249 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.

Sean77
post Dec 2 2019, 02:16 PM

172 posts

Tumpang, last week my dad bought ns70 battery for wira 1.3, i read suppose to use ns60.
Any bad impact in the car, altenator or fuse in the long run?
Ns70 will be harder to jump start incase battery flat?
System Error Message
post Dec 2 2019, 04:17 PM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Nov 7 2019, 10:26 PM)
not only that, wet cells can cause the battery water which is acid to boil and leak all the acid into lower bottom of the battery.

my old car got it, whole battery area rusted heavily.
when fill up the battery water, then drive high RPM, can cause the water to overflow.

real CB i tell you once you see how bad the acid cause rust to your car body  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
acid eats away at the metal, not make it rust. Salt will make it rust a lot lot faster though which is a problem when using salt batteries. But copper zinc plastic combo will work well.

lead acid is a wet cell. They do tend to leak and spray around thats why its important to seal them right. Both for wet cells (acid/salt) electrolysis of water is a concern.
TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 2 2019, 05:10 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Sean77 @ Dec 2 2019, 02:16 PM)
Tumpang, last week my dad bought ns70 battery for wira 1.3, i read suppose to use ns60.
Any bad impact in the car, altenator or fuse in the long run?
Ns70 will be harder to jump start incase battery flat?
Wait a minute, are you saying that the NS70 could be fitted properly into the Wira 1.3 ?
TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 2 2019, 05:14 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(jhjk @ Dec 2 2019, 01:17 PM)
It's not boiling, it's a process call electrolysis and the bubbles are actually hydrogen molecules.
Leakage can be due to fill up too much water, did not use distilled water, overcharging the battery and cap not close tightly.

Overcharging with high rpm is the alternator issue (or design). Properly design alternator will not exceed the charging voltage by 14.4V. Anything more than that then battery very fast kong. One car that I know of does this high voltage is Nissan Almera, puik!
How much voltage was that particular cranking out ?
TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 2 2019, 05:31 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(purplecar @ Dec 2 2019, 12:27 PM)
Battery size affects the longevity also right?

My brother is using Century Marathoner on his Inspira manual and it's 3 years 9 months now and still good.

My City original FB battery died recently after 1 year 4 months. Funny thing is Honda SC checked the battery 4 months ago and said battery is 98%. Now I switched to Century Motolite. Shop did not have Marathoner. Don't know what's the difference.

I don't think it's fair to compare with conti cars as those batteries are huge and maybe 3 times the size of the one in City.

Other than size, I wonder if auto vs manual makes a difference?
Correct, technically battery lifespan is closely related to its size and also closely related to how it is used.

However my previous battery NS40ZL lasted 48 months and others close to me has also seen marked improvement in battery lifespan.

Prior to that my batteries hardly lived more than 24 months. It the knowledge acquired but it is the experience that counts. By the end of the year another NS40ZL will be 3 years old.

Oh it has nothing to do with the differences of transmission I suspect, until I can churn out more datas on my cars. 😊

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Dec 2 2019, 07:47 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 2 2019, 05:41 PM

3,520 posts

Double post sorry

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Dec 2 2019, 05:42 PM
jhjk
post Dec 2 2019, 06:13 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Dec 2 2019, 05:14 PM)
How much voltage was that particular cranking out ?
More than 15V, less than 16V.
My Axia at most is 14.4V.
Sean77
post Dec 2 2019, 09:27 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Dec 2 2019, 05:10 PM)
Wait a minute, are you saying that the NS70 could be fitted properly into the Wira 1.3 ?
Yes, it can
Not supoose to?
TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 3 2019, 02:30 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Sean77 @ Dec 2 2019, 09:27 PM)
Yes, it can
Not supoose to?
Thats really odd. My neighbour's Wira 1.5 last production model, the NS70 battery couldn't fit as the metal clamp at the top was too small or short. The base of the battery holder does match the NS70 battery but not the metal clamp. Perhaps someone else swapped out his metal clamp without him knowing it.

I do not know if the NS70 is supposed not to used, but it is best to check with Proton over this whether the corresponding alternator is up for the job.

Furthermore I do know about the practices of other battery manufacturers but Century is pretty strict, with regard to its warranty example using battery size that is not recommended according to specifications.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Dec 3 2019, 03:04 PM
Vervain
post Dec 3 2019, 02:55 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Supercaps. Confirm last more than 4 years.
dodgemk2
post Dec 3 2019, 03:07 PM

42 posts

I have tips for battery last longer, my current battery still in service for more than 5 years i believe. When batteriku still cheap.

1. I relocate the battery from the front to the rear. Less heat = happy battery.
2. Its a weekend car, so i remove the battery terminal when not in use, its a maintenance century free battery.

TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 3 2019, 03:13 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(dodgemk2 @ Dec 3 2019, 03:07 PM)
I have tips for battery last longer, my current battery still in service for more than 5 years i believe. When batteriku still cheap.

