I really need some sifu help here. We plan to get smart watch for our kids, which has phone call ability, GPS with no other data services. All the while we are using maxis post paid plan so we have no idea about either it's better to take up post or pre paid service for the above service.
Obviously there won't be lots of calls. GPS is a must, which means there would need to have data services I assume.
Can anyone share which mobile plan works i consider? I open for both pre and post plans.
The smartwatch can only track with gps, SOS call and make a few fix number calls, thats all. There is no apps and its not an Android unit. But certainly can make normal phone calls though limited.
May I know tune talk's coverage? Most of the time we will be in Either klang valley or other major cities eg. Penang, Ipoh etc. Rarely go elsewhere although not guaranteed.
Bro, kindly provide smart watch model or some specs so that the sifus here know which telco service is suitable ...
Most of the cheap ones only uses 2G and the better ones on 3G ... the gps doesn't need data, it only needs gps satellite locking (yeah, basements is a no-no) ...
As of today, the most cost effective prepaid sim for generic kids gps smartwatch is Altel (rm28 annually). If the kids gps locater requires high speed data for whatever then your telco choice will broadens abit ... but bottom line depends on the kids smart watch specs ... if it doesn't support the telco band then no use getting the sim ...
I really need some sifu help here. We plan to get smart watch for our kids, which has phone call ability, GPS with no other data services. All the while we are using maxis post paid plan so we have no idea about either it's better to take up post or pre paid service for the above service.
Obviously there won't be lots of calls. GPS is a must, which means there would need to have data services I assume.
Can anyone share which mobile plan works i consider? I open for both pre and post plans.
Thank you all very much for any idea rendered.
What brand? Which model? How much did it cost? Please provide picture is possible.
Ok, lets see ... the smart watch is supposedly Mediatek 2503 based, so according to the datasheet it's 2G band + GPS + LBS ...
If you're getting this kids watch then look for Altel prepaid (RM7 RRP) and comes with : - RM3 credit - 200mb data (valid for 15 days) - 30 days active validity - Basic internet 64kbps - celcom network
At the end of 30 days, topup RM30 and buy 1 year validity (for RM28) and yes, you still get basic internet for a whole year.
If you can't find Altel in your area then check out onexox with season pass as the next best option. Anything more than Altel and onexox is arguably a waste for a kids watch. If you insists on something else then ensure the telco works on 2G band. Whats 2G band? ... well remember nokia 3310 phones ?
Will find out how much do they charge for calls made via Altel or Onexox. I thought all networks are more like backward compatible, ie. if no 4G, they would support earlier network protocol.
Ok, lets see ... the smart watch is supposedly Mediatek 2503 based, so according to the datasheet it's 2G band + GPS + LBS ...
If you're getting this kids watch then look for Altel prepaid (RM7 RRP) and comes with : - RM3 credit - 200mb data (valid for 15 days) - 30 days active validity - Basic internet 64kbps - celcom network
At the end of 30 days, topup RM30 and buy 1 year validity (for RM28) and yes, you still get basic internet for a whole year.
If you can't find Altel in your area then check out onexox with season pass as the next best option. Anything more than Altel and onexox is arguably a waste for a kids watch. If you insists on something else then ensure the telco works on 2G band. Whats 2G band? ... well remember nokia 3310 phones ?
But celcom nowadays 2g coverage is extremely terrible,most of the places indoor no signal.
TS, if you don't mind, why need to have this GPS tracking for the kid? Is it for safety and emergency reason (eg. lost kids in shopping mall).
Or is it to monitor where-about like for teenager who is not allowed to own smartphone?
Or to monitor kids location whether they are at school or not?
Or in extreme situations to locate his/her position if kidnapping happened?
We assume his/her age is below 12 years old who usually may not allowed to own a smartphone.
If in any reasons above, having a smart watch with screen will definitely not suitable for the kid as he/she "will" play with it constantly and by 2 hours or less the battery will die and we cannot track him/her at all.
I highly recommend those GPS tracker that does not have a screen but focus on GPS tracking ability to constantly lock the location of the subject in every 10 minutes or 30 minutes or 1 hour intervals. This will preserve the battery for at least 2 days if it is a brand new unit.
Anyway, none of the mini/cheap GPS tracker will give accurate positioning. Please read some of the previous buyers comments/reviews on the product you intend to purchase.
But for safety reason, it's wise to have such tool for our kids. Just be alert enuff to purchase the right product for the right reason.
Since you have mentioned about kids location, I have intention to buy this for my car... LOL... :
But celcom nowadays 2g coverage is extremely terrible,most of the places indoor no signal.
I don't know what's the variable with your area .... the areas that I frequented to have no problems with celcom 2G signals (including indoors) ... I have an old nokia 2G phone and older androids with 2G only slots that works fine with C, D and M telcos ...
The instruction mentioned that most of the networks do support this.
Seems similar to the previous device ... bear in mind that most china made kids watch uses mediatek chipsets and thus have similar performance.
Regarding the possible poor 2G coverage mentioned above, you may want to try out the sim with an old phone in 2G mode at the places that your kid(s) frequented to ... that shoud give you an idea hows the reception would be like ...
TS, if you don't mind, why need to have this GPS tracking for the kid? Is it for safety and emergency reason (eg. lost kids in shopping mall).
Or is it to monitor where-about like for teenager who is not allowed to own smartphone?
Or to monitor kids location whether they are at school or not?
Or in extreme situations to locate his/her position if kidnapping happened?
We assume his/her age is below 12 years old who usually may not allowed to own a smartphone.
If in any reasons above, having a smart watch with screen will definitely not suitable for the kid as he/she "will" play with it constantly and by 2 hours or less the battery will die and we cannot track him/her at all.
I highly recommend those GPS tracker that does not have a screen but focus on GPS tracking ability to constantly lock the location of the subject in every 10 minutes or 30 minutes or 1 hour intervals. This will preserve the battery for at least 2 days if it is a brand new unit.
Anyway, none of the mini/cheap GPS tracker will give accurate positioning. Please read some of the previous buyers comments/reviews on the product you intend to purchase.
But for safety reason, it's wise to have such tool for our kids. Just be alert enuff to purchase the right product for the right reason.
Since you have mentioned about kids location, I have intention to buy this for my car... LOL... :
Thank you for the input. Indeed phone is not allowed so some other alternative has to be put in place. This phone GPS allow the parents to use apps to see the kids rough location in case they are lost or kidnapped or whatever. There is no game in it. But they have a preset numbers to be able to contact when they are done doing something, so we can arrange transport etc. We have them some coin earlier to make calls from school, but all public phones are not in operation. I do have spare smart phone around but you know how they are. I try not to let them playing with phone too much.
If that is the case, the combo of the A9 GPS Tracker (Malaysian version is called Rombo GPS) with Altel Prepaid is the optimum. Just ensure the Altel Prepaid has enough credit for our kid to make a call every now and then. Also, be careful with SMS Gateway feature in certain GPS Tracker device because it will send SMS "randomly" if we do not properly configure the settings. Hence, the SMS Gateway will eat up the credits in the SIM card/account.
Sure the device is more expensive than smart watches but reliability & local manufacturer warranty are perhaps questionable.
Update : Looks like I won't be getting the GPS Tracker for my car after all... Pointless... LOL...
Criminal is sometimes 1 step ahead than "prevention"... Why do they sell this kind of product also I dunno... LOL...
This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 20 2019, 05:01 PM
LBS tracking is famous with TK102 cheap clone gps tracker. outdoor also hard to get GPS positions. have to try a few time. As people said, cheap not good, good not cheap.