249 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.

System Error Message
post Nov 1 2019, 04:36 PM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 1 2019, 02:19 PM)
Not true as well...although I do agree heat plays a part...but for my SOrento and Passat CC both battery are under the hood and not the trunk...both recorded good life span...so how do we explain that?  confused.gif
i think its more to do with the car rather than heat. And i think however those that use the same brands in different config found differences because of manufacturing shifts, like when the germans decided not to make reliable cars anymore.
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 1 2019, 04:56 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 1 2019, 02:19 PM)
Not true as well...although I do agree heat plays a part...but for my SOrento and Passat CC both battery are under the hood and not the trunk...both recorded good life span...so how do we explain that?  :confused:
Perhaps your cars has a better design that allows the dissipation of heat or the flow of air from the engine. Example some batteries are located at the front behind the headlights at a lowered section like in Toyota Corona TT141 with a big engine bay with lots of space that prevents heat from reaching the battery. Whereas some makes, the batteries is located higher up in the engine bay example infront of the instrument panel like in the Ertiga or compact car with smaller engine bays, heat will always be the main issue.

Plus bigger sized batteries with higher power or capacity should always outperform smaller sized batteries. That is why a forummer here, is always encouraging others to select a battery with a higher capacity provided its compatible with the charging system example a Wira can accommodate both the NS60 size plus the NS70 as well.

Since we are on heat which is closely related to the environment, anyone here staying in Cameron Highlands. Can you please share your battery lifespan, battery size and type of battery plus car make.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Nov 1 2019, 05:11 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 1 2019, 05:07 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Nov 1 2019, 12:32 PM)
i think what you're saying is that the heat is causing increased gas formation and also the reactivity of the acid? In which case for cars with battery infront its better to use unsealed?
Anyone here who have used unsealed battery can comment on lifespan?

I will say though that heat is only a small part of the equation, consider also the cost of the battery. For my parents their car battery only lasts less than 3 years, basically more than the normal 2 year amount for a battery that costs less than rm 200.

I also found out about the opposite battery, metal alkaline which uses 2 different metals and salt water which i guess forms the alkaline. From what i've seen in small scale testing the capacity would be impressive so i will build one and try out myself in the future before going on to make one for a car.

Small GP sealed lead acid battery lasted 7 years as a backup power for sensor, not car related but its GP brand so i dont know if anyone uses them. I find that they can be pretty pricey when it comes to tech offered but they do offer decent quality too.
My last Regular Flooded Century Battery NS40ZL in my workhorse lasted a cool 4 years, thanks to Lowyat expert forrumers, without them, my batteries wouldn't have passed 2 years. One must be extremely diligent in the care of the electrolyte. I was religously monitoring the electrolyte level every week.

The current new Regular Flooded Century Battery NS40ZL is 7 months now, hopefully with the same care, it will last another 3 years 5 months. After which, I instend to try out Maintenance Free Batteries which does not require religiously monitoring of electrolytes. Life too short. 😊

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Nov 1 2019, 05:08 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 1 2019, 05:27 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(bigfanofcars @ Nov 1 2019, 11:24 AM)
nothing to do with brand or driving pattern. its because the battery is in the boot. if i put that same varta germany in my peugeot 308 guarantee it will fail after 2 years.
Any driver that constantly subject the battery to all kinds of unnecessary loads, being in the boot ain't going to make any difference. With the economy in a nose dive, the funniest remarks I've heard is that the the rich with their expensive rides, wanting to save, insists battery sellers to install an under sized battery, just to save a buck or two.

Century's Warranty Card specifically states the warranty is void, if an under sized battery is used. Usually after that no 1 year experience, the customer will usually change to another brand.
Jabra
post Nov 1 2019, 10:33 PM

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 29 2019, 10:12 AM)
LOL!  biggrin.gif

Ya, my varta been long lasting as well, since its Ori from germany that came with the car. Mine is now 8yrs plus going into its 9th year.

