**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.

vX-2
post Jun 24 2007, 12:30 AM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jun 15 2007, 10:09 PM)
My friend is happy with his Sony Alpha. Have a look at his gallery http://www.flickr.com/photos/8047528@N05/
Hahaha... thankx calvin... thanks for promoting my gallery... yep.....That's my Sony Alpha Gallery & Sharp 903sh (read the EXIF for the info)...

My Gears are as follow:

Sony Alpha A100,
Minolta 50mm F1.7 (RS)
Minolta 28-75mm F2.8 (D)
Minolta 75-300mm F4.5 - 5.6 (D) [Silver/Gold]

For everyones info... Minolta G lens series is like Canon's L lens wink.gif
These are them:
1. Minolta 28-70mm F2.8 G
2. Minolta 17-35mm F3.5 G (Equivalent to Canon's 17-40mm F4.0 L) See the minolta ???? it's F3.5.... flex.gif... canon's L @ F4.0... oh common.... (no offence lar)
3. Minolta 80-200mm APO F2.8 G (available in both HSM or non-HS* vers.) (there is a black vers. of 80-200mm F2.8 but that one is just without G, vry rare but most ppl would settle with that lens already)...
4. Sony has rebadged the 80-200mm to 70-200mm APO F2.8G SSM

The rest would be the portrait G lens of 28mm, 35mm, 50mm, 85mm, and 135mm (if i'm not mistaken) all at least F2.8 (85mm, F1.4)

and the rest of the fixed telephoto G lens are 200mm, 300mm both at F2.8 G (also got HSM and non HSM vers.)

Have a nice day...

This post has been edited by vX-2: Jun 24 2007, 01:23 AM
vX-2
post Jun 24 2007, 12:39 AM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Jun 24 2007, 12:32 AM)
Can i know if anyone of A100 owner interested with the 70-210 F4 beercan?
PM me drool.gif
vX-2
post Jun 24 2007, 01:13 AM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jun 24 2007, 01:09 AM)
fyi, there's 16-35 f2.8 L for Canon and 17-35 f2.8 ED for Nikon too. minolta at f3.5? oh common

sheesh, dont diss other brands when you dont have to. we dont need fanboys here.
Cheh... i said no offence edi wud... sweat.gif doh.gif doh.gif sweat.gif lebihnya...

Added on June 24, 2007, 1:15 am
QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Jun 24 2007, 12:58 AM)
I not very familiar with Sony/KM lenses and acesories.

Do u know normally the beercan can fetch how much in the market? Coz i can bring in if i want
erm... depends on the condition of the lens o.... like new? maybe RM 750... excellent condition RM650...

This post has been edited by vX-2: Jun 24 2007, 01:19 AM
vX-2
post Jun 25 2007, 11:23 PM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Jun 24 2007, 02:17 AM)
ok, so that's the average price..

i'll notice u if i get the lens
Thanks drool.gif drool.gif Please do msg me...

QUOTE(kitman @ Jun 25 2007, 04:10 PM)
actually for good walk around lens the 18-200 is better choice, the pix quality is pretty decent, it's rather compact without the hood, a tad heavier but miles more flexible. if budget is a constrain the kit 18-70 is a good choice as it's one of the better ones compared to other brand

if $ is no problem - pack the body with the carl zeiss 16-80 - this lens is pretty much the darling of lenses for alpha now.

edit - if you dun mind 3rd party lens can check out the just launched 18-250 tamron - it's getting great review and i start seeing it on sale in malaysia lately
Errr.... i wouldnt opt for Range... I would advice to always go for constant aperture instead of Range... the difference is just spectacular... smile.gif
vX-2
post Jul 2 2007, 08:51 PM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

QUOTE(kitman @ Jul 2 2007, 04:29 PM)
of cos the lenses you quoted above will perform better than the 18-200/18-250 but you got to consider you're going traveling and at times you want to travel light, dust on the sensor or simply in situation where you dun get to swap lens whenever you need more zooming power.

but if you ask me what will i get if i'm getting my camera now...... i will consider heavily the alpha + 16-80CZ but the 18-200/18-250 will come along soon haha. i know how i suffered when i went from my ultra zoom to my km5D + 18-70kit.
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

I wouldnt really suggest that... in my opinion, changing lens is a must... otherwise, y u want to buy other lenses when u arent going to use them? Might as well not buy them at the 1st place, rite?

