Need help in my math exhibition, Ur help worth alot to me..

TSDivineAngel
post Jun 14 2007, 09:48 PM, updated 19y ago

24 posts

I am going to have my math exhibition in around July. Every group (which consist of 3 ppl in one group) will make a project for the math exhibition. I have come out a project called Monty Hall Problem.

Well, to make the whole exhibition more interesting, i have volunteered myself to make a big and major project. That is to make History tunnel named 'The mistery of Math'. Let me breifly describe. You will first come to the ancient enviroment (e.g egypt ancient math discovery) and the condition is in dim light, this part you will be you will see that how math was created.

Then, advanced from 1700-1800,1800-1900 until 1900-now. I will put in some Great mathematician (about thier discovery, thier biography) like von neumann, newton, archimedes, euler etc.

But i need more stuff to make it more interesting. That's why im here to seek suggestion(s) from u guys. You can either suggest me in making a history tunnel, Or you can suggest another project which i can do as well (more interesting one of coz). I haven't start anything yet. So i need to conclude my decision before i come up a proposal. Hope can guys can helped.

THX ALOT biggrin.gif
KVReninem
post Jun 14 2007, 09:50 PM

IX
5,369 posts

watch numbers series , thr it will inspire you hehe
mumeichan
post Jun 14 2007, 10:03 PM

4,152 posts

Is this some kind of competition? Where will it be held?
TSDivineAngel
post Jun 14 2007, 10:08 PM

24 posts

Err....this is not a competition. But just my school's open day. (Institut Sinaran's open day). Numb3rs? i heard it before too. Well, no time to watch that since im lacking of time to study alrdy...

Ques: So, if u are a visitor...will you interested to entering the history tunnel?

This post has been edited by DivineAngel: Jun 14 2007, 10:11 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jun 14 2007, 10:13 PM

52,874 posts

Goodness ... a Maths exhibition. I'll definitely fall a sleep in this kind of exhibition.

I think your idea on the history tunnel is pretty amazing. Just go for it.
Melon
post Jun 14 2007, 10:26 PM

394 posts

hi....

will you be talking about those maths impact on human daily life?? as time goes by??
wKkaY
post Jun 14 2007, 10:54 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

How about a visually-appealing exhibit on mathematical art?

For example, fractals.

Or these: http://chriscoyne.com/cfdg/index.php

Or MC Eschers works.
~hunter~
post Jun 14 2007, 11:18 PM

PLsS bE PatiEnT (I'm FasTinG)
684 posts

never heard of a math exhibition b4..sweat.gif sweat.gif

i'll definetely not goin coz i hate math so much.. laugh.gif
TSDivineAngel
post Jun 14 2007, 11:19 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 14 2007, 10:13 PM)
Goodness ... a Maths exhibition. I'll definitely fall a sleep in this kind of exhibition.

I think your idea on the history tunnel is pretty amazing. Just go for it.
Thx you for ur encouragement rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Melon @ Jun 14 2007, 10:26 PM)
hi....

will you be talking about those maths impact on human daily life?? as time goes by??
Hmm...That maybe interesting... I'll think about it biggrin.gif

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 14 2007, 10:54 PM)
How about a visually-appealing exhibit on mathematical art?

For example, fractals.

Or these: http://chriscoyne.com/cfdg/index.php

Or MC Eschers works.
Wow...brilliant ideas!! But, can i ask , how will it involve with math?
Sesshoumaru
post Jun 14 2007, 11:30 PM

1,190 posts

The patterns are governed by math. The amount of 'flowers' on a broccoli, the shape of a rock, all explained by iterations.

Show off these amazing facts, and you'll impress the judges. Take it from me, being the president of the Science and Math club back in high school who won the exhibition day.

But since you said it's not a competition... err... integrate math with things like bra sizes and how the cup size is determined or something like that xD.

This post has been edited by Sesshoumaru: Jun 14 2007, 11:31 PM
TSDivineAngel
post Jun 14 2007, 11:45 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Jun 14 2007, 11:30 PM)
The patterns are governed by math. The amount of 'flowers' on a broccoli, the shape of a rock, all explained by iterations.

Show off these amazing facts, and you'll impress the judges. Take it from me, being the president of the Science and Math club back in high school who won the exhibition day.

But since you said it's not a competition... err... integrate math with things like bra sizes and how the cup size is determined or something like that xD.
Erm, it's not a competition, since it is not just math, but have others exhibition too like chemistry, physics, biology and economy etc etc. But, if u attract alot of visitor, that means u succeed. So, i'll try my best. Thx Sesshoumaru

p/s:Sesshoumaru and wKkaY...can u pm me ur email so i can have ur msn? Hope to know how to make those graphic...since im juz a amateur

This post has been edited by DivineAngel: Jun 14 2007, 11:51 PM
mumeichan
post Jun 14 2007, 11:50 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(DivineAngel @ Jun 14 2007, 10:08 PM)
Err....this is not a competition. But just my school's open day. (Institut Sinaran's open day). Numb3rs? i heard it before too. Well, no time to watch that since im lacking of time to study alrdy...

Ques: So, if u are a visitor...will you interested to entering the history tunnel?
Well it is new idea, but I do not think I will be interested in it. I love maths, but I really do not bother about how it developed for thousands of years until this day unless I am in a situation where I have to know about it.

I do not know if it will be interesting or not, but there is this maths formula to calculate the thickness length etc of a paper or any kind of sheet so that it can be folded more than 8 time in the same direction. Try googling it or wikiing(wiki origami) it. You can also check out origami maths.

