16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V37, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

TSSilentVampire
post Mar 26 2019, 05:57 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 26 2019, 05:44 PM)
how is this TP link compared with DIR-825+?
See review of A6 here: https://www.blacktubi.com/review/tp-link-archer-a6-review/

I would say that it is better, firmware wise.

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 05:54 PM)
Hi guys. Need advice. My plan was renewed to 30mbps on Jan 2019. However due to heavy Internet workload, I wanted to switch to 100mbps for unlimited data. To my horror, they said there is no option to upgrade to 100mbps because of the line around my area. No idea how that happen but now I'm stuck with 30mbps with no where to go forward or backward without paying expensive cancellation fee. Funnily enough my area just upgraded to receive times fibre so not sure what the tm saying is true or not.

Was told to go to nearest tmpoint to see if there are other options...... What other options? Before I waste my time and annual leave, anybody can share their experience on these supposedly "alternative plan"?
You mean your area is upgraded to receive TIME? Go for TIME then! TIME has their own fibre infrastructure, and maybe TM doesn't have that. Go for TIME.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 26 2019, 06:32 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 06:02 PM)
Thats the problem. I recently renewed to 30mbps early year, thinking I won't  reach 60gb cap, lol. Ends up more than expected. I'm willing rm129 but I'm surprise tm won't allow upgrade if facility does not support. I don't mind lower speed, I'm more annoyed that that's not even an option anymore if u want unlimited cap.

Some even pointed out that they got boosted 500mbps but not even reach half that speed. But I straight up got rejected for 100mbps and now im stuck with 60gb quota unless I pay cancellation. Its is stupidly annoying and mind boggling crazy that I can't even "upgrade". If worse come worse I rather just pay the fine and leave Unifi entirely.

If TM has other data plan, I'm willing to listen but not going to waste time going to tmpoint if there is none. Already tried online support but no use.
Seriously, I would suggest going for TIME if you can. Their new plans are very reasonable, and just ask TM how much would the penalty be if you were to leave the contract now, and weigh it against going for TIME.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 26 2019, 08:19 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Mar 26 2019, 07:11 PM)
Hi guys, anyone using ASUS's RT-AC66U router here? Suitable for Unifi Turbo 500mbps? I'm replacing my old TP-Link Wireless N router as at max it only gives me 200mbps via LAN. Tried changing modem but speed is worse (mine is gen 1). It's on sale on Lazada for only RM472.

Also, any advice on sharing file across network? The AC66U seems to only have USB 2.0, seems like it doesn't take external HDD too.
Check 1st page, 1st post, green text, for list of recommendations for router.

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 07:12 PM)
That is what so strange. I heard of many complaints that despite 500Mbps boost whatnot, they can only get around 100Mbps tops. However, for me, 30Mbps is more than enough. I just need the unlimited part. But they not even willing to upgrade me to 100Mbps is soooooooo strange  :confused: and angers me  ranting.gif I did not even know that is even possible.  doh.gif I feel like kena cheated.
It is usually modem or other issues. They are probably using old copper lines that is not capable of 100Mbps. As we all say, TIME is the best option if you can do it.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 27 2019, 06:59 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(HariszKilz @ Mar 27 2019, 06:09 PM)
Hello I wanted to ask. Recently, TM did a survey in my Taman. They open a stall near the entrance and I was told it was a survey on upgrading to Unifi Fibre. That was 2 months ago, time passed and nothing happen. I ask again fron my friend who is working for TM in my area and he said that 95% of people from my Taman requested for Unifi Fibre to be available in the area but then again, nothing happen. My question is, how does this thing works ? I mean when are they going to start working and lay Fibre in my area ?  or maybe do some works. It's been 2 months now. I'm not being rush but there's already a demand tho. Currently using Unifi Lite 10Mbps (SUBB) @ RM129 is the same price as 100Mbps. Feel like scam tbh for that price. My current attainable rate from the DP is 94Mbps but meh. No upgrade of whatsoever until now.
Just be patient, it will come.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 29 2019, 11:30 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Micky78 @ Mar 29 2019, 10:40 AM)
is unifi given a new phone when u install unifi...
Yes, they should.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 29 2019, 07:29 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Mar 29 2019, 06:14 PM)
my place finally got unifi, last time on streamyx. Just curious, for the phone to work the huawei optical network terminal must be turned on right?

Also what is the pw of the dlink router they provide? default blank pw doesn't work  icon_question.gif
Yes for the Huawei ONU, and default is admin, admin. I would recommend switching router though and get something decent and disable IPv6.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 30 2019, 12:13 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Par@dox @ Mar 30 2019, 12:02 PM)
Need some advice. My house already has concealed Cat 5e cables built into the walls. Recently, my Unifi connection was turbo-ed to 500mbps from 100mbps. The installer came today and changed both my modem and router.

From the modem, it is connected via concealed Cat 5e cable to the router which is in another room. According to the installer, my cable cannot support 500mbps, only 100mbps, so the router can only "route" up to 100mbps. I find it a bit difficult to believe because I thought Cat 5e is rated much higher than 100mbps.

The installer says that the modem is already functioning at 500mbps (he said he tested which I did not verify).

What do you think I should do now? Get another router or just downgrade to 100mbps? I am not about to change my concealed cables because it's just too troublesome to change all the cables in the house.

Router provided is D-Link DIR-842.

Cat 5e can support up to 1000Mbps, so the installer is talking out of his ass. If your connection can't hit 1000Mbps, he did not configure the modem or router properly. I recommend that you change router anyway, as the DIR-842 does not support 500Mbps on wifi. See 1st page, 1st post, green text, for list of recommended routers for your speed.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 30 2019, 01:17 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Mar 30 2019, 12:50 PM)
Ok got it ,so the ONU must be on, if not phone will dead.

