10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 21 2019, 02:42 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

Leaves in certain Arashiyama temples look good today, mostly bright red and orange with only some green left.
The hills however still look more greenish than not.

It was absolutely packed today, definitely need to come earlier in the morning. When you see a long queue purchasing tickets to enter Jojakkoji, you know how bad it is.
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 21 2019, 04:10 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 21 2019, 03:50 PM)
Greetings from Nara. I think it's peak here already smile.gif

[attachmentid=10357694]

En route to Kyoto later..
Yup looks nice!
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 22 2019, 11:43 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 22 2019, 07:31 AM)
Hey guys, quick questions:

What's the least tiring way to explore Gion and Kiyomizudera?

1) Gion Hanamikoji--Gion corner - Ninenzanka - Sanenzanka-Kiyomizudera

2) Take bus from Gion shijo to Kiyomizumichi bus stop - 11 minutes walk uphill - Sanenzanka - Ninenzanka - Gion corner - Hanamikoji dori

Don't really wanna take route 2 due to the 11 minutes uphill walk... If we take route 1, can slowly make it to Kiyomizudera with several stops (rest)
Start off at Kiyomizu and make your way downwards to Gion, that's how I did it wearing a kimono lolz!

Btw, the koyo condition for each place is shown below so for those going, can use it to plan around.

This post has been edited by Monya Meow Meow: Nov 22 2019, 11:43 AM
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 22 2019, 12:33 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 21 2019, 05:50 PM)
Any pics bro?
rclxms.gif Nice. Must be feeding the deers there right now.  tongue.gif

Must really arrange a trip around this Nov next round.
Pictures will come soon bro haha!
Busy on the road everyday!
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 23 2019, 09:21 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

My Kyoto/Nara portion of the trip has now ended and here are some of my tips/tricks & observations that can hopefully help those going in the future:

• Wake up early and hit the famous spots first. We did Kiyomizu, Fushimi Inari & the Sagano bamboo forest each morning before 8am and they were wonderful. Fast forward 2 hours later, they looked like a human zoo.

• Speaking of bamboo forests, there are 2 smaller versions of them in Kodaiji & Adashino Nenbutsuji. They may not have the grandeur of the Sagano one but there was almost nobody there so you'll be able to enjoy it more.

• Weather in autumn is nice and crisp. Can be a bit cold in the morning and at night so layering is the best strategy.

• The best warabi-mochi I've tried on this trip is in this place called Rakushō. It's in Gion on Nene-no-michi, near the entrance to Kodaiji. Melts in your mouth and oh sooo good!

• Try out a kimono in Gion and choose the silk ones especially during autumn/winter as they are warmer. We rented ours from Rose Kimono Rental.

• Coffee lovers, the % Arabica in Gion is less crowded and more pleasant than the one in Arashiyama which had too long a queue (unless you go early in the morning).

• The green tea desserts and coffee in Yojiya Cafe were one of our favorites. Do take note that the one near Ginkakuji is under renovation.

• Buses are much easier to ride than I anticipated. Instructions are clear and in English. They are less crowded and you can get a seat if you start your journey from outside the city center. For example, I took a train from Shijo to Kitaoji station and changed to a bus to Kinkakuji.

• The Starbucks in a Gion machiya house is overrated although the interior and exterior are unique.

• Take a bus to the nearest Kiyomizu bus stop and make your way up to Kiyomizu. From there, head downward to Sannenzaka/Ninenzaka and the Gion district.

• Kinkakuji at 4pm on a Sunday was less crowded and manageable. Not sure how bad the morning crowd is although I've heard horror stories.

• If you have a Nara bus pass or Kintetsu Rail Pass, take the bus from the station to Kasuga Taisha and make your way anticlockwise to Todaiji. More downward sloping than the other way round.

• Yoshikien in Nara is free to foreign passport holders! Show them your passport to gain free entry into this beautifully manicured garden.

• Many people skip Naramachi and only visit the park for the deers. I like Naramachi and spent a few hours wandering around the old neighborhood, even visiting a traditional machiya called Koshi-no-ie.

• Finding rubbish bins was a pain so bring a spare bag for your trash especially if you're like us who snack a lot.

• The special edition Coke bottles are much cheaper in Bic Camera/Donki compared to the vending machines.

• When purchasing towels or hankies, look for the Imabari branded symbol as they are of high quality.

• Most products are genrally made in China but normally in a store they have a separate section for made in Japan goods. The price is higher but so is the quality.

• If travelling from city to city, use the luggage forwarding service to save you the hassle.

Bonus for onsen & seafood lovers:

• Kinosaki Onsen was LOVELY. Very worth visiting and spending the night in a ryokan. 2.5 hours from Kyoto and close to 3 from Osaka, the express train is covered by JR Pass.

That's it for me now, will see how my remaining trip goes and see if I have time for a concise trip report when I get back . Feel free to tag this post on the first page if it helps sweet_pez.

This post has been edited by Monya Meow Meow: Nov 23 2019, 09:23 AM
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 24 2019, 12:30 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 24 2019, 08:56 AM)
Loving Kyoto so much that I'm planning for a solo photography trip here in the future tongue.gif
Osaka is kinda too crazy for me, definitely prefer Kyoto
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 24 2019, 06:33 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(syiafuku @ Nov 24 2019, 09:40 AM)
yeah went there but unfortunately it closed early. my flight back home was 2230 and too tired to go back to main building so no choice went to qantas. very underwhelming lounge  sweat.gif
That is unfortunate indeed.
The Qantas Lounge in Narita really needs a revamp, very underwhelming.
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 26 2019, 02:06 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Nov 26 2019, 09:28 AM)
Hey bumping this reply cause can't find the answer as well.
Torii Gate is under renovation until june 2020. Is it still worth the visit there?
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3401.html
We decided to skip Miyajima this time as I really wanted to see the torii gate so we're gonna have to make a trip back sometime in the future.

