249 Pages « < 244 245 246 247 248 > » Bottom

Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.

TSRoman Catholic
post Oct 30 2025, 06:25 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Oct 30 2025, 05:06 PM)
these auto start/stop feature is quite an ass in our climate.....i wouldn't say it is useless as it does reduce fuel consumption a bit but totally impractical....

the only upside due to this feature are that the crank journals and starters are made more robust due to the potential added wear from more engine starts
If I am not mistaken, previously someone in the forum did do some calculations on the allegedly fuel savings due to this Auto Stop/Start feature and it was discovered that the alleged savings couldn't even match the extra costs required for an EFB Battery compared to the cost of a RFB Battery. I didn't examine the workings but I reckon they would know what they are talking about.

It is nice to have that assumption but what I am seeing is that any new clients with such economy vehicles that has such feature, when they come to me for the 1st time for an EFB Battery especially if it's after 5 years old, the test results will show that there is some issues with the Charging Test already. Even if that assumption is true about robust crank journals and starters etc, once the vehicle registers an issue with its Charging Test, I reckon it's a matter the Charging Test will fail completely. I will say "Good luck finding a damn good alternator as a replacement cause there ain't NO good quality ones available for sale." Caveat emptor.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Oct 30 2025, 06:27 PM
ayamxxx
post Oct 30 2025, 09:03 PM

4,030 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Oct 30 2025, 06:25 PM)
If I am not mistaken, previously someone in the forum did do some calculations on the allegedly fuel savings due to this Auto Stop/Start feature and it was discovered that the alleged savings couldn't even match the extra costs required for an EFB Battery compared to the cost of a RFB Battery. I didn't examine the workings but I reckon they would know what they are talking about.

It is nice to have that assumption but what I am seeing is that any new clients with such economy vehicles that has such feature, when they come to me for the 1st time for an EFB Battery especially if it's after 5 years old, the test results will show that there is some issues with the Charging Test already. Even if that assumption is true about robust crank journals and starters etc, once the vehicle registers an issue with its Charging Test, I reckon it's a matter the Charging Test will fail completely. I will say "Good luck finding a damn good alternator as a replacement cause there ain't NO good quality ones available for sale." Caveat emptor.
It's an open secret auto start stop fuel saving are just minimal, probably max 1-1.5L vs equivalent engine without that. Definitely 1.5L saving in fuel wont compensate for expansive AEB battery
TSRoman Catholic
post Oct 31 2025, 08:36 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 30 2025, 09:03 PM)
It's an open secret auto start stop fuel saving are just minimal, probably max 1-1.5L vs equivalent engine without that. Definitely 1.5L saving in fuel wont compensate for expansive AEB battery
Aiyoyo if it's that insignificant, then there is no benefit whatsoever buying such a vehicle. Unfortunately not many knows about this and are suckered into buying such a vehicle. At this juncture I only have 1 client who bought a 3rd Gen Myvi WITHOUT Auto Stop/Start feature. Curiously I asked him how did he managed to buy such a vehicle. He mentioned that he really had to wait for months on end to get the model he wanted. I didn't know that the 3rd Gen Myvi also came without Auto Stop/Start.
ayamxxx
post Oct 31 2025, 08:47 AM

4,030 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Oct 31 2025, 08:36 AM)
Aiyoyo if it's that insignificant, then there is no benefit whatsoever buying such a vehicle. Unfortunately not many knows about this and are suckered into buying such a vehicle. At this juncture I only have 1 client who bought a 3rd Gen Myvi WITHOUT Auto Stop/Start feature. Curiously I asked him how did he managed to buy such a vehicle. He mentioned that he really had to wait for months on end to get the model he wanted. I didn't know that the 3rd Gen Myvi also came without Auto Stop/Start.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Oct 31 2025, 08:52 AM
ayamxxx
post Oct 31 2025, 08:48 AM

4,030 posts

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Oct 31 2025, 08:53 AM
ayamxxx
post Oct 31 2025, 08:48 AM

4,030 posts

maybe this help
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7VWY0oN4X0

TSRoman Catholic
post Oct 31 2025, 09:17 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 31 2025, 08:48 AM)
Thanks bro, I have seen this video. Buying the top of the range model costs more and now kena add modification just to cancel this extra feature, macam bazir duit je. Wouldn't it be better to buy a model without the Auto Stop/Start feature thats not only cheaper and don't have to do extra modification jimat sekali lagi. If that modification don't lead to future electrical problem great but if there is problem, will the car manufacturer honour it's warranty if they discover that there was such a modification.

