933 posts

QUOTE(woundxp @ Jun 7 2020, 10:53 PM)
unifitv_1.2.1mod-r1
Mirror 1
Mirror 2 (Direct apk link)

CODE
Release notes:
1. App icons updated (might look "better" on Fire TV - app needs to be in amazon appstore to get the banner icon, which is impossible)
2. Added a warning note at login page

General warning:
You might need to uninstall existing installation of Unifi TV mod before installing any latest version.
Hello there. This apk works on my Fire TV 4K. The subtitles look a lot better than the one in the Unifi Plus Box.

Haven't checked the audio. Don't know if any of the channels are available in 5.1 Dolby Digital.

Thanks!

fuad
writesimply
post Oct 1 2021, 01:46 PM

933 posts

Tivo Stream 4K
- app downloaded directly from the Play Store.
- Lionsgate Play requires activation from Phone, which is a separate mess.
- After activation, selected Hateful 8. Movie can't be played.

Fire TV 4K Dongle
- app sideloaded from an APK downloader. The app however is the mobile version.
- ID is phone number, Password is password given
- Movie plays but only in stereo.

All this was done around 3 AM. Will update later.
writesimply
post Oct 1 2021, 05:04 PM

933 posts

No change per Lionsgate on the Tivo Stream 4K. Error message.

On the phone and on the FireStick, it's fine. Of course, audio only at stereo is a disappointment. It's not like video streaming is back in the 2000s. Lionsgate need to buck up.

On that matter though, so does Unifi Play TV app. Stereo only? Even when people are paying for PPV?
writesimply
post Apr 24 2022, 01:05 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Apr 23 2022, 09:49 PM)
First time using Unifi TV apps on my Google TV but the streaming quality is awful. May I know what's the streaming quality with Unifi TV apps and how to improve it?
The streaming quality will pick up within about 30 seconds. This applies to all Unifi TV channels. Try it yourself.

-------------

As far as 1080i 50fps vs 1080p 25 fps, that's a wash since the higher frame rate is more applicable to sports than to any other content. The content provider must capture the content in 50fps for the content to make sense. Otherwise, meh. 1080i 50fps is like 720p 50fps; you get faster frame rate but not much detail. i in 1080i is interlaced video, meaning every other 1080 lines are shown on screen (Odd number lines in frame 1 and even number lines in frame 2). p in 1080p is progressive video, which means all lines are shown at every frame.

In so far as the topic of the day aka Disney+Hotstar for free for Ultimate Pack users, that's a sigh of relief. I can save RM212 a year. Disney+ is still a hot mess. Lionsgate Play is messier; no 4K content and no 5.1 sound. Come end of June, I'm cancelling my subscription to Disney+ so that I can use my activated Unifi plan.

BBC Player is still a bit off. There is no English subtitles on some programs, and the subs that they have are either too big or just doesn't appear. The programs you get are the truncated 50 minute versions instead of the full 60 minute ones from BBC UK.
writesimply
post Apr 24 2022, 01:42 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Apr 24 2022, 10:06 AM)
I am not using Android tv. Still using Panasonic plasma tv.
If want to use Android box, which brand is good for watching Unifi channels?
I am still using Unifi white STB.
Any Netflix certified Android box would do. If the box is not Netflix certified, you can't play Netflix in 4K or even install the app. Go with the Tivo Stream 4K.

The upper price limit box is the Nvidea Shield Pro. And Apple TV box.

writesimply
post Apr 25 2022, 03:26 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 24 2022, 07:01 PM)
A question for those already paying for standalone disney+hotstar...

Audio... do u get 1.0, 2.0, dolby 5.1 or higher?
Disney+ Hotstar is 5.1 but there are some movies are only in 2.0; Avengers, Dr. Strange, Captain Marvel, Alita: Battle Angel and The Martian is in stereo, for now. Because it's a streaming serviced, shit like this can be fixed by re-uploading the proper audio content.

