Done car detailing today with picture at post #1, Lets Talk About Car Detailing

egiewan
post Oct 19 2007, 07:37 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Oct 19 2007, 07:30 PM)
Yeah, I always wax the car after applying the ScratchX laugh.gif As for it being abrasive, I don't use it too often. While I wax my car every 2 weeks to one month, I tend to use it every one or 2 months.

Buff in car care/maintanence terms basically means to rub/wipe off. Once you apply a layer of wax and leave it for about 5-10 minutes, you wipe if off, and that's called buffing.

Car clay is something like "plastisin".
Hei, can you do my car for me? I pay you laaa aahahaha joking tongue.gif Got any pics of your ride once youre finished with the detailing especially close up pics. Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
egiewan
post Oct 20 2007, 07:42 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

I tried NXT on my black car. Dun look glossy at all. For black cars I heard Carnauba wax are the best. Megs got 3 types rite? Cleaner wax, NXT and Carnauba. Sealant out of the picture la tongue.gif
egiewan
post Oct 23 2007, 07:33 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Oct 23 2007, 04:12 PM)
Yeah... at this current weather even I can't do my DIY detailing laugh.gif Car's really dirty now because of that too sad.gif

Polish is not the same as wax, don't be mistaken! Polish should be done every 6-8 months, but a new car shouldn't be polished (Wait at least 6 months after getting a new car) as the paint may be still "soft" and polishing will remove a layer of the paint. New cars need time for the paint to "settle in".

I bought a huge microfibre cloth at ACE Hardware, it's about 40cm X 60 cm and for only... what? RM 5.xx if I remember correctly sweat.gif Don't know if they still have it now though. So far only the MidValley branch has it, not the Ikano one.
Brand new cars now or if you repaint the car in the proper painting booth(oven baked ones), the paint will cure properly edy. After repainting mostly the painter will polish to get the perfect shine. So no need to wait until 6 months ma icon_rolleyes.gif
egiewan
post Oct 24 2007, 12:25 AM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

Yes I know the painter will polish to make the paint 'even' or so to speak. It shows that it is already safe to polish. After they polish they will just wax(the hardworking painters la...lazy ones after polish cabut edy) tongue.gif But most of the time when I see freshly painted cars or brand new cars(both my parents car from Auto Bavaria and my old Civic), the paint surface is full of swirl marks! Polish or not...same one shakehead.gif 100% swirl free is impossible judging by Malaysia's ultra frenly weather but I've seen a few cars coming out from auto detailers like Carnauba Autospa, their paint surface are free from swirls! If got also maybe like a few only under intense light. So my point is find someone who will do the job properly. Carnauba, Harry Bright, Imola Autospa, Auto Detailer are very very good in eliminating swirls. 2 thumbs up from me! Yes polishing will strip a BIT of the clear coat but I guess you have heard about different grades of polish rite? Dun simply assume that if polish, the paint will strip off. Relax! icon_rolleyes.gif
egiewan
post Oct 25 2007, 05:33 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Oct 25 2007, 04:06 PM)
it's quite impossible to maintain a swirl free car unless you detail it properly and frequently
out of good auto detailer surely no/minimal swirl, else how to justify the price they charge
as for new cars, the swirls are mostly due to the car washing/polishing service that the dealer did prior to delivering the car.
wrong washing and polishing method with the wrong equipment can really spoil the look
Yeah man...if black cars can really see the swirls man. Sakit hati ahaha tongue.gif I do my detailing at Imola Autospa Ampang. Till now I'm very satisfied with their service. The swirls on my car are very minimal and most of the time I think I'm the cause of the swirls cause I wipe off the bird shit myself. The swirls also ngam ngam at the spot I wipe laugh.gif
egiewan
post Oct 25 2007, 07:33 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 25 2007, 06:58 PM)
how much Imola Autospa Ampang cost u to do detailing ?

never wipe with conventional tissues with force, for sure it still will scratch the car paint... i tried to rub with tissue hard made my car paint swirl sweat.gif
Yupsies...I use microfibre towels now smile.gif I did their 8 step package for only RM330. Got many types of packages one...drop by and look for Sham or one of their 2 Russian bosses icon_rolleyes.gif I have Sham's number: 0122607072. Tell them Izwan driving a black Evo recommended brows.gif brows.gif

0.0179sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:22 PM