MacOS X Hackintosh + Apple OS X Tiger retail pack. Legal?
TSmiramar
Jun 15 2007, 08:56 AM, updated 19y ago

Say if I build a hackintosh and buy a copy of OS X Tiger from Apple, will that be legal from a software licensing point of view?
What does the OS X EULA say about installing OS X on non Apple hardware?
What if I install it on an Apple branded hard disk?
All my PCs including the ones at home have licensed copies of the OS (Windows or OS X) so I'd like to keep it that way.
SanosukeSagara
Jun 15 2007, 08:58 AM
first of all can u install the OSX in normal intel without crack? unless u r the developer of Apple
TSmiramar
Jun 15 2007, 09:22 AM

Aiyo of course lah, cannot, I think you know that already right? I install in iMac and then move HD over to hackintosh. If Apple comes over and check my hackintosh, they will find OS X on it & OS X Tiger retail pack on same table. Is this legal? I think better to sort out the legal issues before even attempting to power on the hackintosh, isn't it?
This post has been edited by miramar: Jun 15 2007, 09:26 AM
SUSMinority116
Jun 15 2007, 10:56 AM

read the EULA properly, OS X must be use with apple hardware only.
and if u install in an iMac, and put in a hackintosh.. the HDD won't even boot.. cause there is a lot of complications like TPM module, bootloader & video drivers compatibility.. and where to get a tiger disc for intel? the only retail version out there is for PowerPC
This post has been edited by Minority116: Jun 15 2007, 10:59 AM
allvin
Jun 15 2007, 01:46 PM
aiduh.. one word...
ILLEGAL!!!
End of story
TSmiramar
Jun 15 2007, 02:58 PM

You're all correct. Apple-labeled computer. No OS X Intel for sale separately. Does not look good for the hackintosh. No choice but to go back to Microsoft. QUOTE "This License allows you to install and use one copy of the Apple Software on a single Apple-labeled computer at a time. This License does not allow the Apple Software to exist on more than one computer at a time, and you may not make the Apple Software available over a network where it could be used by multiple computers at the same time. If you use Setup Assistant to transfer software from one Apple-labeled computer to another Apple-labeled computer, please remember that continued use of the original copy of the software may be prohibited once a copy has been transferred to another computer, unless you already have a licensed copy of such software on both computers. You should check the relevant software license agreements for applicable terms and conditions. You may make one copy of the Apple Software (excluding the Boot ROM code) in machine-readable form for backup purposes only; provided that the backup copy must include all copyright or other proprietary notices contained on the original."
INFeRNO
Jun 15 2007, 03:33 PM
You know, the term "Apple label" is worded very vaguely in their EULA. For all you know, any PC with a mac logo stuck on would fit the bill...
TSmiramar
Jun 15 2007, 04:05 PM

Finally, someone with a sense of humour! My hackintosh has a genuine Apple sticker (white) stuck on it's side in much the same place where the Apple logo on the MacPro is. It looks pretty nice too. My case is fully black and then there is the white Apple logo in stark contrast. Apple-Labelled!
Just pried off the colorful Apple logo from my Powermac 7600 and stuck it on the front of the case. Nice.
And signed up for Apple Developer Membership on developer.apple.com(based on advice from here) & started saving up for a MacPro in case I really have to go back to Windows on my hackintosh.
This post has been edited by miramar: Jun 15 2007, 04:08 PM
kevler
Jun 15 2007, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(miramar @ Jun 15 2007, 08:56 AM) Say if I build a hackintosh and buy a copy of OS X Tiger from Apple, will that be legal from a software licensing point of view? What does the OS X EULA say about installing OS X on non Apple hardware? What if I install it on an Apple branded hard disk? All my PCs including the ones at home have licensed copies of the OS (Windows or OS X) so I'd like to keep it that way. aiks ...Apple got EULA ? i thought Microsoft only got that agreement ....
civic98
Jun 15 2007, 07:17 PM
Why bother? Just get a Mac, it's worth more than just buying Tiger at retail.
TSmiramar
Jun 15 2007, 07:50 PM

Why not? It's fun, gain knowledge like what PC hardware will work just fine on the real Mac but is usually not advertised as such. I save RM800 by buying a PC TV tuner instead of the Miglia EyeTV (RM1200 @ Machines). And I'm still saving for the Mac I want. This hackintosh thing is just a stop gap measure till I get some Coke, I mean the real thing. Apple EULA review: http://www.eulascan.com/product.aspx?pid=22
allvin
Jun 15 2007, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(miramar @ Jun 15 2007, 08:50 PM) Why not? It's fun, gain knowledge like what PC hardware will work just fine on the real Mac but is usually not advertised as such. I save RM800 by buying a PC TV tuner instead of the Miglia EyeTV (RM1200 @ Machines). And I'm still saving for the Mac I want. This hackintosh thing is just a stop gap measure till I get some Coke, I mean the real thing. Apple EULA review: http://www.eulascan.com/product.aspx?pid=22 same boat. It's alot of fun for doing those hacking stuff. i not saying that i hack those things myself. But you will understand how those .kext (drivers) running and etc..  I myself will buy macbook soon, but right now it's damn fun..  Love to test those beta softwares. Well, some ppl lazy/don't like doing those stuff and pointless to them anyway.
vandetta
Jun 16 2007, 06:49 AM
QUOTE(Minority116 @ Jun 15 2007, 10:56 AM) read the EULA properly, OS X must be use with apple hardware only. and if u install in an iMac, and put in a hackintosh.. the HDD won't even boot.. cause there is a lot of complications like TPM module, bootloader & video drivers compatibility.. and where to get a tiger disc for intel? the only retail version out there is for PowerPC Dude, have you try to do it? FYI that is one way to install Mac OS to PC! But some PC will runs and some not.
allvin
Jun 16 2007, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(vandetta @ Jun 16 2007, 07:49 AM) Dude, have you try to do it? FYI that is one way to install Mac OS to PC! But some PC will runs and some not.  I'm not trying but running hackintosh right now.  Can run every app which "real" mac can run. You named it. Parallels, vmware fusion, CS3.. even games like wc3 and play hamachi with my pc friends. No problem with my machine.
SUSMinority116
Jun 19 2007, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(vandetta @ Jun 16 2007, 06:49 AM) Dude, have you try to do it? FYI that is one way to install Mac OS to PC! But some PC will runs and some not. why would i want to trouble myself doing all that, while i could just download a hacked OS X DVD ISO for x86 (PC) on green demon..