**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.
popiah_mmu
Feb 20 2008, 11:22 AM
Any body has experience with this lens? Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG MACRO
Also I have read a couple of times that 3rd party lens tends to spoil easily due to Sony's powerful motor. Anybody can comment on this?
popiah_mmu
Feb 20 2008, 02:43 PM
thanks for the detailed info albnok. You answered the next question that i was going to post on full frame and APS-C sensor lenses too. Hehe.
By macdude, are you referring to the car detailing guy?
popiah_mmu
Feb 22 2008, 11:14 AM
I took some shots with the 18-70 kitlens. I find that even zoomed in at 70mm, I still need to get closer to the subject to shoot their face (about 3-5 feet). Considering the 1.5X factor, I should be shooting at almost 100mm liao.
Can't seem to find a button for me to insert pictures here too, how do you guys do it?
popiah_mmu
Feb 22 2008, 12:31 PM
Probably because my subject is my baby.
popiah_mmu
Feb 22 2008, 01:54 PM
eagle.ng - President photo in Queensbay is selling it for 799. I just checked yesterday.  Any good shops in penang to recommend to checkout lenses? I am not local so not really familiar with the island.
popiah_mmu
Feb 22 2008, 02:19 PM
http://www.dalsa.com/markets/ccd_vs_cmos.asphttp://johntcompton.1000nerds.kodak.com/de...asp?item=664294Good reading on CMOS and CCD without diving too much into the electronics.  Anyway, being CCD is possibly why the A200 is cheaper? Not sure what the nearest in price like the D40, D40x etc use for their image sensing. Oh and another thing, I doubt the size of the CCD sensor on a RM500 PNS camera is the same as any digital slr in the market that uses CCD too.
popiah_mmu
Feb 25 2008, 10:33 AM
Images taken with my new A200.  All settings at Auto. majority of photos taken without flash in sunset lighting in the shade. No image optimization except conversion to JPEG, which makes the photo appears a bit more reddish. -Edit- Link removed. This post has been edited by popiah_mmu: Feb 25 2008, 04:47 PM
popiah_mmu
Feb 26 2008, 04:06 PM
anybody know of any f2.8 (around 2.8 also can) lens for Sony mount that covers something like 18-100mm?
popiah_mmu
Feb 26 2008, 04:37 PM
Hehe. I just checked shashinki, the pricing for the 50mm-150mm for Canon and Nikon mount is RM2995. I believe sony mount will be around that price too.  Anyway, albnok and soulfly, you guys gave very sound advice. If I cannot find something like 1x-1xx lens, then the other option is to go with 2 lenses. Was hoping I could get away with purchasing only 1. Haha. 50-70mm is the range i use most of the time.
popiah_mmu
Feb 27 2008, 08:29 AM
very interesting discussion on the 2.8. Lots of valuable input and feedback. I guess the most appropriate way is to go and try out these lenses and find one that we are happy with. anywa, nic_chm, i like the photos taken from the park.