Any recommendations for router under RM400?

How to turn off IPv6 for DIR-842?

Found it, admin@xxxx
TP-Link A6. Good price and very good reviews so far. As for how to turn off IPv6, there will be a settings somewhere in the router.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 31 2019, 02:53 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 30 2019, 11:01 PM)
is it better to disable ipv6 on unifi?
And on 2.4ghz I can only reach around 50mbps while 5ghz can reach full 100mbps, is it suppose to be like this?
Yes, it is recommended to disable IPv6, and yes, it is normal. I suggest you read ALL of the green text on 1st page, 1st post, to educate yourself.

QUOTE(Uncle Toby @ Mar 31 2019, 02:06 PM)
Between Dlink Dir-882 and TP Link 3150 which one is better?

in terms of wifi 5G coverage and Software control..? tq
TP-Link C3150 v2 for me. It has built in antivirus, and IPS, and its coverage is really good.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 31 2019, 08:32 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(xhakox @ Mar 31 2019, 07:42 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm currently subscribed to Unifi's 800Mbps plan. So right now, I connect the internet via WiFi and I don't have the ability to utilize the full speed. For me to use LAN cable would be a mess because the router is located at my hall. Therefore, I figured I might need to use powerline adapters to directly connect the LAN cable to my PC.

Question is, which brand of powerline adapters would you guys suggest me to get in order to fully utilize my speed?
Not going to happen with powerline. If you are paying more than RM129 now and not using unifiTV, I suggest going for the new plan of 100Mbps for RM129. It is very hard to get the full speed of 800Mbps or even close to it over WiFi. You will need a 4x4 MIMO router and devices that can support 4x4 MIMO.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 1 2019, 10:10 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(xhakox @ Mar 31 2019, 09:24 PM)
Could you suggest me what I should get as mentioned above?
See blacktubi suggestion.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 1 2019, 01:15 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Apr 1 2019, 12:40 PM)
Hi gurus. Just need to pick your brains on certain things. The scenario:

- currently on the 30mbps plan using standard equipment that came from TM
- 1,000 sq ft standard condominium i.e. 3 room + 2 bath, concrete walls, etc.
- wireless router currently in the living room next to TV and entertainment equipment

My PC is situated in the middle room and bedroom is in the further most room. I noticed that sometimes I face trouble streaming Netflix/Youtube on my PC although the wifi bar on the PC is full or close to full.

Also, wifi signal not strong in the bedroom which is furthest from the router.

My question is, what's the best way to improve coverage in my modest home? Mesh network or a more powerful router?

Appreciate any feedback. Thank you.
Mesh, and Deco M5.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 1 2019, 02:25 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Apr 1 2019, 02:21 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion. But I think I'll stick to TP-Link, mainly for the ease of installation.

I'm a bit of an dungu in relation to networking unfortunately.
He meant check it out with ookas, the seller of networking products. He is not recommending you another brand of product. I recommend OOKAS too. Get the Deco M5.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 2 2019, 05:13 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 2 2019, 02:08 PM)
Here's a non-TM BTU in use.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=89611453
Courtesy of rizvanrp
Just to add a disclaimer that rizvanrp is a networking specialist and have experience working for TM previously. You will need to know how to configure it according to TM specifications lol.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 4 2019, 09:11 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Apr 4 2019, 08:44 PM)
So I upgraded to 100mbps and I've not use the tm Android box to watch hypptv for a very long time. Today when I try to watch, I get the screen that says I need to subscribe. I thought 100mbps is already included this hypptv? I can watch playtv on my tablet btw..
Nope. You will need to contact TM to set the box up.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 5 2019, 02:59 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Apr 5 2019, 01:28 PM)
but if you refer to the below,  ARCHER C1200 , RG D-Link DIR 850L and RG DLINK DIR-842 except  RG TP-LINK ARCHER C5v2 are listed as supporting 300mbps
which is my current turbo
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4658096#
You will most likely get the DIR-842 or the Archer C1200.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 5 2019, 03:26 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Apr 5 2019, 03:01 PM)
so which one should i choose, if there is a choice?
There will be no choice. You will get whatever you will get. Honestly though, I won't use any and would just get my own. TP-Link C6 is a good budget option.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 5 2019, 04:28 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Apr 5 2019, 03:40 PM)
i just got a a6 from lazada but thinking of returning it since i can't fully utilize it, all my notebook is just support up to N protocol, might as well get something that is free from TM
It is better than stock router though, so use that and keep the stock router as a backup.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 5 2019, 08:26 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Apr 5 2019, 07:02 PM)
I also bought Archer A6, I can't say I am happy about it ----> IPv6 issues.  dry.gif  No 'reply' from TP-Link Malaysia at all even after emailing support.my@tp-link.com......
For IPv4, it is good though, and most of us don’t need IPv6 as of yet.

QUOTE(blibala @ Apr 5 2019, 07:25 PM)
Hi all. I have an huawei hypptv box which was from my previous unifi package but i have already terminated the account. Recently i moved to a new place and resubscribe the unifi 100mbps RM129 which has no hypptv tv box.

Can i resuse back the tv box and watch on bigger tv instead of using their app which is very buggy? Any settings required?
Probably not, unless you ask TM technicians to configure the box for you.

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Apr 5 2019, 08:17 PM)
no warranty ....

wonder can call TM..told router spoiled ..ask for new router with renew 24Months contract?
Yes, but why not get your own? It’s better.
TSSilentVampire
post Apr 5 2019, 10:21 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Apr 5 2019, 09:32 PM)
Let just hope TM will not allocate private IPv4 address to fiber users anytime soon.... nod.gif

GCN-NAT is very troublesome for end users.
Hopefully not.

16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1678sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:32 PM