in this image : https://www.tradestation-international.com/...account-tsg.png

Do I need to transfer funds first ?

Also I read there is a 500USD minimum deposit, so all transfers to Tradestation should be more than 500USD? aka more than RM 2.1k?

2) When transferring to Tradestation from Instarem, Tradestation provides these details : https://www.dropbox.com/s/itb27onpz5y8f6o/S....16.56.png?dl=0

But Instarem requires an email address and phone number, but I can't find an 'official' Tradestation email and number.

Thanks again for helping me out !
Hope this helps - this is the address that reached out to me after I sent an enquiry through their Contact Us page.

Attaching as image to help 'protect' them from spam

Syncing
post Mar 16 2020, 05:26 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Mar 16 2020, 04:44 PM)
Hope this helps - this is the address that reached out to me after I sent an enquiry through their Contact Us page.

Attaching as image to help 'protect' them from spam

Thanks a lot! Should have all the information I need to transfer.

Do you know if each wire transfer has to be a minimum of USD500 or just the initial/first transfer?
roarus
post Mar 16 2020, 07:03 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Syncing @ Mar 16 2020, 05:26 PM)
Thanks a lot! Should have all the information I need to transfer.

Do you know if each wire transfer has to be a minimum of USD500 or just the initial/first transfer?
For first transfer, I transferred the minimum required for account opening last year via SG bank equivalent to USD2.5k. For subsequent transfers I've funded as low as SGD500.

Take note that someone has previously tried funding in USD via Instarem and failed.

This post has been edited by roarus: Mar 16 2020, 07:04 PM
TSalexkos
post Mar 16 2020, 07:42 PM

2,275 posts

GBP and EUR can
moosset
post Mar 16 2020, 11:13 PM

1,917 posts

why SXR8 now is only -1.64% while SPY is at -7%??

I thought they should decrease by the same amount?
dwRK
post Mar 17 2020, 08:51 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 16 2020, 11:13 PM)

you not looking properly
moosset
post Mar 17 2020, 09:04 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 17 2020, 08:51 AM)
you not looking properly
sorry. Can explain?

What I said before about the data was displayed on the platform, so I'm not sure.
dwRK
post Mar 17 2020, 03:13 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 17 2020, 09:04 AM)
sorry. Can explain?

What I said before about the data was displayed on the platform, so I'm not sure.

tracking looks ok...it won't match 100%... willing buyer-seller
moosset
post Mar 17 2020, 03:31 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 17 2020, 03:13 PM)

tracking looks ok...it won't match 100%... willing buyer-seller
oh I see. So, even though on the left it's -1%, on the right it's -12%, it's still the same.

kinda hard to imagine; because if you bought the ETF on the left, you lost 1%. The ETF on the right lost 12%.
I thought the percentage would move in tandem.
roarus
post Mar 17 2020, 03:43 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 17 2020, 03:31 PM)
oh I see. So, even though on the left it's -1%, on the right it's -12%, it's still the same.

kinda hard to imagine; because if you bought the ETF on the left, you lost 1%. The ETF on the right lost 12%.
Don't forget currency conversion effect, SXR8 is denominated in EUR
TSalexkos
post Mar 17 2020, 04:09 PM

2,275 posts

EUR keep up these days.. Hehe
dwRK
post Mar 17 2020, 04:38 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 17 2020, 03:31 PM)

ah ok... I see the you problem now...lol

sxr8 crash n bounce up closing -1% at midnight (eu market close.)..spx crash, bounce up, crash again closed -12% at 4am ( us market close)... this is where you got confused looking at the daily % data...

overall... sxr8 crashed -32% from peak whilst spx -30%... THIS is what you wanna see... if you look closely at say hourly charts...they track also until closing

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 17 2020, 04:45 PM
zerolord
post Mar 18 2020, 06:30 AM

54 posts

I guess this is what they mean by taking error, the price is etf can't follow the exact curve of S&P500 because of the difference in trading hours?
moosset
post Mar 18 2020, 09:10 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 17 2020, 04:38 PM)
ah ok... I see the you problem now...lol

sxr8 crash n bounce up closing -1% at midnight (eu market close.)..spx crash, bounce up, crash again closed -12% at 4am ( us market close)... this is where you got confused looking at the daily % data...

overall... sxr8 crashed -32% from peak whilst spx -30%... THIS is what you wanna see... if you look closely at say hourly charts...they track also until closing
QUOTE(zerolord @ Mar 18 2020, 06:30 AM)
I guess this is what they mean by taking error, the price is etf can't follow the exact curve of S&P500 because of the difference in trading hours?
Thanks for the reply!

I'm not sure.... at 11pm, both markets were still running. hmm.gif
maybe trading was halt or maybe my screen wasn't up-to-date.

Nevermind lah.... Buffett said, no need to understand this also can trade. laugh.gif
dwRK
post Mar 18 2020, 10:47 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 18 2020, 09:10 AM)
Thanks for the reply!

I'm not sure.... at 11pm, both markets were still running. hmm.gif
maybe trading was halt or maybe my screen wasn't up-to-date.

Nevermind lah.... Buffett said, no need to understand this also can trade.  laugh.gif
they TRACK each other when they overlap...they don't have to MATCH...

you're expecting price movement to match...market don't work like this...

if sxr8 is a very efficient market...it will track closely and sometimes match...if inefficient it can be a wild ride...where the buy/sell spread is large and price jumps around much
TSalexkos
post Mar 18 2020, 10:50 AM

2,275 posts

Dun worry. So many big small shark help as price arbitrager. All mismatch they eat
moosset
post Mar 18 2020, 10:54 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 18 2020, 10:47 AM)

if sxr8 is a very efficient market...it will track closely and sometimes match...if inefficient it can be a wild ride...where the buy/sell spread is large and price jumps around much
they track each other as in their percentage of movement should be quite similar, right? like ±1 ~ 2% difference?
that's why I was confused because the discrepancy was quite high.
TSalexkos
post Mar 18 2020, 10:56 AM

2,275 posts

Forex at play. Quite volatile these days
moosset
post Mar 18 2020, 10:59 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 16 2020, 11:13 PM)

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 18 2020, 10:47 AM)

ah, I realised the problem now.

both these percentage of change are based on the previous day closing price. The % of change from 10pm to 11pm for both may be the same, but NOT for the % of change based on previous day closing price, as they both closed at different trading hours. Am I thinking clearly now? hmm.gif
dwRK
post Mar 18 2020, 11:27 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 18 2020, 10:59 AM)
ah, I realised the problem now.

both these percentage of change are based on the previous day closing price. The % of change from 10pm to 11pm for both may be the same, but NOT for the % of change based on previous day closing price, as they both closed at different trading hours. Am I thinking clearly now?  hmm.gif
bingo wink.gif

I ald mentioned this nia...post 854

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 18 2020, 11:29 AM

72 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:50 PM