SO which battery did you replaced with? Or you went with Varta Germany?
My car battery as well - very good & long last. The brand of Varta; came original with the car.
My car with start stop function.
anakMY
post Nov 1 2019, 11:12 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Nov 1 2019, 05:07 PM)
My last Regular Flooded Century Battery NS40ZL in my workhorse lasted a cool 4 years, thanks to Lowyat expert forrumers, without them, my batteries wouldn't have passed 2 years. One must be extremely diligent in the care of the electrolyte. I was religously monitoring the electrolyte level every week.

The current new Regular Flooded Century Battery NS40ZL is 7 months now, hopefully with the same care, it will last another 3 years 5 months. After which, I instend to try out Maintenance Free Batteries which does not require religiously monitoring of electrolytes. Life too short. 😊
mind to share how u prolong the battery life? tq
outpace
post Nov 2 2019, 12:04 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ Oct 27 2019, 05:30 PM)
Ah that clarifies things! Thanks

@outpace now can you tell me if they’re specced the same? Pretty sure Bosch costs way cheaper vs varta. If it’s the same factory why should I pay extra for brands sake.
Price is always subjective, depends on how much of premium that user willing to pay right? Starbucks might be sourcing cake from the local bakery but selling price aren't the same for sure.
Of course, these brands do have different specifications in play, hence the differences in price.

QUOTE(cent88 @ Oct 28 2019, 12:07 AM)
Other than CCA and AH, any other spec we shall take note as well? Like how much max current a battery can release in a sudden or short period of time.
What i noticed recently is my Yokohama Beta NS40 crank quicker than my FB HiDash NS40 and Amaron Hi Life NS60 in the same car.
Besides, the light dim the least when aircond compressor kick in and also engine accelerate smoother with Yokohama Beta.
Which make me feel that Yokohama Beta is Energizer AA battery and the other two are normal AA battery.
CCA isn't everything, especially when longevity is what we concern, if I'm not wrong, there are ways of making a lead acid battery to pump up higher CCA but sacrificing lifespan, the frame structure within, the acidic level of the electrolyte or something like that.

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Oct 30 2019, 01:58 PM)
wow 24 pages quite fast. I should throw some math here for your data and for other people.

A typical car battery from googling has around 45Ah (US standard), at 12V nominal. Taking the approximate, thats 12x45= 540Wh. Since its bad to let the battery discharge  below 40%, that gives 3 out of 5 for our battery which equates to 324Wh. So if the idle power use of the car is 10W, that means it would have reached its low point in 32 hours. I looked up lead acid battery chemistry, they do like to be charged but dont like to be drained like a normal battery due to sulphation where the sulphur in the acid coats around the conductor and eventually blocks it off from conducting. The largest legal laptop battery you can bring on the plane is 100Wh, same applies to power banks and so on. A power bank of 20Ah (20000mAh) will have 3.7*20=74Wh.

Looking at this math, please please do not leave your lights on and minimise electrical usage of your car when the engine is off, and if you go off for a long time, please have another non lead acid battery charging your battery. If you drive everyday there is no need but if you go off for a week its something you should consider. Some ammeters can measure the electrical usage and perhaps something for you to consider testing to find out whether or not you need a charger if its over night or the minimum time you need to put a charger when you go off for long periods.

A couple of things i am trying to figure out, What is it that determines the capacity of the battery given the same sized lead acid battery for the same voltage?
I would also like to try experimenting, if its possible to create a NIMH supercap hybrid for below rm 2k for similar or better watt hours, which would mean 10 years of battery life, but if every 2 years you change your battery for rm 200, then that wouldnt be a saving, though the instant start from the supercaps could help start/stop features in cars.
How do you get the idle power use of the car, say for 12 hours, how to get the 10W?

That's why most of the sifus here who are able to stretch the lifespan of their normal flooded lead acid battery to many years are those who frequently charge their battery.
Let's not talk about those AGM sitting at the back of the car comfortably, cars like BMW, Audi, and BENZ. These AGMs are designed to be lasting very long time with better deep cycleability, but AGM also dig deeper from their owner's pocket, but I think it's worth to have them.

