Chat Minor annoyances late 2018 HP laptop (wifi & batt)

SUSEBBattlefield
post Jan 11 2019, 11:06 PM, updated 6y ago

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

Just got a HP 14-cm0010ax as a light work laptop.
ala this one sold in Garage sales from months back sales bro
Decided to add SSD onto this thing.

The laptop itself is great for its price of just MYR1700.
Strap an SSD onto it and it boots into Windows in less than 10 seconds.....sometimes 5.
There are some stupid things that HP has done though.

1) The wifi card is crap
The wifi card can support 5ghz wifi signals. However, after installing the default HP wifi drivers, it doesn't detect it.
When I first switched on the laptop, I thought it was just because HP decided to cut cost.
However, when I fresh installed windows onto the SSD though, the laptop ran on default windows wifi drivers and detected the 5ghz band in my house. doh.gif
It turns out, the laptop could run fine on 5g networks, it's just that HP bodo give wrong drivers.

2) Battery plastic

When disassembling this damned plastic fell off out of no where, I thought I broke something, but there was no crack noise....

Turns out, it's just a damned battery support that they didn't bother gluing (unlike the bottom rubber pads that the glued with Gam Gajah made out of Ganesh's semen).

Took me a while to find out where it was suppose to go. doh.gif

3) Most frustrating part: Battery and CMOS (or lack of CMOS)

When I took out the battery to install the SSD, It booted into and said CMOS was reset.
I decided to investigate further by rebooting the windows without the battery installed using only the adapter.
Lo and behold.......the time was not set when I restarted the couple of times without the battery and the time was reset.....

So, in case your battery die out on this model or other cheap HP laptops of the same generation. You're not just losing the ability to use it as a laptop, but the ability to use it as a normal computer with functioning time keeping too.... doh.gif vmad.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

Addon 4) Wifi stopped working

So, I thought wifi card failed.....masuk Bios, do diagnosis....no problem...
masuk balik windows....ada pulak.....

but by that time, I've already deleted the Windows partition on the SSD thinking windows update fucuk it up somehow.

Sekian.

inb4 you get what you paid for.

This post has been edited by EBBattlefield: Jan 12 2019, 01:46 AM
Coldf3ar
post Jan 11 2019, 11:30 PM

496 posts

Hp build quality memang shit. Even their long rubber feet also easily get broken when pull off.
rauma
post Jan 11 2019, 11:44 PM

15 posts

they used little children locked up in concentration camps of a faraway country to assemble them.
shirohamada
post Jan 11 2019, 11:53 PM

944 posts

Hp a shit.

C-Fu
post Jan 12 2019, 12:38 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

this is exactly why I stopped buying "branded" laptops and took the plunge and got myself china branded ones.

no more acer laptops.
no more anus laptops.
no more hp laptops.

laptops as in plural ok. i buy a bunch of laptops every year.

I got a Chuwi. rock solid.
I bought icube. rock solid. battery is huge as well.
and most recent purchase was alldocube thinker. super, super awesome laptop. super bright 3000x2000 touchscreen. 10k mah battery somemore.

best decision I ever made on pc hardware.
maxizanc
post Jan 12 2019, 12:46 AM

5,909 posts

Luckily i follow my heart and bought Acer instead
maxizanc
post Jan 12 2019, 12:49 AM

5,909 posts

But i bought Lenovo about 5 years back rm1k price budget Celeron laptop too. Drivers installation was annoying and consumed time but it served me well and good enough.

While my family hp laptop suffers overheat issue. I think something wrong with the fan
Coldf3ar
post Jan 12 2019, 12:54 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jan 12 2019, 12:46 AM)
Acer is good. And some time if you're lucky, is you can get i7 unit with i5 price/sticker/box. Face it 2 times and regret not buying those haha

C-Fu
post Jan 12 2019, 12:59 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(kopi @ Jan 12 2019, 12:42 AM)
How's gaming on those China laptops
no issues. it's exactly as what you'd expect.

best part is the bios. lu mau underclock ka, undervolt ka, up to you. the options are even more than desktop mobos, no joke (for the thinker model).

granted it's not perfect, and you have to open it up to add thermal paste to reduce temp by -20C, but absolutely spectacular laptop.

I got it for RM1.5k during 12.12 sale at lazatda.
rooney723
post Jan 12 2019, 01:33 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jan 12 2019, 12:49 AM)
But i bought Lenovo about 5 years back rm1k price budget Celeron laptop too. Drivers installation was annoying and consumed time but it served me well and good enough.

