Audio syncing issue for video streaming

TSkewo
post Jan 22 2019, 02:29 PM, updated 6y ago

Hellos sifus,

Need some help with an audio syncing problem I have. The audio on streaming videos doesn't match with the videos being played. It starts off fine, but progressively gets worse by the minute. The video is always ahead of the audio. Tried googling for this but can't seem to find a working solution. I have a suspicion that it is related to the audio driver because I deleted the Realtek driver, rebooted my PC, then it was fine throughout the time using my PC. However, on the next reboot, the problem came back. Any suggestions? Thank you in advance. FYI running on Windows 10.
cassian948
post Jan 22 2019, 02:58 PM

890 posts

Streaming on browser or media player - could be processor not powerful enough.
TSkewo
post Jan 22 2019, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Jan 22 2019, 02:58 PM)
Streaming on browser or media player - could be processor not powerful enough.
On browser. Happens on all browsers. Processor currently on i5 7th gen
cassian948
post Jan 22 2019, 05:23 PM

890 posts

QUOTE(kewo @ Jan 22 2019, 04:55 PM)
On browser. Happens on all browsers. Processor currently on i5 7th gen
Audio coming through bluetooth or direct aux cable.
Left4Dead2
post Jan 22 2019, 05:42 PM

1,085 posts

If through bluetooth there will be delay, unless u using aptx / 5.0

Could be your mobo driver problem. Try install latest version
TSkewo
post Jan 22 2019, 05:51 PM

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Jan 22 2019, 05:23 PM)
Audio coming through bluetooth or direct aux cable.
Direct aux cable. Happens on both speakers and headphones
1024kbps
post Jan 22 2019, 07:16 PM

李素裳
5,781 posts

Where did you get the video?
If downloaded from net, some video were poorly made or based on old format, could cause problem with video player.

The way to fix the desync is to re-mux to other container or simply reconvert to other format.
goldfries
post Jan 22 2019, 11:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

What sort of 'streaming' is this?

Are you the one doing a stream eg live streaming?

Or are you streaming, as in stream from service provider like say Netflix or what not.
cassian948
post Jan 23 2019, 09:02 AM

890 posts

Have you tried reinstalling the driver, will it fix the issue.
TSkewo
post Jan 23 2019, 09:03 AM

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 22 2019, 11:56 PM)
What sort of 'streaming' is this?

Are you the one doing a stream eg live streaming?

Or are you streaming, as in stream from service provider like say Netflix or what not.
My apologies I didn't clarify. Its streaming from YouTube/Netflix/etc
joeboto
post Jan 23 2019, 11:04 PM

insert title
894 posts

i got this issue on 2017-early 2018.

using onboard audio (realtek), win 10 with balanced power plan, gtx1070, chrome browser. tested on socket 775 (xeon modded) and 1151 (6700k), both gradually desync. google 'DPC latency issue'. i believed when latency spikes, thats when video starts to desync. spikes happened many times throughout the video made it worse over time. however if i skip to any point, no desync until the video plays for long enough and it happen again.

and nvidia pascal tends to spike a lot compared to other gen. I didnt test AMD cards.

possible solution (i combine 1 & 2):
1: in my case, solved by using my spare sound card, but any cheapo usb sound card can do.
2: use firefox (before using sound card, since this one free)
3: disable any kinds of power saving in both bios and windows (increasing power usage tho)

if any of this solves your desync issue, please report back.

0.0129sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:38 PM