Scam on Mudah, Buyer scams seller

TSpoovin_91
post Feb 17 2019, 09:57 PM, updated 7y ago

39 posts

Scammers are upping their game by even scamming sellers. Just thought of sharing what my friend encountered while selling things on Mudah.

First, the scammer approached my friend saying he/she currently in Europe for a business trip and would like to present the item to their partner in Sabah. After getting bank details from my friend, the scammer told that payment has been made. Apparently, no payment has been received but just an email. The scammer then told to follow the instructions in the email.

The email content states:
1. Transaction was created with Scotia Bank.
2. The transaction is on hold since the sum of RM105 is insufficent to be approved by their database and it's the international banking policy doh.gif
3. The least amount that can be approved starts at RM605. Hence, additional RM500 should be made (seller to pay) to one of the agent account to complete the transaction.

Additional details that shows that the email is a scam:
1. Email originates from bank.scotia@aol.com (Scotia bank doesn't have money to buy their own domain? dry.gif )
2. One of the statement says "Here at Scotia Bank our top most concern is to serve you better in terms of security". (But why we have to transfer the fund to an unknown agent somewhere in Malaysia? hmm.gif )
3. Some of the email hyperlink wasn't properly formed (CSS fail)
4. The last statement "THIS TRANSACTION IS BEING MONITORED BY THE INTERPOL AND FBI" (like that you win liao!)

The conversation:

The so-called transaction email:

Note: My friend did not made the additional payment. I'm just sharing to warn others.

This post has been edited by poovin_91: Feb 17 2019, 10:05 PM
Baconateer
post Feb 17 2019, 10:00 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

this is ancient news...
navilink
post Feb 17 2019, 10:03 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

once the scammer asked my name and location, i said i'm Niama from Tristan da Cunha.. no reply from him anymore
koja6049

614 posts

mudah is always cash on delivery biggrin.gif
rooney723

596 posts

omg, ur fren living in the cave for the past 10 years? even my grandpa grandma also noe dis is a scam doh.gif
SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 17 2019, 10:06 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

> Scotia bank
Ryurox2020
post Feb 17 2019, 10:08 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Feb 17 2019, 10:03 PM)
once the scammer asked my name and location, i said i'm Niama from Tristan da Cunha.. no reply from him anymore
LOLLL
persona93
post Feb 17 2019, 10:08 PM

1,180 posts

bank statement screenshot like created in MS Paint wei
TSpoovin_91
post Feb 17 2019, 10:09 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Feb 17 2019, 10:03 PM)
laugh.gif Sadly, didn't get the chance to do this. The scammer already blocked.

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Feb 17 2019, 10:03 PM)
omg, ur fren living in the cave for the past 10 years? even my grandpa grandma also noe dis is a scam doh.gif
Bro, my friend already realized this is a scam. I'm just sharing to warn others. There are people out there who trust those.

This post has been edited by poovin_91: Feb 17 2019, 10:10 PM
TSpoovin_91
post Feb 17 2019, 10:11 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Feb 17 2019, 10:08 PM)
bank statement screenshot like created in MS Paint wei
Probably there's already a MS Word template for the mail. tongue.gif
Ardt
post Feb 17 2019, 10:15 PM

62 posts

I had to check the posting dates again. Thought this was 2010.

Seriously, people had been making fun of scammers in wassap just to kill time.

Surprised your friend is dead serious
SUSPiedro
post Feb 17 2019, 10:15 PM

Just tell the scammer this : I will send the item once the total amount agreed is in my savings account without me needing to do anything, pay anything etc. If you have problem with this the deal is off. Bye.

annoymous1234
post Feb 17 2019, 10:19 PM

7,617 posts

Good to share, although this is not new
SUSDezs
post Feb 17 2019, 10:20 PM

623 posts

Mudah not for human trading one.. Still dunno meh..
yoshiki81
post Feb 17 2019, 10:21 PM

177 posts

Please play some more with the scammer..i also want play this game..
KoYuKii
post Feb 17 2019, 10:22 PM

1,979 posts

>2019

stop layan when receieve mudah chat asking seller to whatsapp them with the no. they provide.

fak la..my number is there, u wan u whatsapp me.

Nas_Rule
post Feb 17 2019, 10:22 PM

162 posts

I know for some of us, this is an ancient news but to some people, it’s not. Even though they have Internet, but still some people are not aware of it so TS good job for reminding us.
TendouJigoku
post Feb 17 2019, 10:24 PM

45 posts

Old news.
xeNOS
post Feb 17 2019, 10:29 PM

.:floccinaucinihilipilification:.
1,194 posts

It's not new, but ya, the golden rule always applies. COD is the safest on mudah.
Hobbez
post Feb 17 2019, 10:29 PM

1,235 posts

Whenever you post item for sale on Mudah, the first few days sure got scammer come and ask you to Whatsapp them.

They usually use the Mudah Chat function which, I don't like.....but Mudah force you to use it if you are selling.

I wonder if Mudah is part of the scam?

Confirm all these messages are scam. All.

Just ignore them.

arc_archive
post Feb 17 2019, 10:30 PM

386 posts

Selow~pukee...

alextan99
post Feb 17 2019, 10:34 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

This is the oldest trick from those nigerian scammers ... until I see the money in my account nothing gets posted out as easy as that
cubiclecarbonate
post Feb 17 2019, 10:36 PM

558 posts

At least bagi lah nice styling on the email part
cOpo P
post Jun 4 2019, 09:55 PM

Probation

guys..be careful in mudah.my..this guys using username md@mohd@myset is keep uploading electronic,camera devices etc..using fake email..careful guys
HumbleBF
post Jun 20 2020, 12:25 AM

501 posts

2020 and they still alive careful

DYagaami93 P
post Sep 1 2020, 01:45 PM

Probation

QUOTE(HumbleBF @ Jun 20 2020, 01:25 AM)

2020 and they still alive careful

https://pictr.com/images/2020/06/20/7HhxU1.md.jpg

It's not just on Mudah, also on Carousell recently

HumbleBF
post Sep 7 2020, 10:57 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(DYagaami93 @ Sep 1 2020, 01:45 PM)
It's not just on Mudah, also on Carousell recently
Mine was from shopee bro came pm me in shopee
edwardjacob721 P
post Oct 27 2020, 12:00 AM

Probation

I got this nigerian scammers from Mudah. Agent fee is more than the item he want, lol.

Me: Am i joke to you, Lol

*TRANSACTION DETAILS*

ITEM Description :
ITEM QUANTITY :
-------------------------------------------------------------
*FINANCIAL DETAILS*

(NOTE: All amount are in MYR)
----------------------------------------------
AUCTION AMOUNT :MYR 40.00
AGENT FEES :MYR 200.00
20% GOLD BONUS :MYR 00.00
TAX :MYR 0.00