Look forward for your project bro NIMH supercap hybrid
there have been many trying for many years to get alternative for heavy and clumsy lead acid battery, but the fossil burning cars still not running away from the lead acid

outpace
post Nov 2 2019, 12:13 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Nov 1 2019, 12:32 PM)
i think what you're saying is that the heat is causing increased gas formation and also the reactivity of the acid? In which case for cars with battery infront its better to use unsealed?
Anyone here who have used unsealed battery can comment on lifespan?

I will say though that heat is only a small part of the equation, consider also the cost of the battery. For my parents their car battery only lasts less than 3 years, basically more than the normal 2 year amount for a battery that costs less than rm 200.

I also found out about the opposite battery, metal alkaline which uses 2 different metals and salt water which i guess forms the alkaline. From what i've seen in small scale testing the capacity would be impressive so i will build one and try out myself in the future before going on to make one for a car.

Small GP sealed lead acid battery lasted 7 years as a backup power for sensor, not car related but its GP brand so i dont know if anyone uses them. I find that they can be pretty pricey when it comes to tech offered but they do offer decent quality too.
From what I have read, heat is a very big part together with "undercharging" (draining by parasite draw, frequent short distance travel) that form the failing equation.

Your small GP sealed battery probably is and AGM or GEL battery, or deep cycle battery that have thicker plate therein.
It's different from the very thinly plated SLI batteries in the car.
System Error Message
post Nov 2 2019, 03:08 AM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Nov 2 2019, 12:04 AM)
Price is always subjective, depends on how much of premium that user willing to pay right? Starbucks might be sourcing cake from the local bakery but selling price aren't the same for sure.
Of course, these brands do have different specifications in play, hence the differences in price.
CCA isn't everything, especially when longevity is what we concern, if I'm not wrong, there are ways of making a lead acid battery to pump up higher CCA but sacrificing lifespan, the frame structure within, the acidic level of the electrolyte or something like that.
How do you get the idle power use of the car, say for 12 hours, how to get the 10W?

That's why most of the sifus here who are able to stretch the lifespan of their normal flooded lead acid battery to many years are those who frequently charge their battery.
Let's not talk about those AGM sitting at the back of the car comfortably, cars like BMW, Audi, and BENZ. These AGMs are designed to be lasting very long time with better deep cycleability, but AGM also dig deeper from their owner's pocket, but I think it's worth to have them.
Look forward for your project bro NIMH supercap hybrid
there have been many trying for many years to get alternative for heavy and clumsy lead acid battery, but the fossil burning cars still not running away from  the lead acid
Sure, am also looking at alkaline metal based using salt water as well, they both show good promise but i wont be able to do them if i dont get a job.
Supercaps are the best way to reduce the CCA need, since it doesnt matter what battery you use with it, the supercaps provide a lot of amps but not much voltage as the voltage drop follows an inverse square drop which is big.
Actually for the lifespan of the lead acid battery, you need more lead for higher CCA. The more surface area of lead you have, the higher the amp output you can have. The capacity of a battery is determined by its electrolytes so size matters because of how much you can fill, but the terminals have a surface area for electrons to pass through so that limits the flow of amps there. Lead acid is different in that high amps will significantly reduce capacity temporarely as the charges need to even out. So if a lead acid battery outputs a lot of amps, it will pull the electrons closest to the terminals while the rest of the electrolyte needs to react to pass electrons to even it out which takes time. It seems that lead acid is used for cars because its the kind of battery that likes to be charged when other batteries are the opposite in nature. since now cars are filled with computers, nothing wrong with the battery having its own for charging and managing its charge level and when to recharge.

QUOTE(outpace @ Nov 2 2019, 12:13 AM)
From what I have read, heat is a very big part together with "undercharging" (draining by parasite draw, frequent short distance travel) that form the failing equation.

Your small GP sealed battery probably is and AGM or GEL battery, or deep cycle battery that have thicker plate therein.
It's different from the very thinly plated SLI batteries in the car.
the small GP sealed battery is approximately 100Wh.though i wouldnt say it didnt have heat. It was placed close to the ceiling which is where the temperature is higher, inside a case containing a larger transformer so heat wise theres plenty, but its used in small drain only as backup power.

