Validating
147 posts

----------------------------------

This post has been edited by mentalhealth.my: Mar 10 2019, 08:54 PM
weissPC
post Jan 16 2019, 01:49 AM

Casual
316 posts

Hmmm, it makes me glad to not have chosen IT/Comp Science when in uni or choose to go in to programming related field after coming out to work (my degree/training is flexible enough for me to go into engineering or programming) because I think I would be in a similar situation as you, very difficult to keep up with the latest things.

I'm an engineer by training but gave it up and went into another career. In this new career, when my HQ released a new IOS app to replace the previous Windows program, it's difficult for me to adapt while the young guns have much less problems adapting to it, maybe because they were not used to or never got too comfortable with the old Windows program, and just glad to adopt a mobile centric app.

I would propose you to move up the value chain, become a software project manager, managing a group of programmers rather than doing the grunt work yourself. Your experience will still be relevant, the workflow/concepts/logic should remain fundamentally the same, just the programming language and platform/sdk are different.

You just have to know some basic, bird's eye view of the new stuffs and not have to get down to the nitty gritty stuffs.

Not in programming so not sure the above advise works but that will the natural progression for engineers who do not want to continue the pure technical route and choose the management route (more like a half technical-half management path). Or else do what I did, look for a more sustainable career that doesn't involve you keeping up with the latest in a fast changing world.

I thought you'd be older than me since you mentioned you worked in WFW, which is a early or mid-1990s precursor to WinNT, WinCE is an OS for PDAs or some embedded systems (?) during the early 2000s.
TSmentalhealth.my
post Jan 16 2019, 02:17 AM