While my family hp laptop suffers overheat issue. I think something wrong with the fan
dat was the same lenovo celeron tablet i bought 5 years bck too, agree wif u its rock solid and it only cost rm950 iirc, damn cheap and celeron is fast too, i stick a ssd into it and it run smooth like butter
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jan 12 2019, 01:44 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

hey /k

this tered got incite yindians to riot against ibans ka?

why got report of racial stuff on this tered?
or recently got super troll reporting everything?

C-Fu
post Jan 12 2019, 03:39 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(kopi @ Jan 12 2019, 01:12 AM)
My 6mnth old msi gaming laptop I can't take anywhere battery is pittance 30mins~1hr not gaming I would be surprise. I might need get new portable laptop. That china base laptop on YouTube kinda thin I a bit scared to open it might break something lol.
Well I got myself an ultrabook grade, so yeah.

I need the battery life, and this one more than delivers. set it to standby, and it'll last for more than a day of normal usage, no joke.

if I use it almost continuously with almost zero brightness (still very bright compared to other laptops, the screen is seriously bright), it's about 5-7 hours.
junsheng
post Jan 12 2019, 03:46 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,253 posts

never buy low tier laptop
if u buy those better buy china brand
fabianz03
post Jan 12 2019, 06:03 AM

4,649 posts

Louis Rossman is going to be all over this shit

Oh wait
Zot
post Jan 12 2019, 06:19 AM

7,591 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jan 11 2019, 11:06 PM)
Just got a HP 14-cm0010ax as a light work laptop.
ala this one sold in Garage sales from months back sales bro
Decided to add SSD onto this thing.

The laptop itself is great for its price of just MYR1700.
Strap an SSD onto it and it boots into Windows in less than 10 seconds.....sometimes 5.
There are some stupid things that HP has done though.
1) The wifi card is crap
The wifi card can support 5ghz wifi signals. However, after installing the default HP wifi drivers, it doesn't detect it.
When I first switched on the laptop, I thought it was just because HP decided to cut cost.
However, when I fresh installed windows onto the SSD though, the laptop ran on default windows wifi drivers and detected the 5ghz band in my house. doh.gif
It turns out,  the laptop could run fine on 5g networks, it's just that HP bodo give wrong drivers.
2) Battery plastic

When disassembling this damned plastic fell off out of no where, I thought I broke something, but there was no crack noise....

Turns out, it's just a damned battery support that they didn't bother gluing (unlike the bottom rubber pads that the glued with Gam Gajah made out of Ganesh's semen).

Took me a while to find out where it was suppose to go.  doh.gif
3) Most frustrating part: Battery and CMOS (or lack of CMOS) 

When I took out the battery to install the SSD, It booted into and said CMOS was reset.
I decided to investigate further by rebooting the windows without the battery installed using only the adapter.
Lo and behold.......the time was not set when I restarted the couple of times without the battery and the time was reset.....

So, in case your battery die out on this model or other cheap HP laptops of the same generation. You're not just losing the ability to use it as a laptop, but the ability to use it as a normal computer with functioning time keeping too.... doh.gif  vmad.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

Addon 4) Wifi stopped working

So, I thought wifi card failed.....masuk Bios, do diagnosis....no problem...
masuk balik windows....ada pulak.....

but by that time, I've already deleted the Windows partition on the SSD thinking windows update fucuk it up somehow.

Sekian.

inb4 you get what you paid for.
Mostly sounds like software glitches but are you sure no CMOS battery. Do you know the location? Perhaps you have dead battery.
SliparJepun
post Jan 12 2019, 07:35 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jan 12 2019, 01:44 AM)
hey /k

probably this bro
Gam Gajah made out of Ganesh's semen

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ganesha
pgsiemkia
post Jan 12 2019, 08:05 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jan 11 2019, 11:53 PM)
Hp a shit.
Nowadays really shit and sell so expensive. Even Acrr allao make quality laptop for lower price.

funnyTONE
post Jan 12 2019, 08:14 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,937 posts

I know its racist, but I laff hard your gam gajah statement.
vhs1
post Jan 12 2019, 08:23 AM

2,577 posts

Haha.. That glue. Aduh...QC punya problem kot?

