Other ISP TNB Fiber Pilot Run, Anybody in Jasin, Melaka lucky enough?

TSJoseph Hahn
post Jan 8 2019, 04:55 PM, updated 7y ago

kpop k
6,410 posts

Taman Merbau Perdana
Taman Maju
Felda Kemendor
Kuarters Polis Jasin

Anybody from these 4 places? Untunglah.
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jan 8 2019, 08:33 PM
ArrowHater
post Jan 8 2019, 06:29 PM

175 posts

Untunglah. Can i reach them for plant it at my area? My area damn kampung no unifi😭😭
MrSpeedy
post Jan 8 2019, 07:16 PM

460 posts

Wow so many choices.
I still don't get it. Why offer the same price for the same services (except Astro with TV bundles) while all tumpang the same TNB optical line?
Which mean confirm la City Broadband 50Mbps @RM79 is the clear winner here...
Why wasted money for the same quality? (hopefully the dont follow TM's 30Mbps plan style w/ 60GB quota)
JohnLai
post Jan 8 2019, 07:33 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Why no RM100 for 100Mbps? sad.gif
dejiar
post Jan 8 2019, 08:10 PM

487 posts

almost time to say good bye to TM.
But...hope my kampung have this TNB fiber
imalmighty
post Jan 8 2019, 08:11 PM

mic test
735 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 8 2019, 07:33 PM)
Why no RM100 for 100Mbps?  sad.gif
City broandband 100M@rm99?
JohnLai
post Jan 8 2019, 08:15 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Jan 8 2019, 08:11 PM)
City broandband 100M@rm99?
blink.gif
I must be blind for not seeing that brochure in first place......

sleyer
post Jan 8 2019, 08:26 PM

829 posts

can anyone explain .. tnb using Fiber cable same like TM or other technology ? still dint have many info in this infra
TSJoseph Hahn
post Jan 8 2019, 08:33 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Here's Astro punya package.

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jan 8 2019, 07:16 PM)
Wow so many choices.
I still don't get it. Why offer the same price for the same services (except Astro with TV bundles) while all tumpang the same TNB optical line?
Why wasted money for the same quality? (hopefully the dont follow TM's 30Mbps plan style w/ 60GB quota)
Celcom & City clearly stated in the brochure but not Digi but most probably unlimited too.

QUOTE(sleyer @ Jan 8 2019, 08:26 PM)
can anyone explain ..  tnb using Fiber cable same like TM or other technology ?  still dint have many info in this infra

Yes fiber too.

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Jan 8 2019, 08:37 PM
sleyer
post Jan 8 2019, 08:45 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jan 8 2019, 08:33 PM)
Here's Astro punya package.
Celcom & City clearly stated in the brochure but not Digi but most probably unlimited too.

Yes fiber too.
so what difference tm and TNB? hmm.gif hmm.gif
cT.!Kee!
post Jan 8 2019, 08:46 PM

62 posts

Pekan Mahang Kedah place house is no area all fibre... sad.gif
soonwai
post Jan 8 2019, 09:21 PM


11,459 posts

Jasin here I come!
mztang52
post Jan 9 2019, 09:04 AM

Before you quit, TRY
2,807 posts

Hooorayyy time to boycott maxis and unifi
junclj
post Jan 9 2019, 09:08 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jan 8 2019, 04:55 PM)
Taman Merbau Perdana
Taman Maju
Felda Kemendor
Kuarters Polis Jasin

My current unifi 500mbps is RM179/mth, if my area got this city broadband, I will immediately switch to that RM139/mth
JayceOoi
post Jan 9 2019, 10:24 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Haha... Just managed to sign up UniFi nia. Will test this after 2 years. smile.gif
powerwoot
post Jan 9 2019, 10:53 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

TM is looking into these seriously, no wonder many area in Melaka they upgraded their conventional cooper into fiber. I see many main roads in rural area now got FDC in some of the poles. At least they can hold many new contracts for their users before the TNB fibers fully implemented.
JayceOoi
post Jan 9 2019, 12:05 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jan 9 2019, 10:53 AM)
TM is looking into these seriously, no wonder many area in Melaka they upgraded their conventional cooper into fiber. I see many main roads in rural area now got FDC in some of the poles. At least they can hold many new contracts for their users before the TNB fibers fully implemented.
Yes, I am one of the lucky that get UniFi after waiting for 'N' years. At least, TM has me for another 2 years. blush.gif
arturo_bandini
post Jan 9 2019, 01:03 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jan 8 2019, 04:55 PM)
Taman Merbau Perdana
Taman Maju
Felda Kemendor
Kuarters Polis Jasin

lol, city broadband put "ip: dynamic" as precision, but the real issue is not ip is static or dynamic. static ip always costs a bomb with any isp; by default we can always assume that an isp will give us dynamic ip, not static.

