Still not planning to cancel my trip as most of the cases are from the cruise . Wish me luck going there on 20th
Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!
Feb 7 2020, 07:57 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
545 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Still not planning to cancel my trip as most of the cases are from the cruise . Wish me luck going there on 20th
Feb 8 2020, 06:36 PM
4,700 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Reading some comments here, I noticed some ppl got worried over coronavirus. Well, one should worry of course, but....
I have always been wearing masks consistently especially in airports and especially inside the aeroplane even before the outbreak of this coronavirus. Actually there's a much more dangerous pathogen out there compared to coronavirus but probably due to lack of media exposure, not many people are aware of it. Furthermore, some thought it has gone extinct but it's not. And that is Tuberculosis (TB). TB (especially XDR-TB where there is no cure) is way worse compared to coronavirus. The number of cases in both Malaysia and Japan are in the thousands. Thousands as in over 10,000 new cases every year (both in Malaysia and in Japan respectively). You read that right. TB grows very slowly inside you unlike coronavirus. Probably due to this, no one bats an eyelid. So, some ppl who have been coughing for months probably don't realise they are suffering from TB until they get really sick and started coughing blood (after several months of coughing "normally"). And due to that, I always wear mask in the aeroplane because there have been several documented cases of transmission of TB inside a flight. Compared to coronavirus, TB is very "airborne" unlike coronavirus which is mainly transmitted through respiratory droplets. Because the mycobacterium tuberculosis can stay suspended in the air for several hours, which is unlike coronavirus that is transmitted more similarly like influenza. This post has been edited by Blofeld: Feb 8 2020, 06:40 PM |
Feb 8 2020, 06:37 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,522 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Anyone managed to see some cheap ticket flights to japan fr the coming few months? i am thinking to take this opportunity to travel, but flight ticket prices are not reduced drastically yet
Feb 8 2020, 08:48 PM
191 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
I bought JR Haruka Airport express (Klook) from Kansai Airport (KIX) to Kyoto.
Flight Landed Time: 9:40pm (AirAsia) Last Train: 10:15pm. According to Klook, there are green machine (Kiosk) to ex-change ticket. Anyone have this kind of experience? Am I too rush and may skip the last train? My Plan B is, waste the 1 night accommodation at Kyoto, and stay at Airport & take 6:30am train. This post has been edited by Jesse0916: Feb 8 2020, 08:54 PM |
Feb 8 2020, 10:56 PM
2,673 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 8 2020, 06:36 PM) Reading some comments here, I noticed some ppl got worried over coronavirus. Well, one should worry of course, but.... Understandably TB is more contagious but its curable and not quick to die from compared to coronavirusI have always been wearing masks consistently especially in airports and especially inside the aeroplane even before the outbreak of this coronavirus. Actually there's a much more dangerous pathogen out there compared to coronavirus but probably due to lack of media exposure, not many people are aware of it. Furthermore, some thought it has gone extinct but it's not. And that is Tuberculosis (TB). TB (especially XDR-TB where there is no cure) is way worse compared to coronavirus. The number of cases in both Malaysia and Japan are in the thousands. Thousands as in over 10,000 new cases every year (both in Malaysia and in Japan respectively). You read that right. TB grows very slowly inside you unlike coronavirus. Probably due to this, no one bats an eyelid. So, some ppl who have been coughing for months probably don't realise they are suffering from TB until they get really sick and started coughing blood (after several months of coughing "normally"). And due to that, I always wear mask in the aeroplane because there have been several documented cases of transmission of TB inside a flight. Compared to coronavirus, TB is very "airborne" unlike coronavirus which is mainly transmitted through respiratory droplets. Because the mycobacterium tuberculosis can stay suspended in the air for several hours, which is unlike coronavirus that is transmitted more similarly like influenza. |
Feb 8 2020, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 8 2020, 06:37 PM) Anyone managed to see some cheap ticket flights to japan fr the coming few months? i am thinking to take this opportunity to travel, but flight ticket prices are not reduced drastically yet You won't find it yet as mid-2020 is Tokyo Olympics so they won't drop it unless forecast will continue to be bad or worse. |
Feb 8 2020, 11:17 PM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
QUOTE(Jesse0916 @ Feb 8 2020, 07:48 PM) I bought JR Haruka Airport express (Klook) from Kansai Airport (KIX) to Kyoto. Do you know how big was kansai airport? it need take Internal Train from gate to Center of Terminal which is Custom section, after custom you had to walk from Terminal to Aeroplaza which is train station located. Flight Landed Time: 9:40pm (AirAsia) Last Train: 10:15pm. According to Klook, there are green machine (Kiosk) to ex-change ticket. Anyone have this kind of experience? Am I too rush and may skip the last train? My Plan B is, waste the 1 night accommodation at Kyoto, and stay at Airport & take 6:30am train. 0% you can ride on last train. |
Feb 9 2020, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 8 2020, 11:17 PM) Do you know how big was kansai airport? it need take Internal Train from gate to Center of Terminal which is Custom section, after custom you had to walk from Terminal to Aeroplaza which is train station located. Thanks for your advice, Bro.0% you can ride on last train. I think the only way is to overnight at Airport, and take the 1st train next morning. |
Feb 9 2020, 05:47 PM
Hi Sifu,
Need advice here. 1) Usually, where are you buy ICOCA? In Kansai Airport? There are available in Klook (selling price: RM85.90) with pre-reload 1,600 yen. Is this worth? 2) Any unlimited ride for bus in Kyoto? Thanks. |
Feb 9 2020, 06:41 PM
5,648 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Jalan Tijani |
QUOTE(Jesse0916 @ Feb 9 2020, 05:47 PM) Hi Sifu, 1. Just walk over to the station across the airport and buy from the machine.Need advice here. 1) Usually, where are you buy ICOCA? In Kansai Airport? There are available in Klook (selling price: RM85.90) with pre-reload 1,600 yen. Is this worth? 2) Any unlimited ride for bus in Kyoto? Thanks. |
Feb 9 2020, 07:29 PM
178 posts Joined: Nov 2018 |
Feb 9 2020, 09:56 PM
23 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: B.M. |
Just back from my Fukuoka trip. Everything seems normal. No discrimination over Chinese or SEA people noticed. But we have our masks always on because of the coldness.