This post has been edited by vhs1: Jan 12 2019, 08:25 AM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jan 12 2019, 09:43 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 12 2019, 06:19 AM)
Mostly sounds like software glitches  but are you sure no CMOS battery. Do you know the location? Perhaps you have dead battery.
The other side of the motherboard should be all empty if my experience with HP laptops over the past 3-4 years serves me right.

Don't see CMOS battery anywhere.

The other things, I think can be fixed via software, but the CMOS I feel definitely is part of the grand scheme to cut cost, considering even Lenovo's latest T series commercial models also need only 6 screws to reach everything.

Heck, even on older laptops, if CMOS battery die, but laptop battery still working, clock will also lari. This one won't lari as long as built in battery is not removed.... doh.gif

This post has been edited by EBBattlefield: Jan 12 2019, 09:48 AM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jan 12 2019, 09:47 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Jan 12 2019, 08:14 AM)
I know its racist, but I laff hard your gam gajah statement.
habis mau apa?

Gam Hippo brand Rosmah ? whistling.gif
United Rulez
post Jan 12 2019, 10:19 AM

660 posts

hey /k

(unlike the bottom rubber pads that the glued with Gam Gajah made out of Ganesh's semen).

Edited:sorry didnt know

This post has been edited by United Rulez: Jan 12 2019, 10:50 AM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jan 12 2019, 10:27 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(United Rulez @ Jan 12 2019, 10:19 AM)
Maybe Ganesh butthurt kot?
Who is he and what he did to you, until need his sperm to be made into glue?
elephant god

he butthurt cause i worship monkey king only
azbro
post Jan 12 2019, 10:48 AM

4,319 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jan 12 2019, 03:39 AM)
Well I got myself an ultrabook grade, so yeah.

I need the battery life, and this one more than delivers. set it to standby, and it'll last for more than a day of normal usage, no joke.

if I use it almost continuously with almost zero brightness (still very bright compared to other laptops, the screen is seriously bright), it's about 5-7 hours.
Hmm.. If its so great but rosak how?

Where can repair under / out of warranty.
United Rulez
post Jan 12 2019, 10:49 AM

660 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jan 12 2019, 10:27 AM)
elephant god

he butthurt cause i worship monkey king only
Woah. Didnt know that....wtf why you wanna involve other pipul god. Better edit my post 1st
azbro
post Jan 12 2019, 10:54 AM

4,319 posts

I'm using all HP laptops and desktop and the WiFi capability is questionable.

Even my 2006 old antique laptop can detect '5G' WiFi signals and connect to it. But is it really '5G' or not?

Just like your handphone can connect to Telco 4G+ but actual speed like kura2.

This post has been edited by azbro: Jan 12 2019, 10:55 AM
fun_feng
post Jan 12 2019, 11:01 AM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

who is ganesh?
duplicated
post Jan 12 2019, 11:09 AM

651 posts

HP 2 women CEO. Both also failed. After they took over, quality dropped.

Lenovo thinkpad is the best laptop.
Jay Chua CC
post Jan 12 2019, 11:39 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

want good? buy premium range pls. most brand have. Dont buy cheap 2k-3k laptops then complain shit.

lenovo - thinkpad
dell- xps
hp- spectre
asus- zenbook
apple- macbook
huawei- matebook
xiaomi- mibook
myteam94
post Jan 12 2019, 11:43 AM

400 posts

why my company HP laptop really selow?

forget the model

I5-7th gen
radeon graphic
4GB ram
1TB 5400rpm HDD
win10

can't even open many tabs before started to lag like shite...
thought wanna upgrade to 8GB but sked becoz company laptop

maxizanc
post Jan 12 2019, 11:55 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 12 2019, 10:54 AM)

Even my 2006 old antique laptop can detect '5G' WiFi signals and connect to it. But is it really '5G' or not?

Do speed test la.

2.4g usually can get half speed only. Say ur unifi 100mbps, 2.4g only 30-50mbps.

I guess la

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jan 12 2019, 11:58 AM
shirohamada
post Jan 12 2019, 11:58 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 12 2019, 10:54 AM)

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

it's 5GHz.

5G telco is microwave band. it fries your brain.
maxizanc
post Jan 12 2019, 12:00 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jan 12 2019, 11:58 AM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

it's 5GHz.

5G telco is microwave band. it fries your brain.
Also can be called 5g ma. Usually when people explain verbally the term is "5g wifi" easier to say
Kaellis
post Jan 12 2019, 12:18 PM

WTF i'm reading....
1,231 posts

just say Wireless AC

apa susah
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jan 12 2019, 12:30 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 12 2019, 11:39 AM)
want good? buy premium range pls. most brand have. Dont buy cheap 2k-3k laptops then complain shit.

lenovo - thinkpad
dell- xps
hp- spectre
asus- zenbook
apple- macbook
huawei- matebook
xiaomi- mibook
you bodo.