i have a feeling the guy who made the brochure got confused and wanted to say "private dynamic ip", just like a typical natted ip we get from mobile telcos. i suggest those who are thinking of dumping unifi to get this package to ask for clarification from city broadband first. private ip will not support many of the applications we normally use for home broadband (smart home, CCTV, home server, etc).
MR_alien
post Jan 9 2019, 03:55 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jan 8 2019, 07:16 PM)
Wow so many choices.
although same fiber but different ISP manages their own network and route
same like TM and maxis uses the same fiber but both offer different ping and different downtime
MR_alien
post Jan 9 2019, 03:59 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(arturo_bandini @ Jan 9 2019, 01:03 PM)
lol, city broadband put "ip: dynamic" as precision, but the real issue is not ip is static or dynamic. static ip always costs a bomb with any isp; by default we can always assume that an isp will give us dynamic ip, not static.

i have a feeling the guy who made the brochure got confused and wanted to say "private dynamic ip", just like a typical natted ip we get from mobile telcos. i suggest those who are thinking of dumping unifi to get this package to ask for clarification from city broadband first. private ip will not support many of the applications we normally use for home broadband (smart home, CCTV, home server, etc).
only business users get to use static IP
most home users only get to use dynamic IP
nowadays most TM home users are using "private dynamic IP" as well
last time when dynamic IP, the IP keeps jumping...from 175, 124, 60.52...etc etc
thn slowly all become private dynamic IP which mean you're under dynamic IP(175) but it's shared among many..so your ip address will be 10.XX.XX.XXX...private IP address
jimlim007
post Jan 9 2019, 09:27 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

Anyone know what is the TNB technology that they did in Jasin Melaka? is it something similar to TM, tarik fibre, hook up white box, etc? or completely new? I just want to estimate how quick TNB fibre broandband can roll out to whole msia. thanks!

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Jan 9 2019, 09:28 PM
SilentVampire
post Jan 9 2019, 09:35 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jan 9 2019, 09:27 PM)
Anyone know what is the TNB technology that they did in Jasin Melaka? is it something similar to TM, tarik fibre, hook up white box, etc? or completely new? I just want to estimate how quick TNB fibre broandband can roll out to whole msia.  thanks!
Nope. They use the power lines. See here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broadband_over_power_lines
jimlim007
post Jan 9 2019, 09:36 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Jan 9 2019, 10:24 AM)
Haha... Just managed to sign up UniFi nia. Will test this after 2 years. smile.gif
oh shit, faster than me
Neptern
post Jan 9 2019, 10:10 PM

518 posts

Is this technology reliable? How come nobody else is using it? It does support very high speeds though.

Any disadvantages?
kino318
post Jan 9 2019, 10:19 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Jan 9 2019, 10:10 PM)
Is this technology reliable? How come nobody else is using it? It does support very high speeds though.

Any disadvantages?
Pls read the news again. TNB just started the pilot run at Jasin, Melaka.
pandamerah
post Jan 9 2019, 10:29 PM

54 posts

It may not be common knowledge but TNB owns one of the most extensive high-speed fibre networks in the country. Running along the power utility’s transmission lines, the infrastructure simply has not been put to commercial use over the years.

Currently, the fibre network is primarily used for TNB’s SCADA (supervisory control and data acquisition) systems. This was supposed to change with the National Fiberization Plan 2017-2019 (NFP) that was announced by Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Seri Salleh Said Keruak earlier this year.

