Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 6 2019, 05:47 AM
QUOTE(eddyann @ Apr 5 2019, 12:34 PM) just got myself a replacement for the varta which only last less than 2 year. trying now the century continental sdfc. rated high cca and Amp than normal battery. even tested on my own. CCA was 500++ for a NS60LS size. RC is 73 minutes. quite longer than average battery of this size Varta less than 2 years ??? This is something I've never come across before. Please tell us more e.g. Model Series etc.
SKYjack
Apr 6 2019, 07:39 AM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 6 2019, 05:25 AM) Maybe that's not what SKYJack actually had in mind. Would appreciate if SKYJack reaffirms this. He may be right,as its cost effevtive to change every 2years. I was merely suggesting battery technology has improved! Options are available.
joey2000
Apr 6 2019, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 6 2019, 04:44 AM) Now I am really curious, what small screw is it that you use and how was it use ? It just connect to the battery, turn counter clockwise, it disconnect the battery. Can leave the car for 2 weeks. Turn clockwise, it connect the battery. Can start the engine immediately, no need to jump start.
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 6 2019, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(joey2000 @ Apr 6 2019, 12:51 PM) It just connect to the battery, turn counter clockwise, it disconnect the battery. Can leave the car for 2 weeks. Turn clockwise, it connect the battery. Can start the engine immediately, no need to jump start. Now I understand what you meant. If only someone created something similar to that of the switch, life would be so much simpler. LOL
dares
Apr 6 2019, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 6 2019, 02:02 PM) Now I understand what you meant. If only someone created something similar to that of the switch, life would be so much simpler. LOL Plenty of those in Lazada, it's just a simple mechanism, very cheap also https://www.lazada.com.my/products/fdikou-b...WOSsqR&search=1https://www.lazada.com.my/products/12v24v-c...t7HnlX&search=1
zaly
Apr 6 2019, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jan 7 2019, 11:42 PM) Varta, come with the car. 5.5 years 110k km still running strong. Varta 90ah come from manufacturer (German Made) can last for 6 year for my BMW but after changed another Varta 95ah (bought locally) can last just 2yrs++ what can i say, the new battery just last one or max 2++ yrs only
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 7 2019, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Apr 6 2019, 07:39 AM) He may be right,as its cost effevtive to change every 2years. I was merely suggesting battery technology has improved! Options are available. While it is cost effective to the rest but I doubt it is to the top echelons in our society like our politicians with their mind crazy rides. I habour great hope that someday with further technological advancement together with economies of scale, that will see the phasing out of regular Flooded Battery. All these will only be possible when the declared economic growth is truly reflected in the currency's exchange rate. Anything else is just hog wash. I am sure that those who can afford better built quality batteries would never want to go back to regular Flooded Batteries ever. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Apr 7 2019, 07:49 AM
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 7 2019, 07:25 AM
QUOTE(dares @ Apr 6 2019, 03:35 PM) That was pretty fast. 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻 Then again, perhaps I am just behind time. LOL
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 7 2019, 07:28 AM
QUOTE(zaly @ Apr 6 2019, 08:36 PM) Varta 90ah come from manufacturer (German Made) can last for 6 year for my BMW but after changed another Varta 95ah (bought locally) can last just 2yrs++ what can i say, the new battery just last one or max 2++ yrs only Where did you buy that Varta 95Ah locally from that lasted 2 years from, from BMW Service Centers or from 3rd party ? I am curious, why did you change from Varta 90Ah to Varta 95Ah ? This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Apr 7 2019, 04:43 PM
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 7 2019, 07:37 AM
During the recent school holidays, I had the opportunity to drive the latest Innova. Pretty amazed with it for a slow driver like me. Curiosity got the better of me and I just had to find out what battery was in it. When I popped the hood, that battery had NO BRAMD NAME at all !!! This was the only sticker that was on it....  Who knows for sure, maybe the battery manufacturer didn't want others to know who they were OR ....
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 7 2019, 07:44 AM
QUOTE(filage @ Apr 5 2019, 04:02 PM) You mean that metal plate? That's what some mechanics put to increase the terminal diameter so that the connector can fit tightly. I'm not sure if they affect the flow of electricity leading to less voltage flowing to batt during charging. Luckily you informed me that it was the work of the mechanics as I thought that this was the work of the manufacturer. LOL Battery post are almost round in shape. And so are the terminal connectors too. So that the both of them makes full contact. Whatever prompted that additional piece to be added to the battery post is really a weird one.
