Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

aplio500
post May 13 2019, 04:21 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(cat2 @ May 13 2019, 11:45 AM)
Hi all sifu,

I'm going to Osaka in mid July for concert and this is my first time travelling to Osaka alone. I have some questions as below with my itinerary

11th - arrival 6am, free and easy
12th - free and easy
13th & 14th - concert day
15th - back to malaysia

1) is there any recommended stay near Osakajo hall? I heard airbnb is prohibited in Japan?
2) aware there are lots subway pass but since my stay is short, is it good for me to get the pass to move around in Osaka? I'm planning to visit Kyoto since it is near and short travel time.
3) any website or apps recommendation for train map? It is much more complicated compared to korea imo
4) is language barrier will make my trip difficult? example asking for directions etc
what concert are you going to?
aplio500
post Jul 24 2019, 03:41 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(key3hky @ Jul 24 2019, 01:50 PM)
anyone planning to go olympics 2020 tokyo? i search for rooms...all sold out...any tips and recommendations? it will be a once in a lifetime experience for me
You can try outside of tokyo area (saitama, chiba, yokohama etc)
aplio500
post Oct 16 2019, 01:22 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Oct 15 2019, 06:26 PM)
after some research and countless reading of blogs and contribution from this thread, here is my itinerary.
the temples in Kyoto are just for reference. i don't enjoy touch n go and will stay in the area if i like it and skip other places.  smile.gif
Day 1 will be 15 Nov, and deliberately organised in such away so i get to enjoy Kyoto more on weekdays (i could be wrong though reading so many is planning to reach some POI before 7am) biggrin.gif

Osaka
Day 1 - Arrival and check in. Mid night by the time reach AirBNB

Day 2 - Osaka Amazing pass (skipping the aquarium and tempozan area though)

Kyoto
Day  3 - Fushimi Inari Shrine > Tokufuji Temple > Kyoto National Museum > Sanjusangendo Temple > Kyoto Railway Museum > Ninnaji Temple > Ryoanji Temple > Golden Pavilion

Day 4 - Kiyomizudera Temple > Higashiyama District > Kodaiji Temple > Kennin-ji Temple > Lunch in GION > Maruyama Park > Chionin Temple > Nanzenji Temple > Eikando Temple > Heian Shrine > Yoshida Hill Temples & Shrine > Philosopher's Path > Honenin Temple > Silver Pavilion

Day 5 - Arashimaya Bamboo Grove > Tenryuji Temple > Monkey Park Iwatayama > Togetsukyo Bridge & Sagano for shopping > Lunch at Shigetsu at Tenryuji Temple >
Okochi Sanso Villa > Jojakkoji Temple > Gioji Temple > Adashino Nenbutsuji Temple > Otagi Nenbutsuji Temple > Daikakuji Temple

Day 6 - Northern Higashimaya Area > Murin-an Villa > Konchi-in Temple > Tenju-An Temple > Honen-in Temple > Yoshida-yama Mountain
or Sagano Romatic Train

Osaka
Day 7 - Don't know yet. I am quite clueless about crowded place  sweat.gif

Day 8 - Nara Deer Park > Kofuku-ji Temple

Day 9 - Osaka then 6pm > KIX

feedback is welcome if i can squeeze or exlcude some area. counting cost for temple admission is  bangwall.gif
Bro you mentioned you dont enjoy touch n go but kyoto part looks like touch n go itinerary to me..
aplio500
post Dec 2 2019, 02:06 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 1 2019, 10:33 AM)
Nagoya Chubu Central Airport.
Snowing.
Previously I lived in Nagoya for 5 years but never snow this heavy
aplio500
post Jan 15 2020, 01:34 PM

163 posts

Hi sifus.
I would like to seek advise regarding Sagano Romantic Train.
Which route is better?
Torokko Saga --> Torokko Kameoka or opposite direction?
Thanks in advance
aplio500
post Feb 5 2020, 04:28 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 5 2020, 10:39 AM)
Its a very simple cost comparison calculation.

With ur itinerary, work out ur travel cost if going by individual fares, tally up the cost and see which is more expensive. Go for the more expensive option because, you know, ur in Japan and all that. Its nice to spend more than necessary in an expensive country.
I'm confused with your statement here bro..

0.0198sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:04 AM