Source:
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/news...s-fibre-network
Neptern
post Jan 9 2019, 10:34 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(kino318 @ Jan 9 2019, 10:19 PM)
Pls read the news again. TNB just started the pilot run at Jasin, Melaka.
I guess the fibre optic cables runs along side with the power cables at least to the substation? Did i get it correctly?
System Error Message
post Jan 10 2019, 12:51 AM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Jan 9 2019, 10:34 PM)
I guess the fibre optic cables runs along side with the power cables at least to the substation? Did i get it correctly?
No, its literally powerline technology where data is sent over electrical cables using the mainly voltage and frequency modulation (most likely KV over high frequency). It is estimated that most of the space in copper cables are not used. To give a few references
https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/8-things-powe...eed-know-first/
Essentially its an upscale version of what you can use at home.

However that 1Gb/s is unimpressive actually but its a media catch, we think it means we get 1Gb/s to the house, but truthfully it means the backbone connection is a poultry 1Gb/s, so that means it can only support 100 users at 10Mb/s simultaneously for example. It is also half duplex as well.

To give you another example

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-at-t-int...s-idUSKBN1E70GB

The backbone is unimpressive for wired internet, but if one needs to extend wireless internet like mobile internet cheaply this is one way to do it as you have both power and data on the same cable utilising existing infrastructure. Laying fiber optics is actually not cheap.

The ones used at home at most are rated for 2Gb/s (i have a pair of them), in practice they sync at 10x less speed providing 200Mb/s over ground, live and neutral using 240V 50Hz encoding in live/neutral, and some other high frequency on ground if conditions permit.

This post has been edited by System Error Message: Jan 10 2019, 12:52 AM
mytaffeta
post Jan 10 2019, 03:25 AM

1,327 posts

from theedge :
"Currently, the fibre network is primarily used for TNB’s SCADA (supervisory control and data acquisition) systems. "

its not using the powerline technology i think.. TNB has their own backbone fiber just like TM but only utilize for their own network, now the want to use is for public.. Neptern is correct..

izhamsatria
post Jan 10 2019, 03:38 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Jan 10 2019, 12:51 AM)
No, its literally powerline technology where data is sent over electrical cables using the mainly voltage and frequency modulation (most likely KV over high frequency). It is estimated that most of the space in copper cables are not used. To give a few references
https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/8-things-powe...eed-know-first/
Essentially its an upscale version of what you can use at home.

However that 1Gb/s is unimpressive actually but its a media catch, we think it means we get 1Gb/s to the house, but truthfully it means the backbone connection is a poultry 1Gb/s, so that means it can only support 100 users at 10Mb/s simultaneously for example. It is also half duplex as well.

To give you another example

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-at-t-int...s-idUSKBN1E70GB

The backbone is unimpressive for wired internet, but if one needs to extend wireless internet like mobile internet cheaply this is one way to do it as you have both power and data on the same cable utilising existing infrastructure. Laying fiber optics is actually not cheap.

The ones used at home at most are rated for 2Gb/s (i have a pair of them), in practice they sync at 10x less speed providing 200Mb/s over ground, live and neutral using 240V 50Hz encoding in live/neutral, and some other high frequency on ground if conditions permit.
No, they're not using Broadband over power lines - instead they use current electric poles to lay out Gpon network. Yes they do have extensive fiber networks through out Malaysia but they still needs to connect the last mile connection to customers home using fiber - which they provide to other isps, thus 'the open access'.

See more in actions: https://photos.app.goo.gl/HGuJCmGWH1eJMP4d9

This post has been edited by izhamsatria: Jan 10 2019, 03:47 AM
prototype
post Jan 10 2019, 08:10 AM

168 posts

they are using passive optical network (PON).. similar to unifi

amirsubhi
post Jan 10 2019, 10:01 AM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 9 2019, 03:59 PM)
last time when dynamic IP, the IP keeps jumping...from 175, 124, 60.52...etc etc
thn slowly all become private dynamic IP which mean you're under dynamic IP(175) but it's shared among many..so your ip address will be 10.XX.XX.XXX...private IP address
all unifi package still public dynamic ip so far afaik.

Maxis, you can request for public dynamic ip

other telco not sure in detail though
MR_alien
post Jan 10 2019, 10:09 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Jan 10 2019, 10:01 AM)

i'm on streamyx, 2 years ago...my ip address switch frm dynamic to private already
if check what is my ip, it will be the usual 175, 124, 60.52 but inside my modem is 10.XX.XXX.XXX

actually no difference unless u wanna run things like CCTV thn need public IP
TSJoseph Hahn
post Jan 14 2019, 11:11 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(izhamsatria @ Jan 10 2019, 03:38 AM)
No, they're not using Broadband over power lines - instead they use current electric poles to lay out Gpon network. Yes they do have extensive fiber networks through out Malaysia but they still needs to connect the last mile connection to customers home using fiber - which they provide to other isps, thus 'the open access'.