My potential client bought a new vehicle in May this year and I recently checked her vehicle this month and noticed that there were charging problems already. Entered her vehicle and saw that she added an arm rest with USB cable etc. So I begin question her, I didn't see this item when we collected her new car and if she encountered any problems lately. She mentioned that the vehicle begining to start slower than before. I wasn't happy with the mod and she went home thinking about it. She decided to unplug it later that night and told me that after unplugging that mod, her car started quickly again. She vowed never to add anymore electrical mods to her car again. I begin to suspect that new vehicle made have very limited tolerances that any unapproved modifications made is going to throw spanar into the works.

I commented on a YouTube by an American who did some unapproved electrical modification and that resulted in electrical failure. The manual already states that such modification could create problem, yet he unknowingly went to do it. Now he intends to use some Consumer Law against the car manufacturer. Well go ahead and we can confirm that he is such a fool. Pandai sudah la, ini sampai terlalu pandai, Itu masalahnya. Some people just don't know when to stop.
TSRoman Catholic
post Oct 31 2025, 09:17 AM

3,520 posts

I am in a SC now servicing my ride and was invited to enter service area. Ingat apahal but the SA pulled me to look at this new Sodium Ion Battery in a brand new vehicle. Well I guess we have a new lab rat. The SA and I will surely be monitoring this vehicle now.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Oct 31 2025, 09:23 AM
ayamxxx
post Oct 31 2025, 09:31 AM

4,030 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Oct 31 2025, 09:17 AM)
Thanks bro, I have seen this video. Buying the top of the range model costs more and now kena add modification just to cancel this extra feature, macam bazir duit je. Wouldn't it be better to buy a model without the Auto Stop/Start feature thats not only cheaper and don't have to do extra modification jimat sekali lagi. If that modification don't lead to future electrical problem great but if there is problem, will the car manufacturer honour it's warranty if they discover that there was such a modification.

My potential client bought a new vehicle in May this year and I recently checked her vehicle this month and noticed that there were charging problems already. Entered her vehicle and saw that she added an arm rest with USB cable etc. So I begin question her, I didn't see this item when we collected her new car and if she encountered any problems lately. She mentioned that the vehicle begining to start slower than before. I wasn't happy with the mod and she went home thinking about it. She decided to unplug it later that night and told me that after unplugging that mod, her car started quickly again. She vowed never to add anymore electrical mods to her car again. I begin to suspect that new vehicle made have very limited tolerances that any unapproved modifications made is going to throw spanar into the works.

I commented on a YouTube by an American who did some unapproved electrical modification and that resulted in electrical failure. The manual already states that such modification could create problem, yet he unknowingly went to do it. Now he intends to use some Consumer Law against the car manufacturer. Well go ahead and we can confirm that he is such a fool. Pandai sudah la, ini sampai terlalu pandai, Itu masalahnya. Some people just don't know when to stop.
i know most BMW model owners and Mazda owners disable of this Auto Start stop via Diagnostic tools for a few hundred. Can check at FB many seller provide this service
GamersFamilia
post Nov 5 2025, 04:36 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,742 posts

Same here didn't know that, but you can enable or disable the auto stop/start feature, there's a button on dashboard, if im not mistaken 🤔🐝
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 5 2025, 10:03 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Nov 5 2025, 04:36 AM)
Same here didn't know that, but you can enable or disable the auto stop/start feature, there's a button on dashboard, if im not mistaken 🤔🐝
Yes can disable simply by pressing the switch every single time after starting the vehicle.

Or can install some P&P modification which automatically disable the Auto Stop/Start feature but you guys know that I don't like any sort modification especially if it's not fitted at the factory.

Ayamxxx raised an interesting thing that SC using their diagnostic tool to disable such feature. If the SC are doing it for their customers, then I am fine with it. I remember watching some YouTube videos wherein it was mentioned that this could be done for X50, so I accompanied my client whose battery lasted 1 year only when her sisters X50 battery is already 2 years and still going strong. I asked the SC to disable the Wifi in her X50 since she does not use it. So the SC told me they would do it. Later when I followed up with my client, I was informed that that was NOT done because the SC was afraid that would mess with the vehicle electronics. At the same time, when the battery died at a year old, i noticed that some power booster was affixed to the X50 via the OBDII port also kaput at the same time. So now we will see whether without the so called power booster allegedly jimat minyak etc, will the battery lasts about 2 years plus just like her sister's X50.

wkc5657
post Nov 5 2025, 01:38 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Oct 30 2025, 06:25 PM)

well....pretty true that the start stop feature won't save any noticeable amount of fuel....and constant stop/start cycle's vibration also wear down the bushings faster, not only the added cost of EFB battery.

