~morning musume fanboy~
812 posts

-----------------

This post has been edited by momusu: Jul 10 2010, 02:18 PM
koayty
post Jun 15 2007, 08:29 AM

182 posts

1 advise really, don't use Norton, it's basically a memory bloat. There are lots of antivirus that are better than Norton, try to google for Nod32
rayfoo
post Jun 15 2007, 08:33 AM

2,564 posts

1) after 1 year, u cant get any updates already ( for most antivirus software , u didnt mention what programme is it )
2) yes , 1 cd u can legally install up to the number of license you bought
3) no problem, but most retail version is retail pack 1 year license only,
4) depend on what antivirus software u using, some you can renew it online or renew from the vendor
5) i think about the same price, for symantec please go for symantec corporate version, get it from a symantec reseller, u can buy for say 20 user license , then maybe u wanna pay for 2 years or more , it'll be cheaper

amberglow
post Jun 15 2007, 08:36 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(momusu @ Jun 15 2007, 07:56 AM)
For company installation, If i get a retail or multi user pack version from stores, most antivirus offer 1 year update free, correct?
1. What happen after the 1 year period? Do I get to update online?
2. We have 6 WinXP Pro workstations with a Dlink(switch i think) that's a DHCP server. Most business version of antivirus offers 5, 10 user licenses as the minimum, up to thousands of seat. Does that mean I get one CD that's legally should only be installed up to the max number of the license seat i bought? (Meaning, same CD key for 5 or 10 pc's)
3. Can we use retail version for office use? What am I missing?
4. At the end of the subscription period, how do i pay and receive updates? How and where do i go about it?
5. We've been evaluating Norton 2007 (boss' recommendation) and Kapersky (After some search on the net) For ease of management and cheap renewal price, which is better?

1. That depends on the product really, some products are functionality locked which means after 1 year, unless you renew the maintenance you dont get new AV signatures. Normally, most new licenses come with 1 year support and download and updates.
2. You might want to talk to your reseller to get a license certs instead of a box pack. Symantec (makers of Norton AV) offers certificate licenses starting from 5 users with 1 user increments which means you can buy 6 user license. Media is an optional purchase which I recommend or take the trouble to download via their website.
3. Most retail versions are meant for home users, whereby it does not have centralized management consoles. For corporate versions they come with the centralized management consoles. The difference is that with the retail version you need to do installation and configuration 1 at a time.
4. For Norton retail versions, renewals are done online via credit card, while for corporate versions you will receive a renewal notice and your reseller may sell you a renewal maintenance.
5. Norton is well known for their product quality in terms of catching virus and worms. Karpasky is usually cheaper as they need to fight a giant like Symantec(Norton). A good independent website to evaluate the AV strength is www.virusbtn.com

Hope that helps.
TSmomusu
post Jun 15 2007, 10:18 AM

~morning musume fanboy~
812 posts

Okay, so we'll get a volume license for 5/> pc's.
Where do I get that license? What's this <antivirus company> reseller?
If for Symantec, where do i go? Which reseller has solid base in Malaysia?

zhen^wei
post Jun 15 2007, 11:41 AM

4,057 posts

some company buy the kaspersky OEM. 1 PC 1 KAV.
actually got 1 paper license for the kaspersky, but since ur workstation only 5units, sugget u get OEm 1.. more cheaper.
and just buy a new set after 1 year, replace the license key.

0.0163sec    2.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:48 PM