See more in actions: https://photos.app.goo.gl/HGuJCmGWH1eJMP4d9
Wow thanks bro. Taman Maju? I also pusing-pusing last Saturday and found out that they are still installing the cables at some other places. Furthest is Kesang Jaya which is so close to my house.

Anyway, can mod merge with my thread? Thanks.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4719829
miloaisdino
post Jan 14 2019, 08:17 PM

1,418 posts

ya apparently the ground wire for major high voltage connections between substations already have dark fibre strands hidden inside, so there's your backbone network doh.gif

now all thats left is to connect the last mile
powerwoot
post Jan 15 2019, 07:37 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

Now what we are interested now the coverage expansion, is there any area to be covered after Jasin?
DuitNow
post Jan 16 2019, 03:10 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 9 2019, 03:59 PM)
Can request.

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Jan 10 2019, 10:01 AM)

Oh, what about mobile broadband eg celcom, maxis, umobile, digi etc?
Using private dynamic ip or public dynamic ip?

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 10 2019, 10:09 AM)
i'm on streamyx, 2 years ago...my ip address switch frm dynamic to private already
if check what is my ip, it will be the usual 175, 124, 60.52 but inside my modem is 10.XX.XXX.XXX

actually no difference unless u wanna run things like CCTV thn need public IP
Got difference for me, less lagging stuttering even browsing here. And also game of course. biggrin.gif
mrchloo
post Apr 27 2019, 06:43 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jan 15 2019, 07:37 AM)
Now what we are interested now the coverage expansion, is there any area to be covered after Jasin?
Tnb is laying cable around taman2
bdr putra permai. Seri kembangan
HariszKilz
post Apr 27 2019, 07:18 PM

239 posts

I hope TNB deploy Fibre in my area soon cause TM isn't doing anything despite the demand and the growing population. Even the price is a scam. If TNB deploys their Fibre in area without Fibre especially rural and Sub Urban area, people would ditch TM and move to TNB and then TM would make some move.

Even at my TMPoint is had this advertise but the max speed can reach in my area is 10Mbps. What's the point of promoting this ? sleep.gif

QuantumEdge
post Apr 27 2019, 08:05 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(HariszKilz @ Apr 27 2019, 07:18 PM)
I hope TNB deploy Fibre in my area soon cause TM isn't doing anything despite the demand and the growing population. Even the price is a scam. If TNB deploys their Fibre in area without Fibre especially rural and Sub Urban area, people would ditch TM and move to TNB and then TM would make some move.

Even at my TMPoint is had this advertise but the max speed can reach in my area is 10Mbps. What's the point of promoting this ? sleep.gif
You share the same issue as me then, been waiting years for Unifi
2 years ago agents came to my taman to collect names of those who wanna register for Unifi, saying it would be avaliable mid year
2 years had passed, no unifi and not even streamyx 8mbps is avaliable;
worst, someone lives near me bring this to TM HQ requesting for an explaination
they send an engineer here to do a survey, then ask us to pay for laying fiber else we are not going to get it in any time soon bangwall.gif

So the easiest solution we have is, the entire tmn boycott TM and switch to using other ISP
We dont need your over-priced streamyx when we got Digi's LTE-A nearby whistling.gif
DuitNow
post Apr 28 2019, 07:57 AM

597 posts

My neck.cry.gif

Probably copper wiring not fibre wiring since max only 10Mbps.hmm.gif

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Apr 27 2019, 08:05 PM)
You share the same issue as me then, been waiting years for Unifi
2 years ago agents came to my taman to collect names of those who wanna register for Unifi, saying it would be avaliable mid year
2 years had passed, no unifi and not even streamyx 8mbps is avaliable;
worst, someone lives near me bring this to TM HQ requesting for an explaination
they send an engineer here to do a survey, then ask us to pay for laying fiber else we are not going to get it in any time soon bangwall.gif

So the easiest solution we have is, the entire tmn boycott TM and switch to using other ISP
We dont need your over-priced streamyx when we got Digi's LTE-A nearby whistling.gif
Wtf, ask you to pay for fibre cabling? blink.gif

How much they ask?
Hummingbird
post Apr 28 2019, 10:07 AM

1,007 posts

You know TM does not rule out the possibility that they lease the fiber access from TNB to provide home broadband service?

