72 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world

Keathock
post Aug 12 2021, 10:53 PM

Hi all, I'm new to IBKR and Foreign trading. I was trying to get familiar with the interface. When I try to preview the trade, I saw Commission was showing NA. is that mean there will be no commission incurred for this trade? Thanks in advance.

Keathock
post Aug 12 2021, 10:53 PM

-Double Post

This post has been edited by Keathock: Aug 12 2021, 10:54 PM
tadashi987
post Aug 13 2021, 09:39 AM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(Keathock @ Aug 12 2021, 10:53 PM)
Hi all, I'm new to IBKR and Foreign trading. I was trying to get familiar with the interface. When I try to preview the trade, I saw Commission was showing NA. is that mean there will be no commission incurred for this trade? Thanks in advance.

nope you still need to pay for the trade considering there is no free trade in IBKR.
I did try to play around but not sure some counter the fee are showing out but some are not.

maybe need check with IBKR.
thou i hardly use this preview function because the fee will be just few dollar.
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2021, 09:48 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Aug 13 2021, 09:39 AM)
nope you still need to pay for the trade considering there is no free trade in IBKR.
I did try to play around but not sure some counter the fee are showing out but some are not.

maybe need check with IBKR.
thou i hardly use this preview function because the fee will be just few dollar.
Ibkr have commisonn free etf but I don't think they have for lse.
charis24
post Aug 18 2021, 11:08 PM

This reddit post says that its 0.05% or min USD 1.70 for Tiered fee structure. https://www.reddit.com/r/singaporefi/commen...p821/?context=3
Ramjade
post Aug 19 2021, 01:36 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(charis24 @ Aug 18 2021, 11:08 PM)
This reddit post says that its 0.05% or min USD 1.70 for Tiered fee structure. https://www.reddit.com/r/singaporefi/commen...p821/?context=3
They already told.you.
The LSE is abit more tricky so I did a bit of digging and found the below for those who might be interested. Tiered – 0.05% commission, min USD 1.70, max USD 39 (under “EUR, CHF, USD, PLN, ILS and HUF-Denominated Products Tiered”) – 0.0045% LSE exchange fee, min GBP 0.10 – GBP 0.06 (~USD 0.08) LSE clearing fee

Fixed – 0.05% commission, min USD 5

This means that Tiered is better for trades below USD 9,028 (commission of USD 5), and trades above USD 85,890 (commission of USD 42.945).

In summary, Go with Tiered if your LSE IWDA trade size is less than USD 9k. Go with Fixed if your LSE IWDA trade size is greater than USD 9k.

The usd0.35 is if you are buying stocks or etf straight from US market.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 19 2021, 01:36 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 19 2021, 01:48 AM

24,333 posts

alekos see this. Ark is superior to s&p500 if one were to invest from 2015->2021
https://www.portfoliovisualizer.com/backtes...analysisResults

Key in spy asset 1 100%, arkk asset 2 100% and arkw asset 3 100% duration 2015 to 2021

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 19 2021, 01:51 AM
Lim Ling Yang
post Aug 22 2021, 12:29 AM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

@alekos

This post has been edited by Lim Ling Yang: Aug 22 2021, 12:32 AM
ky33li
post Aug 22 2021, 11:07 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Aug 22 2021, 12:29 AM)
@alekos

Same thing will apply to ARK Funds. We shall see in next few years.
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2021, 03:29 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Aug 22 2021, 11:07 AM)
Same thing will apply to ARK Funds. We shall see in next few years.
Use the link I posted above and see for yourself. If one invest in arkk/w Vs sp500 since 2015, the outperformance is huge.
zodiacyi
post Aug 22 2021, 09:21 PM

Hello all. If I am going to invest in CSPX directly with IBKR instead of going through TSG. Is there any minimum investment amount required to minimize the cost of the investment? Previously it was stated that for investment through TSG, min 7k is required to minimize cost. Thanks in advance for the insight. 🙏🏻
AnasM
post Aug 22 2021, 11:28 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(zodiacyi @ Aug 22 2021, 09:21 PM)
Hello all. If I am going to invest in CSPX directly with IBKR instead of going through TSG. Is there any minimum investment amount required to minimize the cost of the investment? Previously it was stated that for investment through TSG, min 7k is required to minimize cost. Thanks in advance for the insight. 🙏🏻
What do u mean minize cost?
do u have calculatoe to show us?
Ramjade
post Aug 23 2021, 04:06 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(zodiacyi @ Aug 22 2021, 09:21 PM)
You can count yourself.
Usd2.00 conversion fees + 0.05% or USD1.70 or max USD39
which ever is higher using tiered pricing
Usd2.00 conversion fees + USD4.00 for trades up to USD 8,000 or
0.05% of trade value for trades over USD 8,000 using fixed pricing.

