Peisqo's D40 gallery ~, Royal National Park v2, pg3

TSPeisqo
post Jun 14 2007, 10:23 AM, updated 19y ago

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

Hellooooo everyone !! I'm Peisqo sweat.gif I've been browsing this section for some time but never post anything coz dunno anything tongue.gif Then got really inspired by all the pro's here. Never had any experience with camera, but dunno y so daring go buy a DSLR frm ebay sweat.gif Googled around for tips, blablabla ... At first dun dare open gallery, scared kena tembak like crap. Tried to learn from other's mistakes but, seems on-hand practice is more practical smile.gif So here I am, opening a gallery, hoping to learn from all the sifu !!

Oh btw juz using D40 with kitlens only hehe .. Hope to get some comments and critics !! Thanks first smile.gif

My FIRST ever shot, after playing with settings and all ...
BULLS-EYE

FIRST outdoor shot smile.gif In my UNI, a place called Quadrangle ...

Added on June 14, 2007, 10:26 amOk so i've learnt something called "framing" or something, which is supposed to add some sense of depth to the main object, put this trick to the test and got this sad.gif I think there is alot of thing wrong in this pic tongue.gif Anyone care to fix ? Btw this pic is unframed ( not edited with photoshop, except for the watermark ) ... the black sides are poles/structures which is supposed to act as the "frame" ... y it turned out so dark ? Tried using higher ISO also dun work ... how ar ? I think i used flash also ... still so dark ...

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jul 22 2007, 04:22 PM
gold3knight
post Jun 14 2007, 10:28 AM

1,672 posts

nice shots, but the sky's blue looks artificial. Not that I'm saying you did any PS on it. It's just the color from the D40.
shinchan^^
post Jun 14 2007, 10:29 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(Peisqo @ Jun 14 2007, 10:23 AM)

Added on June 14, 2007, 10:26 amOk so i've learnt something called "framing" or something, which is supposed to add some sense of depth to the main object, put this trick to the test and got this sad.gif I think there is alot of thing wrong in this pic tongue.gif Anyone care to fix ? Btw this pic is unframed ( not edited with photoshop, except for the watermark ) ... the black sides are poles/structures which is supposed to act as the "frame" ... y it turned out so dark ? Tried using higher ISO also dun work ... how ar ? I think i used flash also ... still so dark ...
because u meter the building, the pole will be darked.
if u exposed the poles, the building will over exposed.

TSPeisqo
post Jun 14 2007, 10:29 AM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

QUOTE(gold3knight @ Jun 14 2007, 10:28 AM)
nice shots, but the sky's blue looks artificial. Not that I'm saying you did any PS on it. It's just the color from the D40.
Thanks for the 1st reply rclxms.gif You say "artificial" ... is that a good or bad thing ? I didn't do anything to the sky .. i also dunno how to blush.gif Juz did the frame and name only ...

Added on June 14, 2007, 10:31 am
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jun 14 2007, 10:29 AM)
because u meter the building, the pole will be darked.
if u exposed the poles, the building will over exposed.
ohhh .. icic .. so i should focus the pole first , lock it , then only recompose ?

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jun 14 2007, 10:31 AM
Andy0625
post Jun 14 2007, 11:11 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

How you did the frame and name ? unsure.gif
tongyam
post Jun 14 2007, 11:17 PM

perfect
686 posts

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/8789/dsc0070copyhc4.jpg

i like this one,

do u ps ur pict?
imr4n
post Jun 14 2007, 11:33 PM

283 posts

ur signature is too big, disturbing the photos
make a small one better
wlcling
post Jun 15 2007, 01:16 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

nice pictures!! Did you know that your first picture gives an optical illusion?? If you place your head near enough to the monitor, it seems that the left side of the picture is longer vertically... (or maybe it's just me working too long hours today) hehe

I think the "framing" picture needs a better composition that's all. I think it doesn't make sense for the frame to be so irregular. Maybe try to position so that the frame is nicely purpendicular horizontally and vertically to each other
TSPeisqo
post Jun 15 2007, 03:08 AM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Jun 14 2007, 11:11 PM)
How you did the frame and name ? unsure.gif
using photoshop smile.gif very easy .. if u wanna know i can PM teach u .. juz few steps hehe

QUOTE(tongyam @ Jun 14 2007, 11:17 PM)
Thank you smile.gif Nope .. no editing ... still a newbie ... wanna learn how to PS also .. i only did the frame and watermarking ...

QUOTE(imr4n @ Jun 14 2007, 11:33 PM)
ur signature is too big, disturbing the photos
make a small one better
Oh alright !! Will fix it the next time ... thanks !

