Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Tips needed for investment newbie, Investing condo Investment

views

Bjorn1688
post Jan 20 2019, 03:17 AM

Regular
1,924 posts

QUOTE(Ferdelis @ Jan 17 2019, 08:43 PM)
Hi, I am a newbie in investment, thinking to invest on a condo. I do like subang or mount kiara area. Any advice? I have been considering ara damansara too.
Hopefully freehold and budget can be up to a mil.
Got to do your homework and have to get to the ground to check for yourself.

I was looking last year for SJ and MK areas as well at roughly similar budget.

I crossed out MK mainly due to lack of rail infrastructure. The other issue is RM1mil did not really buy any unit that was worth investing in. Was quite interested in Trinity Pentamont but at 2000+sf each unit the maintenance fees would be killing and 1300sf units weren't available by the time I got there. Was considering Astrea but decided to give it the skip as in addition to the lack of rail infra I realized there was simply a glut of rental units and many landlords were willing to throw their price. Subsale, most had been on the market for months if not years and simply put you'd be a fool or sucker to buy one in the current market.

I spent quite a long time looking around and decided I wasn't interested in a subsale as in the current market developers were throwing prices, throwing in freebies and absorbing plenty of cost that most subsale owners would never be able to match. In the end I also decided I only wanted to buy from a reputable developer.