Buy HP, want premium? Get Elitebook la......spectre is overpriced consumer crap.

Asus even worse.......ah beng style until if bring into office, next day get fired by HR for losing face to kompeni client.

Dell commercial line is lattitude la........XPS is just low end alienware/ high end inspiron for gaming spec.
For Prosumer spec, it's like Lenovo Yoga only....

Thinkpad memang la, but T series cost 4k brand new lo. The issue here is cheap laptop until so cheap meh?
Also, I haven't touched the newest gen Pavilion yet, but while going through online videos of teardowns to locate that stupid plastic piece, I've noticed that even Pavillions have the same mobo layout. Quite possibly will have same issue (CMOS) , despite costing up to 3k+

This post has been edited by EBBattlefield: Jan 12 2019, 12:32 PM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jan 12 2019, 12:34 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(United Rulez @ Jan 12 2019, 10:49 AM)
Woah. Didnt know that....wtf why you wanna involve other pipul god.  Better edit my post 1st
bekuz where got Gajah more powderful than Dewa Gajah ? laugh.gif

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Jan 12 2019, 11:43 AM)

forget the model

I5-7th gen
radeon graphic
4GB ram
1TB 5400rpm HDD
win10

your case konpem not enough RAM lo.....................
you open task manager and see........konpem 80% usage already while just surfing /k
Ask IT sponsor RAM and SSD upgrade la......That's the first thing I did when I got this crappy laptop. 240G SSD + 12G RAM makes it fly biggrin.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Jan 12 2019, 12:38 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jan 12 2019, 12:30 PM)
you bodo.

Buy HP, want premium? Get Elitebook la......spectre is overpriced consumer crap.

Asus even worse.......ah beng style until if bring into office, next day get fired by HR for losing face to kompeni client.

Dell commercial line is lattitude la........XPS is just low end alienware/ high end inspiron for gaming spec.
For Prosumer spec, it's like Lenovo Yoga only....

Thinkpad memang la, but T series cost 4k brand new lo. The issue here is cheap laptop until so cheap meh?
Also, I haven't touched the newest gen Pavilion yet, but while going through online videos of teardowns to locate that stupid plastic piece, I've noticed that even Pavillions have the same mobo layout. Quite possibly will have same issue (CMOS) , despite costing up to 3k+
I nust giving examples. Im using alien and macbook so dun hav this type of issue aside from shit windows software issue.

C-Fu
post Jan 12 2019, 12:45 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 12 2019, 11:39 AM)

research a bit, then take the plunge and buy china branded laptops.

I went all in. never been happier. you get so much for so little.

best part is, if you go to shenzhen, all laptops are upgradable. even ones that western brands try so hard to make it unupgradable.
soulseeker6187
post Jan 12 2019, 12:50 PM

2,765 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Jan 12 2019, 11:43 AM)

forget the model

I5-7th gen
radeon graphic
4GB ram
1TB 5400rpm HDD
win10

Main problem.
Change ssd+ram. Confirm laju.
Zot
post Jan 12 2019, 02:43 PM

7,591 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jan 12 2019, 09:43 AM)
The other side of the motherboard should be all empty if my experience with HP laptops over the past 3-4 years serves me right.

Don't see CMOS battery anywhere.

The other things, I think can be fixed via software, but the CMOS I feel definitely is part of the grand scheme to cut cost, considering even Lenovo's latest T series commercial models also need only 6 screws to reach everything.

Heck, even on older laptops, if CMOS battery die, but laptop battery still working, clock will also lari. This one won't lari as long as built in battery is not removed.... doh.gif
I think the HP one need to remove RAM/HDD cover and under that
Jay Chua CC
post Jan 12 2019, 08:26 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jan 12 2019, 12:45 PM)

best part is, if you go to shenzhen, all laptops are upgradable. even ones that western brands try so hard to make it unupgradable.
nope. i stick to alienware. My next target is Area 51 Alienware bruce.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jan 13 2019, 12:03 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 12 2019, 02:43 PM)
I think the HP one need to remove RAM/HDD cover and under that
nothing under this HDD and RAM.