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jun 15 2007, 01:16 AM)
nice pictures!! Did you know that your first picture gives an optical illusion?? If you place your head near enough to the monitor, it seems that the left side of the picture is longer vertically... (or maybe it's just me working too long hours today) hehe

I think the "framing" picture needs a better composition that's all. I think it doesn't make sense for the frame to be so irregular. Maybe try to position so that the frame is nicely purpendicular horizontally and vertically to each other
hehe cool tongue.gif or maybe u work too much kaka

You're talking about the last picture ? Yea i think it was a very bad composition too tongue.gif Coz seeing the picture so dark then i dun bother composing d .. juz wanna learn how to make it bright first ...

Added on June 15, 2007, 3:10 amOh by the way guys, I'm in Sydney Australia. If that clears the doubt why the sky is so clear tongue.gif

Not Msia , no pollution lol .. and also was very lucky coz if u notice the 2nd last pic ... it was about to rain d ...

Plus this quadrangle building is popular for art students to do thier drawings, so i thought it would be a great place for pictures tongue.gif Picture no. 3 was taking from a high ground which i would call the "art spot" where art students hav class on top there shocking.gif Later today if i free i'll take 1 pic of the "art spot" ... it even has railings where i can rest my hand on so my hand dun shake haha

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jun 15 2007, 03:44 AM
afs
post Jun 15 2007, 09:08 AM

294 posts

Welcome u sharing ur photos here. If i show those UNSW pics to my wife sure she gets emotional coz she studied there last time. The 2nd pic try not to shoot the tower senget, that is what other sifus here told me before. Take photos of Sydney and post here la.
TSPeisqo
post Jun 15 2007, 10:08 AM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

QUOTE(afs @ Jun 15 2007, 09:08 AM)
Welcome u sharing ur photos here. If i show those UNSW pics to my wife sure she gets emotional coz she studied there last time. The 2nd pic try not to shoot the tower senget, that is what other sifus here told me before. Take photos of Sydney and post here la.
Thank you wink.gif Oh really ? I plan to take more pics soon .. actually having finals exam now sweat.gif But hand itchy wanna play with camera hehe ... I'll take some pics of Scientia for you ( or ur wife ) then wink.gif The so called "most-romantic" place in UNSW ... im sure ur wife knows about it .. hope i can get a good shot of it smile.gif

You say about the senget part of pic 2. Do you mean i should shoot the building more horizontally ? As in the grass area at the bottom left shouldn't exist ? I think i tried that but then the "clock tower" will look like it's gonna fall down tongue.gif And yea .. after exams i'll go out to the city and all to take more more more pics smile.gif Thnx for support !! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jun 15 2007, 10:12 AM
supazta
post Jun 16 2007, 01:24 AM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

i like the darts!
TSPeisqo
post Jun 17 2007, 06:21 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

QUOTE(supazta @ Jun 16 2007, 01:24 AM)
i like the darts!
Glad you liked it bro flex.gif

By the way ... winter is crap sad.gif Everyday rain ... sien to da max .. can't take pics ... sorry can't get tat "art spot" place ... anyways tonight didn't rain.. have my try on night shots .... gosh it's terrible sad.gif Need some guidance please notworthy.gif notworthy.gif These 2 are the best i've got out of like 20 sad.gif with tripod samo =/ ... but the tripod is free 1 la .. quite capalang 1 i think ... anyway here it is :

Colours are weird .. everything is weird =/ What settings you guys use for night landscape ar ? I think this 1 i used the preset mode ... night portrait or something ... i tried using aperture priority .. total black tongue.gif ... used manual .. dunno what settings to use ... any sifu mind to guide me ? smile.gif

This 1 .. why the colour is like tat ar ? It's taken at .. almost pitch dark .. like 10pm or something ... y the colour so "wat tat" 1 icon_question.gif

Added on June 17, 2007, 6:22 pmBtw imr4n .. is the signature small enough this time ? smile.gif Took your advice hehe

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jun 17 2007, 06:24 PM
miraged
post Jun 17 2007, 10:20 PM

405 posts

the last picture...expected la.. i mean, low light condition mah! also, wat tat maybe coz iso quite high and hence the grainy / noisy picture.

maybe u could try lower ISO. that will reduce the noise. also i don't know about d40, but is there a noise reduction option? it's somewhere in the menu. advanced features.

another thing with night shots, it's better with an infra red controller or an extended shutter release button (must buy one). reason is. the moment u press and then u release ur hand, it introduces a SLIGHT camera shake. if u leave ur camera on BULB (errr.... if u're unsure of the terms, pls read manual lah smile.gif) u have to press shutter relase button the second time to capture the picture.

so yeah, try tat la.
i like ur first shot. i like the miror like image the ground creates as it reflects the sidewalk lights.
fantastico! smile.gif

btw, UNSW...sydney right? i'm going there come 29th june. hillsong conference.
TSPeisqo
post Jun 17 2007, 11:09 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

QUOTE(miraged @ Jun 17 2007, 10:20 PM)
the last picture...expected la.. i mean, low light condition mah! also, wat tat maybe coz iso quite high and hence the grainy / noisy picture.