filage
Apr 7 2019, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 7 2019, 07:44 AM) Luckily you informed me that it was the work of the mechanics as I thought that this was the work of the manufacturer. LOL Battery post are almost round in shape. And so are the terminal connectors too. So that the both of them makes full contact. Whatever prompted that additional piece to be added to the battery post is really a weird one. I'm not sure how modern connectors look nowadays but my old car due to wear and tear, heat or corrosion the original connectors have become too large in diameter to hug the battery terminal tightly even after the screw is tightened, the mechanics inserter that plate and hammered it in after the connector are screwed. Without the plates I can lift the connectors with my finger and it will just come off the battery terminals. Maybe you can see if your connectors are the same?
cucubud
Apr 7 2019, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 7 2019, 07:37 AM) During the recent school holidays, I had the opportunity to drive the latest Innova. Pretty amazed with it for a slow driver like me. Curiosity got the better of me and I just had to find out what battery was in it. When I popped the hood, that battery had NO BRAMD NAME at all !!! This was the only sticker that was on it....  Who knows for sure, maybe the battery manufacturer didn't want others to know who they were OR .... Googled that 360LN2-MF and Panasonic pops up more often than other brands.
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 7 2019, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(cucubud @ Apr 7 2019, 08:23 AM) Googled that 360LN2-MF and Panasonic pops up more often than other brands. Thanks mate. Must try to remember googling next time. 😊
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 7 2019, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(filage @ Apr 7 2019, 08:12 AM) I'm not sure how modern connectors look nowadays but my old car due to wear and tear, heat or corrosion the original connectors have become too large in diameter to hug the battery terminal tightly even after the screw is tightened, the mechanics inserter that plate and hammered it in after the connector are screwed. Without the plates I can lift the connectors with my finger and it will just come off the battery terminals. Maybe you can see if your connectors are the same? There's a couple of cars under my care with the oldest being the Toyota Corona TT141 and nothing of such sort has happened. Anyway no worries. This additional plate is not a problem that I am facing. Just that I saw this and thought of posting it here. That's all.
speedy3210
Apr 7 2019, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 7 2019, 07:37 AM) During the recent school holidays, I had the opportunity to drive the latest Innova. Pretty amazed with it for a slow driver like me. Curiosity got the better of me and I just had to find out what battery was in it. When I popped the hood, that battery had NO BRAMD NAME at all !!! This was the only sticker that was on it....  Who knows for sure, maybe the battery manufacturer didn't want others to know who they were OR .... Maybe you want to measure the charging (output) voltage of the innova's alternator for your reference, since you have several toold to do so in your arsenal? Both cold and hot reading.
allenultra
Apr 7 2019, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(zaly @ Apr 6 2019, 08:36 PM) Varta 90ah come from manufacturer (German Made) can last for 6 year for my BMW but after changed another Varta 95ah (bought locally) can last just 2yrs++ what can i say, the new battery just last one or max 2++ yrs only The Varta bought locally guarantee original? Now those imported from Germany, some of them are recond battery (Varta) As for those supplied through Malaysia distributor (agm, efb, normal mf battery), those are made in South Korea. This post has been edited by allenultra: Apr 7 2019, 12:54 PM
allenultra
Apr 7 2019, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 3 2019, 09:16 AM) Of course that's good news. Anything that bring down the cost for the rakyat is always good news. However it must never be at the expense of quality. There's always a trade of. Then again the only way to really bring down costs is to improve the currency's exchange rate. Now that will surely bring about general improvement in quality standard. But economics is for some other day. Now we have the Camel brand, I've also seen a Cheetah brand as well. They must obviously like animals. I am a slow learner and I don't jump for every new brand that hits the market. Kiasu & Kiasi lol Out of curiosity, has Camel released its warranty period, technical specifications & pricing already on its models ? For certain models, it will be 18-month warranty. Namely Ns40 Ns60 80d23L Din series still 1 year warranty. Pricing wise is very competitive. Just sold a DIN100 agm for Rm800
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 7 2019, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Apr 7 2019, 11:54 AM) Maybe you want to measure the charging (output) voltage of the innova's alternator for your reference, since you have several toold to do so in your arsenal? Both cold and hot reading. LOL I definately don't carry my tools for holidays. Since the battery had no brand name at that time, even with my tool, a battery report wouldn't be of any use. I've been reading and this is what I came across that Toyota is developing their own battery. Perhaps this battery is theirs own too which could also explain the absence of the brand name. Since someone was kind enough to highlight the possibility that it could be a Panasonic but I sure a trip to Toyota Showroom would reveal everything. My only gripe with the Innova is the height when it comes to cleaning. Not enough leverage even with me being tall. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Apr 7 2019, 03:08 PM
TSRoman Catholic
Apr 7 2019, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(allenultra @ Apr 7 2019, 12:57 PM) For certain models, it will be 18-month warranty. Namely Ns40 Ns60 80d23L Din series still 1 year warranty. Pricing wise is very competitive. Just sold a DIN100 agm for Rm800 Warrant Period 18 months is really not bad at all. That ought to give the competitors a run for their money I guess.