I too use regular battery, just press the button the turn off the start/stop every time i start the car, becomes a 2nd nature....actually i don't know why a lot of people find it so difficult to do that and save their hundreds/thousands (on programming or rewiring or plug ins). Once in a blue moon every few months, i will activate it just to check that it is functioning...actually i don't mind that feature turns out error and self disabled in a permanent manner tongue.gif

i feel like the lifespan difference between EFB and regular MF batteries don't differ so much...so regular MF battery for me

but i usually try to use a battery charger every 6 months to do a heavy maintenance charge

huh? this is news to me that it is even possible...

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Oct 31 2025, 09:17 AM)
I am in a SC now servicing my ride and was invited to enter service area. Ingat apahal but the SA pulled me to look at this new Sodium Ion Battery in a brand new vehicle. Well I guess we have a new lab rat. The SA and I will surely be monitoring this vehicle now.
wah weh......somebody so excited with this sodium battery

TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 5 2025, 02:03 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Nov 5 2025, 01:38 PM)
well....pretty true that the start stop feature won't save any noticeable amount of fuel....and constant stop/start cycle's vibration also wear down the bushings faster, not only the added cost of EFB battery.

I too use regular battery, just press the button the turn off the start/stop every time i start the car, becomes a 2nd nature....actually i don't know why a lot of people find it so difficult to do that and save their hundreds/thousands (on programming or rewiring or plug ins). Once in a blue moon every few months, i will activate it just to check that it is functioning...actually i don't mind that feature turns out error and self disabled in a permanent manner  tongue.gif

i feel like the lifespan difference between EFB and regular MF batteries don't differ so much...so regular MF battery for me

but i usually try to use a battery charger every 6 months to do a heavy maintenance charge
huh? this is news to me that it is even possible...
wah weh......somebody so excited with this sodium battery
Me excited about sodium battery ? Not la, definitely not me cause my vehicles are not suitable for SIBs that's for sure. But I am happy in a way that at least SIBs offers a glimmer of hope against LiFePO4 batteries which never fails to end in a great ball of fire. CATL and even BYD are betting on SIBs, that is just based on the titles on the YouTube videos only. Whether SIBs will not experience thermal runaway is yet to be seen and hopefully it is true so that there won't e news of drivers and passengers being roasted in their EV and being a potential fire hazard to others. Anyway now I know which vehicle to follow up on that's fitted with SIB. It's unfortunate that I couldn't meet the owner of that vehicle while I was at the SC but there will always be another chance. 😉

My chemistry ain't no good but those who are good with chemistry should be able to work out if SIBs will be able to produce its own oxygen during thermal runaway like LiFePO4. If the possibility of producing 0 O2 molecules, then SIBs is definitely a better bet. Now what they need to do is improve the capacity of SIBs, so that when compared LiFePO4, the number is insignificant in terms of Wh/kg. Current difference has narrowed to 100Wh/kg already. Can improve summore ?

Speaking of Auto Stop/Start feature being permanently disabled, I have 1 client in the same situation now. Alza Advance. He says the good thing now is that he don't have to press the button anymore. LOL Any owners who has the same vehicle as this client of mine, don't even think of trying to replicate what he had done.

GamersFamilia
post Nov 5 2025, 02:27 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,742 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Nov 5 2025, 10:03 AM)
Yes can disable simply by pressing the switch every single time after starting the vehicle.

Or can install some P&P modification which automatically disable the Auto Stop/Start feature but you guys know that I don't like any sort modification especially if it's not fitted at the factory.