Feb 10 2020, 10:10 AM
3,580 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 8 2020, 06:37 PM) Anyone managed to see some cheap ticket flights to japan fr the coming few months? i am thinking to take this opportunity to travel, but flight ticket prices are not reduced drastically yet u may say u wanna take the opportunity for cheap ticketyet this year it's 2020 olympic, it's gonna be the most expensive to travel this year |
Feb 10 2020, 10:18 AM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
Feb 10 2020, 10:36 AM
26,522 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Feb 10 2020, 11:27 AM
53 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
QUOTE(Jesse0916 @ Feb 9 2020, 05:47 PM) Hi Sifu, 1) I bought my ICOCA at Kansai airport at the JR West ticket office. I don't think the Klook offer is worth it. I saw on their website that the ICOCA is preloaded with 1,500 yen + a 500 yen deposit (not mentioned on the website but that's how it's sold in Japan). 2,000 yen is about RM75 only. Besides, if you're planning to use your ICOCA to get to Kyoto, 1,500 yen isn't going to get you there - you'll still need to go top it up first either at the machine or at the office!Need advice here. 1) Usually, where are you buy ICOCA? In Kansai Airport? There are available in Klook (selling price: RM85.90) with pre-reload 1,600 yen. Is this worth? 2) Any unlimited ride for bus in Kyoto? Thanks. 2) Yes, you can get a Kyoto bus pass for unlimited rides. I didn't buy it though, I just used the ICOCA card. The bus pass is only worth it if you take more than 3 bus rides in a day. |
Feb 10 2020, 04:02 PM
24,219 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(ckyuen @ Feb 9 2020, 09:56 PM) Just back from my Fukuoka trip. Everything seems normal. No discrimination over Chinese or SEA people noticed. But we have our masks always on because of the coldness. Just got back from my Hokkaido / Tokyo trip. The viral outbreak affected the arrival of tourists on the island quite a bit. So there were lesser crowds even though it was Snow Festival season around Hokkaido. So it was better for us as we need not brave large crowds of people at the attractions daily. I had a chat with one of the Japanesse guides there and he mentioned even many local tourist groups cancelled their trips for fear of catching the virus from Chinese tourists. Tokyo was packed like usual though. Chinese tourists still make up the majority of the tourist crowd there. This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Feb 10 2020, 05:33 PM |
Feb 10 2020, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(victorsoo @ Feb 10 2020, 11:27 AM) 1) I bought my ICOCA at Kansai airport at the JR West ticket office. I don't think the Klook offer is worth it. I saw on their website that the ICOCA is preloaded with 1,500 yen + a 500 yen deposit (not mentioned on the website but that's how it's sold in Japan). 2,000 yen is about RM75 only. Besides, if you're planning to use your ICOCA to get to Kyoto, 1,500 yen isn't going to get you there - you'll still need to go top it up first either at the machine or at the office! Thanks for your feedback, Sifu. 2) Yes, you can get a Kyoto bus pass for unlimited rides. I didn't buy it though, I just used the ICOCA card. The bus pass is only worth it if you take more than 3 bus rides in a day. By the way, how to get the unlimited rider for Kyoto bus pass? I tried to search in Google, but get those wired website. |
Feb 11 2020, 09:12 AM
175 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Most likely I might not proceed with my Tokyo trip early next month. Sigh...have just cancelled my AirBnb booking yesterday and gotten full refund. Now I’m worried about my flight, AirAsia, so far they did not announce full refund for flights to Japan 😣
Feb 11 2020, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(terryykf @ Feb 11 2020, 09:12 AM) Most likely I might not proceed with my Tokyo trip early next month. Sigh...have just cancelled my AirBnb booking yesterday and gotten full refund. Now I’m worried about my flight, AirAsia, so far they did not announce full refund for flights to Japan 😣 AFAIK, AA now has full refund cancellation for China, HK & Macau |
| Change to: | 0.0335sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:29 PM |