Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

nabnab12345
post Mar 18 2019, 11:35 PM

15 posts

Just booked my trip for next week and look forward to visiting Tokyo.

Have 7 nights in Tokyo and will be staying at Hilton Tokyo for 5 nights, then move on Hilton Tokyo Bay for two nights (will be visiting Disneyland for two days hence thought it was wise to move to Tokyo Bay.

No itinerary plan as yet but definitely wanting to do a day trip to Mt Fuji and also to view cherry blossom. Any suggestion will be much appreciated (we are mainly looking at shopping, food, and perhaps some cultural visit). Also, for public transport within Tokyo, which pass should I buy?

Wanted a longer trip but hotel is unbearably expensive!

This post has been edited by nabnab12345: Mar 18 2019, 11:36 PM
nabnab12345
post Mar 19 2019, 10:13 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 19 2019, 12:44 AM)
accommodation shouldn't be that expensive icon_idea.gif
Tried searching high and low, even AirBnB, most are far away or simple not worth it.

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 19 2019, 07:31 AM)
Peak period for sakura season mah. Sure expensive than normal
Yeah i know, but S.O. wants to view Sakura!

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2019, 07:36 AM)
> chooses an atas expensive hotel
> complains that accommodation is expensive

icon_idea.gif

Not intentionally... but given the choices that I had, Hilton was the best.

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Mar 19 2019, 08:51 AM)
Well.... you're staying in Hilton... you don't expect an internationally branded hotel to be cheap... right? sweat.gif

Honestly can't find anything else suitable. Taking our 4 year old with us so convenience is key!

This post has been edited by nabnab12345: Mar 19 2019, 10:14 AM
nabnab12345
post Mar 19 2019, 11:11 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 19 2019, 10:56 AM)
Good luck to your S.O. viewing Sakura together with tons of Chinese tourists  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

For Disneyland, you should have 'upgraded' to Disneyland Hotel for the 15-min early entry and perhaps FASTPASS if you take their vacation packages. But $$$$$ la drool.gif  drool.gif
I checked and didn't make sense. The cheapest price 66,000JPY per adult, more than 4x our hotel cost.

With Sakura, I bought a day trip so let's see how we go with that. In any case, we are in Seoul for 4 nights before we travel to Tokyo, hopefully can catch a good glimpse of cherry blossom in Seoul as well.
nabnab12345
post Mar 19 2019, 11:56 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(skzisghost @ Mar 19 2019, 11:10 AM)
Wah,, now ady 19th and u book next week for sakura season, only atas people do dat, coz accomodation in decent location will be very very expensive, even average location also exp

Even i book half years ago the accomodation already super headache for me
No choice, schedule limitation. Only managed to get my leave approved two days ago!

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 19 2019, 11:20 AM)
+1

orang atas nih, book atas accommodation but complain expensive. Like you go eat omakase but expecting them charging you mamak price. boley pikir nk tido kaki lima kalau xnk expensive kot.

Best yet travel from Seoul to Tokyo. tapi tak komplen bende lain plak.

Btw you can opt for private drivers to drive you around, inclusive of Mt Fuji since you are carrying a 4 YO kid. Convenience is key yo! icon_idea.gif
Thank you for your 'constructive' suggestion. Since when this became Kopitiam? tongue.gif
nabnab12345
post Apr 4 2019, 10:58 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(ryouga9 @ Apr 3 2019, 01:09 PM)
Hi wanna ask if anyone used Bigpay card to widthdraw from ATM or as electronic payment in Japan before? Is the rate better?
I did yesterday. Rate is 100yen= RM3.672 pending rate. Settle should be around 0.5-1cent higher. Only make sense if you withdrawal the maximum limit of 100k yen.
nabnab12345
post Apr 5 2019, 07:22 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ryouga9 @ Apr 5 2019, 10:02 AM)
Ahhh didn't know about the settlement date, thanks for the info! Was planning to use CC/Big Pay for passes and entrance tickets, or withdraw some money just in case any of them don't accept electronic payment.
Every credit card has that issue. Unless if you use DCC which then although the rate is 100% confirmed but it is usually 3-4% higher.

0.0209sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:19 AM