PS3 bluray discs, unreadable
TSdeathninjax
Feb 3 2019, 11:54 AM, updated 7y ago

PS3 games are starting to show their age. going through some old games and disc read errors are popping up on some games. tested on ps3 slim and super slim. cleaning with alcohol doesn't work.
i thought bluray discs are better than dvds. with these problems, there are no difference with older media. in a few years time, ps4 discs are going to have the same problems. so much for backwards compatibility on ps5 if there are any.
have to start backing up these games for the jailbreaked ps3s.
Thrust
Feb 3 2019, 12:33 PM
Any signs of scratches on the disc?
funnyTONE
Feb 3 2019, 02:01 PM
I'm glad I'm on digital. Old school blur-ray has its charm, but its much cheaper and convenient to move on to digital.
TSdeathninjax
Feb 3 2019, 03:25 PM

no scratches on the disc. looks clean. maybe one or two have hairline scratches that are hardly visible.but all looks mint condition.
Hattori
Feb 4 2019, 07:22 PM
Maybe it's not the discs ? Maybe the lenses on both the consoles need recalibration or replacement ?
TSdeathninjax
Feb 5 2019, 03:32 AM

a lot of other games are playable on both ps3.
justified
Feb 20 2019, 10:42 PM

Shit.. i collect alot of hard copy ps3 game disc.. sometime i see back of old disc, got finger print smudge.. will it affect ?
TSdeathninjax
Feb 20 2019, 11:09 PM

Hard to say. You have to try one by one. Can try cleaning with alcohol wipes. I have a few discs that have visible scratches that are playable. I started collecting ps3 games recently. Read the news ps5 might have backwards compatibility
dark_heart07
Feb 21 2019, 12:02 AM

few years ago my ps3 slim also facing this prob. I want to play my BFBC2 disc but when I put the game inside I heard weird noise from the drive. some other disc can read but some wont. after a few days all my ps3 disc cannot read and the cause was the lens. I ask nearest gameshop about the cost for replace the lens and most of the quote me arong RM250. I'm a stingy guy so what I do is DIY change the lens. bought it from www.dx.com for RM60+ and got it after 2 weeks. pry open my ps3 and change the lens. it works great after that. now I sold my ps3 already and it still working great according to the buyer. maybe u can try changing the lens first
greyshadow
Feb 21 2019, 10:08 AM
sometimes it's not the bottom part of the disc (shiny part) that caused the problem, it's coated with most protection, few normal scratches and it will still run fine. most of the time it's the top part (label part), sweaty hand's finger print can corrode that thin layer and destroy the data layer beneath.
TSdeathninjax
Feb 22 2019, 11:30 AM

Weird that this problem was not solved since the compact disc was introduced. The manufacturer should know that the top layer is also a weak part and should protect it the same as the bottom layer.
justified
Feb 22 2019, 12:19 PM

Huh didnt know the top part of disc is important too..,?
greyshadow
Feb 22 2019, 03:49 PM
top part it's just a layer of poly-carbonate, followed by the shiny reflective surface if that surface is scratched, you can say bye bye to your disc already, no amount of rubbing alcohol or toothpaste can save it
snipersnake
Feb 25 2019, 04:54 PM
nasib baik I am a frequent PSN Store shopper. maybe this?
Thexmen78
Nov 7 2019, 02:40 PM
Why la there is no fix for this problem. Cannot play some of my games already. Some more it is an original disc. Like suddenly expired. Tried change the lens still tak boleh. Dalam youtube pun tak de cara to fix it.