Malaysian cars in Singapore

TSdisco333
post Jan 17 2019, 04:41 PM, updated 6y ago

451 posts

Hey all,

Quick question for those of you familiar with legislation around driving your locally registered vehicle in Singapore. I recently received a job offer in SG and was wondering if I could drive my car into SG and then back every five days or so? A brief glance online tells me that a Malaysian vehicle can stay in Singapore for a maximum of 14 days but says nowhere whether it is cumulative. So my plan is to work in SG Monday to Friday and drive back to KL on Friday night, spending the weekend here. Would that be possible?
SUSTunZ
post Jan 17 2019, 04:44 PM

58 posts

Good luck
ref this : https://www.mom.gov.sg/faq/work-pass-genera...-roads-for-work

This post has been edited by TunZ: Jan 17 2019, 04:45 PM
benny838
post Jan 17 2019, 04:47 PM

128 posts

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/ro...oad-charge.html
MeToo
post Jan 17 2019, 04:57 PM

9,297 posts

Logic will tell you its impossible, otherwise no one will bother buying SG cars
lawrencesha
post Jan 17 2019, 04:58 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jan 17 2019, 04:41 PM)
Hey all,

Quick question for those of you familiar with legislation around driving your locally registered vehicle in Singapore. I recently received a job offer in SG and was wondering if I could drive my car into SG and then back every five days or so? A brief glance online tells me that a Malaysian vehicle can stay in Singapore for a maximum of 14 days but says nowhere whether it is cumulative. So my plan is to work in SG Monday to Friday and drive back to KL on Friday night, spending the weekend here. Would that be possible?
If can do that, I think SG car industry close shop already lor....
jfcheong
post Jan 17 2019, 05:32 PM

44 posts

U can, drive Msian car in Sg with WORK PERMIT (PR/ Singaporean not allowed to drive Msia plate car in SG). However, u need to bear for the VEP $35/ day.
Say u drive in and go back Msia every 5 days, VEP = $35 x 5 = $175 per week.
This not factor in parking charges, ERP, toll...
mojo1ne
post Jan 18 2019, 12:46 PM

62 posts

Sg have been running VEP for donkey years and millions of traffic in and out with both Malaysian and SG cars. They have seen everything that people have tried. And u think u outsmarted them. hahaha.
17osm17
post Jan 18 2019, 03:12 PM

It will be more cost effective if you take the public transport to commute to work in SG, and purchase in advance air tickets every Friday to fly back to KL.

0.0129sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 04:51 PM