9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

No need for pig images for CNY decoration in malls

SUSwankongyew
post Jan 23 2019, 10:47 AM, updated 6y ago

1,177 posts

PETALING JAYA: An association representing more than 200 shopping malls in the country has hailed Federal Territories Minister Khalid Samad’s statement that there is no restriction on the use of pig images in public places for the coming Chinese New Year festivities.

Speaking to FMT, Malaysia Shopping Malls Association adviser Chan Hoi Choy said Khalid’s remarks reflected the civility of the “new Malaysia”.

Nevertheless, he told FMT, members of his association would maintain respect for cultural sensitivities and “adopt a middle ground” in the choice of themes for all festive decorations.

Chan, who is chief executive of Sunway Malls and Theme Parks, acknowledged that members of the Chinese community generally favoured the use of the appropriate zodiac sign in welcoming each new year, but he said “it’s not always necessary”.

For the coming celebration, he said, “the use of other cultural elements is widespread”.

He spoke of “out-of-the-box creativity” in determining decoration themes and gave the example of Sunway Malls’ decision to pay tribute to the five Chinese clans to which 90% of the Malaysian Chinese community belong.

Malaysia Budget Hotel Association president PK Leong also welcomed Khalid’s statement.

“But hotels usually avoid using pig or dog images in any case as we respect the sensitivities of the people,” he told FMT.

“I hope, however, that over time the public will overcome the misconception that the use of pig images in any way promotes the consumption of pork,” he said. “In Chinese culture, the zodiac animals are merely symbolic of the energy of the year.”

The Chinese zodiac assigns an animal to each year in a 12-year cycle. This year, it is the turn of the pig.

Khalid earlier told FMT that there had been no directive to ban the image of the pig in public places during the coming celebrations.

“Are pictures of pigs also haram?” he said in a wry response when asked whether the government would ban images of the animal to respect the Malay taboo.

A quick check by FMT of shopping malls in the Klang Valley found that the pig is conspicuously absent from Chinese New Year decorations.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ays-mall-group/
H3lpM3
post Jan 23 2019, 10:48 AM

254 posts

This gon be good

junbecks
post Jan 23 2019, 10:49 AM

139 posts

ffs
wilsonjay
post Jan 23 2019, 10:51 AM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

is the decoration a life animal?
is the decoration edible?
is the decoration automatically brainwashing you?
will you die if you stare at the decoration?

This post has been edited by wilsonjay: Jan 23 2019, 10:51 AM
ZeneticX
post Jan 23 2019, 10:52 AM

stars for what
11,769 posts

yalo everything follow them

they butthurt we give in

we butthurt they'll say we're inconsiderate
Mr. Najib Razak
post Jan 23 2019, 10:53 AM

289 posts

Kecut bola
Hah
Mr. Najib Razak

289 posts

No bola
Hah

This post has been edited by Mr. Najib Razak: Jan 23 2019, 10:53 AM
dagnarus

319 posts

I really don't understand this sensitivity towards babi.

Hey, I'm a Muslim, but I didnt rage when my daughters enjoyed watching Peppa Babi. I even encouraged them to watch it some more compared to the upin ipin upon upun. At least they get to learn how to speak English properly.

wailam
post Jan 23 2019, 10:54 AM

Apa benda ini?
950 posts

How they know its a pig if they never see pig before?
oh wai...

This post has been edited by wailam: Jan 23 2019, 10:54 AM
:3mushy:3
post Jan 23 2019, 10:54 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,720 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Jan 23 2019, 10:53 AM)
I really don't understand this sensitivity towards babi.

Hey, I'm a Muslim, but I didnt rage when my daughters enjoyed watching Peppa Babi. I even encouraged them to watch it some more compared to the upin ipin upon upun. At least they get to learn how to speak English properly.
Babi shark doododoodooo

Owaii wrong song
SUSweyyt
post Jan 23 2019, 10:56 AM

88 posts

Sked confused.
cytyler

383 posts

QUOTE(TunaFish1990 @ Jan 23 2019, 10:51 AM)
Prometric

339 posts

So scared of this 2 animals, should just exterminate and make them extinct. Then erase all of their existence in all books/magazines/dictionary etc etc.

This 2 animals macam more power than Nuke, but only in this country rolleyes.gif
ZeneticX
post Jan 23 2019, 10:57 AM

stars for what
11,769 posts

anyway 1U already have pig deco. that day saw a few malay families happily taking photos near the decos as well

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jan 23 2019, 10:57 AM
SUSwankongyew
post Jan 23 2019, 10:57 AM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(MDLT Eht Nioj @ Jan 23 2019, 10:56 AM)
OP I think you missed out a word on the title. The article is saying that there is NO RESTRICTION of the usage of pigs image in shopping mall as part of their Chinese New Year decoration.

Or perhaps you're conducting a social experiment to see if people actually bother to read the content rather than just the title, judging from the previous reaction? If yes brilliant!
Title is from original article, just slightly shortened to fit limited number of characters allowed in thread titles.
SUSandylyc
post Jan 23 2019, 10:58 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jan 23 2019, 10:47 AM)
All shopping malls are have to abide to those who are afraid of dogs and pigs.
ychlee
post Jan 23 2019, 10:59 AM

601 posts

only narrow minded folks will think merely a deco would jeopardize their "suci"
adri4n
post Jan 23 2019, 10:59 AM

Running in Circles... Going No Where
1,846 posts

seems like hush puppies brand gotta change mascot now.. mebbe a mouse ?
emburrar
post Jan 23 2019, 11:00 AM

14 posts

babi betul
munak991
post Jan 23 2019, 11:00 AM

ZONIC!
2,732 posts

Its not about the restriction.
its about social media brand image catastrophe

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top