Best Ice Kacang You've Ever Had

TStheasianguy777
post Feb 14 2019, 09:35 PM, updated 7y ago

Hi guys, I'm an avid ice kacang fan. Mainly because it's awesome, and also because it's the cheapest awesome-level dessert around.
Do share your go-to places for ice kacang and describe what's so special about it, the price, and the location so we can all go cuba cuba biggrin.gif

For me, I have 3 go to ice kacang places. From best to last:

1) Kwong Ah Ice Kacang
This one is just.. like.. wow.. the most amazing ice kacang I've ever had. It's the gula melaka type of ice kacang. The texture of ice is good and fine, taste is very solid and holistic (it's sweet but not like diabetes sweet till jelak). The cendol (on top) is amazing, and all in all, a very balanced ice kacang. Can eat two without getting jelak.

Price: RM5.5
Location: https://www.google.com/maps/place/Kwong+Wah...3;4d101.6346311

2) May-May ABC Ais Kacang
It's located nearby the Kepong Baru morning wet market, closed on Thursdays, open on all other days till 6PM. Also gula melaka type of ice kacang. The taste is pretty good, it comes with different types of add-ons (like in picture above can add ice cream). There are a wide range of other types of desserts but I usually only eat the ice kacang.

Price: RM4 (without ice cream)
Location: https://www.google.com/maps/place/May-May+A...3;4d101.6449935

3) Sri Sinar Bus Stop Mamak
If you're a fan of the sirap bandung type ice kacang, this is it. Personally, I think it's like Sirap Bandung Ice Blended and I absolutely love it. Sometimes they don't have the ingredients to make it though, so be prepared to have make a wasted trip there. I've went there multiple times before over the years only to be told they don't have the ingredients to make ABC (probably finished already that day), so my advice is go earlier. If not mistaken they're open 24 hours. The mamak is opposite row of Restoran Good Taste Mixed Rice, next to the corner lot mamak (there's 2 mamak beside each other).

Price: RM3.5
Location: https://www.google.com/maps/place/Taman+Sri...3;4d101.6503619

I've tried a lot of ice kacang before and so far none beats these. But of course, it's according to my taste smile.gif
Hope to discover more new hidden ice kacang gems!
loki
post Feb 14 2019, 09:52 PM

2,109 posts

https://my.openrice.com/en/klangvalley/arti...abc-stall-a1936

my personal favourite .. ice shavings are smooth
nabs2205
post Feb 14 2019, 09:56 PM

14 posts

Cafe Kow Po

https://g.co/kgs/6CVWa7
SUS2feidei
post Feb 14 2019, 09:58 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

Not sure still exist or not, PJ Oldtown market foodcourt. Got 2 stall, the one not the middle island one. Smooth ice, full of flavour, can taste gula melaka, santan. Bit pricey though (more than 5 years ago pricing, small bowl, those rice bowl, RM2.50)

The other is at Seremban, cannot remember the name all remember as been ages since back to Seremban, is in a open air foodcourt, front is big longkang, behind is old chinese cemetery. Just behind Teochew Association (also not sure if it still exist or not biggrin.gif ).
breaker84
post Feb 14 2019, 10:02 PM

\\//\\//\\//\\//
1,713 posts

got one long time ago at kampung melayu majidee, use black choc...
bitter + sweet + coloring = terbaboom
not sure where they move now...
price around 3.50
Dern
post Feb 15 2019, 09:21 AM

1,979 posts

the one in Malacca is the best...
cablesguy
post Feb 22 2019, 09:13 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(theasianguy777 @ Feb 14 2019, 09:35 PM)
Hi guys, I'm an avid ice kacang fan. Mainly because it's awesome, and also because it's the cheapest awesome-level dessert around.
Do share your go-to places for ice kacang and describe what's so special about it, the price, and the location so we can all go cuba cuba  biggrin.gif

For me, I have 3 go to ice kacang places. From best to last:

1) Kwong Ah Ice Kacang
This one is just.. like.. wow.. the most amazing ice kacang I've ever had. It's the gula melaka type of ice kacang. The texture of ice is good and fine, taste is very solid and holistic (it's sweet but not like diabetes sweet till jelak). The cendol (on top) is amazing, and all in all, a very balanced ice kacang. Can eat two without getting jelak.

Price: RM5.5
Location: https://www.google.com/maps/place/Kwong+Wah...3;4d101.6346311

2) May-May ABC Ais Kacang
It's located nearby the Kepong Baru morning wet market, closed on Thursdays, open on all other days till 6PM. Also gula melaka type of ice kacang. The taste is pretty good, it comes with different types of add-ons (like in picture above can add ice cream). There are a wide range of other types of desserts but I usually only eat the ice kacang.

