QUOTE(wei @ Jun 20 2007, 04:56 PM)
Jeya, that version of iMac doesn't come with OS X, it's only OS 9.
Iswang, get a firewire cable, start your iMac by holding "T", when u see the screen turn blue with a floating firewire "Y-shape" icon, plug the firewire cable to the iMac & MacMini. Insert the MacMini installer into your MacMini, start the installation, let it reboot, when OS X installer start choose the iMac HDD as your destination.
I mean my MacMini. It comes with one "Mac OS 9 installation disc "and one "Mac OS X install disc 1 and apple hardware test". So, which one should I put?
*I should get myself a firewire. BTW, any idea how much does it cost?
QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Jun 20 2007, 05:44 PM)
The limitation of the OS install discs to a single "family" of macs is a recent "development". Previously, whenever I got a new mac, I'd upgrade all the old macs with the new install discs.
It's one of the (many) things I love about Macs. And the Microsoft Genuine "Advantage" validations is one of the many things I hate about Windows...
I shudder to think of the day OS X demands a serial number at installation.
Is that mean I can straight away insert the Mini's installation disc into my Imac? My Imac is PPC G4. And my Mini is PPC G4 too.
QUOTE(wei @ Jun 20 2007, 08:39 PM)
hmm, even with that, it can be reverted by a simple plist edit.
but this doesnt work for PPC/ Intel only installer.
I'm sorry. I cannot understand this. What doesn't work with PPC?
Thanks for your help