Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.

GamersFamilia
post Dec 28 2024, 07:20 PM

Videogames Enthusiast
13,509 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Dec 28 2024, 11:46 AM)
Nah there's no Panasonic 12V lead battery listed on Shopee.

AFAIK, now only Toyota SC distributes Panasonic Battery but that Panasonic Battery is an AGM battery that's suitable for the latest generation Camry.
Noted, hitachi battery nowdays called tuf long right
TSRoman Catholic
post Dec 28 2024, 07:32 PM

3,376 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 28 2024, 07:20 PM)
Noted, hitachi battery nowdays called tuf long right
That's what they claim but is Tuflong actually still manufactured by Hitachi or someone else who has no association with Hitachi whatsoever.

I find it strange that someone decided to drop an established brand name like Hitachi for some unknown name like Tuflong.

Just like someone wrote that Panasonic had ceased their battery operations already but lo and behold, then I discovered that Toyota installed a Panasonic AGM battery into the latest Camry. Similar when an ex-Century dealer tell customers that Century had ceased operations. Established brands don't just ceased operations one.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Dec 28 2024, 07:40 PM
GamersFamilia
post Dec 28 2024, 07:45 PM

Videogames Enthusiast
13,509 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Dec 28 2024, 07:32 PM)
That's what they claim but is Tuflong actually still manufactured by Hitachi or someone else who has no association with Hitachi whatsoever.

I find it strange that someone decided to drop an established brand name like Hitachi for some unknown name like Tuflong.

Just like someone wrote that Panasonic had ceased their battery operations already but lo and behold, then I discovered that Toyota installed a Panasonic AGM battery into the latest Camry. Similar when an ex-Century dealer tell customers that Century had ceased operations. Established brands don't just ceased operations one.
One of car vlogger mentioned bout it, that's where i knew bout it
alexwsk
post Jan 5 2025, 06:20 PM

4,060 posts

great to find this thread
i have a foxsur charger, when I charge the battery in the car engine bay, do I actually need to disconnect the terminals first? And should I connect the negative clamp from the charger to the car battery -ve terminal or the car unpainted metal part?

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 5 2025, 06:21 PM
ayamxxx
post Jan 5 2025, 08:19 PM

3,645 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 5 2025, 06:20 PM)
great to find this thread
i have a foxsur charger, when I charge the battery in the car engine bay, do I actually need to disconnect the terminals first? And should I connect the negative clamp from the charger to the car battery -ve terminal or the car unpainted metal part?
Same charger. But I always recommend to disconnect both + & - b4 connect to charger. Put the Foxsur + cable to the + terminals of the battery and same goes to the negative, Charger to the negative terminal

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 5 2025, 08:20 PM
alexwsk
post Jan 5 2025, 11:30 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 5 2025, 08:19 PM)
Same charger. But I always recommend to disconnect both + & - b4 connect to charger. Put the Foxsur + cable to the + terminals of the battery and same goes to the negative, Charger to the negative terminal
normally I don't like to disconnect as all radio and clock will reset blush.gif
ayamxxx
post Jan 5 2025, 11:52 PM

3,645 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 5 2025, 11:30 PM)
normally I don't like to disconnect as all radio and clock will reset  blush.gif
What car? Most recent car, I mean for 2012 onward mostly will not getting FM stations/ clock reset by doing battery disconnect/ removal.
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 7 2025, 12:39 AM

3,376 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 5 2025, 08:19 PM)
Why do you recommend disconnecting the battery from the vehicle first, before charging the battery ? Compared to what the manufacturers of external chargers are claiming that it's ok to charge the battery whilst connected to the vehicle.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 7 2025, 12:53 AM
ayamxxx
post Jan 7 2025, 08:28 AM

3,645 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 7 2025, 12:39 AM)
Why do you recommend disconnecting the battery from the vehicle first, before charging the battery ? Compared to what the manufacturers of external chargers are claiming that it's ok to charge the battery whilst connected to the vehicle.
Maybe me kiasu thought excessive power from electric will make the ECU damage later. If remove cables, its the charger + electric power to the battery only

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 7 2025, 08:29 AM
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 7 2025, 09:26 AM

3,376 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 7 2025, 08:28 AM)
Maybe me kiasu thought excessive power from electric will make the ECU damage later. If remove cables, its the charger + electric power to the battery only
No bro., you are correct and that is the reason why technical service buletins advices so. So the next logical question is, if the ECU gets fried while charging a battery thats connected to the vehicle, will the manufacturer of chargers take responsibility and bear the damages sustained ?
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 8 2025, 07:31 AM

3,376 posts

TERIMA KASIH BOSS BERI KAMI PELUANG

We sincerely hope to turn this opportunity into a corporate account in the long run. We don't just change batteries, we managed fleet and if things are managed properly, the new vehicles shouldn't have any electrical issues whatsoever. That is our guarantee.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 8 2025, 07:45 AM
alexwsk
post Jan 11 2025, 07:40 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 5 2025, 11:52 PM)
What car? Most recent car, I mean for 2012 onward mostly will not getting FM stations/ clock reset by doing battery disconnect/ removal.
saga blm 2008 blush.gif
saga LMST 2004 (but sold dy) bye.gif
alexwsk
post Jan 11 2025, 07:41 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 7 2025, 09:26 AM)
No bro., you are correct and that is the reason why technical service buletins advices so. So the next logical question is, if the ECU gets fried while charging a battery thats connected to the vehicle, will the manufacturer of chargers take responsibility and bear the damages sustained ?
the the charge from the charger should be around the same as from alternator, right?
on the other hand, will it affect the alternator hmm.gif

ah sry, forgot to combine post

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 11 2025, 07:42 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Jan 11 2025, 08:13 PM

3,376 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 11 2025, 07:41 PM)
the the charge from the charger should be around the same as from alternator, right?
on the other hand, will it affect the alternator  hmm.gif

ah sry, forgot to combine post
It's the spikes from the power lines that damages things OR the alternator itself could also malfunction and produce higher voltages thats detrimental to many electrical components and the most expensive item would have to be the ECU I guess.

It's hard to pinpoint what will get damage when there are spikes. It will strike randomly.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Jan 11 2025, 08:32 PM
techtalks
post Yesterday, 04:15 PM

56 posts

Anyone tried Century Excel? Damn good specs eh

High CCA and AH
khusyairi
post Today, 01:24 PM

134 posts

Just for record:
I just change my Amaron Pro DIN55L battery yesterday (I bought from batteriku on 1 July 2020) which mean 4 years 6 months. The longest battery life so far. Had run for 90k km. Worth it I think.

I change it because battery health not good anymore. If still use maybe can tahan another 1-3months.
ayamxxx
post Today, 01:26 PM

3,645 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jan 13 2025, 01:24 PM)
Just for record:
I just change my Amaron Pro DIN55L battery yesterday (I bought from batteriku on 1 July 2020) which mean 4 years 6 months. The longest battery life so far. Had run for 90k km. Worth it I think.

I change it because battery health not good anymore. If still use maybe can tahan another 1-3months.
Amara Raja or JC control? If JC then expected. Now quality down the drain for AR
khusyairi
post Today, 03:22 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 13 2025, 01:26 PM)
Amara Raja or JC control? If JC then expected. Now quality down the drain for AR
If based on battery manufacturing date 2020, it suppose to be amara raja right?

0.0171sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th January 2025 - 03:48 PM