From what I gather since I don't have Atmos equipment, Atmos is supported by Disney+ Hotstar.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 24 2022, 07:37 PM)
HDR, DV? that will b a bonus! maybe fat hopes unifi will pay for that. biggrin.gif
HDR is basic for 4K content. DV is for newly mastered content, not for older content. For instance, Die Hard is not even in its original aspect ratio and not in 4K.

Disney bought 20th Century Fox and yet not all Fox content is in HD/4K or with 5.1 audio. Again, even Disney content suffered from this mismatch. Also they don't give the Imax version of MCU movies, unlike Disney+ US.

The video will have Hotstar watermark if the content is not Disney. If it's Disney content, it'll have the Disney+ watermark. Don't know why they have to watermark the video.

As a streamer, Disney+ Hotstar is not comparable to Disney+ USA. It's really for the Marvel content for me. That's why I'm happy that I don't have to pay RM200 a year anymore.
writesimply
post Apr 26 2022, 11:26 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 25 2022, 04:13 PM)
i understand the old movies will not have 4k, hdr, dv, atmos, etc.

Common misconception but not true.

The earliest 20th Century Fox film transferred to 4K is, not surprisingly, Star Wars (aka Star Wars Ep 4 - A New Hope) from 1977. On 4K BD, it has Atmos and in HDR. On Disney+ Hotstar, it's in Dolby Vision and Atmos.

The earliest Buena Vista film transferred to 4K is Who Framed Roger Rabbit? from 1988. On 4K BD, it has Atmos and in HDR. It's not available on Disney+ Hotstar. Like why not?

The earliest Disney film transferred to 4K is The Little Mermaid from 1989. on 4K BD, it has Atmos and in HDR. On Disney+ Hotstar, it's only in HD.

The restoration of Bela Lugosi's Dracula by Universal Pictures.

Unlike CGI scenes, all VFX scenes made for older films, like Star Wars, are shot and composited on film. 4-perf 35mm film when scanned has a 4K resolution.

Most recent films with heavy CGI has their CGI rendered at 2K then upconverted. That's because rendering to 4K is very time consuming and therefore expensive.

but the new ones... will there be selections in 4k SDR, 4k HDR? 4k DV, DD+, atmos too?

that will cost unifi a bit to offer that to the >300mbps customers.

if so, i wil be surprised... becos all the time for 10 years, unifi only offer 2.0! and some are still in 540p, 720p!  biggrin.gif
That's not how these deals are made with ISPs. That'll only add operational costs and compounding customer assistance headaches.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 25 2022, 04:29 PM)
that, i m not sure... for netflix, diff country operators seem to pay diff for diff packages.

india, for example pays for very basic stuff, meant for mobile phones only... so, subscriber pays like RM5 a month only.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 25 2022, 04:50 PM)
hd video+audio streams aren't cheap. even astro is giving this D+H to customers only 3 months to try, after that u pay!

ya, better wait n see... no point speculating.
That's for those who didn't have the movie package. For those with the movie package, Astro forced the upgrade and charge them RM5 for it, whether they activated their Disney+ Hotstar or not.

writesimply
post May 8 2022, 10:28 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ May 3 2022, 10:14 PM)
anyone?
Regular accounts yes. But the Unifi free ones, no one knows.

writesimply
post May 26 2022, 11:39 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(Max @ May 25 2022, 10:47 PM)
Can. But need modded version, sideload.
Official one cannot run.
That's not quite true anymore.

You definitely can't find UnifiTV on Amazon App Store. So you definitely need to sideload. But you don't need to use the modded version. That came about when Unifi came out with their stupid black Android box years ago that they control. Then they pivot, allowing the UnifiTV app to be used on phones. Once that gate is opened, then both Android and iOS devices can use the app.

I can download the UnifiTV app for the Tivo Stream 4K direct from Google, login and use it. Since FireTV is basically a modded Android device, the UnifiTV app can run it unmodded. I use it on the pendant Fire TV and Fire TV Cube.

writesimply
post May 30 2022, 03:35 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(Max @ May 26 2022, 06:30 PM)
Ok i tried sideload the latest unifiTV 1.3.15 apk.
Nope.. it can't run.. it open and just close..
May i know what version unifiTV is yours in the Fire Cube ?
UnifiTV, not PlayTV. Here's the APK Combo link to it.