And changing lens is a skill too... 'pro' can swap their lens on the spot in minutes..

Also, u can consider using a good lens E.g. the 80-200mm F2.8, but just stand alil further from ur object and shoot... or stand on higher ground to avoid other 'photographers' that might be shooting at the same object.. by doing so, u can create a different angle as well... a sort of win-win situation..

but you do have a point... so it's all down to the photographers 'desired'.. quality vs. convenience..

just my 2 cent

This post has been edited by vX-2: Jul 2 2007, 08:52 PM
vX-2
post Nov 1 2007, 10:00 PM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

I think it's an understatement of Sony NOT having a wide-range of lens....

-->

http://www.dcviews.com/lenses/Minolta-lenses.htm
(Seeing that, it's all only Minolta lens not accounting to 3rd party yet)

And people who wants to venture into DSLR should do more research that Sony has brought over Konica Minolta and that Minolta AF lens do fits the Alpha series...

And [Raven],
You should put more additional feature in that ads of yours
--> Because CARL ZEISS is producing lens for SONY, (at least this is one of my main reason y i'm using the a100 instead of other brand of line).
(Though not many ppl may afford CZ/ZA - but hey, at least i'm still hoping i will be able to buy them one day)

EDIT: http://www.photodo.com/products.html?mount...name=Minolta+AF (variety of lens including 3rd party)

This post has been edited by vX-2: Nov 1 2007, 10:16 PM
vX-2
post Nov 22 2007, 03:17 PM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

If I would like to sell this lens.... anyone want to buy it ? brows.gif

(This picture is taken with the lens itself)

Everything else is taken with Minolta 28-75@ F2.8
More pics to come....

Albert: This is 'the' lens wink.gif
vX-2
post Nov 23 2007, 12:00 AM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

http://cgi.ebay.com/TOKINA-AT-X340-AF-II-1...9QQcmdZViewItem

I'll give a US85 discount... since i got it for a month already... and I'm in USA... so shipping costs... lolz... laugh.gif
vX-2
post Nov 28 2007, 12:47 AM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

-SOLD-

This post has been edited by vX-2: Nov 29 2007, 12:39 AM
vX-2
post Nov 29 2007, 11:53 PM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 29 2007, 10:31 AM)
so quick eh? anyway.... what's so different with the RS compare to the ori?

i'm still looking for one sad.gif
Yeh... sorry bout the sale... some fella at my university called me when i put it up on my university board...

the main difference is the grip.. RS has a rubber grip, giving u better grip in comparison to the old one.

some say that the RS is sharper and slightly faster (in focusing) & more contrast (in pictures)... i would agree with the sharp, but as for the speed and more contrast, i doubt it... contrast can be adjust with software anyway... smile.gif

EDIT: Perhaps the RS used a different coating, which gives more contrast (just my idea)

This post has been edited by vX-2: Nov 29 2007, 11:56 PM
vX-2
post Jan 20 2008, 04:47 AM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Jan 20 2008, 03:21 AM)

Nice ads.... BUT

Exaggerating sial ~!!
It's snowing at my place here in Lincoln, NE... i dont think i will even bring my camera out hanging around my neck just like that.. sweat.gif sweat.gif
vX-2
post Jan 25 2008, 03:48 AM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Jan 25 2008, 12:32 AM)
a matter of fact yes, my brother owns the sony A100.

and me and my brother stop arguing how crappy both kitlens are and doesn't bother to compare which is better laugh.gif
Minolta 28-75@F2.8 (constant)... Definitely one of the best lens for the A-mount... Y bother talking it? Is just that the kitlens is alil wider, that's all.. other than that, I dont see anything else extra from the kitlens... Even the aperture F2.8 already speak for its price.. hehe

EDIT: I have yet to see anyone else using this lens... with something that rare, how is it not expensive leh...

This post has been edited by vX-2: Jan 25 2008, 03:55 AM
vX-2
post Feb 14 2008, 02:25 PM

Immortality of Beauty
1,125 posts

Lens FOR SALE--> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/631276

Thankx for looking

0.0299sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:09 PM