Buying photo gear off Ebay, Need to know about taxes/experiences etc
TSMunchurian
Jun 13 2007, 11:26 AM, updated 19y ago
Hi all. I'm scouting for a used DSLR/SLR body from Ebay and i'm wondering if anyone here have actually bought cameras/gears off Ebay. What is the Malaysian Customs tax like? Pls share your experiences and thoughts. Appreciate it.
Peisqo
Jun 13 2007, 03:17 PM
Hmm my camera just arrived yesterday  bought from ebay ... well my exp is diff. tho .. i bought a new camera .. and i'm in Aussie ... Do ask if u have any specific question ... My tips would be ... get the stuff from a POWER SELLER ... and possibly .. have NO bad OR neutral remark on the last 1 month , and less than 3 for the last 3 months
TSMunchurian
Jun 13 2007, 04:38 PM
Congrats on your new cam! Just curious about the amount of tax we have to pay in Malaysia on foreign imports like cameras / electronics gadgets etc. I'm used to buying stuff from Ebay but not electronics. Thanx for tips.
Peisqo
Jun 13 2007, 05:47 PM
Icic ... msia dunno wor ... try check some gov website lor ... but i see most of the sellers DON'T post to msia .. i don't know why  .... as for aussie ... we'll get taxed if the items are more than 1k dollars ..
scorgio
Jun 13 2007, 06:08 PM
There's actually no duty for camera or camera body in M'sia.
But if u're unlucky & our Kastam agents want to be funny with you. They can hold ur shipment, ask you to go to KLIA to pay duty.
Although u can argue & they'd comply. But you still need to waste time to go KLIA.
TSMunchurian
Jun 13 2007, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(scorgio @ Jun 13 2007, 06:08 PM) There's actually no duty for camera or camera body in M'sia. But if u're unlucky & our Kastam agents want to be funny with you. They can hold ur shipment, ask you to go to KLIA to pay duty. Although u can argue & they'd comply. But you still need to waste time to go KLIA. Yup, experienced that before - all the way to KLIA just to claim some plastic action figures i bought from the US. No duty for cameras? Fantastic. Fingers crossed.
Bad Feng Shui
Jun 14 2007, 01:01 PM
I bought a camera on ebay last week and it arrived yesterday. Tracked it via EMS from Hong Kong. No problem with customs at all, but then it is just a small point & shoot which wouldn't have attracted their attention.
elb
Jun 14 2007, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(Peisqo @ Jun 13 2007, 10:47 AM) Icic ... msia dunno wor ... try check some gov website lor ... but i see most of the sellers DON'T post to msia .. i don't know why :P .... as for aussie ... we'll get taxed if the items are more than 1k dollars .. Two words: Internet fraud. Malaysia is one of the worst countries in the world when it comes to this.
Andy0625
Jun 14 2007, 03:57 PM
Oh no , we need to go KLIA just for taking shipment ? I'm from Ipoh and some electronics is heading to me , shyt !
Peisqo
Jun 14 2007, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Jun 14 2007, 03:57 PM) Oh no , we need to go KLIA just for taking shipment ? I'm from Ipoh and some electronics is heading to me , shyt ! lol pray your stuff dun get caught
TSMunchurian
Jun 14 2007, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(Bad Feng Shui @ Jun 14 2007, 01:01 PM) I bought a camera on ebay last week and it arrived yesterday. Tracked it via EMS from Hong Kong. No problem with customs at all, but then it is just a small point & shoot which wouldn't have attracted their attention. I'm trying to ship one in from HK as well but doubt a DSLR body could sneak pass them. Just gonna try my luck i guess.
Peisqo
Jun 14 2007, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(Munchurian @ Jun 14 2007, 06:32 PM) I'm trying to ship one in from HK as well but doubt a DSLR body could sneak pass them. Just gonna try my luck i guess. Ask them to declare as gift ... higher chance of escaping
Andy0625
Jun 14 2007, 09:17 PM
For my case the seller did declare as gift , but then still scare of being stop at the Custom. Damn it , if get stop at custom need go KL ! Geez !