This post has been edited by writesimply: May 30 2022, 03:35 PM
writesimply
post Jun 17 2022, 05:41 PM

933 posts

It seems that Unifi's Ultimate Package deal with Disney+ Hostar is 17th May, 2024. You can find this info in the Disney+Hotstar app (or web login) under your profile and then My Account.

writesimply
post Sep 8 2022, 05:39 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 8 2022, 05:31 PM)
unifi is either deliberately confusing or playing games as usual.

my monthly bill shows rm60 charged for ultimate.

according to their last campaign in apr-may, ultimate gets playtv+hotstar+bein+bbc.

if u want lionsgate, u CANNOT have hotstar or viu or iqiyi.

so, what now? more variations, more discrimination, more polarization?

and what about mangotv - another spanner thrown in to confuse everyone?!

help somebody... i want it all! tongue.gif
Ultimate Pack RM59.90/month
- Unifi PlayTV (All Channels)
- Disney+ Hotstar
- beIN Sports Connect
- SpoTV Now
- BBC Player
- Lionsgate Play
- Viu
- iQIYI

From what I can tell from their FAQ, if you want all of the streaming apps, you have to re-start your 2-year contract. And that to me is not necessary because the apps that's new are not something I would spend time watching.

I mean, have Lionsgate Play updated their content to stream 5.1 audio yet?
writesimply
post Sep 22 2022, 02:01 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 21 2022, 11:23 PM)
if i now change the new promo plan, called exo.. what
is RM149 100mbps + ruby pack right, does still keep my old unifi tv box and STD20?
mean i got 2 tv box?
or not worth to change
From my experience, TM doesn't want any of your old boxes. They would have no place to store them. And they can't be bothered to recycle them either.

writesimply
post Sep 22 2022, 02:26 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 22 2022, 02:18 PM)
So if i apply, i have old box using vlan port, new box using wifi? One acc running 2 tv box?
I worry live chat that support not understand my question
Yes. You can run 2 Unifi TV simultaneously. So one box for the main room next to the router and the other one at another room via wifi.

Yeah, when i upgrade 30mbps to 100mbps, staff did not take back btu
Now btu useless on home
Yep. My first BTU is gathering dust.

writesimply
post Sep 23 2022, 10:23 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 22 2022, 11:19 PM)
And TM site no mention unifi tv app, but still can watch on phone right
The app is called PlayTV@unifi. Available on Android and iOS.

writesimply
post Jan 31 2025, 03:16 PM

933 posts

I hope I can at least finish watching the Running Man episode tonight. They run for 90 minutes at least, which will make the end time past midnight.
writesimply
post Feb 3 2025, 02:15 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Feb 1 2025, 08:57 AM)
ONE Ch 461 has been discontinued at midnight, in the middle of Running Man (2025) Ep 715.

Yeah. The latest episode was airing and then midnight came. It abruptly ended. But the subtitles were running! bangwall.gif

writesimply
post Mar 12 2025, 01:53 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 12 2025, 01:19 AM)
Comparison of apps addon prices: Astro vs Unifi (Mar 2025)
Cool chart. You can get Prime Video for RM17 if you go to Amazon.sg and subscribe to their Amazon Prime package. Then Prime Video is considered free.
writesimply
post Mar 13 2025, 12:51 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Mar 12 2025, 01:58 PM)
Can subscribe just like that or still need VPN?
No need a VPN to subscribe. The first month is free if you're a new member.

VPN is useful if you want to watch US Prime Video or Netflix content.
writesimply
post Apr 24 2025, 05:39 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(mjchua @ Apr 24 2025, 04:01 PM)
any other users in this forum face the same issue?
Happened to me too. Now on chat with CS.

0.0473sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:46 AM