Tx3 mini tv box, Tx3 mini review

azwandy
post Aug 6 2019, 12:47 PM

70 posts

New TX3 Mini has the sticker Mini-A as what I found out.. same spec with old tx3 mini except that it is now running on android 8.1, and no root off/on option.. i performed full unroot and managed to get the new aotg 2.192.5 running.. new tx3 mini should have no problem running live tv HD channels since it is only google widevine L3.. but damn, alice ux is not very good launcher.. very slow and sluggish.. even tx6 which should be faster become slower of this alice ux.. i ditched all my tanix (tx3 max, tx6 and tx5 max) for good, and now happily using mibox s, mibox 3s and also beelink gt mini-a.. feel used to androidtv interface already..

This post has been edited by azwandy: Aug 6 2019, 12:49 PM
azwandy
post Aug 6 2019, 02:47 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 6 2019, 01:51 PM)
good to know can still unroot tx3mini (mini-A)!

haven't seen alice ui on tx3mini but on tx5max, alice is fine, very fast.
Because tx5 max is using s905x2, a faster processor.. below is the list of cpu ranking, based on benchmark.. i self compiled.. based from cnx, androidpctv, chigtechreview website..

1. Nvidia Tegra (Nvidia Shield)
2. Amlogic S922X (Beelink GT King)
3. Rockchip RK3399 (X99, H96 Max)
4. Amlogic S905X2 (Tanix TX5 Max, Beelink GT1 mini, H96 Pro, A95X Max, T95Q, X96 Max)
5. Amlogic S912 (Tanix TX92, TX9 Pro, Mecool M8S Pro, T95Z Plus, X92, KIII Pro)
6. Allwinner H6 (TX6, Beelink GS1, Zidoo H6 Pro)
7. Rockchip RK3328 (MX10, T9, A5X Max, Tanix Tx28)
8. Amlogic S905 X/D/W (TX3 Max/ Mini, X96/Mini, Mi Box 3/S, T95X, KII Pro)
9. Rockchip RK3329 (MXQ Pro, V88)

that's y u dont notice the sluggishness.. actually tx5 max has very high return rate of failure.. so ure lucky since u got a working fine one.. for me, 4/13.. 30.77%, where other models only single digit, or almost 0% of return rate.. that is the reason why u can find less local sellers selling this model in shopee/lazada.. another model that i heard having lot of issue is x96 max.. therefore, if anyone really want to use this new cpu s905x2, go for beelink gt1 mini instead..

i suspected tx5 max is pure OEM, as you can never find this model on their website, and also on their facebook page..

s905w is a low end cpu/gpu combination.. from all the tests done, it can play 4k, but only up to 30fps..

therefore, now moving forward, if anyone of us want to look for box, go for:

low end/low cost:
s905 processors

medium:
s905x2 (cheaper than s912, performance better)

high end:
s922x

avoid buying other than amlogic for low/medium end boxes, as amlogic is more stable imho..

azwandy
post Aug 21 2019, 12:50 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(RagingBalls @ Aug 21 2019, 12:09 PM)
Isnt this what the MCMC threatening to go after? Is it still legal?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
astrogo is legal.. for me this is much more better than the wayang people got mcmc/sirim approval boxes but full of illegal astro channels..
azwandy
post Sep 23 2019, 04:46 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 22 2019, 07:12 PM)
guys, u had fun... so did i! sweat.gif

tx3mini owners, be very careful with trying to change the firmware!
i had the honor of bricking my unit TWICE  laugh.gif but it's all good now.

in the process of upgrading, i encountered severe problems... read and read until i found a solution.
the trouble is this: there are several variations "TX3 Mini"... tx3 mini, tx3 mini-A, tx3 mini-L, etc...
some firmwares CANNOT be applied on the wrong model.
my unit is labeled tx3 mini-A at the back.

initially, i used the ZIP method to upgrade to TX3 Max Version 20180321 zip - the box bricked.
used burning tool to flash with 20180321 img - burning stuck at 7%, no good.
the life saver was THIS, a big THANK YOU!:
burned it with TX3Mini-20181210.img first to breathe life in it again.
then use zip method, upgrade to tx3maxp281-ota-20181101.zip

how diff is tx3max 20180321 firmware from 20181101, i have no idea.
but what i now have is excellent:

.. Alice UI.
.. root closing option in settings remains.
.. auto framerate switching now works better, can see 24, 25, 30 hz message popping up on the TV.
.. lossless audio is obtained with kodi player - dtshdma, ddtruehd.
.. astrogo, unifi playtv work fine once u close root.
.. (i can safely say tx3max should be an excellent value box.)

for those wanting to change firmware, please be careful, know what u r doing... if not, u lose the box! biggrin.gif

frankly, i tried quite a few things... don't even remember where i got some of those zip's and img's...!! laugh.gif

good luck!
weird crazy chinese manufacturers.. how many variants they want to churn out from a single line of tx3 mini?? what i heard tx3 mini new one also already got bluetooth.. so that is basically a tx3 max.. but no, they sell it as tx3 mini.. then there's tx3 mini-a.. this one goes to tx6 as well.. tx6 with single band wifi, tx6 with no bluetooth.. damn, why not make a single hardware variant so easy for people to look for the firmware? so call oem manufacturers. LOL

azwandy
post Sep 25 2019, 02:16 PM

70 posts

I am now testing tx3 mini-a.. looks like new variant, bluetooth, dual band wifi..