Hiroshima though, definitely worth a visit and one of our fav cities not only becasue of the Peace Musuem but generally the crowd levels and calmness of the area.
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 26 2019, 02:07 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 25 2019, 02:53 PM)
8Am and you are already at the attractions at Kiyomizu and Bamboo Forest?? What time did you wake up? 6am? Its like going to work. sweat.gif
Anyway... so jealous reading up on your adventures while I have to slog it out at work now. sweat.gif
Yeah most of the time 6 or 6:30 have to be awake.
No choice due to the crazy crowds and also shorter daylight as you mentioned.

I slogged it out for 6 months, time to enjoy haha!
You'll get there for sure mate.
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 27 2019, 07:29 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Nov 26 2019, 10:26 AM)
It's alright, lets just live an alternate role on the forum  laugh.gif
whistling.gif
Luckily i discovered this haha, nobody tagged. Thanks for your sharing wink.gif i'll put a link to your post since Post #1 is hitting maximum characters. Will see what i can do when we open up the new Version of Japan Travel!
Thanks mate, I'll put up my trip report once I get back and include it as part of the tips I already posted.
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 27 2019, 07:31 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 26 2019, 05:30 PM)
Thanks bro... we work hard we play hard.
Were you staying at airbnbs near Kiyomizu and Bamboo Forest btw? Nice place there...
Absolutely, makes the playing much more enjoyable for sure when you have the money to spend haha!

No, I was actually staying in a hotel just beside Shijo Station, makes getting around the 4 directions quite easy.
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 27 2019, 08:51 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 27 2019, 08:32 AM)
Bro.. Tokyo' main metro is divided into so many lines and u find it easier to navigate compare to Singapore's??  rclxub.gif

Nowadays I don't bother with maps anymore, rather relying on good old Google maps to navigate the trains and walking destinations.  biggrin.gif
Japan is really an expensive holiday destination tbh, many somehow I keep going back. Just like many of those here.  sweat.gif
Not that much expensive when compared to EU & US. It depends on your home currency also of course.

You just need good planning transportation wise and have your meals in decent places that costs less than ¥1000 per meal.

Stay in Airbnbs to help with the costs, we just prefer hotels due to the convenience of luggage forwarding and breakfast.

Now that I've done Tokyo, Nikko, Fuji 5 Lakes, Kofu, Kinosaki Onsen, Osaka, Kyoto, Nara, Okayama, Himeji, Hiroshima & Okinawa, think I'll take a break next year especially with Olympics.

2021 seems like a good year to visit the lesser known areas of Japan. Kyushu or Tohoku maybe.

This post has been edited by Monya Meow Meow: Nov 27 2019, 09:01 AM
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 27 2019, 09:44 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

Left cloudy Osaka to a rainy Tokyo this morning.

The weather in Tokyo now looks... shockingly bad and wet.
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 27 2019, 01:40 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Nov 27 2019, 11:12 AM)
No problem wink.gif it's up. You can always edit that post to add on more tips/ info! Optionally if it's another prefecture/ city, you can do it in a separate post and tag me. I'll link it to Page 1. Thanks for the useful tips...!
Cheers for that and no worries!
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 28 2019, 08:59 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(limchee @ Nov 27 2019, 03:42 PM)
Photographing the Tadami line has always been in my bucket list so far. I love to take photographs of trains, especially rural trains like the Akita Nairiku Line and at Naruko Gorge. I had fun chasing after these trains.

Having experienced the amazing Nothern Tohoku (Aomori, Akita, a bit of Iwate and Miyagi) region Autumn last year, next time will go for the Southern Tohoku (Yamagata, Fukushima...) region during winter...

lai lai please intro the Tonkatsu to me.
Can I say, those are some fantastic pictures!
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 28 2019, 09:00 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 27 2019, 10:48 PM)
Kyushu Seven Star

Wow nice...
I've seen a video review of the 7* train, pretty pricey!
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 28 2019, 12:30 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 28 2019, 09:49 AM)

Even if you can afford it, it takes months before you can get a turn on the nanatsuboshi.

Definately not for the average traveller. sweat.gif
Haha yeah, definitely takes a lot of patience and cash.
That's why RC is the sifu, he's been on one lolz!
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 28 2019, 03:22 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

I can't remember who it was but to the person who asked me if TeamLab is worth it, my answer is YES!

I went to Planets today and it was so unique and amazing. Not many visitors and didn't feel cramped at all. Can enjoy your own personal space.
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 28 2019, 09:45 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Nov 28 2019, 08:43 PM)
I am in Osaka now. It's very cold here but people wear thin clothes whereas in Tokyo I think not as cold as Osaka but people there wear thick clothes. it's very windy in Osaka.

I found people here very friendly than in Malaysia. Only 1-2 people rude.
I am the reverse, I felt that Tokyo was colder haha!
Monya Meow Meow
post Nov 28 2019, 09:46 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 28 2019, 06:08 PM)
4-day itinerary
Fares for this tour on the Seven Stars in Kyushu start at a price of ¥630,000 per person (approximately $5,400 USD).

sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

I think I will skip this.  whistling.gif
Then it would be more than enough. You can buy a quite a bit of street food as you go along. So not necessarily everyday you gotta have the same ramen or rice.
Wow $5400 for 4 days, really daebak...

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.1356sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:23 PM