Ayamxxx raised an interesting thing that SC using their diagnostic tool to disable such feature. If the SC are doing it for their customers, then I am fine with it. I remember watching some YouTube videos wherein it was mentioned that this could be done for X50, so I accompanied my client whose battery lasted 1 year only when her sisters X50 battery is already 2 years and still going strong. I asked the SC to disable the Wifi in her X50 since she does not use it. So the SC told me they would do it. Later when I followed up with my client, I was informed that that was NOT done because the SC was afraid that would mess with the vehicle electronics. At the same time, when the battery died at a year old, i noticed that some power booster was affixed to the X50 via the OBDII port also kaput at the same time. So now we will see whether without the so called power booster allegedly jimat minyak etc, will the battery lasts about 2 years plus just like her sister's X50.
Same here, love standard stuff, as most of my cars are standard without modifications
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 5 2025, 03:29 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Nov 5 2025, 02:27 PM)
Same here, love standard stuff, as most of my cars are standard without modifications
Let me share something interesting ...

In the comments it was mentioned modified headlights etc

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Nov 5 2025, 03:31 PM
lj0000
post Nov 5 2025, 03:34 PM

2,198 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Nov 5 2025, 02:03 PM)
Me excited about sodium battery ? Not la, definitely not me cause my vehicles are not suitable for SIBs that's for sure. But I am happy in a way that at least SIBs offers a glimmer of hope against LiFePO4 batteries which never fails to end in a great ball of fire. CATL and even BYD are betting on SIBs, that is just based on the titles on the YouTube videos only. Whether SIBs will not experience thermal runaway is yet to be seen and hopefully it is true so that there won't e news of drivers and passengers being roasted in their EV and being a potential fire hazard to others. Anyway now I know which vehicle to follow up on that's fitted with SIB. It's unfortunate that I couldn't meet the owner of that vehicle while I was at the SC but there will always be another chance. 😉

My chemistry ain't no good but those who are good with chemistry should be able to work out if SIBs will be able to produce its own oxygen during thermal runaway like LiFePO4. If the possibility of producing 0 O2 molecules, then SIBs is definitely a better bet. Now what they need to do is improve the capacity of SIBs, so that when compared LiFePO4, the number is insignificant in terms of Wh/kg. Current difference has narrowed to 100Wh/kg already. Can improve summore ?

Speaking of Auto Stop/Start feature being permanently disabled, I have 1 client in the same situation now. Alza Advance. He says the good thing now is that he don't have to press the button anymore. LOL Any owners who has the same vehicle as this client of mine, don't even think of trying to replicate what he had done.
given a choice, go for LFP instead of NIB
puncture test show that NIB is equally explosive like NCA
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 5 2025, 03:39 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Nov 5 2025, 03:34 PM)
given a choice, go for LFP instead of NIB
puncture test show that NIB is equally explosive like NCA
Don't tell me, tell that CATL and BYD why are they moving big into Sodium Ion Batteries and not LFP ?

If I only had focused on my Chemistry, maybe I could figure something out but since I don't know, I prefer to follow the big boys. Unless those posting on YouTube got it completely wrong.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Nov 5 2025, 03:40 PM
lj0000
post Nov 5 2025, 03:45 PM

2,198 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Nov 5 2025, 03:39 PM)
Don't tell me, tell that CATL and BYD why are they moving big into Sodium Ion Batteries and not LFP ?

If I only had focused on my Chemistry, maybe I could figure something out but since I don't know, I prefer to follow the big boys. Unless those posting on YouTube got it completely wrong.
Catl and byd is fully invested into lfp

Sodium is plan b in case lithium price go up

Now everyone is busy with solid state and making lfp charge faster
GamersFamilia
post Nov 5 2025, 03:50 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,742 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Nov 5 2025, 03:29 PM)
Let me share something interesting ...

In the comments it was mentioned modified headlights etc
That's why don't be too smart modify things that already well designed by the manufacturer

If you go to the car accessories shop, your will see how they play with those wiring 😢🐝
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 5 2025, 04:01 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Nov 5 2025, 03:50 PM)
That's why don't be too smart modify things that already well designed by the manufacturer

If you go to the car accessories shop, your will see how they play with those wiring 😢🐝
Don't need to go to accessories shop, just seeing the number of cars for battery replacement with all kinds of wiring done, is enough to make the head spin.

I remember pulling out a battery from a company vehicle it was way too hot. That battery remained so hot after 6 hours it was removed and after consulting my bosses it was decided best to soak it. Never done that before despite changing so many batteries. Dunno if that picture is still around in my phone. if I remembered correctly, the bare wires were just rolled together and connect to the terminal just like that. PhD standard I tell you. It's a miracle that company vehicle didn't catch fire.

249 Pages « < 244 245 246 247 248 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:49 AM