The one that I have is having open/close root function..

Also power key definition.. really similar to tx3 max..

I performed full manual unroot, and the new aotg is working fine..

As for now, u cant get the firmware of TX3 Mini-A from chinagadgetreviews.. only way to get the firmware is to ask reseller to get back to factory and ask them the img file.. so, unless u know what u are doing, dont try anything funny and regret later if the box is bricked..

I had similar experience with MX10 6K box. The firmware is nowhere to be found on the web. Then I have to get it from the factory in China. What a mess.
azwandy
post Oct 11 2019, 10:25 AM

70 posts

Tx3 mini users.. i guess i know now why some tv blank when launching aotg.. high chance due to hdcp.. some tv have, some dont have.. new aotg do implement hdcp for output device blocking if i am not mistaken.. cheapest way to solve is buying cheap hdmi cable splitters
azwandy
post Oct 11 2019, 12:40 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 11 2019, 11:34 AM)
Good observation and adding new information to the knowledge pool.

When connected to a TV, perhaps one can bring up the DRMinfo to check if it detects there is HDCP.
I test using laptop.. using firefox and open astrogo page.. direct connect error when try to play channels.. then change the connection laptop to hdmi switch, and from switch to tv.. now can play the channels.. some hdmi switch has capabilities to bypass hdcp, thus able to play..
azwandy
post Oct 12 2019, 12:26 PM

70 posts

If u want netflix hd, dont waste ur time, ur money on any tv box other than this:

Nvidia shield, mibox s, amazon fire tv

I am using all 3, so i might be able to tell u first hand experience

Aotg?

Only shield is smooth for live tv hd.. the rest all choppy playback and almost unwatchable
azwandy
post Oct 12 2019, 12:32 PM

70 posts

At the moment beside tx3 mini, sunvell t9 also showing behaviour of blank screen when launched.. other apps no problem.. the issue lies within the hdcp.. will affect certain tv models and year of manufacturing.. tx6 for astrogo never have this problem
azwandy
post Oct 18 2019, 12:18 PM

70 posts

I done a poll, and most of people with samsung tv below 2017 manufacturing date will have issue blank screen when launch new aotg, with tx3 mini.. potential due to hdcp incompatibility, for the tx3 mini and also samung tv.. so for those with samsung tv, and want to watch aotg, please look for other box.. tx6 is the best choice at the moment.. can play new aotg and the hbo go malaysia without any issue..
azwandy
post Oct 22 2019, 02:53 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Oct 20 2019, 10:56 AM)
wow like that when buying new tv how to know is got hdcp problem or not
well, it is really hard to predict.. but most of people that kena with this problem with tx3 mini for aotg is the one using samsung tv..

this one fella bought tx3 mini-a, 2 samsung tv but different manufacturing date.. one can watch aotg, another one just goes blank when launch..
azwandy
post Oct 23 2019, 11:18 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 22 2019, 03:56 PM)
I thought you said can be fixed by cable ?
not all cables work.. need a hdmi switch or splitter that can remove the hdcp.. which no manufacturer ever state so.. so it can be a very very wild guess.. a 20 dollar hdmi switch might work, but 50 might not work..
azwandy
post Nov 5 2019, 01:01 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 11:51 AM)
TANIX has a new box for sale... i find it interesting.

the TX9S is a "strange" box.... the chipset AML S912 is fine but has 8gb storage only; 2.4ghz wifi only; usb2.0 ports only; android 7.1.2.
but has gigabit LAN port, 2160p 60fps, VP9.
no info on whether rooted or not.
price: $25 or <RM100... biggrin.gif

TANIX TX9s REVIEW - THE BUDGET KING OF 2019 ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Apsq9Y95Uk

https://www.tanix-box.com/project-view/tani...am-8gb-storage/
Tanix TX9S – Android TV Box – Amlogic S912 – 2GB RAM / 8GB Storage
CPU: Amlogic S912, Octa core CPU 3 Ghz
GPU: Mali T820MP3
RAM: 2GB DDR3
Storage: 8GB eMMC
Wifi: 802.11 b/g/n
LAN: Gibabit Ethernet 10/100/1000
USB: 2 x  USB 2.0 + SD Card

and this just launched... Tanix TX3 - this one is more exciting.
right... will add more confusion to previous "TX3".
this new one is using AML S905X3 chipset, comes in 2/16... 4/64gb, Alice UI, android 9, BT, USB3.0 2.5/5.8ghz, 8K capable.
indicative price.. rm120-200.
this new TX3 may eventually "replace" over all previous tx3min/max models..?
https://www.geekbuying.com/item/TANIX-TX3-A...4GB-420290.html
from this video, can see "superuser option" - i take that means it has simple root closing option like tx3mini/max.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xuZyzRjgUg
wow.. looks like scam.. how come you get the new s905x3 for under 200?

