Anyone using IPS monitor?, experiencing IPS glow

TSdjandrew
post Jan 23 2019, 09:15 AM, updated 7y ago

236 posts

As per topic, anyone here using IPS screen? recently just bought 1 acer predator model XB271HU and in the dark color scene can see the bright glow light upper right and lower right kinda annoying. the black is like slightly yellow orange color.... 1st time using IPS screen 1st time experience. browse online 90% of people also sharing same experience.

This post has been edited by djandrew: Jan 23 2019, 09:16 AM
cassian948
post Jan 23 2019, 09:19 AM

931 posts

That is not IPS feature, that's backlight bleeding. Probably edge lighting. If still got the warranty - go for it.

Local dimming
user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by cassian948: Jan 23 2019, 09:24 AM
TSdjandrew
post Jan 23 2019, 09:23 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Jan 23 2019, 09:19 AM)
That is not IPS feature, that's backlight bleeding. Probably edge lighting. If still got the warranty - go for it.

yaya experiencing same like this pic, yours also same? this is really my 1st time using IPS screen, never knew how were backlight bleeding looks like until i experience it for 1st time.
cassian948
post Jan 23 2019, 09:25 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(djandrew @ Jan 23 2019, 09:23 AM)
yaya experiencing same like this pic, yours also same? this is really my 1st time using IPS screen, never knew how were backlight bleeding looks like until i experience it for 1st time.
Backlight bleeding can only be noticed when viewed in a dark environment and dark images, if your monitor has onsite service - call for it and let the technician check it.
RViN
post Jan 23 2019, 09:27 AM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

Why would backlight bleed be covered by warranty? Its just part of the technology, you can't eliminate it.

Also, OP why did you post this in the Overclockers United subforum lol.

This post has been edited by RViN: Jan 23 2019, 09:27 AM
TSdjandrew
post Jan 23 2019, 09:53 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Jan 23 2019, 09:27 AM)
Why would backlight bleed be covered by warranty? Its just part of the technology, you can't eliminate it.

Also, OP why did you post this in the Overclockers United subforum lol.
laugh.gif well, wrong channel tho, just used to enter this subforum regarding pc stuff...

RViN
post Jan 23 2019, 10:06 AM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(djandrew @ Jan 23 2019, 09:53 AM)
laugh.gif well, wrong channel tho, just used to enter this subforum regarding pc stuff...
Anyway can you take a picture of your monitor displaying a black image at full screen in the dark?

There's no LCD panel, either TN or IPS that doesn't have at least some amount of backlight bleed because they all have some light pushing through the panel in order to light the image you see.

But there are cases where there's too much backlight bleed where you could get a replacement under warranty, but from what I understand this is only for cases where its obvious and not only when the screen is displaying a black image.
TSdjandrew
post Jan 23 2019, 10:15 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Jan 23 2019, 10:06 AM)
Anyway can you take a picture of your monitor displaying a black image at full screen in the dark?

There's no LCD panel, either TN or IPS that doesn't have at least some amount of backlight bleed because they all have some light pushing through the panel in order to light the image you see.

But there are cases where there's too much backlight bleed where you could get a replacement under warranty, but from what I understand this is only for cases where its obvious and not only when the screen is displaying a black image.
this is the link bro i uploaded the pic, i not sure is it severe or what la, phone take pic is slightly more serious. this pic i took last night.

https://ibb.co/QvC0ZJx

in dark screen only, if color screen no color problem.
oh and 1 more side note, if i view from right side angle the glow get lesser.

This post has been edited by djandrew: Jan 23 2019, 10:20 AM
RViN
post Jan 23 2019, 10:32 AM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(djandrew @ Jan 23 2019, 10:15 AM)
this is the link bro i uploaded the pic, i not sure is it severe or what la, phone take pic is slightly more serious. this pic i took last night.

Actually a bit difficult to tell due to the lighting.

I think your best bet is to find owners of a similar monitor (probably at the Acer forums?) and ask them if it looks normal to them or not.

I have an X34p and its got backlight bleed also, its not that noticeable but obvious in dark scenes. But that's within normal parameters lah, curved screens tend to have higher backlight bleed anyway. Looked through some pictures but I have a light behind my monitor so the backlight isn't captured in most photos so I can't show you one to compare.
TSdjandrew
post Jan 23 2019, 10:35 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Jan 23 2019, 10:32 AM)
Actually a bit difficult to tell due to the lighting.

I think your best bet is to find owners of a similar monitor (probably at the Acer forums?) and ask them if it looks normal to them or not.

I have an X34p and its got backlight bleed also, its not that noticeable but obvious in dark scenes. But that's within normal parameters lah, curved screens tend to have higher backlight bleed anyway. Looked through some pictures but I have a light behind my monitor so the backlight isn't captured in most photos so I can't show you one to compare.
oic, well.... i guess just have to accept it then, im coming from long time VA panel users, so much different in dark scene. but while gaming the color really shrines with ips panel, very colorful, but if play horror games sucks. i guess mine is more like ips glow than backlight bleeding.
fat16
post Feb 22 2019, 11:11 AM

4,582 posts

QUOTE(djandrew @ Jan 23 2019, 10:35 AM)
oic, well.... i guess just have to accept it then, im coming from long time VA panel users, so much different in dark scene. but while gaming the color really shrines with ips panel, very colorful, but if play horror games sucks. i guess mine is more like ips glow than backlight bleeding.
yeah VA panel black is totally black. first time using VA monitor whoa it feel like OLED smartphone display.
IPS and TN black color is not really black.
DuitNow
post Feb 23 2019, 12:15 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(djandrew @ Jan 23 2019, 10:15 AM)

oh and 1 more side note, if i view from right side angle the glow get lesser.
You mean those white color patch top and bottom right and also bottom left side?

Between va panel and ips panel, which one better for gaming. since you use both va and ips monitor?

DuitNow
post Feb 23 2019, 03:52 PM

597 posts

Almost forgot, for those dark games or black color games maps, ips still suitable or not?
TSdjandrew
post Feb 23 2019, 05:05 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(DuitNow @ Feb 23 2019, 12:15 AM)
You mean those white color patch top and bottom right and also bottom left side?

Between va panel and ips panel, which one better for gaming. since you use both va and ips monitor?
yes those corner glow, but photo is over exposed, in real doesn't look so serious. but now after using 3 weeks the glow getting more and more lesser already. for me i prefer this ips panel for gaming, really trust me no regret getting this. the color really very nice compare to va panel. i will never go back to va panel ady lol... this acer ips panel for fast pace shooting game i didn't feel any lag response time at all, very fast. 144hz im enough satisfy.

This post has been edited by djandrew: Feb 23 2019, 05:09 PM
TSdjandrew
post Feb 23 2019, 05:08 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(DuitNow @ Feb 23 2019, 03:52 PM)
Almost forgot, for those dark games or black color games maps, ips still suitable or not?
no worries those dark games still nice, it's not that serious glow bleed. im currently playing resident evil 2.....very dark game, it doesn't bother me at all the glow because the glow now just left very little bit only compare to the photo early that time newly purchase. im stick to my screen now almost whole day lol.

This post has been edited by djandrew: Feb 23 2019, 05:10 PM
ViewSonicMY
post Feb 25 2019, 09:24 PM

19 posts

Smartphone photos tend to exaggerate those, light bleeding is common on screens and often less apparent when viewed through eyes.

0.0176sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:37 PM