News Read the law, EC says after senator’s ‘kita buang’, Orang Asli tok batin comment

TSjoe_mamak
post Jan 12 2019, 12:31 AM, updated 6y ago

363 posts

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...-batin-comment/

Read the law, EC says after senator’s ‘kita buang’ Orang Asli tok batin comment
FMT Reporters -
January 11, 2019 8:59 PM
Nominations for the Cameron Highlands by-election will be held on Saturday.

PETALING JAYA: Following a senator’s reported remark that Orang Asli village chiefs could lose their salaries or posts if they did not support Putrajaya in the upcoming Cameron Highlands by-election, the Election Commission has warned politicians and campaigners against breaching election laws.

The commission’s chairman, Azhar Harun, reminded them not to breach Section 9 of the Election Offenses Act 1954, which involves corrupt practices and placing undue influence on voters, as it would invite serious consequences.

“Many believe that it is ok to do whatever they like before nomination day. They should read the law,” Azhar said in a tweet.

“Many acts are offences if they are committed before, during or after an election. Read guys, Read!” he said.

Azhar was responding to a Malaysiakini report about Orang Asli senator Bob Manolan Mohd’s reported comments that Orang Asli village chiefs (tok batin) in Cameron Highlands could lose their salaries and posts if they did not support the federal government.

Bob Manolan, from PKR, was further quoted as saying that tok batin are paid by the federal government and, therefore, they must support Pakatan Harapan (PH).

“If they don’t support, ‘kita buang’ (we discard them),” he reportedly said.

PKR president Anwar Ibrahim asked Bob Manolan to immediately clarify his alleged threats to tok batin.

“There is no coercion in a democracy. Bob has to clarify his statement immediately,” Anwar said in a tweet.

Election watchdog Bersih 2.0 chairman Thomas Fann, in an immediate reaction, asked the Election Commission to haul up the senator for his threats.

“If this was said by the senator, he needs to be hauled up under the Election Offences Act for undue influence.

“I hope the tok batin or members of the public will file a police report so that he is investigated,” he told FMT.

He also hoped PH takes disciplinary action against him.

Malaysiakini had also reported that chiefs and representatives of 18 Semai Orang Asli villages in the area were present during the question-and-answer session.

Village chiefs are paid between RM800 and RM1,200, based on the number of villagers they oversee and the size of their village.

‘It was not a threat’

The Star Online reported this evening that Bob Manolan had denied threatening the Orang Asli.

He said he was explaining to the Orang Asli village headmen to put aside political differences and work together with the federal government to improve their villages in Cameron Highlands.

“I did not threaten them. It was a dialogue with tok batin and one asked me about the salaries of the tok batin,” he said.

He said he explained that as the federal government pays the salaries of the tok batin, they would have to follow the agenda set out by the government.

He said some tok batin were heads of Umno branches and refused to attend meetings held by government agencies.

“I said they would have to choose between acting as a tok batin or as an Umno branch chief if you want to be helped by the federal government.

“I did not say that tok batin who do not support Pakatan Harapan will not get paid. That is not true.”

He said he had spoken to Anwar about the matter.

The by-election is on Jan 26. Nominations will be held tomorrow.

rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
gogocan
post Jan 12 2019, 01:16 AM

450 posts

Misquoted as always. Can someone repost the actual audio file.

This post has been edited by gogocan: Jan 12 2019, 01:17 AM
Roman Catholic
post Jan 12 2019, 01:28 AM

3,030 posts

You scratch my back, I'll scratch yours, not a threat ke ?
and85rew
post Jan 12 2019, 01:39 AM

Red Devil
865 posts

No good
Killy
post Jan 12 2019, 01:57 AM

73 posts

this senator needs to be sacked
worse than "u help me, i help u"
powerlinkers
post Jan 12 2019, 02:21 AM

652 posts

You don't help me: I will murder you.
99FoxDemon
post Jan 12 2019, 02:47 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Killy @ Jan 12 2019, 01:57 AM)
this senator needs to be sacked
worse than "u help me, i help u"
not even 1 term already demand this, threat that, soon sure in kambing tong simen again, i help u, u obligate to help me back, u help me, i not to obligate to help u back.
xtrabite
post Jan 12 2019, 07:05 AM

181 posts

Need a police report then baru investigate?
Right.
If opposition, straight to the jail.
Jag23sys
post Jan 12 2019, 07:13 AM

18 posts

*facepalm*
Chowda
post Jan 12 2019, 07:14 AM

86 posts

I did not threaten them, I just turn off my brain when I made that statement
Boldnut
post Jan 12 2019, 07:14 AM

2,202 posts

PH = BN 2.0 without racist gang.
Enzam
post Jan 12 2019, 07:22 AM

169 posts

Ini negara demokrasi tapi jika tak sokong kami, anda akan susah. Ini bukan ugutan tapi fakta. Apa sarahan sayaaaaaa
maraippo
post Jan 12 2019, 07:33 AM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,163 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Jan 12 2019, 01:16 AM)
Malaysiakini got publish the audio file. Buat i malas search. Biasa la. Madey cakap melayu malas
shahrul09
post Jan 12 2019, 08:12 AM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Jan 12 2019, 01:16 AM)
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=U7zBHm38I38&feature=youtu.be

This post has been edited by shahrul09: Jan 12 2019, 08:13 AM
SUStikaram
post Jan 12 2019, 08:23 AM

10,722 posts

I see this as some individual still living in bn time and not yet wakeup.

As long as leader like Anwar stand on EC side it is not serious.

Just like tun M said someone inside bersatu wanted the govt contract . Tun M said this is thier stand n the party stand otherwise.
TSjoe_mamak
post Jan 12 2019, 10:29 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(xtrabite @ Jan 12 2019, 07:05 AM)
Need a police report then baru investigate?
Right.
If opposition, straight to the jail.

In another news report, he elaborated that people who had first hand knowledge should file a report.

He and EC don't have first hand knowledge.

Art Harun is looking to be a very good EC big boss.

0.0141sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:26 PM