I know because they didn't even bother putting one screw on the HDD and it fell out when I was disassembling the laptop to install the SSD......... doh.gif
at least the HDD wasn't running and the only dent was on my desk....not the HDD
izaydi
post Jan 13 2019, 12:13 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jan 12 2019, 12:45 PM)

bro rekemen me good china brand laptop. i also want all in.
agent sawyer
post Jan 13 2019, 12:15 PM

Asus > all

hey /k

Don't know if you're legit retarded, or you didn't realise your Ganesh semen comment is quite insulting
Stigonboard
post Jan 13 2019, 12:17 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jan 12 2019, 12:46 AM)
This

Dont buy HP

HP stopped having a hand in their laptop manufacturing quite some time and actually selling it in the future

Only Acer and Dell is making their own laptop nowadays and other brand just like OEM laptops made from third party sources
Zot
post Jan 13 2019, 01:25 PM

7,591 posts

QUOTE(Stigonboard @ Jan 13 2019, 12:17 PM)
This
Dont buy HP

HP stopped having a hand in their laptop manufacturing quite some time and actually selling it in the future

Only Acer and Dell is making their own laptop nowadays and other brand just like OEM laptops made from third party sources
What you mean? Dell is not even PC manufacturer, but assembler only. This is because they customize according to customer requirement to certain extend. All their part are outsourced. Dell assembled in many country. Look at their tag. If suffix is S - Singapore, I - India, J - Japan, etc.

Forget about Acer. Their PC/laptop are made in China.

This post has been edited by Zot: Jan 13 2019, 01:27 PM
Stigonboard
post Jan 13 2019, 02:41 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 13 2019, 01:25 PM)
What you mean? Dell is not even PC manufacturer, but assembler only. This is because they customize according to customer requirement to certain extend. All their part are outsourced. Dell assembled in many country. Look at their tag. If suffix is S - Singapore, I - India, J - Japan, etc.

Lol not manufacturer?

Design and factory is still owned by Dell
They have lot of factories and of course the part is outsourced - even Apple outsourced their parts but the main thing they still hold and design their own unlike HP where they just simply leasing out their brand name.

How i know? Ex Dell Bayan Lepas/Cyberjaya employee here
maxizanc
post Jan 13 2019, 02:44 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 13 2019, 01:25 PM)

Still got nitebook made in other than China? hmm.gif

Last time even Sony and Fujitsu made in China. Until they are dead lelz

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jan 13 2019, 02:45 PM
abu.shofwan
post Jan 13 2019, 03:31 PM

1,455 posts

I like laptops that provide both hdd and possible addon ssd without having to throw away the hdd.

What kind of m2 ssd you got there?
Zot
post Jan 13 2019, 04:53 PM

7,591 posts

QUOTE(Stigonboard @ Jan 13 2019, 02:41 PM)
Lol not manufacturer?

Design and factory is still owned by Dell
They have lot of factories and of course the part is outsourced - even Apple outsourced their parts but the main thing they still hold and design their own unlike HP where they just simply leasing out their brand name.

How i know? Ex Dell Bayan Lepas/Cyberjaya employee here
That is why I said not manufacturer. The Dell factory is assembly. They design or even get other to design and to save cost, just buy off shelves product. No need to invent something that can be found suitable.

Many big US company just assemble part in their factory. That is why I said not manufacturing but assembly line. I also used to to work in contract manufacturing and also in principal companies that produced equipment for wireless communications.
Zot
post Jan 13 2019, 04:54 PM

7,591 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jan 13 2019, 02:44 PM)
Still got nitebook made in other than China? hmm.gif

Last time even Sony and Fujitsu made in China. Until they are dead lelz
Well if not China, then most likely Mexico smile.gif But now thing produced in China by US companies or things to export to the US are moved to Malaysia companies. Thanks to Trump for imposing tas to China products biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Zot: Jan 13 2019, 04:56 PM
Stigonboard
post Jan 14 2019, 07:41 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 13 2019, 04:53 PM)
That is why I said not manufacturer. The Dell factory is assembly. They design or even get other to design and to save cost, just buy off shelves product. No need to invent something that can be found suitable.

Many big US company just assemble part in their factory. That is why I said not manufacturing but assembly line. I also used to to work in contract manufacturing and also in principal companies that produced equipment for wireless communications.
You talking bullshit here

Dell design and manufacture their own laptop - i was part of the AIMS team in Penang that support their manufacturing and design team

Stop lumping in Dell with HP

0.0223sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:21 PM