NICU neonatal intensive care unit, Planning to switch hospital
doczane
Jan 11 2019, 02:42 PM

NICU in private may go up to RM1k per day. So think wisely before going. Due to low patient numbers and better nurse to baby ratio, your child may have better care. But don’t underestimate the better experience of gomen nicu staff who handles much larger numbers. They can be better than docs sometimes. Babies will BO usually within post feeding. Not necessarily few times per post feed. If no BO more than 3 days, only should u be concerned. Be patient, u can attend to your baby as frequently as possible to improve mum baby bonding rather than expecting the overworked nurses. It improve your baby’s immunity as well so less incidence of infection while waiting for weight gain. What’s his weight now? Usually >1.8kg can go home
This post has been edited by doczane: Jan 11 2019, 02:42 PM
doczane
Jan 11 2019, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 11 2019, 02:27 PM) Has anyone ever switch their baby from one hospital NICU to another? My baby is in NICU at govt hospital. I can see they are understaffed. Most babies were fed n a rush using syringe and most of the milk just overflowed from their mouth. I ve tried to breastfeed as much as i can but not always succesful because premature baby tends to fall asleep all the time. If nurses saw me therrle, they just assume they dont have to feed my bb later. My baby's weight keep dropping and i m thinking to switch to nearer private hospital. My baby can have 3 change of diapers per feed, but wheb i voiced concern, they just told me it s normal. The earlier estimated stay at nicu just keep on prolonging. Will govt hospital allow release of baby from their nicu to private hosp? Parents have autonomy over their child’s care, of course u can take him out to another hospital if condition is permitting. If he’s unstable, hospital won’t allow but u can overrule them by signing AOR ( At own risk ) discharge which frees the hospital from any legal liability due to the decision. Nurses have proper charting of the baby’s feed, they observe or will note you feeding him and they’ll chart it accordingly. So they’ll feed once the next cycle due if u are not around. All has system dear, we are not 3rd world country. But human error can happen, support them and make their life easier as well. Mistrust will cause over cautious and avoidance in their part which could lead to neglect. So loosen up
doczane
Jan 11 2019, 09:07 PM

Your concern sounds valid and you have been observant enough about it seems. My suggestion is you could first bring up your concern to the sister or matron in charge of the nicu about the issues to let them be aware of your concern or clarifies with you of their routine and handling of missed feeding. Any dismissal or reluctance about it from their part, you can bring it up to the specialist neonatologist in charge of your baby. Make an appointment to see him/ her, they’ll surely oblige. Prem babies are given either breast milk or specialized higher calorie formulation made for prem babies. Nurses will give them to your baby only if your expressed breastmilk is insufficient for his requirement as supplement Other option of handling babies with poor weight gain is giving milk by orogastric tube by continuous infusion in a scheduled period of time. If this is also insufficient, only then they will supplement your baby with nutrition solution through intravenous administration, the Neonatalogist in charge will decide on this upon monitoring your baby’s progress. All this method are routine in nicu setting even in government hospitals, it can be expensive in private hospital setting as all these are heavily subsidized in gomen. A pack of IV nutrition can cost few hundreds per day. Unless there is true neglect and poor progress on the hospital part despite you discussing with them about it and certain there is no other cause for it, then its fair for you to take him elsewhere. Anyhow, do discuss it properly with the managing team and be tactful about it sincerely for the best outcome for your precious baby. He’s already 1.6kg, 200g to go, won’t be long now, stay strong for him at this critical period of his life ya.