Also you could exhibit some maths problem which cannot be solve or have not been been solved till now. For example the pattern of prime number and there are a lot of problems. Google it.

Or you could have a photo taken of somebody and use maths to calculate the persons height, waist etc. By using distance, focal length,angle, reference objects etc.

This post has been edited by mumeichan: Jun 14 2007, 11:53 PM
TSDivineAngel
post Jun 14 2007, 11:59 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 14 2007, 11:50 PM)
Well it is new idea, but I do not think I will be interested in it. I love maths, but I really do not bother about how it developed for thousands of years until this day unless I am in a situation where I have to know about it.

I do not know if it will be interesting or not, but there is this maths formula to calculate the thickness length etc of a paper or any kind of sheet so that it can be folded more than 8 time in the same direction. Try googling it or wikiing(wiki origami) it. You can also check out origami maths.

Also you could exhibit some maths problem which cannot be solve or have not been been solved till now. For example the pattern of prime number and there are a lot of problems. Google it.

Or you could have a photo taken of somebody and use maths to calculate the persons height, waist etc. By using distance, focal length,angle, reference objects etc.
Thx you mumeichan. Well, i guess you are right...coz i think of that too. My math teacher told me, for him, he won't interested in ancient application of math. But, he say he will be more interested in modern math. Ya, my teacher did inspired me to do unsolved (or tricky/confusing) math problem too. Coz after he had inspired me, i felt it's very interesting. Here is what he had inspired me (im IloveMathLink)

But cannot make it too hard, afterward evereybody get headache after entering my exhibition.

This post has been edited by DivineAngel: Jun 15 2007, 12:01 AM
wKkaY
post Jun 15 2007, 12:24 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(DivineAngel @ Jun 15 2007, 01:19 AM)
Wow...brilliant ideas!! But, can i ask , how will it involve with math?

Fractals can illustrate that infinite iterations and recurrences, simple as they look can generate complex forms. The broccoli is an example.

That CFDG thing, which is a fractal system too, has some relation to automata theory (a branch of computer science) in the sense that the figures are generated from a context-free grammar, and thus can be recognized by some pushdown automata.

MC Escher's drawings largely relate to mathematical logic and geometry. This can be seen in the book Eternal Golden Braid, where the author draws remarkable relations between logic, Escher's drawings, and Bach's music.

Added on June 15, 2007, 12:32 am
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 15 2007, 01:50 AM)

Photosynth, a MS research project, extends that idea. Check it out here: http://labs.live.com/photosynth/video.html
TSDivineAngel
post Jun 15 2007, 06:34 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 15 2007, 12:24 AM)
Fractals can illustrate that infinite iterations and recurrences, simple as they look can generate complex forms. The broccoli is an example.

That CFDG thing, which is a fractal system too, has some relation to automata theory (a branch of computer science) in the sense that the figures are generated from a context-free grammar, and thus can be recognized by some pushdown automata.

MC Escher's drawings largely relate to mathematical logic and geometry. This can be seen in the book Eternal Golden Braid, where the author draws remarkable relations between logic, Escher's drawings, and Bach's music.

Added on June 15, 2007, 12:32 amPhotosynth, a MS research project, extends that idea. Check it out here: http://labs.live.com/photosynth/video.html
Awww....Thx thx thx alot!!! You guys inspired me abundantly...only thing is that i nid to become more diligent and work it out!!

suka milo
post Jun 15 2007, 11:50 AM

62 posts

what about Fibonacci numbers and world-mistery?
http://www.world-mysteries.com/sci_17.htm

maybe u can find something new on it oso thumbup.gif

Lover
post Jun 16 2007, 12:37 AM

-H@TE FFKer-
1,852 posts

go find info on de line multiplication.. sure interested a lot of ppl..
TSDivineAngel
post Jun 16 2007, 01:16 AM

24 posts

My math teacher finally said something to me today after i had shown him what you guys had suggested me. He says that...
1)You don't know what are their background, and they also dunno what's your situation/background that u are in
2)Don't be too ambitious, you have to start from bottom
3)Things like franctals, iteration drawing are hard topic in both creating and make ppl understand
4) Eches drawing is just about art and illusion and does not relavant to math

Well, he asked me to make my tunnel like this, separate it into 2 category, one is history, 2nd is aplication of FURTHER math (which is one of the 4 subject im taking in a-level). Thus to promote further math subject to the public (about its importance if you want to study enginnering and field like actuarial science according to him).

Now he wan me to do like for eg, further math application in astronomy (how can u use further math to calculate orbit of planet with eclipse), calculation involve in integrated circuit for e&e engineering etc.

Well, if i wan to build a tunnel, can anyone can give some opinion to me how to build one? Well, i like to bring my appreciation to all those who had suggested ideas to me, Thx You biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by DivineAngel: Jun 16 2007, 01:18 AM
Aurora
post Jun 17 2007, 01:36 AM

630 posts

It should be a very interesting exhibition. My school has this kind of exhibition as well, but more of science exhibition than maths.

By the way, who is your audience? Are you in a higher institution or school? You have to think of your audience than your exhibition, and what is their math level. It should always be something simple, fresh, easy to understand, encourage participation.

Try this. CORDIC Square Root. You can start off with a magic trick. (The first part of the link can be make into a magic trick!) Try a few more times, catch their attention and reveal the magic.

The concept behind the trick is mention there. After that, for those that are interested, or if your audience is from tertiary level, you can show them the square root method using binary system, aka CORDIC. This method is used in embedded system, such as small chip, as it can calculate real fast than coventional method use by the PC. I am currently using it in one of my project. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Aurora: Jun 17 2007, 01:43 AM

0.0357sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:45 AM