s905x3 is actually a small upgrade of s905x2 cpu.. mainly found on gt1 mini, tx5 max, a95 max..

problems with this is this might not be actual released by tanix.. lot of chinese manufacturer just slap in the tx brands..

azwandy
post Nov 5 2019, 01:06 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 02:02 PM)
check shopee...from china, from sabah...

https://shopee.com.my/search?keyword=tx3%20s905x3
Damn.. i am still waiting for my beelink gt1 mini s905x3.. price definitely bit higher..
azwandy
post Nov 5 2019, 04:52 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 02:20 PM)
i find the tx5max s905x2 very good - fast, good 5ghz wifi.

which is why i am v interested in this tx3 s905x3 model.

the thing about tx5max was there was no root closing option (had to do manual) and audio is restricted to lossy dd/dd+/dts.

since the video showed "superuser" option like tx3mini, astrogo/playtv shud work.

i am even more curious if it will pass thru lossless audio too like tx3mini.

if it does, i am more than willing to buy rightaway!! laugh.gif

i think this is still pre-order phase.

is this an official tanix box? will have to watch out fresh news/reviews.
i usually refers to official tanix fb page.. they never ever mentioned this model at all..

do u know there is another tx5 named tx5 pro.. the casing design is like tx6.. but spec is like tx5 max.

that's y i now quite skeptical for all tanix boxes.. looks like the OEM chinese factories are churning out these boxes non stop with lot of variants..

what I read is s905x3 doesnt bring much to the cpu speed and performance.. antutu benchmark show performance improvement less than 9% over previous s905x2 cpu..

last time around i have return rate of 4 over 13 tx5 max.. that's y i am quite skeptical for all boxes from china..

azwandy
post Nov 6 2019, 12:58 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 5 2019, 08:43 PM)
hmm... my tx45max very ok...!! biggrin.gif

yes, tx5max is no longer on their list of offer... tx5pro... officially still android6....?

it is true, tanix does not behave like most others... they seem to keep a very low profile of themselves, out of date...

but let OEMS and others deal with whatever... strange biz model but guess they like it like that.. "shielded", still make enuf $...

even their website is blocked by ??... can only access with VPN/secured ones.
https://www.geekbuying.com/item/Tanix-TX5-P...Box-417174.html

here it is.. the tx5 pro.. from the spec i guess it is on android 8.1

maybe u can try it to add to your collection.. hehehe
azwandy
post Nov 6 2019, 04:07 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Nov 6 2019, 04:13 PM)
Wah! u selling boxes too?
last time as part time.. stopped already.. concentrating on my full time job..
azwandy
post Nov 8 2019, 09:30 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Nov 8 2019, 09:48 AM)
What is the difference between Tanix and OEM ? Isn't Tanix is one of the many OEMs ?

Different OEMs add different amount of value into their work.

I don't think there is another layer between Tanix and OEM. Tanix got their reference board design from Amlogic, and perhaps make some mods on it, and then manufacture them. Just like Beelink, Ugoos, Mecool and so on.

I don't think Tanix name is so famous until people want to fake products under their name.

This post is created in 2017, it says about the reference boards available during that time :-

https://forum.freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-...eference-boards
yup.. agree with you.. tanix not so famous..

if compared to beelink, zidoo, himedia, minix.. tanix is just a small company..

azwandy
post Dec 11 2019, 11:42 PM

70 posts

Avoid the 2GB version.. only go for TX3 4GB.. most probably like TX6 mini, the 2GB version only came with single band wifi, and also no bluetooth.. all my stock of TX3 have dual band wifi and bluetooth.. and yes, there is root on@off switch.. happy hunting!!!

Please avoid at all cost all the Tanix that came with 2GB version like TX6 mini, TX3 2GB RAM.. there is a reason why the boxes are selling at very cheap price.. u will regret later, as u cannot simply add another wifi band or install bluetooth adapter.. dont be so cheapo.. unless u are very poor..

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by azwandy: Dec 11 2019, 11:44 PM
azwandy
post Dec 11 2019, 11:48 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(rendude @ Dec 11 2019, 08:52 PM)
Tanix TX6 is quite popular...just go for the 4gb/64gb variant. If u are adventurous enough...u can go for the amlogic s912 octa-core Tanix TX9S from gearbest.com for RM107. It supports AOTG and unifi tv apps too, but need to disable root from the settings menu.
Amlogic S912 is older gen processor.. not worth it anymore.. in the antutu benchmark, the difference between S912 and Allwinner H6 is just few thousands, not 10 of thousands..

i ran antutu benchmark myself on TX3 S905X3, and also TX6

TX3 = 70,000++
TX6 = 45,000++

Last time I ran as well Antutu on GT1 Mini which use S905X2. I ran test on both 2GB and 4GB version.

GT1 mini 2GB = 50,000++
GT1 mini 4GB = 60,000++

It looks like the S905X3 is really an upgrade to previous version.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0695sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:34 AM