Price: RM4 (without ice cream)
Location: https://www.google.com/maps/place/May-May+A...3;4d101.6449935

3) Sri Sinar Bus Stop Mamak
If you're a fan of the sirap bandung type ice kacang, this is it. Personally, I think it's like Sirap Bandung Ice Blended and I absolutely love it. Sometimes they don't have the ingredients to make it though, so be prepared to have make a wasted trip there. I've went there multiple times before over the years only to be told they don't have the ingredients to make ABC (probably finished already that day), so my advice is go earlier. If not mistaken they're open 24 hours. The mamak is opposite row of Restoran Good Taste Mixed Rice, next to the corner lot mamak (there's 2 mamak beside each other).

Price: RM3.5
Location: https://www.google.com/maps/place/Taman+Sri...3;4d101.6503619
I've tried a lot of ice kacang before and so far none beats these. But of course, it's according to my taste  smile.gif 
Hope to discover more new hidden ice kacang gems!
Tx
Zeroize
post Feb 22 2019, 10:04 AM

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

QUOTE(Dern @ Feb 15 2019, 09:21 AM)
the one in Malacca is the best...
+1 for good gula melaka and cendol
zeist
post Feb 22 2019, 10:50 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

big fresh red beans will make cendol delicious
balachi
post Feb 22 2019, 10:57 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(breaker84 @ Feb 14 2019, 10:02 PM)
got one long time ago at kampung melayu majidee, use black choc...
bitter + sweet + coloring = terbaboom
not sure where they move now...
price around 3.50
This.

They are still in Kg. Melayu Majidee.They move infront Kg Melayu mosque near the traffic light.
dudester
post Feb 22 2019, 11:14 AM

1,225 posts

I just chanced upon Kwong Wah last weekend (TS no.1) , I am a cendol hunter, got to say this is one of the best I have tasted. I am sure their Ice Kacang would be up there too.

This falls under the premier cendol category, not the food truck traditional type. So comparison is against shopping mall type like Penang cendol chain, nyoya colors and even those along Malacca Yonker street.

Check out this other one at Taman Bukit Maluri. They do Ice Kacang and Cendol, very thick and strong palm sugar. Personally I still prefer the traditional cendol taste, and this is more leaning towards ABC.

https://goo.gl/maps/z8eEd2Grs8u
babybobby
post Feb 22 2019, 04:42 PM

90 posts

Don't u guys think the taiwanese tiger brown sugar tastes like ice kacang only without the cendol? I don't understand the raves
Icehart
post Feb 28 2019, 03:30 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Feb 22 2019, 11:14 AM)
I just chanced upon Kwong Wah last weekend (TS no.1) , I am a cendol hunter, got to say this is one of the best I have tasted. I am sure their Ice Kacang would be up there too.

This falls under the premier cendol category, not the food truck traditional type. So comparison is against shopping mall type like Penang cendol chain, nyoya colors and even those along Malacca Yonker street.
Check out this other one at Taman Bukit Maluri. They do Ice Kacang and Cendol, very thick and strong palm sugar. Personally I still prefer the traditional cendol taste, and this is more leaning towards ABC.

I went to try it but still can't beat my favorite Nyonya cendol @ Main Place.
dudester
post Feb 28 2019, 03:41 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 28 2019, 03:30 PM)
OH. Do share the name of shop.

Found it! will go try!
SHOP INFORMATION
Nyonya Cendol Cafe is established in January 2016 and it strives to be the top talk about cafe that provides the best Authentic Nyonya Cuisine to their customers. Menu Offer its bestselling homemade fresh Nyonya Cendol, various main course like Penang Assam Laksa, Nyonya Curry Mee, Nyonya Sambal Pan Mee, Nasi Lemak 3 Rasa Traditional Ayam Goreng Berempah, Penang Prawn Mee, and as well as nyonya dessert like Yam Cake and Bubur Cha Cha.

This post has been edited by dudester: Feb 28 2019, 03:44 PM
TStheasianguy777
post Mar 6 2019, 05:33 PM

QUOTE(balachi @ Feb 22 2019, 10:57 AM)
This.

They are still in Kg. Melayu Majidee.They move infront Kg Melayu mosque near the traffic light.
Looks good! I can imagine the flavor. Will be sure to try it out when I visit JB thumbup.gif
TStheasianguy777
post Mar 6 2019, 05:35 PM

It's really good isn't it!

Ah yes, have tried the Maluri one before too. It's not bad but I'm not a fan of their Gula Melaka. Too thick and goo-ey for my tastebuds biggrin.gif
TStheasianguy777
post Mar 6 2019, 05:36 PM

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 28 2019, 03:30 PM)
Hmm interesting. Will definitely go give it a try. Thanks for the recommendation
KYspeaks
post Mar 26 2019, 10:35 AM

261 posts

I'm more of a cendol person.. and interestingly the one at Four Season KL's food court is rather nice.
O-haiyo
post Apr 11 2019, 10:27 AM

857 posts

i saw them serve other food as well? is it pork free bro? i mean kwong wah

This post has been edited by O-haiyo: Apr 11 2019, 10:28 AM
dudester
post Apr 11 2019, 10:59 AM

1,225 posts

They serve nyona kuih stuff, laksa that i know.
Got malay staffs and pork free.

GO try it man.. tapau also can. Drool i want some now.

This confirms in Google reviews too.

0.0214sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:47 AM