[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world

TSalexkos
post Dec 13 2019, 12:39 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 13 2019, 11:34 AM)
I had been following the thread for a few days, I'm staying in SG, thinking to hoot CSPX instead of SXR8, caused it's in USD, the account I'm opening with TD Ameritrade will be in USD, so if I buy EUR staff, I will need to exchange twice, SGD -> USD -> EUR, rugi, right?
Now waiting account opening to be completed, once done I will dump in my first deposit. Wish me luck!
Yes.. I got both sxr8 and cspx. Hoot whichever that is cheapest for u.
Ramjade
post Dec 13 2019, 12:42 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 13 2019, 11:34 AM)
I had been following the thread for a few days, I'm staying in SG, thinking to hoot CSPX instead of SXR8, caused it's in USD, the account I'm opening with TD Ameritrade will be in USD, so if I buy EUR staff, I will need to exchange twice, SGD -> USD -> EUR, rugi, right?
Now waiting account opening to be completed, once done I will dump in my first deposit. Wish me luck!
TD Ameritrade only let you to buy from US market.
zerolord
post Dec 13 2019, 01:47 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2019, 12:42 PM)
TD Ameritrade only let you to buy from US market.
Will update once my account is opened. If really cannot then I will go IBKR, but kena pay their inactive fee until I have 100k...

dwRK
post Dec 13 2019, 02:09 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 13 2019, 01:47 PM)
Will update once my account is opened. If really cannot then I will go IBKR, but kena pay their inactive fee until I have 100k...
can confirm us market only

and withdrawal fee $25

This post has been edited by dwRK: Dec 13 2019, 02:10 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 13 2019, 02:16 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 13 2019, 01:47 PM)
Read from page. Use whitelabels. No need for inactive fees.
moosset
post Dec 13 2019, 08:25 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2019, 10:29 AM)
Very bad liquidity.
You need to see domiciled of fund. Safest bet is still Ireland. Sometimes buying s&p500 etf say from HK also can kena 30% tax in dividend.
ah, I see. Thanks! I forgot they can be domiciled elsewhere even though it's in SGX.
moosset
post Dec 13 2019, 08:26 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Dec 13 2019, 12:39 PM)
Yes.. I got both sxr8 and cspx. Hoot whichever that is cheapest for u.
why you buy both?

so what's the conclusion? Which is better?
zerolord
post Dec 13 2019, 08:29 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2019, 02:16 PM)
Read from page. Use whitelabels. No need for inactive fees.
White label? Can you elaborate more?
TSalexkos
post Dec 13 2019, 09:55 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 13 2019, 08:26 PM)
why you buy both?

so what's the conclusion? Which is better?
Tradestation global rm7k hoot cspx cheapest
But if got larger fund... 18k captrader hoot sxr8 cheapest
moosset
post Dec 13 2019, 10:09 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Dec 13 2019, 09:55 PM)
Tradestation global rm7k hoot cspx cheapest
But if got larger fund... 18k captrader hoot sxr8 cheapest
I'm using Tradestation + SXR8 .... sad.gif

anyway, I wanted to ask which has a better return, SXR8 or CSPX?

This post has been edited by moosset: Dec 13 2019, 10:09 PM
zerolord
post Dec 14 2019, 10:49 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 13 2019, 02:09 PM)
can confirm us market only

and withdrawal fee $25
You are right... Only US market.
Which do you recommend for low frequency inactive user like me?
dwRK
post Dec 14 2019, 11:43 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 14 2019, 10:49 AM)
You are right... Only US market.
Which do you recommend for low frequency inactive user like me?
for 99% of the ppl here - tradestation global

if you're buying big amount one shot, captrader will be slightly cheaper

both tradestation global and captrader are introducing "white label " brokers to ibkr

once you build up enough capital > $100k, can just migrate over to ibkr llc for even lower fees

charles schwab buying over tdameritrade...they are going to be the world's largest...not sure what is going to happen to fees n international trades
zerolord
post Dec 16 2019, 06:47 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 13 2019, 10:09 PM)
I'm using Tradestation + SXR8 .... sad.gif

Not sure if I chose the correct SXR8...
dwRK
post Dec 16 2019, 09:14 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 13 2019, 10:09 PM)
QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 16 2019, 06:47 PM)
they are the same share wink.gif
moosset
post Dec 16 2019, 10:18 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 16 2019, 06:47 PM)
Thanks!

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 16 2019, 09:14 PM)
they are the same share wink.gif
oh yeah, I forgot. Just different currency.
zerolord
post Dec 16 2019, 11:20 PM

54 posts

Just found out about 3140.hk
Seems like the tracking is not bad
roarus
post Dec 16 2019, 11:34 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(zerolord @ Dec 16 2019, 11:20 PM)

Just found out about 3140.hk
Seems like the tracking is not bad
The one listed on HK does not have tax treaty and subjected to 30% withholding tax
TSalexkos
post Dec 17 2019, 07:32 AM

2,275 posts

Hehe... Remember for Malaysian... Hoot Ireland domiciled for maximum tax benefit.
zerolord
post Dec 17 2019, 10:32 AM

54 posts

Just got my IBKR account open, by estimation, I should be able to dump in 100k USD by May next year, what's the best strategy to deploy my money to minimize the commission being charged?

I have around 60k SGD in cash now and got around 80~90k SGD coming in next May from a Investment Link Policy, meanwhile I will be dumping in 30~40% of my monthly salary into my portfolio.

I tried reading the fee structure but I am still a little bit confused, there's a minimum charge of USD10 per month if the trade I made that month did not hit USD 10, and there's a grace period for 2 months (not sure where I read that, can't find it back now).

If I dump in SGD 10~12k per month until next May to DCA or this can be optimized better?
zerolord
post Dec 17 2019, 10:33 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Dec 16 2019, 11:34 PM)
The one listed on HK does not have tax treaty and subjected to 30% withholding tax
You are right, I still need to train myself better to understand all these...

72 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.1342sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:57 AM