I didnt get the idle power, its the typical power an efficient laptop uses when you are doing basic tasks with it like emails, documents. Since the battery is used with sensors and such i can estimate how long it is for a car, and 10W is considered efficient. Typically we are looking at 0.5W or lower for a car when it is turned off, with the only thing running being the alarm which only has to check if a circuit is connected, so thats very efficient, along with momentary LED usage. Screens use a lot of power so even 1W is a reasonable estimate as well as some depend on the car's design as well. So with 300Wh being the usable amount of power, 1W can mean 300 hours which is 2 weeks though it could go a lot longer, especially if the draw is lower. What i find is that the reason for the battery lifespawn to shorted in the case where you leave the car for a month is that when you get to the low capacities long, you get sulphation where suplhur from the acid coats on the therminals in an ionic bond which isnt easy to separate. So you can recover some lead acid batteries that have weakened because of being left on low drain for long and it can be really tough to break the sulphur away. So batteries die not because the lead desolve since most of the time its caused by sulphur fully coating the terminal with the electrolyte turning to gas. Looking at the molecular composition, when the sulphur bonds to the terminal, hydrogen is released and the acid concentration decreases.
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 2 2019, 01:54 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Nov 1 2019, 11:12 PM)
mind to share how u prolong the battery life? tq
I posted a 2 or 3 part series on how to prolong the lifespan before somewhere on Lowyat Forum. Sorry I cannot recall exactly where but you would have to search for it. Just that I haven't put down in writing the last series that is, When does one retire a battery. 😊

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Nov 2 2019, 03:12 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 2 2019, 02:11 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Oct 30 2019, 01:58 PM)
A couple of things i am trying to figure out, What is it that determines the capacity of the battery given the same sized lead acid battery for the same voltage?
I reckon that would be to total surface area of all the positive and negative plates, minus the hardcore lead sulphate.
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 2 2019, 03:19 PM

3,520 posts

Someone posted earlier that a battery test was done and was recommended to replace the battery. Whether the technician was telling the truth or otherwise, we wouldn't know. What is more important is when the test was done, were the correct data entered.

I did a battery test for a friend and it registered Replace Battery. However this friend insisted that the battery is still in "good condition". After a month, the battery really died.
CKKwan
post Nov 2 2019, 03:24 PM

886 posts

If you want your battery to last long, make sure you are not driving short distance everyday.

anakMY
post Nov 2 2019, 03:33 PM

1,450 posts

Does anybody know where to get RAMCAR din55r ? It seems there is nobody selling this brand in malaysia.
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 2 2019, 03:43 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Nov 2 2019, 03:33 PM)
Does anybody know where to get RAMCAR din55r ? It seems there is nobody selling this brand in malaysia.
If I am not mistaken, this word Ramcar I have seen it on Century Battery website. Most likely what happened was that the car assembler approached a battery manufacturer to create a new battery for this particular car model. Since the production for this car model has stopped, so would the appropriate battery. However, the word Ramcar technology is what you should be looking for. Don't look for Ramcar battery anymore. 😊

A top notch DIN55R battery unit with Ramcar technology would set you back by Rm380. Curiosity got the better of me.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Nov 2 2019, 03:51 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 2 2019, 04:06 PM

3,520 posts

Oh when I wrote taking care of electrolyte levels with 4 year battery lifespan, I sincerely meant topping of with battery water. Definately not completely changing out the old electrolytes with new electrolytes. I maybe curious but not that curious. Besides that, I dont think completely changing out the electrolytes would make any difference at all, despite whatever is found on Youtube. 😊
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 2 2019, 04:20 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Nov 2 2019, 03:08 AM)
Sure, am also looking at alkaline metal based using salt water as well, they both show good promise but i wont be able to do them if i dont get a job.
Supercaps are the best way to reduce the CCA need, since it doesnt matter what battery you use with it, the supercaps provide a lot of amps but not much voltage as the voltage drop follows an inverse square drop which is big.
Actually for the lifespan of the lead acid battery, you need more lead for higher CCA. The more surface area of lead you have, the higher the amp output you can have. The capacity of a battery is determined by its electrolytes so size matters because of how much you can fill, but the terminals have a surface area for electrons to pass through so that limits the flow of amps there. Lead acid is different in that high amps will significantly reduce capacity temporarely as the charges need to even out. So if a lead acid battery outputs a lot of amps, it will pull the electrons closest to the terminals while the rest of the electrolyte needs to react to pass electrons to even it out which takes time.  It seems that lead acid is used for cars because its the kind of battery that likes to be charged when other batteries are the opposite in nature. since now cars are filled with computers, nothing wrong with the battery having its own for charging and managing its charge level and when to recharge.
the small GP sealed battery is approximately 100Wh.though i wouldnt say it didnt have heat. It was placed close to the ceiling which is where the temperature is higher, inside a case containing a larger transformer so heat wise theres plenty, but its used in small drain only as backup power.

