Reduce wheel size or changing to comfort tyre?, For comfort driving

[A]aronLJW
post Jan 27 2019, 01:18 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jan 26 2019, 08:19 PM)
Hi tyre sifus,

i'm in dilemma currently.
i'm using Honda City 16. my current tyre is Assurance Triplemax 195/50/16 on 16" 7jj wheels. i have no complaint on this tyre except my ride are quite shaking on uneven road and a bit noisy after 20k km.
now i want to get more comfort/silent ride. i'm unsure whether should i reduce my wheel size to 15" and use 195/55/15 tyre or just change the tyre to comfort 195/50/16 tyre. (assurance triplemax famous for hard sidewall. not sure if this is main cause for shaking/bumpiness)

need you guys opinion on this. appreciate your feedback  notworthy.gif
Noise - Change tyres to Conti UC6 (New tires quieter, old tires noisy)
Bumpy - Try decrease your tyre pressure a bit and try it out
Downsize - As the last choice if needed
[A]aronLJW
post Jan 27 2019, 02:29 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jan 27 2019, 07:07 AM)
Uc6 got 195/50/16 size?
Yea iinm lar.. CC6 is 185/55/16, 195/50/16 is UC6, 205/45/16 is MC6
[A]aronLJW
post Jan 28 2019, 05:53 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Jan 28 2019, 05:15 PM)
I tot ur honda city stock only come in two size

175/65r15 or 185/55r16. So weird, 50 tyre profile 🤔🤔..

Btw, my house got car from 50 to 65 tyre profile..65 extremely comfortable, while 50 same scenario like u.

Pick 60 or 65 profile, and ya, if want max comfort need to downsizing.
Yes city does come in 2 size tyre stock depend on which variant city you buy. 195/50/16 is aftermarket change, slightly decrease on sidewall height hence comfort reduce.

205/50/16 is the better option as sidewall height remain similar to stock 185/55/16, but 205/50/16 is recommended to put on a aftermarket rim with 6.5/7/7.5JJ rim whereas 195/50/16 can be put on stock rim hence save the rim changing process.

This post has been edited by [A]aronLJW: Jan 28 2019, 05:54 PM
[A]aronLJW
post Jan 28 2019, 06:56 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jan 28 2019, 06:16 PM)
I'm using aftermarket rim (that time still young n want big rim tongue.gif)

But i feel like if i change to 15", only 195/55/15 profile is widely available. Not sure if the comfort far better than 50 or not
Sidewall height
185/55/16 (Stock) - 101.75 mm
195/50/16 (Current) - 97.50 mm

205/50/16 - 102.50mm
185/60/15 - 111.00 mm
195/55/15 - 107.25 mm

**Height bigger is better, more comfort

Well for sure going for 15", comfort will increase, your wallet will be less painful when changing tires. 195/55/15 more performance choice than 185/60/15 but then again if you focus on comfort then 185/60/15 better.
If you want to stay 16" then go 205/50/16, the sidewall is slightly similar to the stock height but wallet will be sakit sikit cause price range will be 200-400 per pcs depend on tire choice.

0.0145sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:11 AM