By the way, TM seems not very keen to expand the fibre nowadays
QuantumEdge
post Apr 28 2019, 08:22 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(DuitNow @ Apr 28 2019, 07:57 AM)
My neck.cry.gif

Probably copper wiring not fibre wiring since max only 10Mbps.hmm.gif
Wtf, ask you to pay for fibre cabling? blink.gif

How much they ask?
RM50k, daylight robbery
DuitNow
post Apr 28 2019, 08:25 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Apr 28 2019, 08:22 PM)
RM50k, daylight robbery
Wtf 50k? blink.gif
miloaisdino
post Apr 28 2019, 08:57 PM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Apr 28 2019, 08:22 PM)
RM50k, daylight robbery
might as well get tm direct :x
comes with tm's approval to share the connection with neighbours

This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Apr 28 2019, 08:57 PM
yoong_y89
post Apr 28 2019, 11:21 PM

161 posts

any news about TNB fiber? they seems to be very quiet
HariszKilz
post May 4 2019, 04:37 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Apr 28 2019, 10:07 AM)
You know TM does not rule out the possibility that they lease the fiber access from TNB to provide home broadband service?

By the way, TM seems not very keen to expand the fibre nowadays
TNB already had fibre since the early era but didn't have the permission to deploy their Internet due to TM. Now they have the chance to prove it. Basically, somebody need to destroy TM's monopoly. Tbh, I really don't care if TM monopolize the Internet BUT they won't improve their coverage. That's their biggest mistake. Just hoping that TNB would actually do something.
HariszKilz
post May 4 2019, 04:38 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(yoong_y89 @ Apr 28 2019, 11:21 PM)
any news about TNB fiber? they seems to be very quiet
Got some recent news tho but waiting approval and discussion. At the same time, they're giving green light to enter area without HSBB.

https://amanz.my/2019203132/
yoong_y89
post May 4 2019, 11:34 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(HariszKilz @ May 4 2019, 04:38 PM)
Got some recent news tho but waiting approval and discussion. At the same time, they're giving green light to enter area without HSBB.

https://amanz.my/2019203132/
thanks for the sharing. did not put high hope. i dont think they will expand fast also.
Hummingbird
post May 6 2019, 04:39 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(HariszKilz @ May 4 2019, 04:37 PM)
TNB already had fibre since the early era but didn't have the permission to deploy their Internet due to TM. Now they have the chance to prove it. Basically, somebody need to destroy TM's monopoly. Tbh, I really don't care if TM monopolize the Internet BUT they won't improve their coverage. That's their biggest mistake. Just hoping that TNB would actually do something.
What do you mean due to TM?
jesserider223
post May 6 2019, 04:56 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ May 6 2019, 04:39 PM)
What do you mean due to TM?
i think he meant TM as a GLC company, also an influential one, they must have a say in government policy in approving a new player in fibre internet market

Hummingbird
post May 15 2019, 09:51 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(jesserider223 @ May 6 2019, 04:56 PM)
i think he meant TM as a GLC company, also an influential one, they must have a say in government policy in approving a new player in fibre internet market
But I think such influence is weaker now?
jesserider223
post May 15 2019, 11:23 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ May 15 2019, 09:51 AM)
But I think such influence is weaker now?
hence news of TNB doing internet now making rounds, i believe it's good news, after all we already seen unifi starts as low as rm79 and maxis fibre as low as rm89 and time fibre also begins at rm99

only streamyx was left out, in this case, it's bad

DuitNow
post May 17 2019, 07:37 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(jesserider223 @ May 15 2019, 11:23 AM)
hence news of TNB doing internet now making rounds, i believe it's good news, after all we already seen unifi starts as low as rm79 and maxis fibre as low as rm89 and time fibre also begins at rm99

only streamyx was left out, in this case, it's bad
cry.gif mad.gif bangwall.gif
wilson1stop
post Aug 31 2019, 09:45 AM

2,779 posts

When will TNB coming to Perlis?

0.0340sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:36 AM