I didnt get the idle power, its the typical power an efficient laptop uses when you are doing basic tasks with it like emails, documents. Since the battery is used with sensors and such i can estimate how long it is for a car, and 10W is considered efficient. Typically we are looking at 0.5W or lower for a car when it is turned off, with the only thing running being the alarm which only has to check if a circuit is connected, so thats very efficient, along with momentary LED usage. Screens use a lot of power so even 1W is a reasonable estimate as well as some depend on the car's design as well. So with 300Wh being the usable amount of power, 1W can mean 300 hours which is 2 weeks though it could go a lot longer, especially if the draw is lower. What i find is that the reason for the battery lifespawn to shorted in the case where you leave the car for a month is that when you get to the low capacities long, you get sulphation  where suplhur from the acid coats on the therminals in an ionic bond which isnt easy to separate. So you can recover some lead acid batteries that have weakened because of being left on low drain for long and it can be really tough to break the sulphur away. So batteries die not because the lead desolve since most of the time its caused by sulphur fully coating the terminal with the electrolyte turning to gas. Looking at the molecular composition, when the sulphur bonds to the terminal, hydrogen is released and the acid concentration decreases.
Bro., would you happen to know the chemical equation for the "corrosion" at the terminal ?

System Error Message
post Nov 3 2019, 12:28 AM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Nov 2 2019, 02:11 PM)
I reckon that would be to total surface area of all the positive and negative plates, minus the hardcore lead sulphate.
i figured this out after researching a bit.
total surface area is the maximum amps, terminals determine voltage (how far apart or the type of metal used), and the electrolyte determines how much capacity. Capacity is defined in Ah which is a huge unit for amps which is the rate of chargers per second which in some manner relates to the rate of electrons. Hence the more electrons we have the higher the capacity in Ah, but not Wh. voltage is the energy each charge gives off.
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Nov 2 2019, 04:20 PM)
Bro., would you happen to know the chemical equation for the "corrosion" at the terminal ?
depends on which battery you're asking about.
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 3 2019, 06:08 AM

3,520 posts

The Regular Flooded Battery costs Rm190 and with a lifespan of 48 months, that works out to Rm3.985333 per month.

A friend of mine asked why is Century Marathoner more expensive than his previous MF battery. When I worked out the average costs per month, at 17 months suddenly his cheaper MF battery ain't that cheap anymore.

While I haven't used Marathoner myself, I strongly believe it is possible to smash the 48 months mark. A sweet lady her Marathoner used to last 13~14 months on average, but since she has following my advices (though not all) her last Marathoner lasted 29 months.

What is true is good no cheap and cheap no good.
TSRoman Catholic
post Nov 3 2019, 08:38 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Mrsaitama @ Oct 30 2019, 02:26 PM)
replaced my century ultramax with 3 years of usage (around 60 000 - 65 000km) with exide matrix. the battery still can start car, but since wife using the car, so i replace for peace of mind.

both my car using this brand now. the AH rating highest for the size, CCA cant beat ultramax.
Thank you your sharing for it really did strike a chord. My latest ride coming to 3 years with mileage less than 7,000, I noticed that the CCA measurement is starting to go downhill despite using every trick. Peace of mind, now thats precious. 😊

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Nov 2 2019, 03:24 PM)
If you want your battery to last long, make sure you are not driving short distance everyday.
Spot on. A battery must run the miles. I was doing Melaka-Muar-Melaka before I achieved 48 months.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Nov 3 2019, 08:39 AM

249 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:57 PM