Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages  1 2 3 >Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> How could i expand WIFI converage ?

views
     
TSofficeBoy
post Jan 11 2019, 06:21 PM, updated 5 months ago

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
714 posts

Joined: Sep 2004
Good day,
I would like to seek for expert opinion on WIFI signal expansion, first of all, i'm using Maxis 4G LTE, the router is located at ground floor, however the signal unable to detect from 3rd floor, may i know what should i do in order to expand the WIFI coverage, what device or approach needed to handle my case ?

I'm using MaxisOne
https://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/intern...ne-go-wifi.html

Thanks in advance !

This post has been edited by officeBoy: Jan 11 2019, 06:27 PM
acbc
post Jan 11 2019, 06:24 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,883 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
WiFi as long weak is useless no matter how u boost the signal. I ended pulling cables from ground floor to third floor and connect to another access point.
derrickykt
post Jan 11 2019, 06:27 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
37 posts

Joined: Jul 2014
If want 100% getting full speed is pulling cables.
TSofficeBoy
post Jan 11 2019, 06:32 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
714 posts

Joined: Sep 2004
Oh, so the network cable will be very long then ? could you enlighten me what do you means by another access point ? need to buy another modem or router ? sorry, a bit dumb on these sad.gif

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 11 2019, 06:24 PM)
WiFi as long weak is useless no matter how u boost the signal. I ended pulling cables from ground floor to third floor and connect to another access point.
*
acbc
post Jan 11 2019, 06:47 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,883 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(officeBoy @ Jan 11 2019, 06:32 PM)
Oh, so the network cable will be very long then ? could you enlighten me what do you means by another access point ? need to buy another modem or router ? sorry, a bit dumb on these sad.gif
*
Means pull a long cable from existing wireless router to 3rd floor and connect to another wireless access point. U will have 2 WiFi after this. One to serve ground floor and another to serve 3rd floor.
TSofficeBoy
post Jan 11 2019, 07:06 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
714 posts

Joined: Sep 2004
Thanks Bro, what model of wireless access point you are using ?

Wireless access point is somehow like this ?
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wireless-300...2a-c01bd4eabb9b

in this case, will need to drill the wall ? cry.gif

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 11 2019, 06:47 PM)
Means pull a long cable from existing wireless router to 3rd floor and connect to another wireless access point. U will have 2 WiFi after this. One to serve ground floor and another to serve 3rd floor.
*
acbc
post Jan 11 2019, 07:57 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,883 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(officeBoy @ Jan 11 2019, 07:06 PM)
Thanks Bro, what model of wireless access point you are using ?

Wireless access point is somehow like this ?
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wireless-300...2a-c01bd4eabb9b

in this case, will need to drill the wall ? cry.gif
*
I've using Apple Airport Express to cover 2 levels at home. Signal much more stable than my previous Netgear EX6200. Now looking for another Airport Express to cover ground floor.
taqu
post Jan 11 2019, 08:00 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
542 posts

Joined: May 2005
No need to buy an AP. Even normal routers can be turned into AP.
syaifau
post Jan 11 2019, 08:08 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
17 posts

Joined: Nov 2011


have u tried powerline adapters?
they are basically power adapters that can extend the wired network connection via network cable thru the power outlet inside the house.

https://www.techradar.com/sg/news/the-best-...erline-adaptors

i have one connecting from the UNIFI router on the ground floor and the other one serving internet to my PS4 on the 2nd floor. speed is like connecting directly to the UNIFI router downstairs.

ldragon
post Jan 11 2019, 09:35 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
753 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Can try mesh wireless network
Asus lyra trio
https://www.asus.com/my/Networking/Lyra-Trio/

tp-link deco m9 plus
https://www.tp-link.com/my/products/details...co-M9-Plus.html
acbc
post Jan 11 2019, 09:42 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,883 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(syaifau @ Jan 11 2019, 08:08 PM)
have u tried powerline adapters?
they are basically power adapters that can extend the wired network connection via network cable thru the power outlet inside the house.

https://www.techradar.com/sg/news/the-best-...erline-adaptors

i have one connecting from the UNIFI router on the ground floor and the other one serving internet to my PS4 on the 2nd floor. speed is like connecting directly to the UNIFI router downstairs.
*
Only work on single phase wiring. Beyond that, performance very slow.
TSofficeBoy
post Jan 12 2019, 07:03 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
714 posts

Joined: Sep 2004
Thanks buddy, really appreciated everyone's guidance here !
TSofficeBoy
post Jan 12 2019, 07:06 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
714 posts

Joined: Sep 2004
Bro, how much need to spend for airport express, is it require Mac or any challenge to setup it ?

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 11 2019, 07:57 PM)
I've using Apple Airport Express to cover 2 levels at home. Signal much more stable than my previous Netgear EX6200. Now looking for another Airport Express to cover ground floor.
*
acbc
post Jan 12 2019, 07:07 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,883 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(officeBoy @ Jan 12 2019, 07:06 PM)
Bro, how much need to spend for airport express, is it require Mac or any challenge to setup it ?
*
Any iOS device and set it up.

Airport Express is obsolete now. Only can find used. Better look for something modern instead.
junclj
post Jan 12 2019, 09:43 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,762 posts

Joined: Apr 2008


Solution 1: Pulling LAN networks then install AP routers.
Solution 2: Buy 2 units Asus RT-AC86U to create aimesh. Put 1 router in each floor.
taqu
post Jan 13 2019, 12:24 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
542 posts

Joined: May 2005
QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 11 2019, 09:42 PM)
Only work on single phase wiring. Beyond that, performance very slow.
*
Powerline can work on 3-phase, but you need to ensure both plugs are at same phase. Plus if you have high-powered electrical appliances eg fridge or aircond on the same phase, performance is reduced. You need to test yourself.

I use powerline before and it can bring 40-50 mbps from ground floor to upstair. Not bad when my Internet speed at time is only 50 mbps.
xakarix84
post Jan 13 2019, 08:54 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
418 posts

Joined: Jun 2005
how about extend the phone cable to 2F and setup router there? then wifi should be okay for all 1F to 3F. use dect phone if u need at 1F.
wurz
post Jan 14 2019, 08:22 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
163 posts

Joined: Sep 2005
From: PJ, Selangor!


Any wifi repeater and USB wifi adapter you recommend?

Want to utilize my 500mpbs Time internet in my condo.

My current desktop computer uses a USB stick that only receives 2.4ghz wifi only, but it is a bit far from my router

Using D-link 850L

SilentVampire
post Jan 14 2019, 10:04 AM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,256 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(wurz @ Jan 14 2019, 08:22 AM)
Any wifi repeater and USB wifi adapter you recommend?

Want to utilize my 500mpbs Time internet in my condo.

My current desktop computer uses a USB stick that only receives 2.4ghz wifi only, but it is a bit far from my router

Using D-link 850L
*
Change router and change wireless adapter. Repeater is not recommended. See my signature for list of router and repeater.
TSofficeBoy
post Jan 21 2019, 10:52 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
714 posts

Joined: Sep 2004
Bro, What is the router model you recommend?

Sorry, it is too long and i'm not network guy sad.gif

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 14 2019, 10:04 AM)
Change router and change wireless adapter. Repeater is not recommended. See my signature for list of router and repeater.
*

3 Pages  1 2 3 >Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0388sec    1.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd September 2019 - 09:11 AM