1. I relocate the battery from the front to the rear. Less heat = happy battery.
2. Its a weekend car, so i remove the battery terminal when not in use, its a maintenance century free battery.
Bro., I am curious did you do the relocation of the battery yourself or did you get someone to do it for you ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Dec 3 2019, 03:13 PM
dodgemk2
post Dec 3 2019, 03:36 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Dec 3 2019, 03:13 PM)
Bro., I am curious did you do the relocation of the battery yourself or did you get someone to do it for you ?
I did it myself, just need to buy.
1. clamps
2. 400 amp welding cable, but if you could get BMW battery cable, it is much better.
3. grounding cables
4. fuse 200amp.

at first i ran the welding cable trough the interior of my car, but its too tight and part of the cable was sliced by the firewall, so i remove it completely and buy another one to run it under my car and go up back trough the rear spare tire compartment. Routing was much easier, and a bit safer rather than running it inside your car. FYI grounding cable or points is twice important than the power cable. Previously i hard a crank issue where the engine was so hard to start and found out that it was due to lack of grounding.
Cruxs
post Dec 3 2019, 03:43 PM

826 posts

Battery lifespan mostly depend on car type & drive pattern. My rocket last for 5years made in korea. My bmw exide brand din100 last for 10years maybe bcos the battery at the rear boot & not in hot front engine bay. Hot temperature not good for battery. Many things to consider for battery lifespan.
TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 3 2019, 05:48 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(purplecar @ Dec 2 2019, 12:27 PM)

My City original FB battery died recently after 1 year 4 months. Funny thing is Honda SC checked the battery 4 months ago and said battery is 98%. Now I switched to Century Motolite. Shop did not have Marathoner. Don't know what's the difference.

When a lead-acid battery starts to go downhill, I reckon it should be very fast within a couple of months period and definately not more than 5~6 months especially for NS40ZL. Maybe there are exceptions to this rule for NS40ZL battery size but I have not come acrossed them yet.

With reference to your 1st question about battery size, perhaps it is also true that a larger battery size will take a longer time to die, once it starts to go downhill. Unfortunately I do not have any data on this yet.
TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 3 2019, 05:50 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(dodgemk2 @ Dec 3 2019, 03:36 PM)
I did it myself, just need to buy.
1. clamps
2. 400 amp welding cable, but if you could get BMW battery cable, it is much better.
3. grounding cables
4. fuse 200amp.

at first i ran the welding cable trough the interior of my car, but its too tight and part of the cable was sliced by the firewall, so i remove it completely and buy another one to run it under my car and go up back trough the rear spare tire compartment. Routing was much easier, and a bit safer rather than running it inside your car. FYI grounding cable or points is twice important than the power cable. Previously i hard a crank issue where the engine was so hard to start and found out that it was due to lack of grounding.
Damn, you must be really be good. 👍
speedy3210
post Dec 3 2019, 06:06 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Dec 3 2019, 02:30 PM)
Thats really odd. My neighbour's Wira 1.5 last production model, the NS70 battery couldn't fit as the metal clamp at the top was too small or short. The base of the battery holder does match the NS70 battery but not the metal clamp. Perhaps someone else swapped out his metal clamp without him knowing it.

I do not know if the NS70 is supposed not to used, but it is best to check with Proton over this whether the corresponding alternator is up for the job.

Furthermore I do know about the practices of other battery manufacturers but Century is pretty strict, with regard to its warranty example using battery size that is not recommended according to specifications.
Wira 1.6/1.8 export spec came with NS70 tray and clamps as standard. My 1st battery for this car was a Sime (yes, dun ask why) NS70.

In fact if you search lazada/shopee/lelong etc., you can find NS70 battery tray for Wira/Satria/Putra. And battery holders/clamps too.
TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 3 2019, 06:18 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Dec 3 2019, 06:06 PM)
Wira 1.6/1.8 export spec came with NS70 tray and clamps as standard. My 1st battery for this car was a Sime (yes, dun ask why) NS70.

In fact if you search lazada/shopee/lelong etc., you can find NS70 battery tray for Wira/Satria/Putra. And battery holders/clamps too.
Thanks mate, now that makes sense. It was catered for the export market.

If its Wira 1.6/1.8, then its most likely the NS70.
If its Wira 1.3/1.5, then its most likely the NS60S.

A smaller capacity alternator will definately be unsuitable for a bigger battery, that is my hunch only. 😊

jasonlim
post Dec 3 2019, 08:06 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

Varta?
Vvtt303
post Dec 11 2019, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(zyde @ Jan 9 2019, 09:54 PM)
anyone using AMARON? heard the battery lasted for 4 yrs +
Don't ever try to AMARON. I was convinced by sales person to buy the highest spec ard RM400++ which he said could last more than 3 years. At the end, lasted only 18 months.
SO DISAPPOINTED.

249 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:48 AM