I was using auto mode leh .. night portrait so cant set anything =/ ... u know what shutter speed / F to use in conditions like this ? Or maybe other settings like WB and flash/exposure compensate

maybe u could try lower ISO. that will reduce the noise. also i don't know about d40, but is there a noise reduction option? it's somewhere in the menu. advanced features.

Yup got noise reduction .. it's on ...

another thing with night shots, it's better with an infra red controller or an extended shutter release button (must buy one). reason is. the moment u press and then u release ur hand, it introduces a SLIGHT camera shake. if u leave ur camera on BULB (errr.... if u're unsure of the terms, pls read manual lah smile.gif) u have to press shutter relase button the second time to capture the picture.

Yea i notice the camera shake thing .. so i used the TIMER MODE ... only shoot after 10 seconds .. so there was no shake .. i was using tripod samo .. i'm actually concerned bout the really weird colour on the 2nd pic .. nth wrong with my camera right =/

so yeah, try tat la.
i like ur first shot. i like the miror like image the ground creates as it reflects the sidewalk lights.
fantastico! smile.gif

hehe thanks ! I notice it would look even better if it's a vertical shot ... but when i turn my tripod to vertical .. feels like my cam is gonna drop lol .. scary ... so dun dare take ... use hand to take .. super shake .. no face post up tongue.gif

btw, UNSW...sydney right? i'm going there come 29th june. hillsong conference.

UNSW sydney it is smile.gif wah cool .. u're in sydney or malaysia now ?
My replies in blue smile.gif Thanks for your comments dude hehe
tongyam
post Jun 17 2007, 11:47 PM

perfect
686 posts

TS how come ur D40 color so nice one? and sharpness very good, clean n sharp, but other D40 owner seem hm dim worh unsure.gif

any secret onot?
miraged
post Jun 18 2007, 12:02 AM

405 posts

well... if u set it on auto night mode, then i'd say it's darn good pictures loh! smile.gif
usually ppl use auto mode for portrait shots - hence the moon and person as the 'icon' for portrait shots.

ah.... smart. i noob never think of putting timer mode smile.gif
well...the second picture is common la, if u put high ISO. drop the iso and see la.

but nothing wrong with ur cam. it's working perfect smile.gif

currently in malaysia, going sydeny then brisbane... goldcoast! smile.gif hehe
TSPeisqo
post Jun 18 2007, 12:13 AM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ Jun 17 2007, 11:47 PM)
TS how come ur D40 color so nice one? and sharpness very good, clean n sharp, but other D40 owner seem hm dim worh unsure.gif

any secret onot?
Hi tongyam ! Are u serious or what ? On the last pic (#8) .. i think the colour is really wrong wor .. seems liek rainbow colour or something ... u c the grass so "wat tat" 1 .. y got brown colour =.=" i tot my camera rosak samo ... as for clean n sharp .. that's because i use tripod and timer mode .. tats why no shake at all !! That is my secret hehe .. or like miraged suggested .. get an external shutter-press thinggy also help .. so u dun hav to touch the camera ...

QUOTE(miraged @ Jun 18 2007, 12:02 AM)
well... if u set it on auto night mode, then i'd say it's darn good pictures loh! smile.gif
usually ppl use auto mode for portrait shots - hence the moon and person as the 'icon' for portrait shots.

ah.... smart. i noob never think of putting timer mode smile.gif
well...the second picture is common la, if u put high ISO. drop the iso and see la.

but nothing wrong with ur cam. it's working perfect smile.gif

currently in malaysia, going sydeny then brisbane... goldcoast! smile.gif hehe
Yea tats y it's weird !! i was looking for twilight landscape and only notice there is no such thing in d40 sweat.gif Even my hp SE K800i has it leh tongue.gif So i tot ahh dun care la .. use twilight portrait only la ..

Ok cool ... when not raining i will try with lower ISO ... this rain is crap ..

off topic : Wow nice holiday/work trip wink.gif ... my advice .. bring more clothings if u're scared of cold tongue.gif This year is weird .. it's the coldest among 3 years i'm here .. and sydney is supposed to have the "stable-est" weather .. if u go melbourne .. can have 4 seasons in 1 day tongue.gif So yea wear more hehe

This post has been edited by Peisqo: Jun 18 2007, 12:14 AM
tongyam
post Jun 18 2007, 12:41 AM

perfect
686 posts

i mean other pict la, not that night mode wink.gif
but that is normal one ma,
TSPeisqo
post Jun 18 2007, 01:35 AM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ Jun 18 2007, 12:41 AM)
i mean other pict la, not that night mode wink.gif
but that is normal one ma,
oh icic .. others ? No secret wor =/ I juz hav kit lens only .. trying to learn what filter does ... anyway ... i use the "full-screen focus" lor ... 4get what name d .. haha and also "full-screen metering" tongue.gif ... and always try to find a place where u can rest ur hand on to reduce shake ... tats all blink.gif

0.0230sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:44 PM