https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index...=1590&p=stocks2
https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index...=1590&p=stocks1

So if you only want to pay usd1.70/transaction you need to buy or sell usd1.70/0.0005 = USD3500. Anything more than that you pay more. Say Usd14k, you pay usd4k x0.05%= USD2.00. I haven't add in the USD2.00 conversion fees. So you do your own calculations. I already showed you the way.

Always use tiered as it's always cheaper most of the time. Dont bother too much about commission. You are already using one of the cheapest available brokerage.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 23 2021, 04:17 AM
zerolord
post Sep 15 2021, 06:59 PM

54 posts

https://www.google.com/finance/quote/CSPX:LON

Suddenly become not working...seems like the internal mapping is wrong? USD class mapped with EUR one...

rozack P
post Oct 3 2021, 12:46 PM

Probation
19 posts

Hey guys, with the update of IBKR removing the inactivity fees and allowing us into the lowered tiered pricing part, I am planning to invest every quarter to buy 1 piece of CSPX (the one domiciled in irelend), so that will be equivalent to RM 2k transfer every quarter.

By doing this, am I really losing due to 'conversion rate and fees'? So this plan of mine is not advisable? What's a good DCA plan for a fresh grad like me to accumulate money then buy biggrin.gif

For me, I was thinking that the time in market aspect of this plan will triumph my loss due to the conversion rate and fees
time24 P
post Oct 3 2021, 04:02 PM

Probation
30 posts

Anybody have this problem as I do? I have excess settled cash in SGD in interactive brokers. However when I try to initiate withdrawal it says withdrawal balance 0 sgd. I don't really plan to withdraw but I want to try it out once to see how simple or difficult it would be.

Ramjade
post Oct 3 2021, 06:55 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(rozack @ Oct 3 2021, 12:46 PM)
Hey guys, with the update of IBKR removing the inactivity fees and allowing us into the lowered tiered pricing part, I am planning to invest every quarter to buy 1 piece of CSPX (the one domiciled in irelend), so that will be equivalent to RM 2k transfer every quarter.

By doing this, am I really losing due to 'conversion rate and fees'? So this plan of mine is not advisable? What's a good DCA plan for a fresh grad like me to accumulate money then buy biggrin.gif

For me, I was thinking that the time in market aspect of this plan will triumph my loss due to the conversion rate and fees
For me, I wait until I have rm12k saved up, then I initiate a transfer to sg and then subsequently IB. Up to you to use up the whole money right there and then (lump sum) or DCA in. Usually I keep in the sidelines inside IB and use it as collateral to sell puts to generate some money while waiting. I will only buy when market is red.

QUOTE(time24 @ Oct 3 2021, 04:02 PM)
Anybody have this problem as I do? I have excess settled cash in SGD in interactive brokers. However when I try to initiate withdrawal it says withdrawal balance 0 sgd. I don't really plan to withdraw but I want to try it out once to see how simple or difficult it would be.

You need to wait for your money to be settle (T+2) before it can withdraw. I have withdraw before. Super easy. Follow the steps here. This guide is written for Singaporean but it's the same as we are using CIMB sg here.
https://betterspider.com/withdraw-cash-from...active-brokers/
TSalexkos
post Oct 4 2021, 12:48 PM

2,275 posts

i heard from my fren that if use ibkr fixed pricing will kena eat $4.2 for etf purchase.

can anyone confirm this? if so then ibkr tiered pricing is cheaper?
tadashi987
post Dec 29 2021, 10:37 PM

2,106 posts

US stock trading on Rakuten will go live Jan 2022, no info on fees/details yet biggrin.gif
jutamind
post Dec 30 2021, 07:58 PM

2,429 posts

Read somewhere that M+ was supposed to introduce US trading as well but again still no news until now

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Dec 29 2021, 10:37 PM)

US stock trading on Rakuten will go live Jan 2022, no info on fees/details yet  biggrin.gif

72 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0433sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:38 AM